Fairfield, CT 
Fairfield University Share
Uploaded By: Rplus84 Hole #9 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
college campus = clean cut fairways

2-4    10/5/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: Rplus84
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -easy access from i95
-open fairways with clean cut grass for the most part
-well designed with good elevation changes
-plenty of parking
-shelter, water and rest rooms in the buildings
Cons: -this course is old, needs new signs and markings
-baskets r old and rusty, but functional... (ex; basket 6 is sitting on top of a piece of wood)
-6 hole no direct path from tee to basket, have to walk around or through the weeds
-7 hole is a par 4 in the woods with no obvious fairway and leftover tree trunk piled up from clean up attempt as seen in the pictures
-no tees boxes, only grass and sidewalk
-navigation is tough, BRING A MAP and study it well
-long distance btw hole 2 & 3, 18 & 1
-its a campus so many padestrians
Other Thoughts: i gave this course a 2.5 based on my criteria, but it has potential for a lot more if some of the things r fixed in the cons above... i played here on sunday morning so the campus was empty... i can see walkers being a problem though... i updated the measurements of the course using gps so the distances r somewhat accurate give or take 10 feet... i took pictures of every hole too... the weeds on the left side of the pond on hole 15 were cut the second time i played here making it a good place to lay up... navigation is bad!... but i got to tell u, it can be a good thing... for example, it was fun looking for the tees the first time i played here... it was like a scavenger hunt, very challenging... i was able to find all the tees so pay close attention to the maps!!.. and give ur self 3 hours to play the course... the pictures i took can help u... dont mistake 11 basket for 3 basket, they r near each other... this is an alternative to the wooded courses near by... i recommend this course very much!...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Less Trees, Still Fun

1    7/19/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: TBabb
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays around the campus of Fairfield University. The landscape features rolling hills, mature trees, and well kept lawns. The baskets are a mix of several different types, and though they are old with rusty chains, they seem completely functional. In general, the course is very well maintained and clean, mostly because the college campus wants to look pretty for prospective students. Just about every hole here is very well designed. There are a number of elevation changes, tight gaps, low ceilings, vegetal obstacles, and a number of easily definable out of bounds areas that are not expressly marked to make this a challenging course. Stand out holes include tight woods shots (6 &7), tight greens (8 & 16), and a crazy over the pond shot on 15. Don't be fooled by the total course distance on this page; this is a full length course and may actually be longer than many CT courses. Most of the course is open with only two shots going through thick woods making this course a nice change of pace from the typical CT deep woods courses. The 8th hole features an impressive view out to the Long Island Sound. There is ample parking, restrooms and running water are available inside the Business School building, and overall this is a very pleasant spot to get a round in.
Cons: The main issue here is navigation. The layout here is atrocious with many long walks between holes. The map is hard to follow and a full round here results in a very long walk around the campus. Tee signs are difficult to spot when they do exist making finding the next tee after a hole all the more challenging. There must have been a better way to lay this course out in order to minimize travel time between tees. That being said, once you've played here once or twice, you'll know your way around and navigation will be less of an issue. Better and more signage would make a round here much easier for a first timer.

The tees here are also disappointing. Most of them are grass, and it's tough to get a good run up in. Some tees are on the path, but often are too small to get a good run up as well and other grass tees are not well defined.

There could be a little more variety in the shots. Most of them are straight shots.

Foliage is rough in some spots, especially if you land off the fairway. The weeds by the left side of the pond are especially tough, which is a shame since it's the best spot to drop if you can't make the throw over the pond. The path back to the parking lot after the 18th hole also has a lot of thorns, brambles and prickers.

The other thing to consider is that this is a college campus, so when we played, there was a lacrosse game going on that had spectators all over the first fairway, making it unplayable. Even on a Saturday in the summer the course was not quiet.
Other Thoughts: This is a great alternative to the typical CT course in the thick woods. Hook up with a regular to make navigation easier and this will be a great course to up your confidence after getting clobbered by the trees in Bridgeport and Norwalk. I was bummed that some little kid probably ran off with one of my drives, though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good, not without flaws

5+    7/28/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: Flyngtuna
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the holes are open, well designed and fun. Great for beginners - especially in CT when most courses are fairly wooded. Once my friends and I got the hang out this course is became one of our favorites (BRING A MAP). The view on hole # 8 is especially awesome - can see straight to the LI Sound.
Cons: Extremely confusing without the right map and info. Hole # 7 has lots of logs and branches dumped from what I assume was a storm clearing effort - adds a lot of difficulty to what was already a tough hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course. Lawns of the campus are well-maintained and the baskets are in good shape. BRING A MAP.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Needs to be updated

1    7/15/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: dishtowel
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The few holes we could play were very nice
-The grounds themselves are well kept, although the course itself is clearly not
-One hole goes over a pond
Cons: -Map is out of date
-Tees and baskets don't match
-Some holes couldn't be found at all
-That map says 12 holes; we found the 18th; in total played 10 holes.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line is we spent more time looking for the tees and baskets than actually playing. Someone needs to update this course so that it can be followed easily. Even the map wasn't correct.

Update: Found an updated map here http://www.faculty.fairfield....olf2011v1.jpg
and will be returning to see how it plays out now that we know what to look for.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Whoever redesigned this course.... Yahtzee!

1    10/2/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: rex93
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perfect Teepads, awesome mix of natural and using the sidewalks throughout the campus not to mention the coolest teepad of them all hole number 7 which is a manmade damn thingy throwing down on to a basket that is positioned on a stump. Its badass because it is a very short hole but super steep drop off down to the basket have fun throwing your entire bag haha.

Amazing views on holes 9 and 10 you can see a nice panoramic view of the ocean its awesome. With the beautiful stone building up there its hard to beat.

Excellent training ground! Awesome combination of short holes and long holes. have fun throwing forehands backhands, rollers, tomohawks, spike hyzers, grenades, top sliders, thumbers and turbo putts tons of options!

Lots of young chicas on campus to look at although fairfield could use some hotter chicks from the sampling i did see.

lush grass fairways because most of them are part of the campus quads, you could play most of the course barefoot.

Mixed bag of baskets with some spanking new chain stars, disc catchers and some old school mach's I beleive. Makes for a challenge and more fun.



Cons: course is a little confusing and the teepad signs suck but that is very easily fixed so I am not going to knock the course for it. There is a map online that makes it easy not to mention fun to locate all of the holes.

Only 1 teepad position right now. Has sooooo much potential for more!

Sometimes have to wait for poeple to walk past because there are a lot of students when school is in session.

a bit of a walk between 2 and 3 but that shouldnt bother a disc golfer.
Other Thoughts: Whoever redesigned this course did a phenomenal job and this course is now one of my favorites in the world (yes I said world). The campus feel is quite the novelty and they did an excellent job with what they have. I look forward to seeing this course grow more complex and polished.


3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/5/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: Jrider29
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Found first tee. After that spent most of our time searching for tees/baskets. Only found 5 holes.
Cons: There is no possible way someone could navigate this course and enjoy it without a guide to show them around.
Other Thoughts: Very frustrating

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Course Pro Update

1    8/11/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: Kraig Steffen
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All tees now have a tee sign or number marking on the sidewalk or tee area. Tee signs have been updated and now make sense!! (long period of construction changes made it tough) Some signs are low to the ground due restrictions from Campus grounds. Use the Aerial Map!
Cons: A number of baskets need repair. I am working on it! I moved many tees to sidewalks - use them instead of old tees. (4, 6, 7 (concrete pad), 13, 14, 16 all are on concrete sidewalk or pad now).
Other Thoughts: Hope everyone likes the new 18 hole layout. Maybe my ratings will inch upward. :)
Note I only gave myself a 3, lots more to be done, but this is one of the prettiest courses in CT so come on down and enjoy!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I'm Lost

1    4/20/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is on a college campus and vistors are welcome to play. The campus and course are very beautiful and quiet.

There are rolling hills and a pond which make for some fun shots.
Cons: We found hole #1 very easily but after that it was very difficult to navigate.

Other Cons:

- some tee signs knocked down or non-existent
- #3 tee wasn't anywhere near #2's basket
- some holes play near roads
- baskets in bad shape
Other Thoughts: When I was actually playing, I had alot of fun but most of my time was wandering around lost.

#10 (pond hole) is way more difficult than it looks because the gap through the branches to the basket is narrow. Loved it!

If you live on campus then this is a perfect course to go to. Everyone else should just pass it by unless there are big changes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Scenery!

2-4    2/26/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: jcardozo
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great college scenery in the spring
Long holes for long drives
Cons: very difficult to navigate. holes have moved or been taken out.

needs maintenance as some holes have fallen over due to wind or are in bad shape.
Other Thoughts: This course is almost impossible to play if you're not playing with someone who knows it. The holes are scattered across campus and a lot have been moved or taken out completely. The signs at the tee boxes can be ignored except to indicate that you should shoot from there. Hole #s and pin location is often inaccurate. You can get a full 18 in if you shoot at a few baskets multiple times from multiple tee locations.

this course is probably best for a practice round as you're likely not to find a lot of holes. Go to the area in front of the library and just shoot at the 4 baskets in that area from different locations.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for a minute or 2

1    8/23/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: Axl69
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's located in a great part of our State.
Cons: Extremely dificult to navigate. There have been a lot of changes due to construction on campus. It could be a good venue but the course has had little attention paid to it in a long long time. Do not make a special trip to play here.
Other Thoughts: This course should be removed from this site. It's really not a DGC it's just a couple of baskets littered throughout a cool campus. It would be cool for a student that already lives there. We hit it only because we were nearby to play Cranberry Park in Norwalk which was cool. Again, DO NOT make a special trip to play here. We will not play again even if we are in the area for another course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.