Disc Golf Store
Fairfield, CT
Fairfield University Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good, not without flaws

5+    7/28/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: Flyngtuna
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of the holes are open, well designed and fun. Great for beginners - especially in CT when most courses are fairly wooded. Once my friends and I got the hang out this course is became one of our favorites (BRING A MAP). The view on hole # 8 is especially awesome - can see straight to the LI Sound.
Cons: Extremely confusing without the right map and info. Hole # 7 has lots of logs and branches dumped from what I assume was a storm clearing effort - adds a lot of difficulty to what was already a tough hole.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course. Lawns of the campus are well-maintained and the baskets are in good shape. BRING A MAP.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Needs to be updated

1    7/15/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: dishtowel
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The few holes we could play were very nice
-The grounds themselves are well kept, although the course itself is clearly not
-One hole goes over a pond
Cons: -Map is out of date
-Tees and baskets don't match
-Some holes couldn't be found at all
-That map says 12 holes; we found the 18th; in total played 10 holes.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line is we spent more time looking for the tees and baskets than actually playing. Someone needs to update this course so that it can be followed easily. Even the map wasn't correct.

Update: Found an updated map here http://www.faculty.fairfield....olf2011v1.jpg
and will be returning to see how it plays out now that we know what to look for.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Whoever redesigned this course.... Yahtzee!

1    10/2/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: rex93
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Perfect Teepads, awesome mix of natural and using the sidewalks throughout the campus not to mention the coolest teepad of them all hole number 7 which is a manmade damn thingy throwing down on to a basket that is positioned on a stump. Its badass because it is a very short hole but super steep drop off down to the basket have fun throwing your entire bag haha.

Amazing views on holes 9 and 10 you can see a nice panoramic view of the ocean its awesome. With the beautiful stone building up there its hard to beat.

Excellent training ground! Awesome combination of short holes and long holes. have fun throwing forehands backhands, rollers, tomohawks, spike hyzers, grenades, top sliders, thumbers and turbo putts tons of options!

Lots of young chicas on campus to look at although fairfield could use some hotter chicks from the sampling i did see.

lush grass fairways because most of them are part of the campus quads, you could play most of the course barefoot.

Mixed bag of baskets with some spanking new chain stars, disc catchers and some old school mach's I beleive. Makes for a challenge and more fun.



Cons: course is a little confusing and the teepad signs suck but that is very easily fixed so I am not going to knock the course for it. There is a map online that makes it easy not to mention fun to locate all of the holes.

Only 1 teepad position right now. Has sooooo much potential for more!

Sometimes have to wait for poeple to walk past because there are a lot of students when school is in session.

a bit of a walk between 2 and 3 but that shouldnt bother a disc golfer.
Other Thoughts: Whoever redesigned this course did a phenomenal job and this course is now one of my favorites in the world (yes I said world). The campus feel is quite the novelty and they did an excellent job with what they have. I look forward to seeing this course grow more complex and polished.


3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/5/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: Jrider29
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Found first tee. After that spent most of our time searching for tees/baskets. Only found 5 holes.
Cons: There is no possible way someone could navigate this course and enjoy it without a guide to show them around.
Other Thoughts: Very frustrating

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Course Pro Update

1    8/11/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: Kraig Steffen
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All tees now have a tee sign or number marking on the sidewalk or tee area. Tee signs have been updated and now make sense!! (long period of construction changes made it tough) Some signs are low to the ground due restrictions from Campus grounds. Use the Aerial Map!
Cons: A number of baskets need repair. I am working on it! I moved many tees to sidewalks - use them instead of old tees. (4, 6, 7 (concrete pad), 13, 14, 16 all are on concrete sidewalk or pad now).
Other Thoughts: Hope everyone likes the new 18 hole layout. Maybe my ratings will inch upward. :)
Note I only gave myself a 3, lots more to be done, but this is one of the prettiest courses in CT so come on down and enjoy!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I'm Lost

1    4/20/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is on a college campus and vistors are welcome to play. The campus and course are very beautiful and quiet.

There are rolling hills and a pond which make for some fun shots.
Cons: We found hole #1 very easily but after that it was very difficult to navigate.

Other Cons:

- some tee signs knocked down or non-existent
- #3 tee wasn't anywhere near #2's basket
- some holes play near roads
- baskets in bad shape
Other Thoughts: When I was actually playing, I had alot of fun but most of my time was wandering around lost.

#10 (pond hole) is way more difficult than it looks because the gap through the branches to the basket is narrow. Loved it!

If you live on campus then this is a perfect course to go to. Everyone else should just pass it by unless there are big changes.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Scenery!

2-4    2/26/2011   3/9/2011
Review By: jcardozo
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great college scenery in the spring
Long holes for long drives
Cons: very difficult to navigate. holes have moved or been taken out.

needs maintenance as some holes have fallen over due to wind or are in bad shape.
Other Thoughts: This course is almost impossible to play if you're not playing with someone who knows it. The holes are scattered across campus and a lot have been moved or taken out completely. The signs at the tee boxes can be ignored except to indicate that you should shoot from there. Hole #s and pin location is often inaccurate. You can get a full 18 in if you shoot at a few baskets multiple times from multiple tee locations.

this course is probably best for a practice round as you're likely not to find a lot of holes. Go to the area in front of the library and just shoot at the 4 baskets in that area from different locations.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for a minute or 2

1    8/23/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: Axl69
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's located in a great part of our State.
Cons: Extremely dificult to navigate. There have been a lot of changes due to construction on campus. It could be a good venue but the course has had little attention paid to it in a long long time. Do not make a special trip to play here.
Other Thoughts: This course should be removed from this site. It's really not a DGC it's just a couple of baskets littered throughout a cool campus. It would be cool for a student that already lives there. We hit it only because we were nearby to play Cranberry Park in Norwalk which was cool. Again, DO NOT make a special trip to play here. We will not play again even if we are in the area for another course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Campus

1    6/28/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 413  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The campus grounds are quite nice and well kept with rolling hills and a killer pond.
Cons: recent reorg, tee signs had no info, and no next tee signs. Make sure you print the aerial map!
Other Thoughts: The course has been rearranged due to construction. I managed to find the start no prob and the tee signs are pretty easy to spot although they didn't have par or distance on them. After two I was looking for three with the old map in hand it didn't go so well. I could eventually figure it out but the only numbers where on the tee signs so you had to walk to them to figure it out. I noticed after the fact that their were two maps and the aerial map is the good one. This was really a nice course but with the new layout and no maps or next tee signage I can't give this that high a mark. The shots were mostly open with well placed pins to make use of the old growth trees, and the pond shot is just beautiful. I'm sure this is a fun course for any students that go there.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Work in progress

5+    9/11/2012   1/23/2009
Review By: invidious
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Update: New signs on all the tees, updated as of 9/11/12. See updated course map in the links section.

The scenery is great, the campus ground are very well maintained. Most holes have open fairways with a good mix of wooded shots . Great course for beginers and enthusiasts.
Cons: Relocation of several holes due to university contruction (which is completed) leaves the course with lots of zig zagging between holes. So a little extra walking and unintuitive flow for those unaccustomed with the course.

Highly recommend arrow markers at each hole pointing towards the next tee.

This course is a real gem and its a shame to see all the (justifiably) low reviews on this site from players who haven't been able to play it due to poor signage. In my opinion this is easily one of the best couses in fairfield county, second only to Cranbury Park.

It would be nice if someone could get the campus to more ruitinely groom the pond shot, I can throw it over the trees but for weaker throwers who have to go between them the shot is becoming daunting.
Other Thoughts: Been playing this course for years so the finding the holes is no issue for me, but it would be for any first time player. Bring a copy of the map!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.