Tarentum, PA 
Deer Lakes Park Share
Uploaded By: vslaugh Hole #14 (Taken 10/2010)
5 / 483ft.   5 / 651ft.   5 / 714ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 White Tee

Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Beautiful, challenging & fun.

1    5/20/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 52  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 15.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Beautiful, well-maintained and secluded park/course
Excellent tee pads
Excellent tee signs
Well-designed course
Lots of variation in terrain
Lots of throw variation required
Cons: A few slightly confusing basket-to-next-hole navigation situations
Other Thoughts: Wow, what a great course. The first thing you notice at tee #1 is the unique tee pads. Due to the hilly nature of many of the holes, the new tee pads are a partial hexagon containment box of 4x4 lumber, concrete and gravel to make a level tee. Nice and roomy. For some reason I just loved the tee pads here.

The entire course sprawls throughout the park, weaving in and out of wooded technical areas while still offering plenty of long-bomb opportunities.

The course/park is beautiful and secluded, and the grounds are well-maintained. I felt like I was on a private course most of the time.

Only slightly does the course veer towards multi-use areas of the park, and even then there's plenty of elbow room for all.

This course features some pretty hefty distance per hole, but there are three tees for various skill levels. Each is handily marked with an informative map-based tee sign. The hole numbers on the tee signs are even color-coded to the tee distance (red, white and blue). Nice touch.

It would be hard to choose a signature hole here, as there quite a few that compete for that title.

Tight fairways, technical wooded holes, throwing down from heights, throwing uphill with left & right doglegs, even some holes with multiple hills down the fairway. You'll get a chance to use every throw, and every disc in your bag on this one.

The course thoughtfully weaves in and out of the wooded and open grassy areas, and you'll be throwing both uphill and downhill for both.

It does get a bit confusing around holes 7-9 as far as how the course progresses, I took a photo of the kiosk course map on my phone so we could refer to it. Moving from the basket for 9 and the tee for 10 was also a bit disorienting for a first-timer.

The parking area where the course begins and ends does not have a water fountain or a concession stand, but I am sure there's at least water to be found in the park. There were no bathrooms near the parking lot either, but I am sure those were around somewhere as well.

The course pretty much stayed clear from other use areas of the park, so I can't say what else the park offers.

Deer Lakes has taken the crown as the best course I have played to date of the 19+ courses I have played -- mostly in the mid/eastern Ohio & western Pennsylvania region.

If you are in the area, this is a must-play course, and if not this course is definitely worth a drive. There are also two other excellent courses nearby -- Knob Hill and Moraine State Park. If travelling to play Deer Lakes, it would be worth making a day of it and hitting one or both of the others if you have the stamina. You'll get a workout from Deer Lakes for sure, but a workout that's enjoyable the whole way through.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Another Crown Jewel for Western PA Disc Golf

5+    11/4/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: Acerun1
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent challenge, mix of holes, elevation changes throughout the course. Three "True Par 5's" and enough shorter holes to keep even my young kids entertained! Great mix of open and wooded holes as well. Signature hole #15 over the lake...will you lay up, or run the basket? Can you get that lake out of your head when you're on the tee pad?!!?
Cons: Very few! As is mentioned in other reviews, this is more of a "hike" than a "walk in the park!!" (That's not necessarily a negative - just a word to the wise!) Needs some additional "breaking in." However, local club is very active, the county is supportive of the course, and improvements will continue to be made. Also, the park and the course itself may be a bit difficult to find if you're not familiar with the area.
Other Thoughts: This is a Championship level course that should NOT be missed, nor underestimated!! It's well worth going out of your way to play, especially if you're just visiting the area.

Make Pittsburgh/Western PA a Disc Golf destination!! The sport is growing rapidly in the region. With the superb talent of local course designers (J.Gary Dropcho, etc.) all future courses built in the area will be equally challenging! The locals are great people, and they know how to make a tournament FUN!!

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 super challenging

2-4    6/13/2010   8/8/2008
Review By: discNDav
Played: 328  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 29.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is challenging to say the least, I thought a lot holes were par 4's. 3 tee signs and tees for every hole. Lots of elevation changes, I was tired after driving 4.5 hours to get there and walked to tee #1. Bring your hiking shoes, this is no ordinary walk in the park. Holes 1, 2, 3, 10, 11, 13,14,15,16 are very steep, either uphill or down hill.

Very clean facility and park! Being on the DL at the time, I simply walked the course. The picnics tables near most holes are needed just to take a break from walking up hill most of the time.

#15 is the signature hole throwig over the pond!

Update on 9/12/10: most tees now have cement even in the deepest wooded holes, this is a tremendous improvement!
Cons: Do not play this course without a map or you will be lost trying to find the next hole. More next tee signs are needed. #9 was hard to find and I had a map. It is located past and right of #7.

#10 is on opposite side of the parking lot.

On 6/13/10, the course was extremely muddy
including mud on the grass and dirt fairways.
It was a rather tediuos walk in many places, be prepared for this hazard. On 9/12/10 the only mud was on #16, what a difference in 2.5 months!
Other Thoughts: This is a world class course and not beginner friendly. Bring every shot in your bag, it will be needed. Allow plenty of time to play this one. Not only is the course long, but the walk between some holes is extensive. Over time, it will only get better. This is now very true, the work between 2008 and 2010 truely shows on this course!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Top Notch!

6/7/2008   6/7/2008
Review By: Pusta
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great and challenging course. Brilliant mix of wooded and open holes. This course allows you to use every disc in your bag. Perfect hole designs with plenty of distance.
Cons: A few overgrown areas, but nothing really to complain about. Missing hole markers for #10.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the Pittsburgh area, I would recommend this course to anyone. Very easy to find.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

2/10/2008   2/22/2008
Review By: bcsst26
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging for a beginner like myself but fun enough to keep you playing. The first time at this course I was alone with no maps and found navigation pretty easy(from hole 8-9 was challenging). This course is well designed and gives you wide open shots to wooded shots. This course requires you to use different types of shots and to learn new ones.
Cons: The course doesn't hold water well.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and it has made me develop my game to compete. I am still a beginner but of the courses I have played this is still my favorite.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Yet Another Pittsburgh Beauty

1    12/31/2007   1/2/2008
Review By: kUrTp
Played: 70  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2009
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is another Pittsburgh championship course! It will take every shot in your bag to manage this course. Great signage at each tee; Red, White, and Blue.
Cons: It kicks my butt everytime I play it. Still after three years I haven't shot par from the blues.
Other Thoughts: From #8's basket you must walk across the gravel lot to #9's tee. This course will continue to get better as the years go on. As of 3/25/09 the tee pads are in the works. By the mid summer ALL 54 concrete tee pads will be installed.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Since the beginning

10/31/2007   11/16/2007
Review By: DanS
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent balanced design for golfers of all ages and skill levels. A perfect variety of different types of holes with our signature hole #15 downhill over a lake with the green on the edge of the water.
Cons: Not many except the finishing touches to make this course incredible. Calling all volunteers.
Other Thoughts: Concrete tee pads will begin to be installed starting in the spring and hopefully will be completed by late summer or early fall. Come and check out this world class par 66 course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing COurse

6/14/2007   10/14/2007
Review By: b13ecker
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: When your in the field on hole 7 the wind just picks the disc up and if you use the right weight pays off, course is maintained well
Cons: If you mess up on hole 15 your disc is gone
Other Thoughts: GREAT COURSE

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely marked and designed

1    10/13/2007   10/13/2007
Review By: prerube
Played: 234  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2011
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 3 tees on each hole, each hole has it's own sign. Course is well designed and features some unique holes. There is a sign by hole 1 that shows where the tees and baskets are, and there are other markings to help guide you if you can't see one of the 3 starting tees.
Very sweet that the beginners and pros can have cement tees.
Course features elevation, tight trees, and water hazards.
The course has very little traffic from non-DGers, so no worries about dog poop or old farts picnicing by your favorite hole.
Cons: Very little can be said. If you hate water, hole 15 goes over water with no way around,but it is not difficult to cross and if you lose a disc the water is shallow and clear.
Some out of service bathrooms made a nasty smell on one of the holes.
There is a chance for disc loss in the overgorwn brush in some areas.
Other Thoughts: you have to drive past the little airport to the end of Butler Logan rd. and turn left on Bailey-Run. Course is just before bridge on right.

This should have been the first course I played in PA, course is a contender for top 10. (Course was a top 10 in 2008 edit: Course is now back in top 10)

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

7/22/2007   7/25/2007
Review By: Ezemp
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2007
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Challenging, wide variety of holes, fair course par. still in relatively new condition.
Cons: Longer course, some rough woods and rough greens thrrough out the course.
Other Thoughts: play this course

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.