Tarentum, PA 
Deer Lakes Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #4
3 / 219ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 White Tee



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >
 Home Course

2/10/2008   2/22/2008
Review By: bcsst26
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging for a beginner like myself but fun enough to keep you playing. The first time at this course I was alone with no maps and found navigation pretty easy(from hole 8-9 was challenging). This course is well designed and gives you wide open shots to wooded shots. This course requires you to use different types of shots and to learn new ones.
Cons: The course doesn't hold water well.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and it has made me develop my game to compete. I am still a beginner but of the courses I have played this is still my favorite.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Yet Another Pittsburgh Beauty

1    12/31/2007   1/2/2008
Review By: kUrTp
Played: 69  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2009
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is another Pittsburgh championship course! It will take every shot in your bag to manage this course. Great signage at each tee; Red, White, and Blue.
Cons: It kicks my butt everytime I play it. Still after three years I haven't shot par from the blues.
Other Thoughts: From #8's basket you must walk across the gravel lot to #9's tee. This course will continue to get better as the years go on. As of 3/25/09 the tee pads are in the works. By the mid summer ALL 54 concrete tee pads will be installed.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Since the beginning

10/31/2007   11/16/2007
Review By: DanS
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent balanced design for golfers of all ages and skill levels. A perfect variety of different types of holes with our signature hole #15 downhill over a lake with the green on the edge of the water.
Cons: Not many except the finishing touches to make this course incredible. Calling all volunteers.
Other Thoughts: Concrete tee pads will begin to be installed starting in the spring and hopefully will be completed by late summer or early fall. Come and check out this world class par 66 course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing COurse

6/14/2007   10/14/2007
Review By: b13ecker
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: When your in the field on hole 7 the wind just picks the disc up and if you use the right weight pays off, course is maintained well
Cons: If you mess up on hole 15 your disc is gone
Other Thoughts: GREAT COURSE

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely marked and designed

1    10/13/2007   10/13/2007
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2011
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 3 tees on each hole, each hole has it's own sign. Course is well designed and features some unique holes. There is a sign by hole 1 that shows where the tees and baskets are, and there are other markings to help guide you if you can't see one of the 3 starting tees.
Very sweet that the beginners and pros can have cement tees.
Course features elevation, tight trees, and water hazards.
The course has very little traffic from non-DGers, so no worries about dog poop or old farts picnicing by your favorite hole.
Cons: Very little can be said. If you hate water, hole 15 goes over water with no way around,but it is not difficult to cross and if you lose a disc the water is shallow and clear.
Some out of service bathrooms made a nasty smell on one of the holes.
There is a chance for disc loss in the overgorwn brush in some areas.
Other Thoughts: you have to drive past the little airport to the end of Butler Logan rd. and turn left on Bailey-Run. Course is just before bridge on right.

This should have been the first course I played in PA, course is a contender for top 10. (Course was a top 10 in 2008 edit: Course is now back in top 10)

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

7/22/2007   7/25/2007
Review By: Ezemp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2007
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Challenging, wide variety of holes, fair course par. still in relatively new condition.
Cons: Longer course, some rough woods and rough greens thrrough out the course.
Other Thoughts: play this course

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 THE BEST COURSE IN PITTSBURGH

9/9/2006   7/24/2007
Review By: JoshC
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2007
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: three tee and pin locales on every hole.. concrete tee pads will be in place before too long on all three as well. great layout, extremely fair par 66 (current course record from blue is only a 64 so it plays true to par).. GREAT VISTAS and wildlife... multiple facilities. This course truly has it all in only its second season.
Cons: none that I know of, let me know and I will work to fix them.
Other Thoughts: #9 being hard to find is going to be addressed in the second batch of signage. Arrow and trail markers are on their way to better guide players through the course.
This is definitely one course that deserves a travel to. you will NOT be disappointed. If you need someone to guide you through or to just play a round with I am always looking for new people to toss with. call me directly. 412.418.7803

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and fun

7/21/2007   7/23/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 240  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee signs at every tee (red, white and blue). Well maintained and an excellent variety of holes.
Cons: The location of tee #9 could be marked a bit better as it's somewhat hidden from view. Although I did notice the subtle cue on the gravel pile after a bit of searching.
Other Thoughts: Deer Lakes has some long holes as well as a few memorable ones. #15 stands out as one of the more exciting holes I've played with the basket sitting on the edge of a lilly pad filled pond and the tee far up on a hillside across the way. Definitely a shot that you don't want to mess up! #2 and #3 were reminiscent of Jordan Woods with their open alleys surround by trees. Definitely fun stuff.

You'll get a chance to test your distance and and accuracy with the great mix of wooded and open holes this course has to offer. The bonus of having a sign at each alternate tee also makes finding tees a breeze. If you're in the area or close by then Deer Lakes is most definitely worth a stop.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Another Pittsburgh Masterpiece

5+    7/14/2007   7/16/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2012
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The length of this new course seems up to today's long throws. It is the toughest course in Pittsburgh; just walking it is a workout. Brand new tee signs are on all of the red, white and blue tees. Both open and heavily wooded fairways, with the baskets usually in or on the edge of the woods. Working sources of drinking water both on the front and back nine are welcome sights on this long course. The over-the-lake shot on 15 is a sight to behold; pictures cannot do it justice.
Cons: Still a need for a bridge or better walking path on hole number 15. Other than that, every shortcoming I saw in this course has been remedied.
Other Thoughts: When I first played this course in 2007, I knew it was going to be great. Kudos to those who kept working on this course for making it happen. Now that all of the fairways are properly cleared and the concrete tees are poured, I think this course deserves the highest rating. Deer Lakes has become a worthy sequel to the masterpiece in Moraine.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.