Fairhope, AL 
Fairhope Municipal Park Share
Uploaded By: catiadude69 Hole #6 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 226ft.   3 / 403ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fairways of Fairhope

5+    5/31/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: GoldenRakerRock
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 34.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Requires accuracy especially in the woods.
Beginner T-Boxes on all holes to develop new players accuracy.
Friendly locals who will be happy to guide those unable to find their way around. And everybody else!
Cons: Not enough space for big arm holes. Mobile has plenty of courses if you are looking for big distances.
Two holes have been relocated due to the installation of a skate park and a dog park.
Other Thoughts: As the individual most responsible for the existence of this little piece of disc golf heaven it would be fair to say that I am biased. Our course is fun, nearly a mile long and will challenge your accuracy game. There has been increased interest lately in further developing what we have and I encourage those unhappy with their earlier round(s) here to give it another go. Lots of projects going on. See if you like it better. I have yet to hear any banjos, dueling or otherwise. Whining is made fun of, too. The beat up baskets are due to hurricane damage and one hit by heavy equipment. Please contact me if you would like to make a donation to replace the damaged equipment. UPdate: A Local has sweated and elbow-greased his way to straightening out the damaged baskets.
Update: Late November'10...Many sign projects have been completed but will not help your score if you keep throwing into the SCHULE! Two more baskets have been placed in the ground. Twelve new concrete tee boxes are just around the corner. Next tournament here is Sunday, 2 Jan 11.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 decent. Not worth the drive across the bay though

1    5/19/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice warmup/ cooldown holes with hard holes in the middle

2) Maps/scorecards we're available at the first tee (needed if you don't know this course),as well as a large color map to look at

3) Some holes require a lot of accuracy, a plus in my opinion

4)Only course in the county

5) SOME teepads have been installed, and they are VERY nice (but not added on all holes)
Cons: 1)VERY overgrown in summer, making some wooded shots seem more like luck than skill

2) Used a mid range through most of this course, many holes under 300ft

3)mixed (natural and concrete) tee pads/ hard to find tee-pads

4) Very few signs to direct you

5)No tee signs (although the concrete pads had Hole #'s marked on them)

6) some baskets we're in poor shape, although they we're all there
Other Thoughts: Decent course, best played in winter, but Needs some Teepads/signs for a better rating

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Could be great!

1    12/21/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Several holes are really fun and challenging and seem like there was some thought that went into them. 1st half of the coarse was easy to get around and there are a lot of birdie shots.
Cons: Very unorganized!!! Took a lot of time finding the next hole and completely skipped hole 9 for the lack of signage. Baskets looked like someone beat them up with a bat.
Other Thoughts: This coarse has great potential but little care. Somebody needs to decide that they care about this coarse and take the extra effort to make it a great coarse. There is a lot to work with but someone has to do the work, it wouldn't take much.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fairhope

5+    7/10/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: austin aero
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Book end type course (first few holes good warm up, tough holes in the center, and finish up with easy holes). Variety of holes challenges you to use a variety of throws.
Cons: Definitly need course maps at hole 1.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/18/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: Joey Ingle
Played: 63  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great location for a course, just needs a little TLC.
I'm a left handed short thrower, I loved it!
I would guess average length for the entire course would be around 275 - 290'' per hole.
In my opinion a lefty designed this coures, very "lefty friendly".

Cons: Not designed for the long armed pro, most baskets are reachable with accurate shots using a mid range disc.
Hard to navigate the course, tee signs, direction of next tee's needed along with distances for each hole, it's a guessing game! Tee and directional signs are needed. At some baskets there are two trails leading out, had to guess which one to take to the next tee!
When we finally got to hole 16 or 17 (the one beind the baseball field) we could not find the rest of the holes.
Found #20 basket as we were leaving.
Other Thoughts: Hit the city up for some course improvements! Signs for sure and possibly some tee pads. New baskets will be needed in the very near future.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.