Fairhope, AL 
Fairhope Municipal Park Share
Uploaded By: catiadude69 Hole #1 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 258ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice

1    6/12/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: Manson
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice park with amenities (bathrooms, water) that has an enjoyable 19 holes (someone tell me where 20 is). Nice, large concrete tee pads at each hole. Park is very well kept up. Excellent signage with hole info and several "next hole" arrows.
Cons: Wooded holes were a bit too tight. Lots of pedestrian traffic even early on a Sunday morning. Group of 3 shirtless hillbillies playing a round with their pit bull that wasn't on a lead was annoying, but not the fault of the course. Large group of serious discers also on the course. Holes are mostly short but challenging.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my first time playing here and would gladly play again. Course was well kept up and was interesting enough in variations to want to make me come back and master a few of these holes. Almost had two aces first time there! Missed by a hair! I enjoyed my experience here and intend to come back when it's cooler. It was right around a hundred degrees when I was here and it about killed me. I like Fairhope as it's a pretty town and this course did not disappoint. I read some of the earlier reviews and they are wrong. I never went when the course apparently sucked. No more suckage, I give it a thumbs up and intend to go back and hit one or two of those possible aces!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of work has been done

5+    1/2/2011   1/3/2011
Review By: twisted
Played: 87  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New concrete pads on all 20 holes, poured 12/2010
- New benches and new tee pad signs
- Easy to navigate, plenty of signs showing path
- Good variety of shots required, shorter holes are very tight and require accuracy
- Bathrooms and water fountain
- Large aerial photo with course layout at #1 kiosk, quick shot with camera phone and you are good to go
- Maps usually provided
- Park is clean and well maintained
- Plenty of garbage cans/recycling receptacles
Cons: - Dog park creates a pedestrian traffic problem and an odor
- A couple of the baskets are too low (vintage baskets)
- Several pads are very close to previous basket, watch your back
Other Thoughts: - Easy course, most holes are <250'
- The course is a circular loop. Although most people park in the lot on Hwy 98 for hole #1, you can also park at the baseball complex which is more centrally located
- The vintage baskets were salvaged from the original KOA campground course built in 1973 by Tom Monroe and 'Steady' Ed Headrick. The course was closed due to the owner's disapproval of a tournament's traditional women's topless round...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/20/2008   12/20/2008
Review By: aceman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: personally I like this course it has a mix of open with some heavy wooded areas as well.everytime I have played it I have met some nice and helpful locals
Cons: you can stand at hole one and see the first several holes and they're somewhat repetitive
Other Thoughts: Play it every year on vacation and will continue to do so

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A course with history

1    1/20/2008   1/24/2008
Review By: jclepa
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2013
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A few nice little warmup holes start you off in the open, followed by a trek into the woods. Last few holes bring you back into the open. Not an excessive amount of distance required, but accuracy is a must. Great range of shots and holes. As much elevation as you're going to find this close to the coast. And most importantly a great local crew who keeps improving the course.
Cons: Since this course has been improved over the years, there has been a lot more play. This has started wearing down some of the vegitation off the fairways. I feel the course is starting to become too open. Bad shots aren't punished like they used to be. (Well, some still are.) Most people probably won't find this to be a concern or con...
Other Thoughts: Teeboxes are in on all holes. Baskets are being upgraded. Holes are being move for extra length and difficulty. If you haven't played this course in a while, get yourself back over to the Eastern Shore.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.