Fairhope, AL 
Fairhope Municipal Park Share
Uploaded By: catiadude69 Hole #8 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 166ft.   3 / 249ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Lots of work has been done

5+    1/2/2011   1/3/2011
Review By: twisted
Played: 87  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New concrete pads on all 20 holes, poured 12/2010
- New benches and new tee pad signs
- Easy to navigate, plenty of signs showing path
- Good variety of shots required, shorter holes are very tight and require accuracy
- Bathrooms and water fountain
- Large aerial photo with course layout at #1 kiosk, quick shot with camera phone and you are good to go
- Maps usually provided
- Park is clean and well maintained
- Plenty of garbage cans/recycling receptacles
Cons: - Dog park creates a pedestrian traffic problem and an odor
- A couple of the baskets are too low (vintage baskets)
- Several pads are very close to previous basket, watch your back
Other Thoughts: - Easy course, most holes are <250'
- The course is a circular loop. Although most people park in the lot on Hwy 98 for hole #1, you can also park at the baseball complex which is more centrally located
- The vintage baskets were salvaged from the original KOA campground course built in 1973 by Tom Monroe and 'Steady' Ed Headrick. The course was closed due to the owner's disapproval of a tournament's traditional women's topless round...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  new and improved

5+    12/1/2010   12/1/2010
Review By: BamaJim
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 37.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Newly made custom made tee box markers and new signs directing players on my home course have been installed. Still very tight on the wooded holes demanding accurate shots. Two new baskets installed bringing total to twenty. Glad to see the City of Fairhope Installing new Concrete tee pads on all holes.
Cons: Carefull where you walk around dog park Some people do not pick up after there animals. During baseball season some holes need to be played around to miss any conflict.
Other Thoughts: Great course to play not very long but a tough test of your game. A great crew of locals is making a difference.
RMFT

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  For the locals!

1    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: crossed23
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The first 3 holes are simply fantastic.
-Detailed course map on the start of the course.
-Excellent tee boxes on the first 3 holes.
-Some fun holes to play, with good course design.
-First 4-5 holes of the course has amazing upkeep, even having numbers in the cement tee boxes.
Cons: -Wooded sections of the course starting on hole 5, the woods were very deep and unattended making anying but a direct route to the basket easy to play.
-Easy to loose disc due to the heavy undergrowth of the woods and deep bushes/pinestraw, some even on the fairways. Some lucky person will find my Star Innova TL out there somewhere if they are lucky enough, as I couldnt find it and I threw it down down the fairway, but due to undergrowth I was unable to locate my disc.
-Baskets seem too low and a few were damaged (but only minor, nothing unplayable)
-Later half of the course, due to additions to park apparently, has caused it to be very confusing to the course layout. I actually missed out on holes, as I had no idea where to tee off or where to play, as the first 4 holes were amazing and easy to locate I had no idea the course would become so rough in the later holes.
-Some holes even lack tee box markers.
-No numbers on baskets, and few signs to help out with tee box placements.
Other Thoughts: I was amazed at what I saw starting this course. I had just finished playing the 2 courses in Pensacola and stopped by this one on the way home. Soon I found myself with a whole different attitude as I walked aimlessly looking for tee boxes and baskets. It was a bit dissapointing, but with some care from the city/locals this course could be really great. Really, the addition of tee markers for the natural boxes and signs (could easily be hand made by locals) could solve a lot of the problems. Maybe an hour or two with a weedeater a month in the wooded parts would really solve some of the major issues I saw.

To be so close to the great courses in Mobile, I cant recommend the drive to this course as it is presently. For locals who like disc golf its a grood and challenging course, and if I was a local myself I would happily take my weedeater out there and help out, but Im not. A little local/city love would make this a great course that I would really enjoy playing in a tournament in the future.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fairways of Fairhope

5+    5/31/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: GoldenRakerRock
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 34.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Requires accuracy especially in the woods.
Beginner T-Boxes on all holes to develop new players accuracy.
Friendly locals who will be happy to guide those unable to find their way around. And everybody else!
Cons: Not enough space for big arm holes. Mobile has plenty of courses if you are looking for big distances.
Two holes have been relocated due to the installation of a skate park and a dog park.
Other Thoughts: As the individual most responsible for the existence of this little piece of disc golf heaven it would be fair to say that I am biased. Our course is fun, nearly a mile long and will challenge your accuracy game. There has been increased interest lately in further developing what we have and I encourage those unhappy with their earlier round(s) here to give it another go. Lots of projects going on. See if you like it better. I have yet to hear any banjos, dueling or otherwise. Whining is made fun of, too. The beat up baskets are due to hurricane damage and one hit by heavy equipment. Please contact me if you would like to make a donation to replace the damaged equipment. UPdate: A Local has sweated and elbow-greased his way to straightening out the damaged baskets.
Update: Late November'10...Many sign projects have been completed but will not help your score if you keep throwing into the SCHULE! Two more baskets have been placed in the ground. Twelve new concrete tee boxes are just around the corner. Next tournament here is Sunday, 2 Jan 11.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 decent. Not worth the drive across the bay though

1    5/19/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice warmup/ cooldown holes with hard holes in the middle

2) Maps/scorecards we're available at the first tee (needed if you don't know this course),as well as a large color map to look at

3) Some holes require a lot of accuracy, a plus in my opinion

4)Only course in the county

5) SOME teepads have been installed, and they are VERY nice (but not added on all holes)
Cons: 1)VERY overgrown in summer, making some wooded shots seem more like luck than skill

2) Used a mid range through most of this course, many holes under 300ft

3)mixed (natural and concrete) tee pads/ hard to find tee-pads

4) Very few signs to direct you

5)No tee signs (although the concrete pads had Hole #'s marked on them)

6) some baskets we're in poor shape, although they we're all there
Other Thoughts: Decent course, best played in winter, but Needs some Teepads/signs for a better rating

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Could be great!

1    12/21/2009   12/21/2009
Review By: thebeast175
Played: 47  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Several holes are really fun and challenging and seem like there was some thought that went into them. 1st half of the coarse was easy to get around and there are a lot of birdie shots.
Cons: Very unorganized!!! Took a lot of time finding the next hole and completely skipped hole 9 for the lack of signage. Baskets looked like someone beat them up with a bat.
Other Thoughts: This coarse has great potential but little care. Somebody needs to decide that they care about this coarse and take the extra effort to make it a great coarse. There is a lot to work with but someone has to do the work, it wouldn't take much.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Diappointing

1    10/23/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: michaelalanhopkins
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1st 3 holes are okay
Cons: rarely have I seen a course so poorly maintained; human feces on the course; not a full 18; almost none of the baskets are labeled; overgrown; neglected
Other Thoughts: Not worth the effort! I wouldn't have been surprised to hear "Dueling Banjos" and be thrust into a Deliverance scene.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fairhope

5+    7/10/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: austin aero
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Book end type course (first few holes good warm up, tough holes in the center, and finish up with easy holes). Variety of holes challenges you to use a variety of throws.
Cons: Definitly need course maps at hole 1.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 FAIRHOPE

1    6/13/2009   6/13/2009
Review By: FLX BUZZZ
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: THERE IS SOME GOOD LAND TO WORK WITH, A BEAUTIFUL PARK.
Cons: NO TEE PADS, NO SIGNS, NO WAY TO FIND YOUR WAY AROUND THIS COURSE. WE WALKED AROUND TRYING TO FIGURE OUT THE LAYOUT, WE SPEND 10 TIMES LOOKING TO THE AMOUNT OF PLAYING. VERY FRUSTRATING.
Other Thoughts: DONT GO OUT OF YOUR WAY TO PLAY THIS COURSE!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/18/2009   4/23/2009
Review By: Joey Ingle
Played: 63  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great location for a course, just needs a little TLC.
I'm a left handed short thrower, I loved it!
I would guess average length for the entire course would be around 275 - 290'' per hole.
In my opinion a lefty designed this coures, very "lefty friendly".

Cons: Not designed for the long armed pro, most baskets are reachable with accurate shots using a mid range disc.
Hard to navigate the course, tee signs, direction of next tee's needed along with distances for each hole, it's a guessing game! Tee and directional signs are needed. At some baskets there are two trails leading out, had to guess which one to take to the next tee!
When we finally got to hole 16 or 17 (the one beind the baseball field) we could not find the rest of the holes.
Found #20 basket as we were leaving.
Other Thoughts: Hit the city up for some course improvements! Signs for sure and possibly some tee pads. New baskets will be needed in the very near future.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.