Lowell, MI 
Fallasburg Park Share
Uploaded By: lcra0825 Hole #17 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A lot of fun

1    8/14/2012   1/14/2013
Review By: River_love
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A lot of variety, some holes in the woods, some a little more open. Also good use of elevation. Fairways were clear, and pretty well kept.
Cons: Some of the rough could be hard to find discs in.
Other Thoughts: This course actually kind of reminded me of a flip city jr. course without some of the interesting eccentricities that make flip really stand out.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A challenge, but fun.

1    8/2/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -a nice variety of elevation, terrain and shot types needed throughout.
-well constructed. No walking paths full of pedestrians and the course has a nice hole to hole flow that is easy to follow.
-not many "bunnies" on this course at all.
-was relatively clean compared to many courses in West Michigan. There are a number of waste baskets throughout.
Cons: -many of the concrete markers have worn paint. I had trouble reading the distance on a few and the location of blind baskets were nearly impossible to decipher.
-a few of the holes are ridiculously difficult for a beginner. I play often and was humbled completely by a few of them, most notable the four-hundred footer straight up hill with a roughly twenty-foot wide fairway at points.
-no bathrooms and very spotty cell reception.
-the signage to find the course was pretty poor. I needed to get directions to the parking lot.
-nit picking perhaps, but as a guy in his thirties, starting the course off with a five-hundred foot hole and not a lot of space to warm up was a con.
Other Thoughts: I will enjoy this course a lot the second time around now that I know where all the holes are. I can definately see it rising a half point in ranking for me, but it does not compare to Flip City in structure nor beauty, or Brewer Park for overall playability. Definately not a beginner course but I like it!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great variety

1    3/17/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The ourse plays through a sprawling park that seemed to be disc golf exclusive with no interference with roads or other park users.There are nice elevation changes on a good number of the holes, with a couple fun downhill shots and some tricky pin placements with roll away potential. One hole offers a narrow straight fairway that goes uphill for over 400', it's a hole that really makes you pay for anything other than dead straight, and adds a great challenge.

There is good length variety, with a couple nice multi-shot holes and some shorter ace run type holes. 1 and 16 offer the chance to air out a drive, though you're punished for not hitting your landing zone, and you still have a tricky approach on both even with a good drive. There is a wide variety of hole shapes, and it felt balanced between left and right turning shots. You'll need a pretty good shot selection to score well here. Signage can be a bit inconsistent, but the course flows well and you at least get a general idea of where to throw.
Cons: A couple of the wooded holes are a little bit luck inducing, just a little bit more of a defined line would do a better job of separating scores by skill. I'm not a fan of long grass rough, it's limited here to the handful of more open holes, but it still isn't my favorite type of obstacle on a disc golf course. I didn't ding my rating for this last one, but it seemed to be full of giant groups who weren't good at letting faster groups play through, we spent the entire round waiting on three different groups of 8+ people.
Other Thoughts: This course was very high on fun factor, and the challenge and variety are enough to make it worth a return trip. Beginners might find it a little tight in spots, but the rough is only nasty on some holes and overall it's not too long. More experienced players will find some nice tests of different skills here, and a balanced set of challenges that make for a really fun round.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Variety Pack

1    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quite simply: they got it right.
Wonderful blend of well wooded, very well-wooded, and open fairways, with some combining elements of each; features a few holes that are open enough for big drives, but well wooded down the sidelines to punish wayward tee shots.
Great mix of distances; will have you teeing off with distance drivers, fairways, mids and putters.
Grabs your interest right off the bat with a 1st hole that's a mildly 'S' shaped 574 footer that starts out fairly open (approx the first 2/3 of the fairway), but is relatively well treed as you approach the guarded basket. Maintains your interest with fairway types and shapes covering all the bases: uphill, down-hill, flat, straight, left, right: anythng but repetitive.
Elevation is well utilized: from gently rolling terrain to elevated tees well above basket level for that incomparable feeling of throwing off a ledge. Employs a few sloped greens that make you think about laying-up vs. running the chains. Includes a humbling 500' hole that's sloped uphill the entire length from tee to pin.
Quite a few tucked and blind baskets that require good placement and precision off the tee: whether you have the arm to run the basket to set up birdies, or you'll need to take an upshot to set up a putt for par, your drive has to hit a window that gives you a decent line to the basket.
Area is dedicated to DG in a large park with plenty of room for other activities.
Seating (sometimes benches, sometimes cut tree trunks), and garbage cans on the majority of tee pads.
Dual tees for differing skill levels (all longs are concrete, with a mix of concrete and natural with imbedded toe boards for shorts).
Flows well from hole to hole - just follow the worn path to next tee. Tee markers are in the ground next to the tee pads; painted concrete shows hole #, distance and general layout.
Cons: There's really not a lot holding this course back, and while I don't ding ratings for things like this, I list them to be comprehensive and for the benefit of anyone thinking about traveling to play here:
I wish the river came into play (or at least into view for, aesthetic purposes) at least once. Seems like a shame not to feature it at all, since hole 16 runs towards it, and 17 and 18 run parallel to it just a few hundred feet away.
No restroom with running water within eyesight of the 1st/18th hole, or anywhere in between - not even a porta-potty.
Well wooded = lots of leaves. Any color disc is tough to find when it slides under a layer (or pile) of leaves, but I'd really hate searching for fly dyes and dye jobs at this course.
Other Thoughts: Fallasburg is a wonderful course that is quite challenging and still very enjoyable. Very well wooded in areas, I got to play "Fallasburg Lite" due to the lack of foliage in mid-March, but I have no doubt that it would be an absolute beast missing the fairway in mid-summer with peak vegetation. I suspect one's best bet might be just trying to get back on the fairway rather than attempting to advance directly towards the basket and ending up with another lousy lie with no look. Memorable holes for me are: 1, 13, and 16.

Contrary to what others have mentioned, I like the way 17 and 18 finish the course: open tee shots with enough distance that you have to take a bit of a rip to try and get there. End up on the wrong part of the fairway and you have a few trees to contend with, land in the sweet spot and you could get an easy par, or even a birdie if you have the arm to put a tee shot within your putting range.

For those who like to experience a bit of local flavor, just 5 miles south of the park on Main Street in downtown Lowell is terrific bistro featuring river-front outdoor dining, a wood fired grill, friendly service and some unique twists on classic grill fare: thoroughly enjoyed my Philly Cheesesteak Quesadilla, and I have it on good authority that the brisket's excellent, too.

If you know someone whos into covered bridges, Fallasburg has something for them, too: http://www.kentcountyparksfou...llasburg.html


7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Date: 1/9/2013 Designer Response by: CRDV-3400
I wanted to bring the river more into play, but the North Country Trail runs along the bank. There was initial resistance to getting as close we did.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    5/28/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large park that has tons of forested areas and open areas. Seems like nothing would interfere with the discing, maybe some random hikers or something.
- Great mix of more open holes and those in the forest. Less wooded holes vary from pretty easy to very, very tough. It starts off with hole #1, a 574' bomber that finishes hard left into a protected basket. #16 is another long, long hole that has plenty of obstacles en route to a tough basket placement. #8 finishes to the right with the basket in a small opening in the woods, and #13 is a longer right-finishing holes. The last two holes are simple hyzers, which finish off a tough round with some more open looks.
- The remainder of the course is set in pretty heavily wooded sections, with an awesome mix of curving lines through the trees and defined fairways that demand shot shaping. #2 is a forced RHBH hyzer, #3 is an obvious anhyzer, and so on. With dense forest and patches of jail in many spots, accuracy is extremely important to reach the basket. Lots of protected baskets and some rollaways in these parts as well. Difficulty varies from pretty straightforward to pinball.
- Elevation changes are present on many holes, especially in the forested areas. #5 is a diminishing uphill tunnel shot, big slope means big challenge. Some other lesser uphills, and downhills with a few elevated teepads. Nothing too crazy, but it definitely affects the shot. Some sloping punishment next to fairways and baskets at parts add more challenge too.
- Good variety in hole length, with two monsters in the open, a long uphill tunnel, some shorter more technical shots, and some longer hyzers to air it out. A little on the short side at times, but the difficulty evens them out.
- Good baskets and teepads, awesome tee signs. Navigation not too bad, though I did have a guide... I didn't think it would be super confusing at any time.
Cons: - Not many cons here, really. No water or other intense hazards to contend with; it is rough or some forest jail throughout. A good amount of the land is fairly flat as well; holes with elevation changes aren't too crazy, if at all.
- Another one might be shorter hole lengths; while the lines are tricky, some boil down to approach shot lengths. More experienced players might find these a little too short.
Other Thoughts: - I really had to nitpick to find some legitimate cons on this course. Fantastic variety of more open holes, more open holes that are probably true par 4's, tight forest holes with tricky lines, more open/straight wooded holes, with some cool elevation changes going on. Protected baskets, some rollaways, it has a little bit of everything, in some degree. Might be a little tight/rough for some beginners, but everyone else should definitely enjoy it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play!

1    5/29/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: Jeffro Skull
Played: 107  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of all shots, some long, some tight, and some just Ric-dic-ulious!
-Very Easy to follow.
-Signs on all tee pads
-Pro and Woman/Rec pads.
-Plenty of benchs, picnic tables to chill and relax.
Cons: Not many other than it can be somewhat difficult to play solo on the longer holes... unless you really like search by yourself or just be friendly and join another group.
-No restrooms
Other Thoughts: Again a must play if your in the area or like me make a weekend road trip out to west Michigan.
Go ahead and knock me for the "piss-poor" review, but I like to keep is short and simple! ;)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/18/2012   11/15/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 84  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Somewhat rustic, disc golf-dedicated piece of land along the Eastern edge of the Flat River flood plain.

Highlights include a few defined fairways in dense woods (Holes 1, 4, 8 and 13). Hole 13 in particular has a fairway surrounded by woods running along a ridge to give the perfect amount of space for long, accurate drives. Also has some terrific woods holes with actual lanes to drive through. Hole 14 is the best example, being a wooded downhill tunnel hole with numerous obstructions. Hole 10 is a ravine hole that can veer you off in several directions.

Has a few longer holes to give the big thrower a chance to air it out, especially Hole 16, which is 778 feet. Hole 1 also has a chance to throw hard off of the tee but has a few tree obstacles to keep it interesting, as well as a slightly elevated and protected basket. Hole 5 is 500 feet, but has the most uphill vertical grade I've ever seen on a course. Course also has a number of treacherous blind approach shots that can fool you into thinking that you have a par when you don't.

Quite a few picnic tables (more than most courses) give those with back problems a chance to rest. Terrific, large cement tees. Relatively few navigation issues. Appears to be a free course.
Cons: A couple of relatively weak woods holes; Hole 2 is the weakest, consisting of a narrow trail with heavy shrubbery on each side. I'm not actually crazy about the very narrow uphill drive on Hole 5, but it does bring you to a nice part of the course.

No nearby stores for discs or refreshments, be sure to bring what you need with you. Signs reading 'Fallasburg Park' are distant from the actual course, confusing those with bad directions.
Other Thoughts: Best Grand Rapids-area course by a mile (even several miles), flirting with destination course status. Improved maintenance, signing and selective cutting have moved this course up a notch in 2012.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 a beast

1    9/12/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety-- A little bit of everything here. Wide open to tight woods, Uphills, downhills, long stupid holes, rights, lefts.

Flow-- Flows well, trails are well marked.

Natural Beauty-- Beautiful park, dedicated to disc golf. no non-discers out there.

Length-- Enough 300 footers to make up for the long holes, which I didn't particularly enjoy.

Baskets-- Chainstars. thank god, though big ugly bogey rings may have made them more visible than the orange neck.
Cons: Navigation/"pin-spotting"--many blind holes that required scouting out prior to playing. Definitely not the place for a quick game.

Holes 5/16/17/18-- Hole five is so frustrating. 500+ feet uphill, tight fairway, deadly rough on either side. Hole 16. 800+ feet of winding, narrow, tree filled fairway. I'm sure those who have played much here can find lines, I could not. 17 & 18 just seemed lazy to me. I'm thinking there could be a better way to get you back to the parking lot. Perhaps shortening 16, and making 17 an extension of that hole and make 18 a huge bomb hole across the field?
Other Thoughts: I liked this course, don't get me wrong. I thoroughly believe that this is the best and most difficult course in Grand Rapids and have rated it as such.

Edit: with the addition of EXCELLENT SIGNAGE, I have upgraded/updated my review. Also, the change to #14 is very nice!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Shhhhhhhh!

1    7/13/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: bennyb
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great flow. Excellent tee pads. Challenging terrain
Scenic. Stay to the fairways. But rough is getting beaten in. Mowed fairways a plus.
Cons: I'm sure a course this great will eventually get tee signs.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome! Up and down, tree lanes. Open huckers.a great place.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fallasburg Park

1    4/13/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: ScumbagJosh
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great setup of holes
Challenging hole placements from tees
Good use of all shots in your bag
High risk/ high reward shots
Cons: -Not all tee pads are cement
-Some trees could be cut down for more lines to baskets.
-Very little signage, if any in spots
-#5.... I just don't like that hole, but that's just me.
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course in the Grand Rapids area, no other courses even compare in my opinion, until you start heading north. The lack of cement tee pads suck in parts, but suck it up and get over it. On my first time playing I didn't have a hard time finding my way around, as I thought the layout was pretty obvious, but better signage and cement pads would make this course an almost destination course. It's not forgiving and I guess I appreciate that. The locals there were really friendly, and helpful.
On a side note, I found 3 Morels while searching for discs just off the "fairways", added bonus.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.