Lowell, MI 
Fallasburg Park Share
Uploaded By: lcra0825 Hole #14 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / --   3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Approach



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    8/11/2012   11/14/2012
Review By: BZoods
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course definitely does a good job of using the land available.
-There's a good balance of left to right and right to left holes. Ability to throw multiple shot types is required to score well on all holes.
-Trash cans at just about every tee. Very little garbage in general.
-Good elevation changes. The two extremes being the uphill 5 and the downhill 14.
-Offers some holes with a lot of air space to work a line, while not being too forgiving. (13 comes to mind.
-Almost never too crowded.
-Picnic tables on just about every hole.
-The course has a few places where you can cross over to make for a quick 7 or 12 hole round.
Cons: -Only the one porto-potty near the practice basket.
-Has a tendency for some slow moving groups.
-A lot of writing on the picnic tables.
-I wish there was a little bit more length on a couple of the holes.
Other Thoughts: -This is my home course, so you might consider this review biased in favor of the course. But I just don't get tired of playing this course, and I think that's a definite positive for the course: the replay value.
-There's a lot of comments about luck being important here. I would like to disagree. The more I've played this course the more I've realized that good throws are possible on every hole. You just have to have the right disc/shot for the hole.
-Like has been said, this course has the potential to require every disc in your bag.
-I would actually like to put this at 4.7, it's definitely not a 5, but it's definitely worthy of a 4.5

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun elevation

1    6/8/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course was a lot of fun. It was in a very scenic area out in the country. The course was very well designed. It had many tricky shots that had high risk high reward shots. It had MANY fun elevation shots that challenged you to go for it or risk throwing way off course. This course had such a wide variety of shots and the signs and tee pads were great. First time there and was never confused on where to go and the signs showed the basket accurately.
Cons: Only con I can honestly think of is that there wasn't any water shots. Also a few of the alternate tee pads had yet to be cemented, but we only played the long ones so that was not an issue.
Other Thoughts: Simply amazing course. Some holes a spotter is helpful to have.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fallasburg

5+    4/13/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: E-man
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Variety: This course has it all, except water. You will go from a 500+ ft semi-open hole to technical, tightly wooded holes and then back again. The elevation use is outstanding, with both extreme uphill and downhill shots. It has both right and left turns through wooded paths, always keeping you on your toes. A couple memorable holes (probably b/c of their difficulty!) were a 500ft. extreme uphill shot down what I call a two-track with horror on either side, and the longest hole there-778ft with trees and bushes to navigate around. Trouble off the fairways is the norm here.

-Beauty/seclusion: Fallasburg is exclusively a DG course and is well off the beaten path, which is what makes it so great in my book. It feels like its just you and the course out there.

-Seats/trashcans: There are lots of trashcans and many seating areas which will be greatly appreciated when battling this monster. Many are picnic tables and a few are logs or railroad ties.

-Teepads/baskets: concrete tees are in excellent shape and plenty big. Some holes even have concrete amatuer tees. Baskets are in great shape, and there is a practice basket.
Cons: -NO SIGNS! This is a huge con for a course of this caliber. I rarely know what hole number I'm on, let alone the distance or pin location on the few blind holes. This will frustrate first-timers, and still is a drawback after playing the course 5+ times.

-Leaves on some of the wooded holes can make it difficult to find discs even in the fairway.

-No bathroom or porta-john. This is not a big deal for me, but may be for some. There is a park with a playground and some buildings that you drive by shortly before arriving at the course. These may have bathrooms in the Spring to Fall, but I'm not sure.
Other Thoughts: Tee signs and some course maintenance could make this a 5 disc course.
If you want to get away from it all and avoid city crowds, Fallasburg is a top choice. Anyone in the area should check it out, but I would even make it a first stop or destination of a road trip to the area. There are other parks (one w/ a playground) and other areas to explore, including a river and covered bridge, right around the corner from the DG course. Its just a really beautiful area all around.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 sweet course

5+    7/2/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: discdeviant
Played: 75  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging w/ good mix of deuce and long holes
Two sets of tees for each hole.
Quiet and relaxing site right next to river
Cons: One or two holes have random fairways
Other Thoughts: A professional caliber course that will hopefully get more exposure in the future.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I think this is my favorite course

5+    8/10/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Pete Nice
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Michigan golf.
The property is pretty much unused other than the disc golf course.
So many different discs/shots off the tee.
Very challenging.
Cons: The rough is ROUGH in some areas.
It can be difficult to follow the first time.
Other Thoughts: I give it a 4.5 because it is one of my favorites not because it is a Country Club course. Although it is far from a restaurant, brewpub or even a gas station it is worth the drive. The course is located in a huge park area outside of Lowell. Dirt parking, basic signs, a few benches, good baskets and tees but mostly very creative hole design. I think I use a different disc on every tee. Some open, some tight holes. I think it is hole #5 (tight, long uphill hole) that is so hard it is frustrating! Even a few ace runs. I live an hour and a half from Fallasburg with several courses closer to my house but I make it a point to visit this course a few times a year. Tough Michigan golf and one of the best courses I have ever played.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesomesauceness!!!

2-4    7/16/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located on a secluded, scenic stretch of land dedicated to a total monster of a course. This beast plays through prairie as well as stretches of both coniferous and deciduous woodland. Off the fairway, expect to be in trouble, as the rough consists of a challenging mix of dense trees, thick shule still in the process of being worn in, and often drastic elevation loss. Fallasburg is absolutely gorgeous and once its main flaw is rectified (see cons) will be a top destination course and the jewel of Grand Rapids area disc golf.
-Elevation galore, all masterfully implemented. Loss and gain through the woods challenges shot making ability while offering outstanding risk/reward. One basket sits on a promontory with steep, densely wooded drop-offs behind the basket as well as to the left and right. Another 500+ foot hole is a straight shot uphill with danger to both sides.
-Outstanding balance between long, short, left, right, up, down, wooded, open. This course has everything but water. Bring your entire arsenal.
-Conrete tees in excellent shape.
Cons: -Lacks sufficient signage which leads to some confusion without a guide (thanks TC!). A handful of blind holes makes navigation a bit tricky the first time through. One hole is so long (700 some feet) the pin is nowhere in sight. Another place near the beginning has awkward flow. All issues will be resolved by the installation of proper signage (which, apparently, is already in the works). I must stress that even lacking the signage, this course is killer fun and totally worth any hiccups in navigation.

*** Update: new signs for teepads are in. Signs show a map of the hole, distance, hole number and par. Am concrete tees and signs are in on several holes. The navigation is no longer an issue with the signage.
Other Thoughts: -Fallasburg is quite a course. For anyone roadtripping through Michigan, this is a must play along with some of the better known courses farther north. Don't miss out on this extremely challenging, outstandingly fun course, they don't get much better than this.
-I'm already planning a return to this course. Several holes remain burned into my brain days after playing it for the first time. If not for the painfully obvious lack of signage, I'd easily rank this course 5 discs. Even without the signage I toyed with the idea of giving 5 discs.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    6/19/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: Durso
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of different shots, tee pads at every hole, beautiful location.
Cons: Need spotters for a couple of holes
Other Thoughts: Favorite course in the greater Grand Rapids area. Never too big of a crowd. Leagues play on Monday nights.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ever improving and wonderful course

5+    5/4/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: McGuire419
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 5/12/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a wonderful variety of holes here. Lots of elevation changes, variety of hyzer and anhyzer holes. There are a couple long ones (#5 and #16), but after playing them a few times and finding the lines, they become so much better.
Cons: It is a little difficult for some newcomers to figure out where a couple pins are (blind holes).... don't be afraid to walk it if its your first time. Some holes are missing pads (for now!). Need to put in some markers and tee distance/shot type markers.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course. If you played this course a couple years back, head back and be AMAZED at the difference. We're talking full scale brush removal, tree removal, etc. There are new lanes added constantly, and by the 15th of May, all of the new pads and a new hole 14 will be up and running. Also new tee signs coming displaying the shot type and distance of each hole. This course is home to some of the MOST FRIENDLY players you will ever come across. I have had several discs returned to me as well. Always a watchful eye and people that will even track you down to return this disc.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best Public Grand Rapids Metro Area Course!

5+    7/6/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: Durco
Played: 64  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2013
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fallasburg is the best public course in the Grand Rapids metro area. Long, medium and short holes. Open, semi wooded and wooded holes. Some nice use of elevation. Par 58 from the long tees: two par 4s: #1 and one #5. This course requires you throw variety of shots and discs. It challenges your upshot game, shot selection and putting. You have to play smart and throw placement shots on the par 4s and 5, rather than just gripping and ripping.
There are benches, stumps or picnic tables at every tee. As well as trash cans near near most tees. Port-a-potty near the parking lot. Bathrooms in the building across the river on top of the hill.
Other Thoughts: The course is ever evolving and the FRDGA is constantly trying to improve the course. Plans are to add 6 more holes to the original 18 and possibly a 'north 9' across the road from the parking lot. We (The FRDGA) just need the $ for the baskets and concrete for tees. Donate to the course donation box when you play if you can. (The donation box located by hole #1 between the practice basket and #1's tee)

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fallasburg Champs

5+    10/21/2008   3/10/2009
Review By: Jkoz
Played: 96  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Length--longer holes that arent reachable with a good drive. These types of courses develop good course management.
2. Variety of designs--Hole 1 is long and open and then closes to a gap into the woods. A misplaced drive here or approach can easily turn the hole into bogey or double. Hole 16 plays long and out of the woods. You need to be able to throw long and straight just to get to a good landing area to even think about getting par.
3. Practice basket and area. You can always use the unused field area for warmup drives.
4. Tight wooded holes--these types of holes make learning to throw straight a priority. The first course i ever played regularly i could throw big hyzers all the time. This course makes you learn alot of the shots necessary to become good at the game
Other Thoughts: Favorite course in the Grand Rapids area. Hands down

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.