Lowell, MI 
Fallasburg Park Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #18 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / --   3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Short Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fallasburg

5+    4/13/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: E-man
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Variety: This course has it all, except water. You will go from a 500+ ft semi-open hole to technical, tightly wooded holes and then back again. The elevation use is outstanding, with both extreme uphill and downhill shots. It has both right and left turns through wooded paths, always keeping you on your toes. A couple memorable holes (probably b/c of their difficulty!) were a 500ft. extreme uphill shot down what I call a two-track with horror on either side, and the longest hole there-778ft with trees and bushes to navigate around. Trouble off the fairways is the norm here.

-Beauty/seclusion: Fallasburg is exclusively a DG course and is well off the beaten path, which is what makes it so great in my book. It feels like its just you and the course out there.

-Seats/trashcans: There are lots of trashcans and many seating areas which will be greatly appreciated when battling this monster. Many are picnic tables and a few are logs or railroad ties.

-Teepads/baskets: concrete tees are in excellent shape and plenty big. Some holes even have concrete amatuer tees. Baskets are in great shape, and there is a practice basket.
Cons: -NO SIGNS! This is a huge con for a course of this caliber. I rarely know what hole number I'm on, let alone the distance or pin location on the few blind holes. This will frustrate first-timers, and still is a drawback after playing the course 5+ times.

-Leaves on some of the wooded holes can make it difficult to find discs even in the fairway.

-No bathroom or porta-john. This is not a big deal for me, but may be for some. There is a park with a playground and some buildings that you drive by shortly before arriving at the course. These may have bathrooms in the Spring to Fall, but I'm not sure.
Other Thoughts: Tee signs and some course maintenance could make this a 5 disc course.
If you want to get away from it all and avoid city crowds, Fallasburg is a top choice. Anyone in the area should check it out, but I would even make it a first stop or destination of a road trip to the area. There are other parks (one w/ a playground) and other areas to explore, including a river and covered bridge, right around the corner from the DG course. Its just a really beautiful area all around.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/18/2012   11/15/2010
Review By: Mark R
Played: 83  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Somewhat rustic, disc golf-dedicated piece of land along the Eastern edge of the Flat River flood plain.

Highlights include a few defined fairways in dense woods (Holes 1, 4, 8 and 13). Hole 13 in particular has a fairway surrounded by woods running along a ridge to give the perfect amount of space for long, accurate drives. Also has some terrific woods holes with actual lanes to drive through. Hole 14 is the best example, being a wooded downhill tunnel hole with numerous obstructions. Hole 10 is a ravine hole that can veer you off in several directions.

Has a few longer holes to give the big thrower a chance to air it out, especially Hole 16, which is 778 feet. Hole 1 also has a chance to throw hard off of the tee but has a few tree obstacles to keep it interesting, as well as a slightly elevated and protected basket. Hole 5 is 500 feet, but has the most uphill vertical grade I've ever seen on a course. Course also has a number of treacherous blind approach shots that can fool you into thinking that you have a par when you don't.

Quite a few picnic tables (more than most courses) give those with back problems a chance to rest. Terrific, large cement tees. Relatively few navigation issues. Appears to be a free course.
Cons: A couple of relatively weak woods holes; Hole 2 is the weakest, consisting of a narrow trail with heavy shrubbery on each side. I'm not actually crazy about the very narrow uphill drive on Hole 5, but it does bring you to a nice part of the course.

No nearby stores for discs or refreshments, be sure to bring what you need with you. Signs reading 'Fallasburg Park' are distant from the actual course, confusing those with bad directions.
Other Thoughts: Best Grand Rapids-area course by a mile (even several miles), flirting with destination course status. Improved maintenance, signing and selective cutting have moved this course up a notch in 2012.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 sweet course

5+    7/2/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: discdeviant
Played: 75  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging w/ good mix of deuce and long holes
Two sets of tees for each hole.
Quiet and relaxing site right next to river
Cons: One or two holes have random fairways
Other Thoughts: A professional caliber course that will hopefully get more exposure in the future.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I think this is my favorite course

5+    8/10/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Pete Nice
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Michigan golf.
The property is pretty much unused other than the disc golf course.
So many different discs/shots off the tee.
Very challenging.
Cons: The rough is ROUGH in some areas.
It can be difficult to follow the first time.
Other Thoughts: I give it a 4.5 because it is one of my favorites not because it is a Country Club course. Although it is far from a restaurant, brewpub or even a gas station it is worth the drive. The course is located in a huge park area outside of Lowell. Dirt parking, basic signs, a few benches, good baskets and tees but mostly very creative hole design. I think I use a different disc on every tee. Some open, some tight holes. I think it is hole #5 (tight, long uphill hole) that is so hard it is frustrating! Even a few ace runs. I live an hour and a half from Fallasburg with several courses closer to my house but I make it a point to visit this course a few times a year. Tough Michigan golf and one of the best courses I have ever played.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Decent Course in the Woods

2-4    7/2/2011   10/9/2010
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2012
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is located in a mostly wooded area, but it has a decent variety of hole designs. Some are kind of long, some are kind of short, some have doglegs, and some have blind tee shots. Some holes encourage players to use sidearm throws while others encourage backhand throws. Some holes are outside the woods and have some tricky obstacles that come into play. Occasionally the elevation comes into play, but most of the holes on this course are pretty flat. Each hole has multiple basket locations and multiple tee pads. The signs at the longer tee pad locations are pretty helpful.
Cons: Most of the wooded holes are way too narrow and are surrounded by many obstacles like trees, bushes, and tall weeds. For most players, this becomes frustrating to play after awhile because it can be real difficult for their discs to land on the fairways and real easy for their discs to either hit a nearby tree or to sail deep into woods, well passed the fairway. To top it off, the fairways on these wooded holes tend to look more like walking paths than disc golf fairways, not just because of how narrow they are but also because they have very little grass on them. I really dislike the 5th hole. The fairway goes up a steep hill and it's extremely narrow and rocky with many trees and bushes surrounding it. I also can't stand to play the 6th hole. It doesn't appear to have a fairway because there's nothing but trees between you and the basket. This can be very frustrating to play simply because it requires more luck than skill to get your disc passed all those trees and into the basket for a low score. These are just a couple examples of the issues that plague some of the wooded holes. The weeds in the rough can become thick and tall during the summer, which makes it kind of tricky to find your disc in them (and it can be difficult to avoid the weeds on some holes). The mosquitoes and horseflies can also be pretty bad there during the summer, and don't be surprised to encounter poison ivy in the rough. Although I like the 18th hole, it's a little strange in that it looks like it has two baskets. Both are kind of close to the parking lot, but one does have "18" labeled on it (you can't see that from a distance though). I'm guessing the other one is supposed to be used for practice, but if that's true then it's strange that it appears to be located on the 18th fairway. Also, there are a few areas on this course where it's not clear where you need to go in order to get to the next hole. Some signs in those areas would be helpful.
Other Thoughts: Overall, my feelings toward this course are kind of mixed. It seems like a halfway decent course, because at times it can be fun and challenging to play, but it can also be kind of frustrating because of the issues players can encounter while playing this course, especially on the wooded holes which make up the majority of this course. Advanced players with accurate drives might enjoy those holes, but it can be rough outing for just about everyone else who plays them. The people who designed this course could learn a thing or two from those who have designed nicer wooded courses like the one in Shore Acres Park in Saugatuck and the one in Oshtemo Township Park. There is room for improvement on this course, but it has a ways to go before it reaches its full potential.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fallsburg

5+    10/13/2013   9/14/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a good mixture of left to right and right to left holes to challenge anybody's shot making ability. Concrete tee pads with brooms nearby on some holes. some holes to just open up and let it fly. makes you work for every shot. Fairly easy to navigate around the course. Practice basket near parking lot.
Cons: It really needs signage badly you can follow the path to the tee pad but on a lot of holes you can't really see the basket from the tee. Not too crazy about hole 16, tee pad for 7 sometimes looks like its aimed at the basket for 13.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend that first timers play this course with someone who has played here before. Hole 1 starts out with a long drive ability with hole tuck in by pine tree way down there. Hole 5 you need long accurate straight shots seeing that this hole runs completely uphill and the fairway is only about 9 feet wide the entire length with heavy brush on both sides. Hole 8 opens up into a large field where you can just let a long drive fly. Hole 9 has a nice long narrow fairway that opens up about halfway to the hole. Hole 10 the basket is on the hill directly in front of pad and slightly left of it. Hole 11 goes straight then turns left. Hole 12 has a nice long drive opportunity if you can navigate around the two skinny trees on the right side of fairway. Hole 13 be careful on your approach shot to the basket. The basket is on a ridge and both sides drop of steeply. Hole 15 is a nice long hole going downhill. Hole 16 is the monster on this course. All you see from the tee is a bunch of trees and brush. The hole is past those and past the next set of trees. You need careful disc placement on this hole. If playing with partners would highly recommend the you send out someone to spot where your disc lands. This hole can easily eat discs. If you lose your disc in the bushes be sure to look high and low. the bush may drop your disc to the ground or it may hold onto it in its top branches. All in all it is a Great course to play. I would highly recommend that everyone at least try this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 a beast

1    9/12/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety-- A little bit of everything here. Wide open to tight woods, Uphills, downhills, long stupid holes, rights, lefts.

Flow-- Flows well, trails are well marked.

Natural Beauty-- Beautiful park, dedicated to disc golf. no non-discers out there.

Length-- Enough 300 footers to make up for the long holes, which I didn't particularly enjoy.

Baskets-- Chainstars. thank god, though big ugly bogey rings may have made them more visible than the orange neck.
Cons: Navigation/"pin-spotting"--many blind holes that required scouting out prior to playing. Definitely not the place for a quick game.

Holes 5/16/17/18-- Hole five is so frustrating. 500+ feet uphill, tight fairway, deadly rough on either side. Hole 16. 800+ feet of winding, narrow, tree filled fairway. I'm sure those who have played much here can find lines, I could not. 17 & 18 just seemed lazy to me. I'm thinking there could be a better way to get you back to the parking lot. Perhaps shortening 16, and making 17 an extension of that hole and make 18 a huge bomb hole across the field?
Other Thoughts: I liked this course, don't get me wrong. I thoroughly believe that this is the best and most difficult course in Grand Rapids and have rated it as such.

Edit: with the addition of EXCELLENT SIGNAGE, I have upgraded/updated my review. Also, the change to #14 is very nice!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Disc Please

5+    6/11/2010   8/21/2010
Review By: Epiphil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is set up very nicely, Each Tee pad has its own little bit of difficulty. There seems to be such a wide arrange of throws at each hole as well. Some holes have multiple paths to take which can be nice for sidarm and forearm throwers. Always a change of scenery with fairway width changes. Coule be wide open one hole and tight with many tress the next. Makes for a challenging course, one of the best in the Grand Rapids area. You will find it very satisfying to really hit the Line of the hole! Each hole will bring a new surprise it seems, which can make or break your day! I would like to say its a very fun yet challenging course.
Cons: A few holes with large hills and long walks if you dont like long walks.. Some holes are not always easy to see. sometimes would be good to play with someone who knows the course well enough.

Make sure that you have plenty of time to play this course, a few times I have been there there might be a few larger crowds in front of me, so try to play through or just be ready to kick back and take it easy all day!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesomesauceness!!!

2-4    7/16/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located on a secluded, scenic stretch of land dedicated to a total monster of a course. This beast plays through prairie as well as stretches of both coniferous and deciduous woodland. Off the fairway, expect to be in trouble, as the rough consists of a challenging mix of dense trees, thick shule still in the process of being worn in, and often drastic elevation loss. Fallasburg is absolutely gorgeous and once its main flaw is rectified (see cons) will be a top destination course and the jewel of Grand Rapids area disc golf.
-Elevation galore, all masterfully implemented. Loss and gain through the woods challenges shot making ability while offering outstanding risk/reward. One basket sits on a promontory with steep, densely wooded drop-offs behind the basket as well as to the left and right. Another 500+ foot hole is a straight shot uphill with danger to both sides.
-Outstanding balance between long, short, left, right, up, down, wooded, open. This course has everything but water. Bring your entire arsenal.
-Conrete tees in excellent shape.
Cons: -Lacks sufficient signage which leads to some confusion without a guide (thanks TC!). A handful of blind holes makes navigation a bit tricky the first time through. One hole is so long (700 some feet) the pin is nowhere in sight. Another place near the beginning has awkward flow. All issues will be resolved by the installation of proper signage (which, apparently, is already in the works). I must stress that even lacking the signage, this course is killer fun and totally worth any hiccups in navigation.

*** Update: new signs for teepads are in. Signs show a map of the hole, distance, hole number and par. Am concrete tees and signs are in on several holes. The navigation is no longer an issue with the signage.
Other Thoughts: -Fallasburg is quite a course. For anyone roadtripping through Michigan, this is a must play along with some of the better known courses farther north. Don't miss out on this extremely challenging, outstandingly fun course, they don't get much better than this.
-I'm already planning a return to this course. Several holes remain burned into my brain days after playing it for the first time. If not for the painfully obvious lack of signage, I'd easily rank this course 5 discs. Even without the signage I toyed with the idea of giving 5 discs.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Shhhhhhhh!

1    7/13/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: bennyb
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 23.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great flow. Excellent tee pads. Challenging terrain
Scenic. Stay to the fairways. But rough is getting beaten in. Mowed fairways a plus.
Cons: I'm sure a course this great will eventually get tee signs.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome! Up and down, tree lanes. Open huckers.a great place.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.