Lowell, MI 
Fallasburg Park Share
Uploaded By: lcra0825 Hole #18 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

2-4    7/16/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 210  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located on a secluded, scenic stretch of land dedicated to a total monster of a course. This beast plays through prairie as well as stretches of both coniferous and deciduous woodland. Off the fairway, expect to be in trouble, as the rough consists of a challenging mix of dense trees, thick shule still in the process of being worn in, and often drastic elevation loss. Fallasburg is absolutely gorgeous and once its main flaw is rectified (see cons) will be a top destination course and the jewel of Grand Rapids area disc golf.
-Elevation galore, all masterfully implemented. Loss and gain through the woods challenges shot making ability while offering outstanding risk/reward. One basket sits on a promontory with steep, densely wooded drop-offs behind the basket as well as to the left and right. Another 500+ foot hole is a straight shot uphill with danger to both sides.
-Outstanding balance between long, short, left, right, up, down, wooded, open. This course has everything but water. Bring your entire arsenal.
-Conrete tees in excellent shape.
Cons: -Lacks sufficient signage which leads to some confusion without a guide (thanks TC!). A handful of blind holes makes navigation a bit tricky the first time through. One hole is so long (700 some feet) the pin is nowhere in sight. Another place near the beginning has awkward flow. All issues will be resolved by the installation of proper signage (which, apparently, is already in the works). I must stress that even lacking the signage, this course is killer fun and totally worth any hiccups in navigation.

*** Update: new signs for teepads are in. Signs show a map of the hole, distance, hole number and par. Am concrete tees and signs are in on several holes. The navigation is no longer an issue with the signage.
Other Thoughts: -Fallasburg is quite a course. For anyone roadtripping through Michigan, this is a must play along with some of the better known courses farther north. Don't miss out on this extremely challenging, outstandingly fun course, they don't get much better than this.
-I'm already planning a return to this course. Several holes remain burned into my brain days after playing it for the first time. If not for the painfully obvious lack of signage, I'd easily rank this course 5 discs. Even without the signage I toyed with the idea of giving 5 discs.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


1    7/13/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: bennyb
Played: 27  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 24.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great flow. Excellent tee pads. Challenging terrain
Scenic. Stay to the fairways. But rough is getting beaten in. Mowed fairways a plus.
Cons: I'm sure a course this great will eventually get tee signs.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome! Up and down, tree lanes. Open huckers.a great place.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    6/19/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: Durso
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of different shots, tee pads at every hole, beautiful location.
Cons: Need spotters for a couple of holes
Other Thoughts: Favorite course in the greater Grand Rapids area. Never too big of a crowd. Leagues play on Monday nights.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ever improving and wonderful course

5+    5/4/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: McGuire419
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 5/12/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a wonderful variety of holes here. Lots of elevation changes, variety of hyzer and anhyzer holes. There are a couple long ones (#5 and #16), but after playing them a few times and finding the lines, they become so much better.
Cons: It is a little difficult for some newcomers to figure out where a couple pins are (blind holes).... don't be afraid to walk it if its your first time. Some holes are missing pads (for now!). Need to put in some markers and tee distance/shot type markers.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course. If you played this course a couple years back, head back and be AMAZED at the difference. We're talking full scale brush removal, tree removal, etc. There are new lanes added constantly, and by the 15th of May, all of the new pads and a new hole 14 will be up and running. Also new tee signs coming displaying the shot type and distance of each hole. This course is home to some of the MOST FRIENDLY players you will ever come across. I have had several discs returned to me as well. Always a watchful eye and people that will even track you down to return this disc.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fallasburg Park

1    4/13/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: ScumbagJosh
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great setup of holes
Challenging hole placements from tees
Good use of all shots in your bag
High risk/ high reward shots
Cons: -Not all tee pads are cement
-Some trees could be cut down for more lines to baskets.
-Very little signage, if any in spots
-#5.... I just don't like that hole, but that's just me.
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course in the Grand Rapids area, no other courses even compare in my opinion, until you start heading north. The lack of cement tee pads suck in parts, but suck it up and get over it. On my first time playing I didn't have a hard time finding my way around, as I thought the layout was pretty obvious, but better signage and cement pads would make this course an almost destination course. It's not forgiving and I guess I appreciate that. The locals there were really friendly, and helpful.
On a side note, I found 3 Morels while searching for discs just off the "fairways", added bonus.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: Quantu
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -Difficult course
-Constantly improving
-Tree removal is making it somewhat more open
-Putting practice basket
Cons: -There is no marking of Par on the course, you need to know in advance
-Isn't finished yet
-Hole 16 :lol:
Other Thoughts: It's a good course, and is always busy. I recommend not playing it in the rain

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 In top 3 of GR's best courses...

5+    7/16/2010   9/26/2009
Review By: Terry C
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 18.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2010
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -long well placed holes
-nice country park setting
-good mix between woods and open shots
-nice rest spots to (relax) on almost every hole
-tees are now cement
Cons: -No teesigns or maps as of now.
-needs to be broken in a little better, its a fairly new park and acordingly needs a little perfecting on the pin placements and mowing down some rough areas.
- if you shank right or left your in big trouble unless you brought your machette
Other Thoughts: I had a blast out here, I thought it was going to be an overly woodsy country course, and it has its share of trees but still offers good fairways, pretty well manicured and maintained, the park has lots of support from locals and I see areas all over where the park is landscaping. I loved the long holes and theres a good veriety of left to right,right to left and up hill down hill shots.I also met some really cool locals who were really nice and helpful, seems really mellow out there unlike a other rowdier parks. Worth a drive to play for sure.This park will be great in a couple years after its been played in and beeten down a bit. This course has potential to be a 4 1/2 disc course but I think thats where it peaks at and needs some love and time to get there. Great course!!

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 terrain needs some luvin'

1    8/27/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 69  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2009
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - a variety of different hole styles.
-terrain varied.
-elevation on most
-surrounding park area quite beautiful
-let it rip on the super long ones
-SOME cement tee pads
-New baskets
Cons: -SOME cement tee pads.
-tee pads that are there have zero traction.
-NO signage. major con here
-long holes with blind placements
Other Thoughts: This is the course that people say (including a few reviews here) is the best in the Grand Rapids area. So we gave it a shot. The course is set off from the main Fallasburg scenic park. When you first drive in you have the feeling you might be playing on some amazingly manicured park, but this is not the case. Although for a disc golf course it is very well mowed for it's length.

Holes that are super long and technical in their placement. Ripper holes, tree holes, a peninsula hole, an up a two sand track hole(one of the most humbling holes there) and a few very cool ravine holes through the trees. The variety is outstanding.

The problem comes from complete lack of signage and kind of an inconsistent tee pad set up. The cement tee pads that are there are a very large rectangle, great size...BUT there is no traction built into it's surface. With Michigan and it's sandy environment, most of the tee pads were slippery as hell. No brooms around, so a pine tree branch was needed to sweep the sand. Signage, none. HUGE problem here especially for next hole location, distance, and hole number.

This is a course that has tons of potential with a bit more love, attention, and funds for signage. It seems to fall into the 2.5 to 3.5 category that most of the Grand Rapids area courses fall into. Worth a visit? Yeah, sure. Destination course...maybe someday hopefully.

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.


1    8/6/2009   8/13/2009
Review By: kingfresh7
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very tough course that forces you to make a variety of placement shots, not just chuck it and go. Nice practice hole at the beginning in case you are waiting for others to play. Cool place to walk around and play some disc golf.
Cons: No tee signs, which on a few holes makes the drive an interesting proposition. A couple of the paths between holes make you walk in the way of players at the next tee. A few holes are difficult to find the first time you play. Hole # 16 is very difficult. Very long, but with a narrow passage right off the tee, it seems a little excessive.
Other Thoughts: Takes a while to play, but its worth it. Make sure you watch your shots as there is a lot of woods to misfire your disc into.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best Public Grand Rapids Metro Area Course!

5+    7/6/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: Durco
Played: 65  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2013
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fallasburg is the best public course in the Grand Rapids metro area. Long, medium and short holes. Open, semi wooded and wooded holes. Some nice use of elevation. Par 58 from the long tees: two par 4s: #1 and one #5. This course requires you throw variety of shots and discs. It challenges your upshot game, shot selection and putting. You have to play smart and throw placement shots on the par 4s and 5, rather than just gripping and ripping.
There are benches, stumps or picnic tables at every tee. As well as trash cans near near most tees. Port-a-potty near the parking lot. Bathrooms in the building across the river on top of the hill.
Other Thoughts: The course is ever evolving and the FRDGA is constantly trying to improve the course. Plans are to add 6 more holes to the original 18 and possibly a 'north 9' across the road from the parking lot. We (The FRDGA) just need the $ for the baskets and concrete for tees. Donate to the course donation box when you play if you can. (The donation box located by hole #1 between the practice basket and #1's tee)

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.