Disc Golf Center
Rocky Mount, NC 
Farmington Park Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #1 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    7/16/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: siknastyinstalr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice course that can be challenging but fun for all players. Course is laid out in a very smooth manner and holes transition well to one another. Nx-T signs on most of the holes to show you where to go next. Nice mixture of short par 3s with some longer par 4s in the mix.
Cons: Baskets are very old and alot of them are rusted. A few of them are also bent and crooked that can make it tough to putt sometimes. Grass is cut but only in the middle of the fairway. If your disc goes off track then you will be searching thru 2 to 3 foot high grass in search of your disc.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course to play if in the area and is fun to play all the way from beginners to advanced.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's not a farm at all

2-4    5/25/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - Course plays through different sections of a park. Mixes up some open shots with a few slightly more wooded holes.

Good combination of hole types and lengths. The way it mixes in different holes and moves you through the park keeps the round interesting. There's one par 4 but like I said it has a nice balance of shorter and longer par 3's.

Also an interesting and balanced mix of obstacles and OB throughout. There's a creek system which comes in to play on 7 holes. The road plays an OB hazard role on a few holes. The course also has some hedge rows and large bushes that add difficulty.

The course does have some interesting lines and multiple options on holes that makes you think about disc and line choice.

Course flows pretty well overall, there are some spots where you cross streets which could be confusing to new players but wouldn't be difficult to figure out.

Some interesting basket locations with OB in play and some tucked in corners.

Atmosphere - The park has different sections and gives you diferent looks as you play through it. It doesn't give you a secluded wooded feel but a large portion of the course is reserved just for disc golf. Overall it's a nice looking course for the most part with some interesting features.

Equipment - Concrete tee pads of good size. Teesigns still on some holes. Most baskets are in good shape. Benches.
Cons: Layout - Biggest con here is that some holes just don't make a lot of sense due to overgrowth which takes away lines completely. A few holes are just dumb by design.

Some of the basket positions can be annoying, a good shot within 20' of a basket can leave you in complete jail.

There's some filler holes thrown in that are pretty open and straight with no real obstacle.

No elevation change at all really.

Overgrowth in places that causes lost disc potential.

Atmosphere - Ants, the biting sort. Some murky parts. Poison Ivy is abound.

Equipment - Some missing teesigns. One bent basket cage.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in Rocky Mount. It's atypical in the way it' setup and that makes it more interesting. I like the balance it has more than anything.

Though as I stated it's got some downer points with holes that just don't make sense or need some upkeep.

My favorite hole is 15, it's a long par 3 with a creek running down the entire left and guarding the front basket location creating an island green almost.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1st Run

1    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: clementsjd1
Played: 45  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Fairly Challenging course which I like.
- Very good mix of holes, from the woods, to wide open, to some very nice technical shots.
- Signs and benches at every pad.
Cons: - Better up keep needed.
- Bathrooms
- Rake those leaves away
Other Thoughts: Fairly nice course, reminded me of my home courses down here in Fayette-Nam the layout is good, but it is not taken care of very well. You can, and will lose your discs.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/22/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: GRISWOLD87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this course is pretty nice alot of different types of hole. blind shots right and left shots long and short. pretty challenging too. if your am dont expect to shoot under par nice 500+ footer and its par three. second shot must be on the money to par this hole. rack up your birdies on the 1-12, 13-18 will take you down!
Cons: needs some massive brush clean up on 1-4 can eat your disc if your not careful. #17 is just stupid and 16 has road construction underway so be careful on that. watch for snakes!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: ajbower2
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging course. First fourteen holes are challenging and fun. Good variety of technical and power shots.
Cons: Holes 15-17 are complete garbage. If you don't like your discs, just throw them on holes 15-17. You'll get rid of them fast! Also, there are quite a few fire ant hills and copper head snaked tend to linger near the creek.
Other Thoughts: Aside from 15-17, this course is amazing.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty cool

1    12/23/2009   12/23/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Opens with a few short wooded holes and then turns into a nice litte course through some lightly wooded areas and along a creek. The mature trees and the creek add just enough to keep you on your toes. A few long holes with some obstacles that allow you to air it out, but not without some possible risk. Course plays fair, but the creek can add some strokes to your round. Decent tee pads.
Cons: Some of the holes are fairly open without a ton of obstacles. Good challenge for new or intermediate players, but probably easy for bigger arms and experienced players. Not one exceptional thing I can point to. Just decent, average holes for the most part.
Other Thoughts: Of the 3 courses I played in Rocky Mount this was my favorite. No down side to a round here. If you can only play one in town this is it. You won't be wowed, but you can have a good, fun round.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/7/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 14 holes are very fun. Many open shots and a couple of wooded shots with not-too-tight fairways. One hole is over 500 ft, which is longer than almost any hole at any of the four courses in Rocky Mount. There is a creek that comes into play on a few holes, so that adds an edge to the course (though it would be extremely difficult to lose a disc in the creek). There is a fair variety between left and right turning shots. For a course in such a flat area, there is some decent elevation change on holes 9 & 11 (but this is still nothing compared to what is usually considered moderate elevation changes).
Cons: First of all, this course is in desperate need of bridges over the creek. There are signs that say that an Eagle Scout's project was to build bridges, but the bridges that were built were built over dry ditches instead of the creek. Also, if you throw into the woods on holes 15 or 16, you might as well say good bye to your disc. Extremely thick woods lines these fairways. I have seen a water moccasin in the creek by the 15th pin, so be careful.
Other Thoughts: This course has grown on me. The more I play disc golf, the more I appreciate the challenge of this course. It is, in my opinion, the most challenging in Rocky Mount.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 On the Move

5/12/2008   5/13/2008
Review By: bgreen
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of wooded and open holes, no one hole is completely open.Shooting small gaps more than once since holes 2-4 are heavily wooded. With trees on every hole it is challenging, and may be the most challenging course in Rocky Mount. A local Boy Scout troupe is adding benches and some bridges. I could tell that they are not finished , and am not sure if a bridge or 2 will be added for holes 6,7.
Cons: There is heavy growth along sides of holes that play down the utilities right of way areas. On holes 6,7 there is a large ditct that has to be crossed; with a soft sand bottom. If the water is up you will have to go from 5 to 8 skipping 6,7.
Other Thoughts: It is well worth playing and id getting more attention than in the past. Holes 5-14 is on land that was turned into Park land after Huricane Floyd flooded the ares in 1999.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs TLC...

5/5/2008   5/6/2008
Review By: tomschillin
Played: 143  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The mix of open holes and wooded holes was very well done, probably 6-8 heavily wooded and 10 or so somewhat open, nothing wide open, trees on every hole that add challenge...and the tee signs proved very helpful to find the next tee as we had never been there before.
Cons: It's relatively overgrown. The fairways are mowed, but that's about it, there's heavy brush off the fairway on most every wooded hole and a few of the not so wooded holes have some dense woods as a backstop of sorts, my wife actually lost her favorite disc in the swamp that is the backdrop for hole 6.

Also, some bridges would be nice over the creek that runs through holes 5-7...if the water is higher I can't see getting across the thing dry.
Other Thoughts: If the course was given a good clean-up maybe a weekend of work days, this would be a great course that I would come back to.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.