Disc Golf Center
Jupiter, FL 
FAU - MacArthur Campus Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #17 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
FAU-MacArther Campus DGC

1    12/26/2012   1/7/2013
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course winds its way through the Florida Atlantic University's MacArther Campus offering a fairly decent variety of shots. It's a short course overall with holes spanning from just 155' to the comparatively long 390' shot. It's limited to only par 3's and rings up at only 4922'. Although short, it offers an acceptable range of shots including a poke and hope hole, wide open field shots, two water carries, and various other hole types. Since the course doesn't necessarily favor any type of shot particularly, every shot orientation is somewhat represented or at least can be used.

Concrete tees, Innova Discatchers (red ones, very cool), tee signs, and other amenities round this up to a pretty nice course especially for a collage campus. Evidently the grounds are well kept with mown grass and a clean landscape. Though very nice tee signs are here, sometimes directional signage is lacking. Bringing a printed course map (which I recommend your first time out) will get you through pretty easily. If you find yourself without one, some disc golf intuition coupled with a few strategically placed course maps scattered throughout the course will guide you through.
Cons: Not unlike common Florida courses, no noticeable elevation changes will take its toll as far as variety goes. You'll find a few repetitive holes including the crisscrossing holes 15 and 16. Additionally, safety issues are pretty prevalent here. From the holes that play along sidewalks to the holes that play around buildings, care will need to be taken when throwing during busy times. A few dangerous areas are pronounced by a few blind shots here and there too. Hole one seemed to be the worst as it played over a sidewalk/courtyard.

Long hole lovers might be a bit disappointed with all the short holes. Only a hole or two are going to ask for the big arms. And even the short hole lovers might be disappointed with hole two's seemingly "no line" shot through the thick palms to a basket tucked behind a building's edge. Some may call it unfair and some may call it variety. To me, it's either an easy 2 or an easy 3, depending on your luck off the tee. With that said, those who dislike luck shots probably won't like hole two.
Other Thoughts: Conveniently located off I-95, this course is easy to get to whether you are traveling through or live close.

This is a fun course and worth the stop if you're passing through. While not necessarily a destination course, this is still a course that offers a pretty fun round. Enjoy!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not the best. Not the worst.

2-4    12/27/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets are all dispatchers and most of them are in good shape with the exception of rusty chains on a few holes.
Some holes are long and some are short so a decent mix of distances are there.
Close to I-95 located on the Campus of FAU in Jupiter.
Cons: Hole 2 just doesn't make sense. I think that holes should have a risk/reward option. There is a line but it doesn't make a lot of sense and because of the palm trees's growth, the big hyper bomb shot is gone.
sand tee pads.
signage is not in good shape and many of the holes have been moved so the distances are not accurate.
Other Thoughts: overall, I play this course because it is close. I'd recommend anyone to play it once. It's not bad, it's just not close to being in my top 35 played.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A little Disc Golf Oasis in So Florida

2-4    5/1/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: punahou80
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 32.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads. Laid back atmosphere. FAU campus and surroundings take all the rough edges off - restrooms, refreshments and parking are convenient to the course. Nice course for beginners and intermediates.
I don't want to be negative - this place is an oasis in an otherwise barren region for disc golf and it was tons of fun to play a few laid back rounds in the spring.

Another bonus is that this college is a commuter campus so weekends have less pedestrian traffic than during the week! Schweet!
Cons: Flat - alas this is Florida. A lot of pavement to deal with - sidewalks, roads, curbs, buildings and even a cooling tower to deal with (thankfully the enclosure was unlocked). Course lacks variety.

Played several rounds over a couple days with some locals so I didn't have to navigate the course but I got the feeling it would be a challenge on the first and second try. Place must get wicked hot in the summer.
Other Thoughts: The course was in good condition on my visit - brush had been recently cleared from a couple holes and the campus is nicely landscaped.

Signature Hole - I'm in the minority on this since folks seem to like No. 2, but No. 12 is where it's at in my opinion.

The tee pad looks through a natural "chute" to a small clearing with water beyond to within maybe 15 feet of the hole. The basket is clearly visible, taunting you. Your choices are as follows:
1) Layup through the chute to the clearing, then approach for par over water (anhy for RHBH),
2) Avoid the whole mess by going right with a big hyzer off the tee. This leaves you with a possible birdie putt but more likely an approach for par, or
3) Strap it on and LET ER RIP! for birdie or possible ace. It's all or nothing though, anything short will almost surely lose the disc.

Have some fun in Florida at this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/21/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: mprestop
Played: 46  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Neat course right on the FAU campus. Never seen a course located in such a place. Incredibly cool that the University would allow baskets to be put in, in such close proximity to buildings. Some really unique shots.
Cons: Borders on being a novelty course since it is constrained by the campus. Too much of a lefty bias on the course. A very par driven course. I also imagine it can be terribly dangerous when classes are in session. This also must make playing the course exceptionally difficult.
Other Thoughts: First course I've played in Florida - was decently fun!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Making the best of what's available

1    2/21/2010   2/22/2010
Review By: crtraveler
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Convenience - built in and around the FAU campus so the proximity to food, bathrooms etc is exceptional. Obviously if you are an FAU student, it doesn't get any more convenient. It is also a fun, short little course.
Cons: The same thing that makes it convenient is also it's downside - you are playing a course that was installed as an afterthought... You throw around buildings, sidewalks, light posts and I would imagine lots of people during the days that school is in session (I played on a Sunday)
Other Thoughts: Not bad at all for what it is...I would play here again if given the opportunity.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Better than nothing

2-4    9/10/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: Dragonfly
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New equipment that is easily visible. It's the only 18 hole course that is within a reasonable distance from me, so by default it's the "best" course around... oh yeah the course is on a college campus so there's college girls walking around, a plus in my book...
Cons: Course is not too too challenging, it's all par 3's. Hole 2 is kinda evil (hyzering around all those palms seemed to work well my last game). Hole 12 (over the water) is also kinda evil (instead of trying to drive from the tee directly over the water, I like to start with a short shot through the treeline, then over the water). Beware of alligators.
Other Thoughts: I like the course. I play it after class, takes me about an hour. Watch out for hole 10, there's a fenced off area that contains the schools huge air conditioning units (or something) though (from personal experience) the gates are not locked so if your throw goes astray, you can duck in there quick and get your disc.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course for beginners

5+    7/17/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: YawningDrone
Played: 37  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is fairly easy and lightly played. The equipment is brand new. After playing it once it's easy to navigate and provides opportunities for different shot types.
Cons: Some of the holes are in an "wildlife" area of the campus and can get overgrown. A few holes have high weeds with hitchhikers. Tee signs are confusing.
Other Thoughts: I play this course often because it is closer to me than any of the others. It's not a bad little course and has grown on me over time. I have yet to play when there was any student activity whatsoever so I do not see that being a real factor.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.