Jupiter, FL 
FAU - MacArthur Campus Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #5 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 470ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Maybe I'm biased, but...

5+    2/12/2013   2/18/2013
Review By: Bocephus_Moonshine
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/8/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course for beginners. It has a mix of short and long holes with one concrete pad per hole and one pin position per hole.

There is free parking in the parking garage across the street next to Roger Dean Stadium.
Cons: Parts of the course only get mowed once a quarter, and when the summer rains come, those parts of the course get downright inhospitable. They used to mow a fairway down the middle of hole 6, but they stopped doing that.

Parts of the course are in high-traffic areas, making it dangerous to throw. A couple of the baskets are positioned around blind corners of buildings, one right outside an exit door.

This course was put together using student activity fees at a time when there were a lot of students who wanted to use the course. Those students have graduated and left. Not many current students play, so the course is not being maintained, and there is little interest in redesigning the course to account for changing traffic patterns.

If you park on campus without a permit or without feeding the meter in the lot at Hole #1, you can get ticketed.

Local players have installed garbage cans on the course, but the cans rarely get emptied. Be prepared to haul out your own garbage.

Some of the concrete tee pads slope downward towards the front. This can be hard on people with knee problems.
Other Thoughts: Enjoy this course while it lasts, because it may not be around for much longer. If they can't find a way to resolve problems with the course, it might eventually be dismantled. There have been recent complaints about people hitting windows on buildings and cars with discs, so try not to hit any buildings or cars if you play this course.

It should go without saying, but I'll say it anyway: This course is on a university campus. If you bring alcohol on campus, you could be asked to leave by the campus police. If you are asked to leave, you should be grateful for the option. As fully sworn-in state officers, campus police have the authority to arrest you or issue a trespass warning, banning you for life. Leave the alcohol (and other substances) in your car. If you insist on drinking adult beverages while you play, play at a course that isn't located on a college or university campus.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

FAU-MacArther Campus DGC

1    12/26/2012   1/7/2013
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course winds its way through the Florida Atlantic University's MacArther Campus offering a fairly decent variety of shots. It's a short course overall with holes spanning from just 155' to the comparatively long 390' shot. It's limited to only par 3's and rings up at only 4922'. Although short, it offers an acceptable range of shots including a poke and hope hole, wide open field shots, two water carries, and various other hole types. Since the course doesn't necessarily favor any type of shot particularly, every shot orientation is somewhat represented or at least can be used.

Concrete tees, Innova Discatchers (red ones, very cool), tee signs, and other amenities round this up to a pretty nice course especially for a collage campus. Evidently the grounds are well kept with mown grass and a clean landscape. Though very nice tee signs are here, sometimes directional signage is lacking. Bringing a printed course map (which I recommend your first time out) will get you through pretty easily. If you find yourself without one, some disc golf intuition coupled with a few strategically placed course maps scattered throughout the course will guide you through.
Cons: Not unlike common Florida courses, no noticeable elevation changes will take its toll as far as variety goes. You'll find a few repetitive holes including the crisscrossing holes 15 and 16. Additionally, safety issues are pretty prevalent here. From the holes that play along sidewalks to the holes that play around buildings, care will need to be taken when throwing during busy times. A few dangerous areas are pronounced by a few blind shots here and there too. Hole one seemed to be the worst as it played over a sidewalk/courtyard.

Long hole lovers might be a bit disappointed with all the short holes. Only a hole or two are going to ask for the big arms. And even the short hole lovers might be disappointed with hole two's seemingly "no line" shot through the thick palms to a basket tucked behind a building's edge. Some may call it unfair and some may call it variety. To me, it's either an easy 2 or an easy 3, depending on your luck off the tee. With that said, those who dislike luck shots probably won't like hole two.
Other Thoughts: Conveniently located off I-95, this course is easy to get to whether you are traveling through or live close.

This is a fun course and worth the stop if you're passing through. While not necessarily a destination course, this is still a course that offers a pretty fun round. Enjoy!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beginners Review

5+    12/22/2012   1/4/2013
Review By: jasonrigler
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes on a college campus, so it is mostly maintained. Very light traffic or interference on the course. Variety of holes. Long, short, wooded.
Cons: Would be nice to have next hole indicators. Not the most challenging or creative course. The metal art statue on hole ?17 is not kind to lefties ;)
Other Thoughts: As a beginner, I appreciated that this course has some wide open holes. I would start on 14 and play thru 18. 14 and 15 are basically 2 holes across the same field so it allows for driving practice. The first few holes are more challenging due to trees. The water hole (12?) is not really beginner friendly, the other 17 are fine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not the best. Not the worst.

2-4    12/27/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets are all dispatchers and most of them are in good shape with the exception of rusty chains on a few holes.
Some holes are long and some are short so a decent mix of distances are there.
Close to I-95 located on the Campus of FAU in Jupiter.
Cons: Hole 2 just doesn't make sense. I think that holes should have a risk/reward option. There is a line but it doesn't make a lot of sense and because of the palm trees's growth, the big hyper bomb shot is gone.
sand tee pads.
signage is not in good shape and many of the holes have been moved so the distances are not accurate.
Other Thoughts: overall, I play this course because it is close. I'd recommend anyone to play it once. It's not bad, it's just not close to being in my top 35 played.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Needs some lovers

1    11/2/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: VenV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees. Some holes well groomed. Lots of ace runs. Hole maps on each tee. A few tees had a course map, too. Creative layout around buildings. The twelve holes we played were fine and fun.
Cons: Holes 6, 8, first half of 9, 11, 12, and 13 unplayable due to lack of mowing. Tall grass would hide disc as well as dangerous critters. No next tee indicators. Hole maps were upside down. Creative layout makes for some hard to find next holes. Couldn't find hole 1. Concrete tees could be longer.
Other Thoughts: Obviously more disc golfers are needed to help maintain this course. No evidence that this course gets any play at all. I bet the college would mow fairways in the long grass if someone would ask them.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent 18 hole course in Palm Beach County

2-4    8/7/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 68  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Neat design around the campus buildings. Decent baskets, cement tee pads, small signs at each pad with a basic illustration of each hole. Good mix of long open and short tight shots. Great course for beginners or intermediate players looking to improve. Hole 12 makes for a challenging throw over water.
Cons: Navigation can be tricky. The course needs "next tee" signs to help guide players along. Course map is located by hole 3 and again on hole 10 rather than hole 1. Hole 18 finishes by hole 3 with a long walk back to hole 1 if you wish to play again. Some holes have some tall grass that does not appear to get cut very often so be prepared for that. Holes 14 & 15 cross each other's fairway but I like both holes so it appears the design layout there was unavoidable. Hole 9 has a basket placement that cannot be seen from the tee pad and is very close to a building and sidewalk which can make for a serious safety hazard during school hours. In fact, several holes might become a little dangerous during school hours.. This is certainly a weekend course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a nice fun course for Palm Beach county, where disc golf still needs a little help in popularity. Okeeheelee Park will eventually become the better course in Palm Beach County, but for now, this is it. You can park in the metered campus guest parking area by hole 1 tee-pad OR park along the road in the free 3hour parking and start your round on hole 5 or 6. I played on a Sunday and the campus was pretty much empty with the exception of a few other disc golfers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Best Course In Jupiter!

2-4    1/2/2011   1/7/2011
Review By: chippythemunk
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course doesn't have the pizzazz of some of the northern courses (such as nice wooded areas and a large variation in terrain) but I find it fun to play. Two of the holes (#7 and #12) can be played over water which adds a bit of suspense to the game. The first time I played this course the group had to send out spotters to watch where a disk fell because of the overgrown nature of the grass on some of the holes (#6 and #8 for instance). However, this last go around (Jan. 2nd, 2010) the area was nicely trimmed and we had no issues whatsoever. The tees are all well marked concrete slabs with nice metal, printed signs. Overall, this is the best course to play in North Palm Beach County in my opinion.
Cons: The first hole seems to play over the parking lot and doesn't seem like it was very well thought out. The only options are to throw high over the trees blocking your path or around them (and risk landing out of bounds in the parking lot). Some of the later holes are a bit of the same long drives in a row that don't really require much finesse.

Unfortunately, the orientation of the shot on the tee signs can be disorienting. If you walk up to a sign and it has been rotated upside down, there's probably a reason. Also, I suggest using the map that has been uploaded or take a snap shot of the course at tee #3. It's not too hard to navigate the second time around, but the first time can be a bit difficult.
Other Thoughts: I'm not quite sure what the maintenance schedule is for the large grassy areas of this course. The first time we played this course (late July 2010) the grass was 4 feet high, but the last time (Jan. 2nd, 2010) the course was pristine. Also, if you're brave enough to throw over water, you might want to buy a disc that floats. Next time I play I'll bring my GPS and also note the distances on the tee signs to make sure everything's up to date. I rated this course a 3.5 because I think it requires updated reviews (some are really old) and has been underrated for the current state of the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf in the city

1    7/18/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: Edward Fowler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets. Red top helps you see them even when you can't find the pad
Cons: Poorly laid out, even with map which is not found until #3. Took 1/2 hour to find pad for #6 as sign was overgrown by grass, The undeveloped areas sapped the fun out, as it added another hour as each throw had us looking for the disc in super high grass and weeds. Perhaps better maintained when class in session? Imagine playing in the middle of a city, and you can imagine the FAU course. Drove 50 miles 1 way to play.(100 Round trip) Won't do it again

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A little Disc Golf Oasis in So Florida

2-4    5/1/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: punahou80
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 31.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads. Laid back atmosphere. FAU campus and surroundings take all the rough edges off - restrooms, refreshments and parking are convenient to the course. Nice course for beginners and intermediates.
I don't want to be negative - this place is an oasis in an otherwise barren region for disc golf and it was tons of fun to play a few laid back rounds in the spring.

Another bonus is that this college is a commuter campus so weekends have less pedestrian traffic than during the week! Schweet!
Cons: Flat - alas this is Florida. A lot of pavement to deal with - sidewalks, roads, curbs, buildings and even a cooling tower to deal with (thankfully the enclosure was unlocked). Course lacks variety.

Played several rounds over a couple days with some locals so I didn't have to navigate the course but I got the feeling it would be a challenge on the first and second try. Place must get wicked hot in the summer.
Other Thoughts: The course was in good condition on my visit - brush had been recently cleared from a couple holes and the campus is nicely landscaped.

Signature Hole - I'm in the minority on this since folks seem to like No. 2, but No. 12 is where it's at in my opinion.

The tee pad looks through a natural "chute" to a small clearing with water beyond to within maybe 15 feet of the hole. The basket is clearly visible, taunting you. Your choices are as follows:
1) Layup through the chute to the clearing, then approach for par over water (anhy for RHBH),
2) Avoid the whole mess by going right with a big hyzer off the tee. This leaves you with a possible birdie putt but more likely an approach for par, or
3) Strap it on and LET ER RIP! for birdie or possible ace. It's all or nothing though, anything short will almost surely lose the disc.

Have some fun in Florida at this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A real nailbiter!

1    5/23/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: TiVo713
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short trick shot holes to warm you up before becoming a sluggers paradise. Theres 2 holes that require you to throw over water/swamp muck which makes for nail biters.
Cons: 2-3 of the holes are just plain field, chuck it as far as you can with no obstacles. I think its bit of a throwaway but it does balance from the finesse throws needed in the 1st couple holes. I think that kind of makes it anyones game.
Other Thoughts: Obvious don't play during class hours at the university and you should be fine. We all have camera phones now, so take a snapshot of the course map on hole 3 and use that as a reference for navigating as its a long walking course. Oh lots of people comment that in the undeveloped areas of the course, there are rattlesnakes... never seen them but just FYI

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.