Jupiter, FL 
FAU - MacArthur Campus Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #9 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 364ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

1    2/21/2010   2/24/2010
Review By: mprestop
Played: 46  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Neat course right on the FAU campus. Never seen a course located in such a place. Incredibly cool that the University would allow baskets to be put in, in such close proximity to buildings. Some really unique shots.
Cons: Borders on being a novelty course since it is constrained by the campus. Too much of a lefty bias on the course. A very par driven course. I also imagine it can be terribly dangerous when classes are in session. This also must make playing the course exceptionally difficult.
Other Thoughts: First course I've played in Florida - was decently fun!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Making the best of what's available

1    2/21/2010   2/22/2010
Review By: crtraveler
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Convenience - built in and around the FAU campus so the proximity to food, bathrooms etc is exceptional. Obviously if you are an FAU student, it doesn't get any more convenient. It is also a fun, short little course.
Cons: The same thing that makes it convenient is also it's downside - you are playing a course that was installed as an afterthought... You throw around buildings, sidewalks, light posts and I would imagine lots of people during the days that school is in session (I played on a Sunday)
Other Thoughts: Not bad at all for what it is...I would play here again if given the opportunity.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Better than nothing

2-4    9/10/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: Dragonfly
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New equipment that is easily visible. It's the only 18 hole course that is within a reasonable distance from me, so by default it's the "best" course around... oh yeah the course is on a college campus so there's college girls walking around, a plus in my book...
Cons: Course is not too too challenging, it's all par 3's. Hole 2 is kinda evil (hyzering around all those palms seemed to work well my last game). Hole 12 (over the water) is also kinda evil (instead of trying to drive from the tee directly over the water, I like to start with a short shot through the treeline, then over the water). Beware of alligators.
Other Thoughts: I like the course. I play it after class, takes me about an hour. Watch out for hole 10, there's a fenced off area that contains the schools huge air conditioning units (or something) though (from personal experience) the gates are not locked so if your throw goes astray, you can duck in there quick and get your disc.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course for beginners

5+    7/17/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: YawningDrone
Played: 37  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is fairly easy and lightly played. The equipment is brand new. After playing it once it's easy to navigate and provides opportunities for different shot types.
Cons: Some of the holes are in an "wildlife" area of the campus and can get overgrown. A few holes have high weeds with hitchhikers. Tee signs are confusing.
Other Thoughts: I play this course often because it is closer to me than any of the others. It's not a bad little course and has grown on me over time. I have yet to play when there was any student activity whatsoever so I do not see that being a real factor.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 No thought to course design

5+    3/7/2009   3/7/2009
Review By: rjgarment
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New baskets.
Cons: No logic to design. Holes are poorly placed. Most of course near sidewalks and roads.
Other Thoughts: Needs next tee signs and possibly a re-design. The campus is nice, but the course seems to be jammed in.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Enjoyable

1    2/20/2009   2/20/2009
Review By: Noles402
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice area, cool to play around buildings and on a college campus (although you would never know it)
Cons: The tee signs could have been a little better thought out
Other Thoughts: I have only played 2 courses in my life so this one isnt that bad yet

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 dorky

1    12/31/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: slipdisc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets and signs as far as newness
Cons: Dorky setup, some holes are badly placed. The new signs are nice but some are hard to understand as they don't picture the shot from a sensible angle. 3 holes are missing... construction? and a couple of holes are incorrect distance on signs, one is 100' off. Poorly planned.
Other Thoughts: Its too bad as this could have been a nice little course with the good equipment.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not so much fun

1    11/27/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A few of the holes go around the buildings on campus and make you think this is going to be an interesting game of disc golf. There is a good variety of distances throughout the couse. All of the baskets are new and very shiny red. All of the holes are very easy to make par.
Cons: Hole 2 is evil, as is 12. All of the other holes go through nasty weed filled fields with lots of stickers. There are several good places to loose your disc and get arrested if you try to hop a fence to get it. After the first couple of holes I was ready to finish up and go home.
Other Thoughts: If I lived around here I would make the best of it, I'm happy I do not.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 students beware

1    4/23/2007   9/5/2008
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.7 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very interesting location in the middle of campus. a reasonable variety of holes. great for a quick round between classes
Cons: throwing between buildings and across side walks and such
Other Thoughts: i played it as 9 it's now 18, i would go back to play the other 9

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.