Course Extinct
Yorktown Heights, NY
FDR State Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #6 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Excellent Fall Day

5+    10/22/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: wentzl
Played: 40  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is about as close to perfect as it gets. The tree shots are tight and technical, but always with a couple good lines to get through. The course is set in a beautiful wooded park. Plenty of opportunity for big arms to make long drives.
Cons: 12, 13, 14 and 15, signs were missing and there was some wandering around to figure out where to go. Lost a disc in the leaves which can be a bitch in the fall. If you like water hazards, there are none.
Other Thoughts: This course is majestic.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

FDR

1    8/17/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 1.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety- the front nine i pretty awesome and by itself, it would probably be a 4.5, because every hole is unique. Hole starts open and finishes in the woods before you open up to hole 2 which is dead straight with construnction ditches bordering either side from there to hole 8 the course presents a nice mix of wooded holes with most if not all presenting their wn unique challenge and lines. Hole number 5 is a sweet tight downhill bomber with the lake as a backdrop. Probably the single most beatiful hole that i have aver played. After 8 the golf is at a 3.25-3.5 level. Hole 9 is open straight over a slight hill to a basket next to a large tree. From there you cross the road into a multi use area of the park that incorporate what little trees are in this part of the park. Most holes from 10-15 are open and easily birdiable, no real risk reward factor. 16 is wooded but so ridiculously tight that you would rather play another boring open hole. 17 is pretty open and short and 18 is a longer hole (600) that is open for about 400 then into a slightly more wooded area where the basket is. Hole variety ranges from 220-600.

Amenities- nice yellow discatcher baskets are easy to see. Information board by the first tee that has scorecards as well as league news. All tee have flypads and 1-10 have nice metal tee signs while the other 8 holes have plastic coated paper tee signs with about half of them missing. Tee signs seemed to bee accurate and were pretty informative. Bathrooms as well as the practice baske are near the near parking lot. Great family park. Cones on top of basket helps to see the baskets especially in the woods.

Cons: The back nine was not really satisfiing because most of the holes were relativley open an boring.

Hole 16 is the only unfair hole on the course but it requires a miracle to get the disc tomland anywhere close to where the basket is.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course, i just wish that the obious thought that had been used when creating the front nine had been used when designing the layout for the back nine as well. The course wouldve been that much more enjoyable if they had put that extra time and thought into the back nine.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worth The Trip

1    4/8/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: FDR features 18 solid holes of disc golf in a beautiful state park off the Taconic Parkway. Good balance, as holes 1-8 plus # 17 feature a wooded, technical layout while the rest of the course is more open with larger mature tress scattered about. A welcome board, practice basket and bathrooms are all on site and Innova Discatchers are in great shape. Excellent rubber tee pads and top rate signs are at every hole. Hole #1 is a real good starting hole and hole #5 is a highlight- a long, downhill straight shot through a narrow opening to a wide open basket about 50 feet from the lake. Good use of elevation. "Next Tee" signs help with navigation, and man-made bridges and wooden planks assist travel over marshy areas and small streams. A solid play overall.
Cons: Some holes play in relatively close proximity to others, and the occasional "heads up" is needed for errant throws if the course is crowded. Not a fan of hole 17- an overly tight shot that relies on some luck even on good drives. Picnickers and pedestrians can be present on or near some of the open holes. Parkway traffic can be heard on holes 3 & 4, which may bother some sensitive types. There is a park entrance fee during peak times throughout the season.
Other Thoughts: It is unfortunate that Hurricane Sandy did major damage to the back 9 holes here and necessitated some alternate holes. Full restoration is still a work in progress. Even still, playing here was a good experience, and I have no doubt the Westchester County guys will have this place back in top shape.

As others have mentioned, a course of this caliber should have an alternate tee pad and/or basket placement, and while I do not consider this a con, it does prevent an even higher rating.

FDR State Park offers many other amenities including expansive grilling/picnic areas, sports fields/courts and boating. The disc golf experience alone makes it worth the ride.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/1/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: bradharris
Played: 68  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 11 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If your game has any weaknesses, FDR will find them.

The first two holes play along the edge of the woods where there's not a lot to hit early, but placement is key to get a good look at the basket on the second shot.

Holes 3 through 8 take you deep into the woods where hitting the right line is key. Hole 5 in particular is one of my favorites. It is long (500') but with a nice downhill slope so it plays much shorter. With water as a backdrop and a tight tree-lined fairway, this creates a very intricate tee shot.

At hole nine, the course opens up with a bit. Holes nine through 15 offer a nice mix of distances from 600'+ at hole 10 and 260' at hole 11. This part of the course is mostly grassy with a few trees scattered to create some interesting shots. Hole 17 gives you one last taste of the woods before ending with a long grassy 18th.

Course maintenance is great. The grass is all mowed and the wooded fairways are clean with no unfair branches hanging into the fairways.

Very nice rubber teepads. Signs at each tee show distance and hole layout.

Navigation is easy. The only minor tricky spot is going from 16 to 17, but 16's basket has good handwritten directions for finding 17.
Cons: 17 is the only hole on the course that I considered to be an unfair hole. There are a couple of different lines but they are so tight that even on good shots, tree kicks are inevitable. With trees close to the basket, it is also tough to get a clean look at the basket even in putting range.

Aside from hole 17, I don't have any major criticism of the course. However, there are a few amenities that are missing that keep me from giving it a higher score.

The big "missing piece" that is holding FDR back is a set of alternate tees. This can be a very daunting course for a beginner and it would be nice to see a layout that presents some more friendly looks for less experienced players.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best public courses I've played. While some may complain about the polar opposite front nine vs back nine, I think it creates a really nice test of a player's overall game.

With a few extra amenities (pro shop, alternate layouts, etc) this could be considered an elite course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    9/12/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: Beam
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great course this was the best one I played in New York the holes were great and I like the fact that it moved from woods to open the open ones are really long
Cons: The only thing wrong were the bugs and the fact that my long throws sucked

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Every type of shot

5+    4/25/2011   4/29/2011
Review By: mstrjollo
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Close to New York City! Long shots, not much under 325! Wooded and Open course with a challenging front through the woods and a long back with sweeping shots.
Cons: Some misplaced tree's (nature) that will take away the advantage of really nice drives.
Gotta pay in the peak months to park.
Only one tee location and tee pad location for each hole. (Being so close to Warwick, one gets spoiled)
Honestly, not much to say negatively about this course.
Other Thoughts: Love this course. First time out this year, she treated me well. Round one - 62 and round two - 59. Shaved three strokes off my first round.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 FDR = Awesome!!

2-4    4/2/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: Tim Red Beard
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Great Mixture of Holes
-Terrific Layout, You enjoy nature at it's best.
-Teepads on every hole.
-Some great long bomb holes make for a fun round.
-Excellent Parking
-Right of the Highway
Cons: As some other reviewers said park can get a bit crowded at times but that rarely interferes with your round. You might have to wait a min or two for them to get out of you way.
I have never paid to play there mostly cause I was doing tourney's however I think there is a fee, I am unsure of what it is. It's worth paying.

-You can get mixed up from in between holes on the back nine but it's not too hard to figure it out.
Other Thoughts: FDR is a great overall course, really put together well and maintain good. Teepads, baskets and everything is top notch. I remember the holes well and enjoying going back year after year. This is certainly a course worth playing.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasure to play

1    4/24/2010   5/12/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park where the course is located is right off the highway (it has its own exit!) and is super well kept up. Not only is there a great disc golf course but also plenty of stuff for the family to do. Including, but not limited to a pool, playground, basketball courts, and several picnic areas. Now onto the disc golf course. There is a practice basket on a slope right next to where you park. This is extremely helpful as most of the baskets are on some kind of a slope. Once you get to the first tee you will see a nice welcome board complete with scorecards and league news. All of the tees are rubber. Some of the tees have wood underneath, others have crushed rock, and still others have just plain dirt. So be prepared for some unusual footing. The tee signs are very nice and offer a lot of information. They show you several paths to the basket, give the distance and par, and even tell you how to get to the next tee after you hole out. Make sure to pay attention because the next tee signs are sharpie written on the baskets that sometimes point the wrong way. There is really a good use of OB, one hole even has a special drop zone tee. Just like at Leonard Park there are orange cones on top of the baskets, in the woods this is really beneficial. Hole nine comes around and finishes right near hole one so you can play a short game if you need to. There are some benches scattered throughout the course and trash bags are handed out by the restrooms. The fairways themselves are clean but the rough is still in pretty bad shape. This is really noticeable on the back nine; there are limbs and trees off to the side of almost every fairway. The park did suffer a brutal winter and the clean-up crew hasn't been able to get back there yet (according to a local). There is a really nice mix of short, wooded holes and long, open ones. This is not a three disc course but you don't need your entire arsenal either, so travel light and play a round while the family is swimming!
Cons: Because the tee signs are laminated the ones in the some are fading and hard to see. There are some others with water damage or some kind of growth on them. Some of the baskets are in pretty bad shape. Someone has tried to spray paint the chastity belt which makes it look worse ascetically. They still catch fine though. Underneath a lot of the cones people have piled up trash. I filled an entire trash bag and was only grabbing the large stuff. The tee pads are uneven underneath the rubber. My cousin fell twice and I saw another person fall as well, so just be careful. On the back nine there are some massive holes in the fairways. It looks like someone a large truck to load something up and then got stuck. The tee for ten is incredibly hard to find, a large next tee sign would be a huge help across the street.
Other Thoughts: Holes five, six and seven are currently without rubber tee pads. The mow crew is extremely respectful and observant. I ran into them on hole nine, he let us play through and even pointed us in the right direction of where our disc landed.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    4/3/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course! Nice mix of holes. The front eight are wooded, each requiring a unique approach. Although some are challenging, there are clear fairways and each takes careful play. There is some element of chance, but even if you do hit a tree, there's usually some sort of route to the pin. Starting on 9, the course opens up a bit, but still the drives require accuracy and placement, not just heave-ho. I like the variety of the holes and never felt like I was repeating shots again and again.

The course was just hammered by a bad winter, but they've got things pretty well cleared up. The teeboxes are in great shape, some have just recently been updated.
Cons: Umm... Not too many cons at this course. It was muddy, but what do you expect for early April after a really wet winter?

A course map would be huge. Either at the course or here on this site (or any other site). I was there with people who knew the course, but I could see getting lost after hole 9 if I were on my own, and there are a few other places later that would be confusing.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my new favorite courses, and I'll certainly come back here again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Depressing Back 9 Needs New Deal

1    1/8/2010   1/12/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a big beautiful State Park. The course has a good mix of technical tightly forrested holes and then more open wooded holes. Moderate elevation and beautiful scenery including woods, a lake, and a peaceful rolling green pasture. The first half of this course, which is solely DG territory, would automatically be the top nine hole course I have ever played. You start with a drive across an open field to a gap in the woods that tunnels to a protected green. Once in these tight woods, you will encounter multiple lane holes, a long s-curving fairway that meanders down to a fast green hole, a downhill lane to a lakeside green, a couple tempting ace runs, a unique downhill over a ravine that begs you to precisely turnover and the final shot is a big open drive over a rolling open green pasture to a basket guarded by a single huge tree with some goaltending limbs. The second nine allows for a bit more length and a few par 4s weaving amongst more open fairways. The course has excellent flat/grippy rubber tees and signage at the tees is well done. Kiosk and info available at first tee and practice basket is near the parking lot across the access road from teepad #1.
Cons: If this course could have maintained the momentum of the first 9 holes I would have moved this course to my top 20. Instead I got lost as soon as I holed out on hole 9.Theres no map online, at the kiosk, or anywhere that I could find. Immediately my enjoyment and interest began to wane as I played the latter holes which play through a multi-use area. #10 is a decent long right turning fairway that seemed to complement the tighter front 9 well. Then the next 3 holes played the same way. Then a longer straighter version of the prior 3 holes. Then an average couple of holes with a perhaps too plinko hole (16)sprinkled in before finishing the day with the traditional long for long sakes finisher on 18. Just nothing that special after hole 9. I was thinking 4-4.5 as I finished the front 9 and as I finished the back nine I felt like I had played 2 separate courses. One wonderful woodsy course and then an average 2.5-3 rated course that plays amongst a picnic area and park activities. The course could use some better next tee hints as it often backtracks and there are no well defined paths in the more cleared out latter holes. Pay to enter park in summer.
Other Thoughts: I would reccomend playing this course by starting at hole 10 and then finishing strong in the woods. I would think #9 is a better finishing hole than #18 as well. Another option would be to play the course in a 27 hole loop and play the front 9 twice. If your heading all the way to FDR you might as well stay and play an extra 9 quality holes. I preferred nearby Leonard Park as it provided more deep woods holes. Free admission in winter. Perhaps if I played this course regulalrly I'd discover the route on hole 16.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.