Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Yorktown Heights, NY 
FDR State Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: WBHuber Hole #16 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Excellent Fall Day

5+    10/22/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: wentzl
Played: 40  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is about as close to perfect as it gets. The tree shots are tight and technical, but always with a couple good lines to get through. The course is set in a beautiful wooded park. Plenty of opportunity for big arms to make long drives.
Cons: 12, 13, 14 and 15, signs were missing and there was some wandering around to figure out where to go. Lost a disc in the leaves which can be a bitch in the fall. If you like water hazards, there are none.
Other Thoughts: This course is majestic.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    4/3/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course! Nice mix of holes. The front eight are wooded, each requiring a unique approach. Although some are challenging, there are clear fairways and each takes careful play. There is some element of chance, but even if you do hit a tree, there's usually some sort of route to the pin. Starting on 9, the course opens up a bit, but still the drives require accuracy and placement, not just heave-ho. I like the variety of the holes and never felt like I was repeating shots again and again.

The course was just hammered by a bad winter, but they've got things pretty well cleared up. The teeboxes are in great shape, some have just recently been updated.
Cons: Umm... Not too many cons at this course. It was muddy, but what do you expect for early April after a really wet winter?

A course map would be huge. Either at the course or here on this site (or any other site). I was there with people who knew the course, but I could see getting lost after hole 9 if I were on my own, and there are a few other places later that would be confusing.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my new favorite courses, and I'll certainly come back here again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A = Absolutely Amazing course!

1    12/28/2009   1/1/2010
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A-
(The front 9 are an A+ and the back 9 are a B-. It is a Jekyl & Hyde experience with accuracy needed on the tightly wooded front and big(ger) D needed on the much more open back. You earn your score on this course.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == A
(This course is almost perfect for people of my D. One hole is too short (6) and one is too long (9) to be rewarding. With the fairway shapes and terrain along with the raw length, scoring birdies is exhilarating! You earn your score on this course.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A-
(Holes 2-8 are the absolute perfect stretch/loop of holes I have ever played! If I lived nearby, I would play that loop continuously and skip the others. Hole 4 is a par 4 that is superb - a two shot hole that tempts you to get as far as possible down a R-L bending fairway that tails away downhill, followed by an approach over a valley dotted with trees that are spaced just far enough apart to be superbly challenging yet fair. The back makes decent use of terrain as several holes play along the side of a hill and allow errant shots to sail far away from their intended landing area. But, the back (and holes 1 & 9) is too open for my preference....hence me marking this category down.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A-
(Sounding like a stuck record here, but the front 9 is an A+++, with beautiful Appalachian woods, a lake, terrain, and wildlife (I saw 7 deer). The back nine plays through picnic areas and is in view of parking lots the whole time - a B- sort of experience. Also, the park is right off the Taconic State Parkway and highway noise disrupts the serenity at times.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
(As stated above, hole 4 is a superb par 4 hole. Holes 10, 14 & 18 are pretty routine par 4's achieving the extra throws solely by added D. It is great to see a legitimate par 58 course, but I think more intrigue could have been included in the design.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent course

5+    8/20/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2010
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good signage, tight shots for the first 9 then opens up for the back 9. Really good flow, excellent balance of uphill and downhill shots with natural obstacles. Well-manicured park; you can see where your parking fee goes.

There have been changes over the winter - new rubber tees have been put in place on several of the wooded holes, include 3, 4, 8, and 9 - leaving only a few that are natural and need work. The storm damage from March continues to linger, but that's not on the course stewards - it's on the parks department. The thorn bushes that plagued drives off the tee on #10 have been cut down for repairing a power line - hooray! They'll grow back, yes, but while they're gone...
Cons: The entry fee for cars has been upped to $8 this year. Generally no fee after 5pm.
Other Thoughts: I played at FDR back when I first started playing disc golf, and didn't appreciate how good it actually is; lately I've rediscovered it and decided to edit my review.

The holes are laid out in such a way that you have a decent mix of tight, wooded fairways and more open, big-arm holes - but even on most of the big-D stuff, you've got to pick a line rather than just letting it rip. This course rewards accuracy, and can make you pay dearly otherwise.

This course is in my top two in this area, with Cranbury Park in Wilton, CT.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.