Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Yorktown Heights, NY
FDR State Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: wentzl Hole #18 (Taken 10/2013)
4 / 564ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A = Absolutely Amazing course!

1    12/28/2009   1/1/2010
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A-
(The front 9 are an A+ and the back 9 are a B-. It is a Jekyl & Hyde experience with accuracy needed on the tightly wooded front and big(ger) D needed on the much more open back. You earn your score on this course.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == A
(This course is almost perfect for people of my D. One hole is too short (6) and one is too long (9) to be rewarding. With the fairway shapes and terrain along with the raw length, scoring birdies is exhilarating! You earn your score on this course.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A-
(Holes 2-8 are the absolute perfect stretch/loop of holes I have ever played! If I lived nearby, I would play that loop continuously and skip the others. Hole 4 is a par 4 that is superb - a two shot hole that tempts you to get as far as possible down a R-L bending fairway that tails away downhill, followed by an approach over a valley dotted with trees that are spaced just far enough apart to be superbly challenging yet fair. The back makes decent use of terrain as several holes play along the side of a hill and allow errant shots to sail far away from their intended landing area. But, the back (and holes 1 & 9) is too open for my preference....hence me marking this category down.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A-
(Sounding like a stuck record here, but the front 9 is an A+++, with beautiful Appalachian woods, a lake, terrain, and wildlife (I saw 7 deer). The back nine plays through picnic areas and is in view of parking lots the whole time - a B- sort of experience. Also, the park is right off the Taconic State Parkway and highway noise disrupts the serenity at times.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
(As stated above, hole 4 is a superb par 4 hole. Holes 10, 14 & 18 are pretty routine par 4's achieving the extra throws solely by added D. It is great to see a legitimate par 58 course, but I think more intrigue could have been included in the design.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well this course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. See my profile for specifics on my rating philosophy.

I fancy myself as a connoisseur of good course design and I am a competitive Blue level (950-ish rated) with mid-level power (accurate to 300' with max D of 360'). Since I have played a decent number of courses (150+ 18-hole, 90+ 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me…..and that's the fun of things here.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Westchester

1    10/10/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: nott84
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This was the first course I ever played. Great mix of holes. Woods were challenging but not insane. Three holes near or over 600 feet. Most Tees were rubber and in good shape.
Cons: Fee (not a big deal as it's well maintained). One of the holes (6 or 7?) has a lake at the end. Not that I could toss it that far but anyone who does will not be happy.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent course

5+    8/20/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2010
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good signage, tight shots for the first 9 then opens up for the back 9. Really good flow, excellent balance of uphill and downhill shots with natural obstacles. Well-manicured park; you can see where your parking fee goes.

There have been changes over the winter - new rubber tees have been put in place on several of the wooded holes, include 3, 4, 8, and 9 - leaving only a few that are natural and need work. The storm damage from March continues to linger, but that's not on the course stewards - it's on the parks department. The thorn bushes that plagued drives off the tee on #10 have been cut down for repairing a power line - hooray! They'll grow back, yes, but while they're gone...
Cons: The entry fee for cars has been upped to $8 this year. Generally no fee after 5pm.
Other Thoughts: I played at FDR back when I first started playing disc golf, and didn't appreciate how good it actually is; lately I've rediscovered it and decided to edit my review.

The holes are laid out in such a way that you have a decent mix of tight, wooded fairways and more open, big-arm holes - but even on most of the big-D stuff, you've got to pick a line rather than just letting it rip. This course rewards accuracy, and can make you pay dearly otherwise.

This course is in my top two in this area, with Cranbury Park in Wilton, CT.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 "MadMen's" Don Draper would play here if he played disc!

2-4    6/28/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic Facility for disc golf! Located in upper Westchester County (The "Madmen" reference), The course winds through tight challenging hardwoods for the first 8 holes which will push you to control your drives and use some imagination. Grassy fields and pines will open up your game through the rest of the course. A few par 4's make it most interesting. In addition to a fun course (I played four rounds on a fine Sunday), the State park has the amenities of several restrooms, picnic tables, and (get this) a concession stand at the junction of holes 9, 10, and 18 where you can grab a burger and beer to energize yourself for that next round! Restrooms are water plentiful too. Signage on the tees with pin placement and footage are nice. Teepads are mostly rubber but a few are natural, however
Cons: The complaints are minor. There are 4 holes that would help out-of-towners if they placed "next tee" signs. They are walks leading to 10, 15, 16, 17 and 18. A few teepads are natural and would benefit greatly when they are upgraded. The park fee is $6 but I still think it's a bargain considering what you get from the FDR's department's hard work. Picnickers on a Sunday were abundant and strayed into the fairways at times.
Other Thoughts: With a concession stand and plenty of water, you can draw the energy for at least a couple of rounds. I put four in on a hot Sunday!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/11/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: safetyman42
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is set in a very nicely kept state park. The front nine consists of controlled drives through the woods, where as the back nine is more open to letting it rip. Rubber tee pads on most of the holes are a plus. Hole five is a beautiful straight narrow drive down a hill at a lake tucked in the woods. Good shade through out the summer.
Cons: There is lots of traffic through the back nine with a few picnics. I'm highly allergic to poison ivy and there's a lot there.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course and i go at least every couple weeks. When it comes to spending gas though Ifind the drive to Leonard Park more worth it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    10/14/2005   8/29/2008
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of holes. Woods, open, short, long, straight, dog leg lefts and rights. The front 9 plays in a tight woods section of the park. Your round starts off nice with Hole 1, where the first 80% of your drive is open then finishes in the woods near a brook. The back 9 plays in a more open pine tree woods section with excellent semi-long to long challenging fun holes! A few open holes makes for great mix on the back 9. Pine trees provide cooler temps in the summer with a cushiony floor from the pine needles. All holes are FUN and challenging! Great for all skill levels.
Cons: FDR Park is a busy park with lots of people and events. But the course is almost always clear of people, especially the front 9. Need to pay to get into park ,most likely between Memorial Day and Labor Day, but who cares because this course is worth it. Front 9 can get a bit squishy after rains, but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: Great design elements throughout this course. Definitely designed by a pro disc golfer who knows what he's doing. There are some complaints out there about a hole or two on the course, but I don't agree with them! I highly recommend checking this course out.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.