Snohomish, WA 
Ferguson Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #6 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 84ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Traffic Complaints

1    6/2/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: jessicaS
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very gentle course - good for newbies

Concrete tee markers (not pads) were functional; made finding tees easy, and had arrows pointing to the basket.

We liked #8, which went over a hill to a blind basket. This might be frustrating if you know what you're doing, but we don't and liked it a lot.

While the DG course is tight (see con below), it's well separated from the other parts of Ferguson park, so traffic from non disc golfers should be minimal.
Cons: Rude and dangerous group when we were there. We left without finishing basket #9 after they nearly hit us multiple times with discs. No yelling "fore", and they could definitely see us and threw discs anyway. One missed my head by a few feet - and it happened again afterwards, at which point we left. The rest of the course was completely empty, so it's not as though these guys had any reason to feel rushed. No clue if these are regulars, but it was bad enough to make us leery of making the drive back.

The jerk factor was compounded by the design of this course, which is very, very tight. If the course is crowded (note: it wasn't when we were there), there's going to be a lot of cross traffic.

Single chain baskets.
Other Thoughts: None.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Pitch & Putt

5+    5/8/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: 53Clubs
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for practicing approach and specific shots. The course is short, the holes are easy, and easy to navigate. Teach your kids to throw here and they'll feel like pros out of the gate.
Cons: This is NOT a course for anything more than an approach. The longest hole (1) is listed as 225', but that sure seems optimistic to me - A Roc lands at the basket without moving your feet on the throw - the rest are shorter. Leave the drivers and fairway drivers in the car. Pull one of these out and you'll be looking for it in properties that aren't even adjacent to this park. It's small.
Other Thoughts: I was out there alone yesterday morning, and played the course 5 times in 90 minutes. For the first 4 times through, I used a single Roc only - could have left the rest of the bag in the car.
holes 1 and 7 are a shared open fairway, 2 and 3 are straight with a few nicely placed trees so you have to throw straight (or light hyzer 3). 4 and 5 you are shooting for aces - they are really just extra long putts from the tee. 6 is a little neat - very short, but a tree laying over means it has to be a big hyzer, a tomahawk or thumber. Hole 8 tee is at the bottom of a small hill you have to go over before crossing some grass to the basket - actually a little frustrating (fun frustrating) for a short hole. And 9 is straight with a right turn at the end.
All things (and land constraints) considered
This is really a neat P&P course.
If nobody is there and you want some good approach practice, 1 and 7 share an grassy fairway going in opposite directions - throw 10 discs, finish 10 putts and come back the other way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Pitch and Putt Adventure

2-4    4/4/2013   4/6/2013
Review By: Udon
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an excellent introduction to the sport. It features very short holes, basic obstacles, and is easy to navigate. Ferguson was my very first round of disc golf and I scored two over par. I am very much a novice, but I still had fun on this tiny course.
Cons: Tiny. Leave your fast drivers at home.
The tee "pads" are actually patches of dirt with a cement patch in front of them pointing to the tee. Unfortunately, the pads are now full of holes and rocks and a few have exposed roots. Getting a nice launch isn't really necessary in a small course such as this one, but a bit of effort to keep them smooth would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This is the putt-putt of disc golf. An excellent way to introduce a young person, or complete novice the ropes of the sport. More experienced players may get enjoyment from the course by practicing rolling birdies, but should view it as warm-up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pitch and put pulled off a par.

1    12/28/2011   1/6/2012
Review By: northwestblazinfire
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained
Nice baskets
Sweet boulder!!
Great mid range aproach pratice
Great introduction course for kids
Cons: Tiny
No challange for skilled players
No memorable holes, except maybe the one by the boulder. Pretty weak set up.
Other Thoughts: Great for noobies and children, not made for the adventurer. I my self like a full fledged all out experiance in the woods and off cliffs so....yeah this isnt my cup of tea. I will not be travling to this course again from sedro woolley.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tiki Golf in Western Washington

5+    1/22/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ferguson is more like a 'putt-putt' than a true disc golf course. The distances are extremely short rendering drivers virtually useless here. At the same time, the designer of this course has done a fantastic job of utilizing space with only minimal conflicts with other fairways and has succeeded in creating a course which is fun for very new players, families, and experienced players who are looking for something different. The course itself is quite beautiful with an interesting bump of a hill, a large mossy rock, and nice grassy fairways.
Cons: The main con is that this isn't really a 'course' in the traditional sense. Players looking for a challenge will need to look elsewhere because Ferguson just doesn't have it. If the course is busy (which it usually is not), you may have to contend with errant discs from other fairways as they are relatively closely spaced due to land constraints. Fortunately most folks out playing here are very considerate and friendly.
Other Thoughts: If you plan to go to Ferguson, just know that you aren't going to find a traditional challenging championship course, but you are still likely to have a lot of fun seeing who can hit the most metal or who can get the most roller birdies, etc. This is also a great place to take the family or the girlfriend to get an introduction to the game. The holes are short enough that young'uns shouldn't feel boredom set in by the end, making it more likely that they'll want to come back!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 short and sweet

2-4    7/3/2010   1/2/2011
Review By: discninja
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2011
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: is nicely kept, and is nice and short with a couple of cool holes. nice for begginers, or if you just want to chill out or introduce someone to disc golf.
Cons: there is some moderate traffic, and some dangers of hitting cars. and it is only 9 holes, so there is not that much to play with.
Other Thoughts: there is also a playground near the course just in case you want to have one person watch your kids. but, it's kind of easy so they might be able to play with you

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 NICE

2-4    2/1/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: S3R14L_K1LL4
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Maintained well. Great course for practicing your short game or for first timers. Not usually crowded. All holes are easy Par 3s.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Kinda out of the way.
Other Thoughts: For a short easy 9 hole, this is a very enjoyable course.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner's course

5+    9/15/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: b-mart
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/3/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tee pads are visible and located close to the preceding hole. Many of the baskets can be seen from the concrete tee pad. Decent to practice your short game and putts.
Cons: Most of the holes are laughably short for anyone who isn't a beginner. The tee pad areas are marked with cement (see pics), but the actual tee pads are non-existant. Some of these are dangerously unstable. Hole 2 and 7 are probably the worst, with rocks and puddles in the middle of what should be a tee pad. Since the course is so short you don't really need footwork, but this also means that you can't really improve your drives here.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course that is good to introduce beginners and warm up on. It isn't worth the drive if you don't live near Snohomish, but it's the best course for beginners that I have seen so far. If you live anywhere south of here and are still learning I would recommend Blyth in Bothell or Silver Lake in Everett though.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/4/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: Duanel
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the great equalizer as all it is is a putting course. This course will really improve your short game, however. Even the "long" holes are easy to birdie.
Cons: This course just leaves you hungry for heading to a course where you can really let the disc fly. Some of the fairways run across other holes; so keep your eyes open!
Other Thoughts: For me, it's definitely worth stopping here on my way to or from Lake Stevens. It's a warm-up course that will fine tune your putting game. Shooting here first will definitely make you play better at the next course. If you play it on your way home, it's a great cool down course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

5+    4/15/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: rstaats
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - great for putt and approach practice
- well maintained
- well marked
- short enough for lunchtime play
Cons: - 2 or 3 poor placements make some holes a chance throw, or very akward (not fun)
- very short holes
- crowded, lots of double-back
Other Thoughts: If you live or work nearby, it's a great way spot to play aquick, short round. I don't think I've played another course that you can complete in 15 minutes without rushing it.

Great for working on your short game, but apart from that, don't go out of your way to make this a regular stop on your disc golf route.

Working right next door to the park is a huge blessing... my putting game is much better since I started this job. :)

Note : don't him my car, I park along hole 3 every day while I'm at work. *wink*

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.