Osceola, IN 
Ferrettie Baugo Creek County Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
4 / 241ft.   4 / 241ft.   4 / 270ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good

5+    4/3/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: Indiana574
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course lots of short shots but you gotta be strategic an a couple long holes. Garbage cans all over great park
Cons: The course is short but hey that way you get in more games
Other Thoughts: Hole ten is great when the tee is on top the hill

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worth a shot

1    3/29/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: B3NDER
Played: 94  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Park has other amenities going on here (playground, fishing, swimming, and room to have a picnic) Good mix of elevation and wooded/clear areas.

-Course itself seems to be open all year long, which is nice.

This place was relatively clean when we came through to play, with trash cans for debris at nearly every hole. Nothing better than a clean park to disc in.

Mach 3 metal baskets, and in decent shape, plenty of life left in them. Also has a practice basket.

- We played the "winter setup" when we were there, which switches up a few holes, but not too drastically that we didn't get the overall feel of the course.

The teepads were concrete and were in good shape.
- Also the navigation here is simple as can be. We were given a map up front and most holes had signs for the next tee to guide you along.

Decent mix of shots and variety to be had here. Longest hole is 600' (Hole 8, blue tee) and the shortest is 150' (Hole 12, all tees) and you have some tight wooded shots as well as a few open shots to test your game here.
- As I feel this is more a beginner friendly course, with lots of ace run opportunities for more experienced players.
- Most lines here seem to be pretty obvious, but can still test you if you're having an off day.

- In Spring/Summer months, hole 10's tee is at the top of a tubing hill which would make for some awesome shots and nail-biting ace run attempts if you really put it out there.



Cons: A bit pricey for what you get (4.00 to enter the park if non-resident, as well as 4.00 to play disc golf for the day) Not HORRIBLE if you want to add the course to your played list, but other, free options are around that you could spend your time at.

The course itself is rather short, which may not be a con for all but in this case I thought that fit here.
- Won't really challenge the advanced player as I stated.

- No real risk/reward to be had here (aside from dodging the disc eating pine tree on hole 8) so most will probably stick to the obvious stated lines. There IS opportunity for water hazards to come into play, but has not been utilized at this time.

A few pads and baskets are located rather close to each other, so caution needs to exercised on those particular holes. (Hole 6 basket, to Hole 7 tee, NOT MUCH SPACE)





Other Thoughts: While not an amazing course, it certainly isn't bad by any means. I fully believe that aside from leaving the water out of play, that this course has just about taken advantage of every possible aspect of the park itself that was allowed (What little elevation change there is comes into play, as well as tight wooded areas, and a few open spots to boot)

This place is good if you are looking for a spot to test out your straight on tunnel shot drives, as well as if you're just out to try and hit some aces on the shorter holes. Your socks wont fly off with excitement here (aside from possibly the cost to play and enter the park if you're not local) but I would still say play this course if you get the chance.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

fun little course--emphasis on little

1    3/29/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Aesthetic/upkeep- this course is multi-use but the disc golf areas seem to be near dg exclusive with the exception of the winter 9/10 combo. the upkeep here is relatively impecible. there are garbages on EVERY hole and they have big numbers on them to help improve the visibility of the tees.

Tees- nice and concrete, but a little short on some of the longer holes.

Baskets- older DGA's but in really quite good condition.

Routing/Nav- about as simple as it gets. with the map that is given when you enter and the "next tee" markers that are present in the trickier spots.

the sadistic #11-- Number 11 from the longs is sadistic but I loved it. Threw a 4 on a par 5.

#10--even though I didn't get to play #10 from the top of the hill, it looks like it would be a blast!

WINTER TEES--HUGE PLUS HERE. by keeping the baskets "in" and not simply pulling them for the winter is freakin' genius! I wish more courses did this simple little redesign for winter!

Signage-- when it's there, it's nice to know hole lengths. I would prefer maps or at least directionals but it's not really needed here
Cons: Length/Variety- the hole lengths are a bit short and the variety is a bit ho-hum. I will say that the available land is used fairly well.

the lake- why is it not in play!?!??! that would be an absolutely awesome shot!! and it's so close to 10's basket, it would be a very natural transition!

the rough--we played in march, it was not that bad but I'm sure that once the trees start to bud the rough becomes sadistic!


Other Thoughts: great course, the pay to play here is a bit expensive but the upkeep makes it worth it!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    4/30/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a decently sized park, comprised mostly of forest with a few open spots. Seems like there could be some oblivious park goers on walking trails on a nice day, but it wouldn't interfere too badly
- Holes in the forest provide a lot of different lines. In general, the fairways were pretty open with scattered trees to force some tighter. Awesome mix of hyzer, straight, and anny lines, with some little tricks here and there. Difficulty ranges from super easy to very technical.
- Open areas provide some great variety as well. A long, narrowing fairway on #8 tests raw straight-on distance, and the short uphill shot on #9 is followed by a 450' bomber. Good complement to the wooded holes.
- A lot of protected baskets, which mostly comes into play off the tee. Line shaping is influenced by this as much as obstacles in the fairway, leading to more shot variety.
- Decent mix of hole lengths, though they definitely border on the short side. There are many that are very short, others that are short, and three long ones mixed in to test good distance. Overall, the course stresses accuracy over anything else, and there are a multitude of birdie chances.
- Good teepads, baskets, and signage. Blocks in the ground aid in navigation, too. Course seemed very well maintained. Practice basket.
Cons: - To a lot of players, the short hole lengths will be the biggest con. Many holes feel like simple approaches, with eight under 235'. Although none are completely wide open, there is usually a clear line around patches of trees.
- Bad shots aren't punished that harshly here; with short hole lengths and medium rough, saving par is usually not that hard. Road OB is present in some spots as well, but there aren't many hazardous spots to be found.
- Heads up at all times, especially on teepads located right by baskets.
Other Thoughts: - This is a fantastic course for beginners, with a wide variety of shots to be found, as well as different types of holes. Few hazards also help to keep it from being too frustrating. More advanced players will probably get bored quickly, due to the short hole lengths, but it's definitely worth at least one round.
- Don't let the train horns distract your putting!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

7/1/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: CNeuey
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is challenging. It forces you to throw straight or you will be in the woods. It is well marked with most holes showing you where to go next. The hole where you throw off the sledding hill is one of the best I've played.
Cons: There were too many holes in the woods for my taste. My friend and I spent way too much time looking for our discs as they bounced off of trees. I was hoping for a few more holes where you can throw as hard as you can. There was also too much poison ivy throughout the course. There were no teepads of any kind as the previous person mentioned but I did read that they are planning on putting some in by the end of the summer. It is 4 dollars per person to play.
Other Thoughts: There is no charge to enter the park during the weekdays but weekends they do charge you plus the fee to golf. I enjoyed playing this course as frustrating as it may have been. I will definitely come back to play sometime but I like the other courses in my area a lot better (George Wilson and Rum Village).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.