Osceola, IN 
Ferrettie Baugo Creek County Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 228ft.   3 / 228ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Love it!

5+    7/30/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: stoltzjl77
Played: 116  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.5 Years
Pros: Lots of technical shots, forces you to shape shots and use multiple discs due to varying lengths. Challenges even the most accurate arms but plenty of opportunities even for beginners.

Course is well maintained (which is to be expected when we have to pay to play) and the yearly pass is reasonably priced.
Cons: Not a lot of elevation changes and no holes where water comes into play (unless you count #10, which I don't).
#8 needs to be better trimmed on the second half of the fairway, it is sadistic enough without all the overhanging branches!
Other Thoughts: I really like this course, even though it can be frustrating at times. Stay in the fairways or you are in for a long round. You have to pay close attention to the shape of your shots as small trees and branches you don't always notice from the tee will reach out and grab that perfectly straight shot you just launched at the basket! Great place to work on your technical game.

 compared to local courses

5+    12/1/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: MotoDj
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: variety of hole shapes, lines, great maintence of park(trash, mowing ect)
great staff, holes flow really well, well marked
also only park around with a sign "excessive alcohol consumption not allowed" but it is allowed on site
snacks and food are cheap
only course with a practice basket around
Cons: most expensive pay to play around
only a few holes stretch out over 300ft
600ft hole is painfully skinny for distance drivers
seem to close early year round
Other Thoughts: course meant for accuracy, yet still fun for younger family members - they have discs up front for folks to borrow, in a 20mile radius its my 3rd favorite course - soon to move to 4

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  fresh updated course

2-4    7/3/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: crazypancakethrower
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 3/19/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a challenging mix of shots. Great tight wooded shots with some open shots as well. Big downhill shot is fun. New cement tees with cement tees on most of the alternates as well. The Park is really putting effort into making this a destination disc golf course. I definitely added it to my destination list.
Cons: There are a few tight hard shots but if you are not a beginner these provide an attainable challenge.
Other Thoughts: This park is a great mix between other area parks. It has tight wooded shots like Bertrand and shots through mature trees like Rum Village and a great downhill bomb shot like George Wilson. Spread the word, this is a fun park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad, but pricey

5+    6/13/2010   6/13/2008
Review By: djext1
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are some really great holes on this course. A great variety of tee shots and well designed layout. Some holes take you through the woods with accuracy playing a big part in making par. Some holes are long but require the same accurate tee shot to make good on the hole. There are a couple scenic and fun holes to look for. One of them is on the front nine and runs you through a line of tall pine trees for a good ways. Another fun one has you teeing off the sledding/tubing hill (in the winter) for a long shot from a high tee that is wide open and a lot of fun. A nice touch is that most holes have multiple tees for a variety of skill levels.

The woods shots call for a variety of controlled throwing; everything from hyzer/anhyzer/S-shots/etc.... Not a lot of 'big arm holes, but more of big arm 'control' throws. Gives you a nice variety.
Cons: I originally listed the lack of teepads as a con here. Since that first review, they have indeed added cement tees. The tees however are shorter than your standard sized teepad, but if you don't need a lot of run up it won't matter...and doesn't take alot of adjustment if you do. The new addition raises the score for me.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a good course, pricey but a nice visit.

I will say that if you live in the area get yourself the $30 annual pass, and find yourself out here playing more...to me this is one of the local courses that is certainly worth the cost of the annual pass. Since the cement tees, and the annual pass, it has become one of my local favorites.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.