Hayward, WI 
Fiddler's Creek Golf Center Share
Uploaded By: Iceman Hole #7 (Taken 10/2012)
4 / 135ft.   4 / 203ft.   3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
First time in 20+ years of playing

2-4    9/11/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Guitarlos
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice hills, love the pine smell, trash cans at most baskets, Varying degree of fairways, 23 holes. Rest areas, picnic tables throughout course. Nice lefty handers. I loved the carved out fairways in the woods! Pretty well maintained! Owner was super nice!
Cons: Bug spray is a MUST! Id wear long pants if I went there again, only because I didnt always keep it on the fairway and the woods are very thick on the first 6 holes. Alternate holes are a little confusing without a map, grab a map!
Other Thoughts: Was on vacation fishing and was convinced to play with my cousin, played his discs. I really enjoyed this course, had I died that day I wouldve hated to be the mortician that tried to take the smile off of this face! Id say that this course gave me the bug that bit me again to go home and locate my 20+ year old discs and got me back into the sport again! I have to admit that this is the first time Ive ever paid to play at a course and after playing it, it was worth the $5.00 for the day, in my opinion. I would love to return and play there with MY discs!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty solid course in Hayward

1    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 137  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.2 Years
Pros: There are 18 holes or can be played with an extra 5 holes to make a 23 hole round. The extra holes are 11A through 15A. Be aware that holes 11A and 12A share a basket with fairways from opposite directions. Although there was a mix of different types of pins, they all caught pretty well. It's $5 to play all day per person and they provide you with a decent course map on the back of the scorecard. The scorecard also includes distances from all three tee locations, even the 5 alternates. Theres nothing too long here, but there is a good mix of different distances. The longest is 532 feet on hole 16 all the way down to 215 feet on hole 2. The navigation wasn't a problem at all. There were next tee signs throughout the course were needed. It's pretty easy to figure out regardless. There were alternate pin locations on a number of the holes as well. The course was all well mowed and maintained when we were there.. There isn't too much variation in elevation here, but theres enough to keep it interesting. The signs were hand painted with the 3 tee locations and route to the basket with distances to the pins as well. They have the handles of old golf clubs stuck in the ground at the front of all the tees. These are all painted red white or blue to mark each tee. Theres a decent mix of left, right and straight shots as well.
Cons: For a pay to play course the signs could be a lot better. Also concrete tees would be a definite plus although the natural tees were all in pretty solid condition. They would probably get mucky if wet though. The white and red tees are incredibly short on pretty much all the holes.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a pretty fun course to play. especially with nothing else that close by. If I was ever in the area again I would definitely stop in for a few rounds. Not worth a trip just for this however. If you are coming from Minneapolis on 63 this would be right on your way to highbridge which is nice. If the tee pads and tee signs were improved the rating would probably jump up a half. Still a pretty, solid course as it is now.

Surprisingly Good Find

2-4    6/12/2012   12/20/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 39  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fiddler's Creek is surprisingly a decent course. I have a cabin up in Hayward and saw the "disc golf" sign at the driving range several times when I was driving by on the highway and finally decided to stop by, which I'm glad I did. I expected it to be a short 9 hole course and was very impressed when they told me it was 18 holes. The course offers a variety of different holes in the open, in the woods, and with some elevation change. The lanes in the woods are somewhat tight, so it's a great course to work on accuracy and technical shots. Compared to the courses I play back in the Twin Cities, this course is obviously much less busy, which is nice.
Cons: Considering that the course is pay to play, I would like to see it in a little better shape, especially in the woods. I would like to see some brush thinned out and some tree trimming to create a few more options for shooting lanes. The course also lack cement tee pads, which would be nice for footing, but it could definitely be worse. The course certainly takes getting used to since there are alternate holes/tee pads in the middle of the course, so the signage could be improved. Many of the baskets are also in rough shape and some of them are even portable baskets that are not cemented in. Being that it is pay to play, I would also like to see some nicer baskets. After hole 5, the bugs were quite annoying, so I would definitely recommend bringing some bud spray. It would also be nice to see some more open holes at the end of the round, since the only relatively open holes are 1-5.
Other Thoughts: This course plays very much into the hands of left handed players, so if you throw RHBH, hope you're ready to throw a lot of anhyzers. Reading the other comments, I would also like to see for courses in the Hayward area. I have been fishing up there for 10 years on the Flowage and love the area, scenery, and lakes. Some of the golf courses in the area, especially Big Fish, are spectacular, so I would like to see this done with disc golf. If the course added some permanent tee pads, updated a bunch of the baskets, and cleared out some of the brush in the woods to create more shooting lanes, I would gladly rate this course a 3.5-4.0. Now that I have stopped and played this course, I will probably play it every weekend I head up to my cabin, it's definitely worth the $5 fee. After the round, you can even go hit some golf balls at the driving range if you bring your clubs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ticks Hate Beginners

1    7/23/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: Derbodis
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: -Map of course

-Signage showing location of baskets

-Multiple tees every hole

-Alternate holes to play

-Very scenic and nice to play

-18 holes, well worth price

-Nice shop for concessions/cheap price for discs

-Unique design of golf club handles to mark tees
Cons: -Some holes are tough for beginners.

-Easy to lose a disc in the thick forest

-A lot of shots will not land on the narrow fairway, so ticks love to attack you when climbing around looking for your lost disc

-Many trees blocking shots (This could be a pro however if you like the challenge)

-Tees are mowed grass with logs signaling the end of the tee... So not the best footing.
Other Thoughts: Really difficult to find discs. I lost my driver on a hole... And I watched it fall down and everything.

Need to know how to throw an anhyzer shot for what seemed like holes 5-18. Being a beginner that just loves to play, this course was difficult.

 I'd play this place every weekend if I could

1    6/23/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: tyna77
Played: 62  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful location, well maintained, technical/interesting/various shots.
Although there aren't concrete tee pads everywhere, the tees aren't eroded or a problem at all.
Garbage cans on every hole.
Pretty good sinage.
Score card with map so you don't get lost.
Alternate holes makes for a different round.
Cons: Different baskets throughout the course.
Lack of concrete tee pads.
If you throw off the course, it might take awhile to find a disc but it adds to the challenge, just watch your disc.
Heavy/thick chains on baskets- high posibility to knock out a good putt.
Other Thoughts: We played this course during Hayward's Muskie Days so everyone was down at the festival. We ran into 2 other frolfers all day. Probably the most relaxing course I've ever played. The location has a lot to do with my high rating.
The owners are sweet, nice people, doing what they can to maintain the place and I can't complain about that at all, it's a big chunk of land.
I will definately go back whenever possible. Even worth the 3 hour trip for me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    8/4/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: Jaffytim
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course. Good variety of open and narrow holes. Elevation changes a plus as well. Has the feel of a real golf course.
Cons: Alternate holes confusing to find at first. Bugspray highly recommended.
Other Thoughts: Well worth $5 fee. Nice course for small town.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A little repetitive

1    6/9/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays on the land around a ball golf driving range. The first few holes play on a hill with some nice elevation, and the rest of the course goes more back into the woods with narrow fairways and punishing rough. The holes are all wide enough to be fair, with enough punishment that an errant drive will often cost you at least a stroke, many holes were rewarding birdies with possible bogies or worse.

There are three tees per hole, marked pro, amateur, and kids, and they're easy to see with the shafts of differently colored ball golf putters stick in the ground. There are nice homemade signs on every hole with a basic hole layout and distance from all sets of tees, along with a nice course map sign at the beginning of the course and reasonable signage explaining the choice of loops in the middle of the course. The shop has some selection of discs, and has nice maps and scorecards.
Cons: The way the course flows is pretty odd. A player passing through who wants to play all the available holes must either play two full rounds to get the alternate 5 hole loop in, or do significant backtracking to play both loops in the same round. The alternate loop is a little odd, with 11a and 12a sharing the same basket, so after you play 11a you walk right up 12a's fairway to get to the tee. There are a few other spots where you are throwing very close to other tees and baskets, so if you ever got a crowd out here there could be some safety issues.

The baskets are a random assortment, and many are bent or a bit dilapidated. Most are single chain portable models with the bases covered by dirt or straw, so they don't catch all that well. The tees are natural and many are uneven or have roots sticking up out of them. The multiple tees are almost all just shorter versions of the long tee, with all three tees in a straight line away from the hole, so they don't change anything but distance.

After the first 5 holes, the course gets pretty boring. Most of the rest of the course plays straight ahead down narrow fairways, so all it really makes you work for is straight shots without too much variety.
Other Thoughts: This is an ok course that's not a bad place to stop if you're passing through, but it's not worth much of a drive. Beginners will find the rough pretty thick and the fairways narrow, so it might be a little frustrating. There are some challenges here for more experienced players, but just not enough variety to keep it very interesting.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful area, pleasant afternoon

1    7/19/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: thor_freya
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Won't regurgitate what's been said already. Pros are definetly a beautiful area, good variety in terrain, and a blend of good driving and short technical shots. First 6 holes has a great variety of shots, while the remainder of the course becomes a little more repetitive with narrow fairways and a few dog legs. As a recreational player, I commend the 3 sets of tee that were well marked. Blue=expert, white=recreational, red=novice/beginner. The course can be quite confusing to navigate, but the scorecard map was very helpful, and as first timers were able to navigate without any problems. I played a mix of pro and recreational tees and enjoyed both set ups. Several trash cans along the course and even some chairs and benches at the turn of the front/back 9 to sit, relax and enjoy the nature. Hole descriptions on each tee were hand made and very helpful and a very nice touch. Normally I would not recommend this course for beginners, but having the beginner tees would make for an enjoyable experience with the short shots. No matter what skill level, this course was enjoyable and I wish I had more time to play two rounds.
Cons: The tees were well marked, but a few times were dug out a bit from use which made for some interesting run ups. The baskets could also use some improvement. A few were tilted a bit and others were wobbly and missing some chains. If the course made a few improvements to the tees and the baskets, a higher rating would be in store.
Other Thoughts: I took the advice of other reviews and had my wife and I spot each other. Worked well as we avoided some lost discs. Judging from the amount of tree stumps in the fairway, it looks like the course owners designed and literally mowed and cut their way through the thick woods. Speaking of woods, wear insect repellant; don't get fooled with the breeze on holes 1-5. After that, in the thick woods, the wind is blocked and bugs can be thick. Don't let that deter you from the fun! Also, wear long pants and check for ticks after playing.

We will be returning to play this course again. $5 for the whole day is not a bad rate, but the improvements suggested above (take it for what it's worth) would make the $5 fee even more of a value. Fiddler's Creek also sports a ball golf driving range and miniature golf course for a fun time by the whole family.

A random thought: I have been going up to Hayward for about 15 years for fishing. The Hayward lakes area boasts some unreal scenery and an abundance of recreational activity. The area has great fishing, boating, hiking, mountain biking, camping, atv trails, and probably (what seems like) two dozen ball golf courses within 10 miles of Hayward. I am a bit surprised that there are only 2 dg courses within 20 miles of Hayward. I would really hope in the future to have more dg courses pop up. With the lakes, streams, and rivers in the area, what better than to have dg courses encompassing lakes near Hayward?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/4/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: Free Refill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Course has 23 holes with 2 different routes from 11-15. The holes are technical shots with many strait narrow fairways, a good challenge. There were some good elevation changes up and down hill. Signs are measured from each of the three tees per hole, great for beginners intermediate or the seasoned player. There is a good variation in distance for holes with some long but average around 300-350 feet.
Cons: Pay to play $3 for a round $5 for a full day, $75 for a season. The course has some thick brush on the sides of some narrow fairways making it hard to find your disc if you have a poor throw. I suggest having someone spot your throw to minimize lost discs. on the sides of some narrow fairways, I played with 2 other people and 2 of the three of us had ticks.
The Baskets were all different models some baskets were loose and on a 35 degree tilt. Some baskets had minimal chains making it hard to really get a long put to stick.
For a pay to play the course was poorly maintained. Stumps in the middle of the fairway 4-10 inches in diameter sticking up about 3 inches. Sandy/Dusty tees and fairways get you dusty.
Other Thoughts: Average course, Good holes, poor maintenance/equipment.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Area with Good Course

2-4    5/2/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: DunbarTrout
Played: 13  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has 23 holes, but you play only 18 a round. A lot of the holes are short and technical, requiring you to throw down a narrow fairway with several trees in it, however the woods are really never that dense, and par can forgive the occasional shot into the woods. There are different tee boxes marked for different skill levels, and are fairly easy to find. A technical course with a variety of shots ranging in elevation and distance. Most holes around 300-350ft range, one 500+ ft hole. Suitable for all skill levels and definitely worth a look
Cons: The first 5 or so holes are close together which can be confusing, you can end up throwing at the wrong pin. The signs for the holes are homemade, very commendable, but really don't give you a good idea where the pin is in relation to the tee. Baskets are all different types, some seem to be portable baskets (wheels covered up by dirt/straw/leaves) and some of them don't have a lot of chains to stop your disc. Tee boxes are a mixture of sand/grass which can get in your shoes and a few concrete ones.After you get past hole 5, most of the rest of the course is narrow tech shots, which does get a little repetitive, but can't really blame the designers, they did what they could with the land, and pretty well. Also, you have to pay $3 to play one round, $5 for a full days pass, something like $75 for a season pass.
Other Thoughts: Hole 5 was an awesome hole, 300+ ft, downhill over a fish pond and weaving between trees. Hole 16 is a 500+ footer that is 250 feet straight and 250+ feet to the right, really a fun hole to play. The short technical holes can destroy your confidence, trees are easy to hit. Disc golf shop right on the course, and the workers were very nice, seem to be interesting in hosting a tournament. SUGGESTION: get the all day $5 pass, the course's alternative loop is worth giving a try, even just for the novelty of it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.