Portersville, PA
Moraine State Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #16 (Taken 7/2011)
5 / 441ft.   5 / 546ft.   5 / 645ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 White Tee



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Excellent Course

5+    8/15/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: rhelt100
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is my home course. It's the first course I ever played and still the course that calls my name more often than not. Moraine has wide open fairways on most holes, compared to a few other courses I've played, but stray shots are punished HARD. A few holes have very tight approaches (#13) that will test your ability to shape a shot down a narrow path through the trees.

#15 is still the most scenic hole I've played to date.
Cons: A few holes on this course can be very intimidating for newbies. I've yet to see a new player finish hole #15 without a long search in the thick brush to the left after throwing off the hilltop.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme tough course - with 1 all-time favorite hole

1    8/1/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 9.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent demand of shot variety for the best players. Legitimate par 66 with more Par 4 and 5 variety than we've seen in any other course. My son and I played the blues, the middle of three well-designed tee options. The golds make for some monster challenges.

#15 is by far the most spectacular and fun hole on the course. Great downhill view to the lake. It's a grip and rip hole that still demands a well-executed flight path to avoid brush and take best advantage of the dogleg. Long tossers will benefit from a spotter.

Other favorites are

#2 - uphill wooded approach with an OOB creek bed guarding layups in front of the basket.

#8 - Fun shot through the gap left to clear the way to the basket.

#10 - another uphill approach. I don't usually like uphills as much. But this has enough clear fairway for an inviting challenge.

#18 - wooded with a creekbed at about 250 ft, and another guarding the basket.

Rubber tee pads for gold, blue and white: almost as good as concrete. Very flat and stable. Excellent signs, with the hole design indicated at each tee option. Easy navigation from one hole to the next, but it helped us to have a map to find the 11th tee.
Cons: Having said all that, I like Lake Moraine a lot, but not as much as Deer Lakes or Knob Hill in the Pgh area.

The views at Moraine, other than #15, weren't especially memorable. And it tops my list for its ability to bring out the worst in my game. The penalty for any lack of precision can be severe, and at times it's near impossible to find a best approach line - especially when the toughest baskets are in play. It would help to have a few more beautiful or forgiving holes to balance out the punishment.

Trees clog almost any putt at #4 with the basket right. The thick tree line down the middle of the long 6th fairway is brutal for all but the straightest throws. #12 heads into the woods left, at which point the trees are everywhere. #13 is shorter, but another brutal tight line. #16 is a long par five, with a tight uphill drive into the woods to make it play even longer.

Even the short 17th was frustrating. The fairway has a strong side-slope right, with mid-fairway trees and branches hanging relatively low. The blue tees hug the left brush, so your drive has to stay down, fade right to hold the slope, and avoid the fairway obstacles.
Other Thoughts: The course wasn't especially crowded, even on a summer Sunday. But the park was. The course shares parking space with the main lake beach. My son and I went for a quick swim with the rest of our family after our round. We even found lunch, and ice cream, at the beachfront snack bar. My wife wants us to rent bikes next time we visit. My youngest daughter wants to rock climb at nearby McConnell's Mills. It adds up to a great day trip.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Beware!

2-4    9/7/2009   4/3/2010
Review By: JDaley522
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The views (especially 15), the hike, and the challenge
Cons: On a bright day, it can be difficult to spot a pin tucked into the woods when standing in the fairway. Beware poison ivy! Wear long pants, or suffer the consequences.
Other Thoughts: I understand improvements have been made since I last golfed there. I'll update this review after an Easter outing there

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play in western PA

1    5/29/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: thebuckeyeguy
Played: 99  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 8/6/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic variety; well kept; friendly locals; hole 15 is a top-ten hole; rewards placement (just because you CAN throw 350 doesn't mean you should); restrooms; mostly easy to follow as there are "next tee" arrows on the signs and in ground by basket (or just print a map); pets allowed
Cons: I played two rounds from the longest tees, and there was no concrete (although I wouldn't want walk around that course setting pads!); I don't recall seeing any trash cans; signs were detailed, although some distances just felt slightly off
Other Thoughts: All around a fantastic course; I played Moraine, Deer Lakes, and Knob Hill in 24 hours, and this was my favorite of the three; some blind holes, so bring a friend and spot each other; concrete and trash cans just might make this a 5-disc rated course, although to be fair a lot of the tee boxes were in good shape for natural tees; some rough is thick, but it was my fault for being there; cheap camping nearby; somewhat difficult to find the start as this park is pretty big; go to the South Shore and follow the signs; pack a full bag; first time there from back tees took us 2 full hours

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great all-around course

1    11/1/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 45  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.9 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful, secluded park. Course for the most part is away from other park activity areas, trails, etc.

Easy to navigate for the most part. Three sets of tees for all skill levels. Clever and challenging holes without being "tough for tough's sake".

Basic tee signs with maps, new tee signs and baskets, and most holes had arrows directing you to the next tee.
Cons: Dirt tees, and they were exceptionally muddy when I played there. Major letdown. Had to play to the side for most of the holes.

Some holes can be difficult to navigate to from the previous basket, and there is quite a bit of travel from baskets to the following tees.

While I listed the seclusion of the park as a plus, for some the extra drive into the park may be a bit long off the freeway exit to the park.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was an excellent course to play, and worth the 1.5+ hour trip I made to play it. Each hole is unique, none feel arbitrary, and the overall course really challenges all your throws and will have you pulling out every disc you have in the bag. Lots of doglegs, S/Z curves, up hill and downhill holes.

Probably two holes compete for the course "signature hole" -- either hole 15 where you Z-curve down as you approach the spectacular lake in the background, or hole 18 where you are throwing down a slight downhill gauntlet of trees and elevation changes.

Quite a bit of elevation changes throughout the course, and you'll throw both uphill and downhill at times -- but nothing too ridiculous.

As I mentioned above the course is deep in an expansive park, and the seclusion on the course is a very nice factor. The course plays naturally through the woods, so you really feel as if you are out on a hike with a disc golf course as a bonus. Or vice versa :) Some holes however are very near or cross the park road system, breaking up the solitude.

Holes are primarily technical, with small tree obstacles. The longest-distances holes for the most part all include a downhill factor as well, so you get some added distance at no extra cost.

I did not have time to check out the other activities available at the park, but there seemed to be lots of other things to do like fishing, boat ramps, swimming, camping, etc. The park was huge and the disc golf course was just in one area on one side of the enormous inland lake.

The hole one entrance kiosk didn't have a course map, but did have free scorecards which seemed to be leftover from a tournament or event so not sure how long those will last.

Large parking lot right by the hole one tee, and the course loops back around to the entrance on hole 18.

Some of the holes were a bit confusing, as the course wraps around some holes run parallel and I had trouble finding baskets; however it was my first time out and I just threw blind based off the tee maps. Tee maps were the small basic type, but were new, clean and for the most part pointed you in the right direction. Play this once and you'll have it all down in your head.

In summary, if you are anywhere near this course it's a must-play course. Top-notch, and once/if they get permanent pads in place it will be even better. Kudos to the guys on this site that built this, you can tell it was created with care, and by disc golfers.

Oh, and the photos currently on DCGR as of this review really don't do the course justice. Most/all were taken from the Gold tees, where you really don't get to see what the hole looks like/plays like. Much more personality to the course than the photos imply, having now been there in person.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

7/19/2008   7/19/2008
Review By: disconsolator
Played: 61  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Three sets of tees make the course different every time if you want. Huge variation in shots and fairways which is really excellent. Great views and almost every hole seems like a signature hole.
Cons: Some of the risks in the course are far too great. If you don't hit the first small hole on a couple of holes, you're at an instant 5. They are defined, but it really isn't "fair". If you're off the fairway on half the holes, you're in a ton of trouble - not exactly fair. No tee pads make a rainy day a difficult experience.
Other Thoughts: Good course. Take out a few trees and it's still challenging, but still awesome.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Rules!

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 30 minutes North of Pittsburgh is a very nice course that utilizes all shots. Overall this course is long compared to most, however long arms don't have a huge advantage. Placement is key and crutial. The longest hole on the course from the long tee's is close to 1000 feet and placement is more important than distance. Many call this course a great example on the way most/all Disc Golf Courses of the future will be. The course has a good mix of wooded, open, and short and long holes. Shooting a 5 on some of the holes is not a bad thing.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Another Pittsburgh Winner!

7/22/2007   7/25/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 221  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 11.9 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging with a good mix of wooded and open holes. Some great views on hole #15 and #16.
Cons: The starting point of the course could be better marked.
Other Thoughts: Moraine is a very long and very fun course. Hole #2, with its tall trees and spaciousness, made me feel like I was in the Great Hall of some castle. #6 will test even the best disc golfers with its 900ft. length and tree filled fairway. Finally, #15 has you throwing down a huge hill with an amazing view from the tee. It's one of those holes where it should be illegal not to empty your bag.

Overall Moraine was an extremely fun course to play and I enjoyed each and every hole.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.