Portersville, PA 
Moraine State Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #11 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 216ft.   3 / 258ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 White Tee



Reviews: 65
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Best so far...

1    4/25/2016   6/3/2016
Review By: HoosickTony
Played: 60  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 21.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So many pros, and they're already available to be seen in the reviews below. The biggest single pro... everything on this course was tough but fair. I never felt cheated by the design of the hole. I could always find a possible pathway to success that was not just a game of Plinko. I had to THINK on most every hole about the throw and the landing and what would happen if I strayed from my intended path. Most holes had risk/reward challenge, I felt like I truly accomplished something by playing a round of par disc golf.
Cons: My only con...I don't live close enough to this gem.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course I have ever played in 20 years of hucking. I play about 6 tournaments a year, Amateur Grandmasters, and my player rating hovers around 900. I drive 300 to 340 feet, RHBH, and have played a lot of courses (80+, many states, a couple of countries). I enjoy courses that combine big open/ hilly/ tight technical. Kudos to the designers for giving me everything I love:-)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

#1 Course in PA

5+    5/14/2015   6/1/2015
Review By: SoupSizzle
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There is nothing NOT to like about this course! Beautiful Setting, Challenging holes, Good mix of open and technical. Has something for the novice to the pros! Playing here was a privilege for me and I was lucky enough to grow up with 30 min of the course!
Cons: n/a

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

5+    7/15/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: clark2626
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Excellent course, will test all shots that you have, good mix of long and short holes not only for expirenced players, might want to have someone spot for you if your going for the corner on the big hole number 15
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: none

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, Technical, and Immensely Enjoyable Course

2-4    8/23/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 118  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 3.9 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well maintained park and course; has a country club quality to it - always in top shape and I can't stress enough how great of a layout the course has
-Flows very well from one hole to the next and there is a minimal chance to get lost. Only confusion may be from 10 to 11, as you walk back through hole 4. Just follow the signs for 11 and cross the road to the tees
-Maybe the best quality of this course is that each shot is very important on every hole. Well thought out execution must be performed off the tee as the drive off every hole greatly determines the quality of your upshot
-Mach 3 baskets in prime condition. The pins are thoughtfully placed and are often changed to the 3 different respective positions, adding to the course's already immense variety. On some holes, there is a risk/reward type putt with the pin on a slope. On many others, the pin is nestled behind trees or around a tight corner, making the upshot very important.
- 3 long rubber tees (white, blue, and gold) are strategically placed throughout each hole, causing an even greater throwing variety
-Strong variety of shots with uphill, downhill, hyzer, anhyzer with multiple open, super-tight, and semi-tight, semi-short, medium, and long distance holes. While a tough course, it is a great course to learn how to play on if playing from the white tees (this was my first course and caused me to gain great interest in the sport). There are absolutely no throw-away holes, each has tremendous quality. OB is also present on many holes, adding to its technicality. Tremendous amount of lines and shot selection on almost every hole as well.
-It is somewhat of a hiking experience, adding to the enjoyment of the round
-Course map with local club and tournament information
-Plenty of space for parking
-A beach very close by with picnic tables, nice restrooms, and a snack bar
-Accurate tee signs telling you everything you need to know
-Some of the longer holes have distances located in increments of 100 feet, something most courses do not have
Cons: I have to reach to think of any cons for this course. These aren't necessarily cons for me, and did not detract from my experience. Just a few noteworthy things that may bother some people.

-No garbage cans or bathrooms are located on the course itself, if that bothers you
-It is a little bit of a haul to get to as you travel a few miles on windy park roads, but I am really reaching here. Not a whole lot of restaurants close by.
-There is some thick rough surrounding a few holes (1, 7, 11, 15). They actually have recently reduced the rough on these holes, however
-No tee signs for the white tees
Other Thoughts: This course is a tremendous example of a course that the park (at least this part) is centered on a course, not a course that is affected and attributed by the condition of the park itself. As I previously mentioned, there are no throwaway holes on this course. I would not call one hole disappointing in any way. Some holes rise above as spectacular however:

2- A visually stunning - though technical - hole. Plays long and through many trees and then uphill as you reach the pin
6- Super long hole with well-defined but challenging lines
12-Starts out open and then ends up back through the same woods the course starts in
15- One of the premiere holes in Western PA. Gives you a great view of the lake and plays long, hard right, then downhill. If you hit a roller just right, you may be able to birdie this hole
16- Toughest hole on the course, along with 6, IMO. Super long and technical, many dynamics to this hole

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  World class

5+    4/25/2013   5/1/2013
Review By: Lachendr0
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: This is a world class course that rewards hitting your lines and not just bombing it mindlessly in a field.
So many beautiful holes.
Variety of angles and elevations.
Cons: The worst thing about moraine is its location. It is in the middle of a awesome state park, but state parks aren't near the majority of populations. Its merely an small annoyance.
Other Thoughts: If you are nearby and don't visit you are doing your self a disservice.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 lots of cool holes

5+    4/21/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: urwatuh8
Played: 208  Reviewed: 19
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Moraine has a lot of really fun, unique holes. Everyone will remember hole 15, the long downhill with great views of the lake. (With lots of room for mistakes despite its sweeping view.) But many of the other holes are great too -- 6 is a long, flat, straight double fairway par 5 with low clearance and nasty rough. 8 is a zigzag with a choke point halfway through. 10 makes a sharp left halfway through to a steep uphill. 18 is a long downhill corridor with OB danger.

Shooting well requires making good decisions, but the course rarely feels unfair. There are opportunities for many type of shots (low clearance, hard lefts and rights, tight fairways, etc.) but no one particular skill dominates.

The course is also well planned and maintained. There are three sets of tees which are carefully calibrated so par is close to 900 rated (whites), 950 rated (blues), and 1000 rated (golds). The course flows well. There are a lot of substantially different pin positions.
Cons: The tees are rubber, and can get slippery during or after rain. (A shame because Moraine drains better than some other Pittsburgh courses.)

Hole 1 and 3 are probably the two most boring holes on the course, right at the start. (Both straight par 3s.) In general, the par 3s feel a little too easy, the par 4s feel a little too hard, and the 5s feel about right.
Other Thoughts: During the winter, the gate is locked, but you can still play. If you walk by the gate, immediately go right, and you're at the tee for hole 5. Alternatively, as you drive in, the tee for 6 is in a clearing on your right just before the gate.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 LOVE this course

5+    4/14/2013   4/18/2013
Review By: Daubers
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Scenery wise this course is amazing. Gives the scerenety of hunting as you walk thru the nice trails in the woods. Very challenging and has a great mix of open and wooded. If you can play this course you can play anything i feel. I learned on this course and it makes all others seem like nothing.
Cons: As it gets more and more popular you just have to try to make it away from peak times. But really I can't think of any
Other Thoughts: I play this at least once a week and don't think that will ever change. It is always so fun, challenging and makes for a great experience.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite

1    10/19/2011   9/3/2012
Review By: chariotherr
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Beautiful terrain; both to look at and to play. Playing across creeks, up/down hills, etc.
-Very few "stock" holes. By that I mean that almost every hole has a unique feel and challenge.
-Not obnoxiously long. A good many holes required distance ability, but there were very few that felt like you were just throwing, walking and chucking it again. The long holes require stragety, not just distance.
-Few "dumb" holes. You know the ones. They have impossibly narrow fairways, or an obstacle that goes way beyond just adding challenge. You won't go into many holes here thinking, "I am REALLY gonna have to get lucky."
-Lots of fun. It's really just a joy playing this course. So much fun, great layout.
Cons: Not many I can think of. The road the nearby parking lots was closed when I went, but that may have been seasonal.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/25/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: wolfsblood
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 24.4 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Fantastic layout...perfect mix of wooded and open terrain. Great location with easy access.Very well mantained with good drainage(which seems to be an issue on western Pa courses). Good variety of hole lengths.
Cons: Only beef is rubber tee pads

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Moraine is Grade A

1    6/23/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: Hfactor
Played: 38  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout of the course is just wonderful, ups and downs, left and rights, some chances for rollers and tomahawks. Some people complain about the rough but from other courses I have played the rough does not seem that bad. There is also a place to camp literally 5 minute from here, take West park road west/south to 19th south, get on 19 south for 5 seconds and then take cheese man road to Break Neck Camping grounds!
Cons: There are 3 possible spots that the pin could be at. Sometimes this makes you do a blind shot to one of the three locations which can cause a bad shot. Id prefer if all three pins are in but obviously this is expensive and it really is not that big of a con.
Other Thoughts: There is a camp / camping ground about 5 minutes from Moraine that is not listed on any camp search site. The place is called Break Neck Camp grounds. It costs $8 / person a night (CHEAP!) and only requires two turns to get there from the disc golf course. If you type in Break neck to Moraine state park in google maps it gives you bad directions. Break Neck Camp ground is on Cheeseman road. If you're at the camp ground take cheeseman to 19 north, get on 19 north for about 5 seconds and turn right onto West Park Road. West Park Road takes you directly to Moraine Disc Golf Course! If you plan on staying a couple nights then camp here and Play Moraine, Knob Hill, and Deer Lakes Park. Those are the best in the area for camping and discing!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.