Portersville, PA
Moraine State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 285ft.   3 / 315ft.   3 / 363ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Gold Tee



Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Great Course

5+    5/14/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Pigme
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Absolutely a great and beautiful course. Plenty of challenging holes, including several long holes that give you a good chance to really lob a disc out there more than your average 250 ft par 3 you'll find most other places. Try to time your game so you play hole 15 around sunset.
Cons: Natural tees can be a little sloppy depending on the weather.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait until they build the second 18!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Disc Golfers Dream

5+    4/9/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: jonmiller101
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 9/14/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variety of holes from narrow tree lined shots to semi open fairways, makes you use every disc in your bag, beautiful park, challenging and rewarding to play. There is almost always someone else on the course to tag along with or watch. Make sure you have a good sidearm, backhand, and over head before heading out, it will make your round a lot better.
Cons: natural tee pads, some holes can get very soggy after a rain, lots of spiked foliage (keep it on the fairway and it shouldn't be a problem)
Other Thoughts: Some rubber tee pads are slowly being installed. Bring water, as this course can be brutal in the summer. There are tournaments every month so check the Pittsburgh flying disc society for info.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

1    7/29/2008   2/4/2009
Review By: Virtual PBandJ
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 25.9 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Amazing fairways, awesome greens, fun and challenging. One of my favorite courses. Great use of elevation.
Cons: Could use a little better markings, got lost crossing the street the second time(of course it could just be my fault). Pads
Other Thoughts: Played the course on my way to worlds in 08. Now I want to talk some people into going back for a tourney. Simply an amazing course in an amazing park.

: ) :

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 In My Top 5

1    6/2/2007   2/4/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2010
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Championship Course! This is an excellent and well-designed course that will challenge you. There is an excellent mix of open and wooded holes, good use of elevation, and wide variety of distances. You may have to use every variety of shot and every disc in your bag. There are multiple sets of tees for varying levels of difficulty. The generous portion of land used is very nice and designated purely for disc golf.

Every hole was unique and there were several memorable holes. There were many holes that were unlike any I have played. There was one, #7, where the tee is above the trees and the basket is way down in the middle of them and one shot choice is to throw out over the treetops. Your 2nd shot on the signature #15 will truly be memorable with the lake in background. The whole course is filled with cool disc golf moments like this.

What is neat about this course is that not all the holes are par 3. You really have to think about each shot so you can set yourself up for the next one. I really liked the mental side of this aspect along with having to execute the shot you have envisioned. Some holes play a lot like ball golf, you are not getting to the basket off the tee and possibly not on your second shot either.
Cons: The natural tees are the only minor thing I can think of that could be improved on.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses I have ever played. It is challenging, but not impossible. I enjoyed every shot of every hole. It takes a little longer to play than your average course, but it is totally worth it. This is one that is worth a longer drive to come and play.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great all-around course

1    11/1/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 45  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.9 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful, secluded park. Course for the most part is away from other park activity areas, trails, etc.

Easy to navigate for the most part. Three sets of tees for all skill levels. Clever and challenging holes without being "tough for tough's sake".

Basic tee signs with maps, new tee signs and baskets, and most holes had arrows directing you to the next tee.
Cons: Dirt tees, and they were exceptionally muddy when I played there. Major letdown. Had to play to the side for most of the holes.

Some holes can be difficult to navigate to from the previous basket, and there is quite a bit of travel from baskets to the following tees.

While I listed the seclusion of the park as a plus, for some the extra drive into the park may be a bit long off the freeway exit to the park.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was an excellent course to play, and worth the 1.5+ hour trip I made to play it. Each hole is unique, none feel arbitrary, and the overall course really challenges all your throws and will have you pulling out every disc you have in the bag. Lots of doglegs, S/Z curves, up hill and downhill holes.

Probably two holes compete for the course "signature hole" -- either hole 15 where you Z-curve down as you approach the spectacular lake in the background, or hole 18 where you are throwing down a slight downhill gauntlet of trees and elevation changes.

Quite a bit of elevation changes throughout the course, and you'll throw both uphill and downhill at times -- but nothing too ridiculous.

As I mentioned above the course is deep in an expansive park, and the seclusion on the course is a very nice factor. The course plays naturally through the woods, so you really feel as if you are out on a hike with a disc golf course as a bonus. Or vice versa :) Some holes however are very near or cross the park road system, breaking up the solitude.

Holes are primarily technical, with small tree obstacles. The longest-distances holes for the most part all include a downhill factor as well, so you get some added distance at no extra cost.

I did not have time to check out the other activities available at the park, but there seemed to be lots of other things to do like fishing, boat ramps, swimming, camping, etc. The park was huge and the disc golf course was just in one area on one side of the enormous inland lake.

The hole one entrance kiosk didn't have a course map, but did have free scorecards which seemed to be leftover from a tournament or event so not sure how long those will last.

Large parking lot right by the hole one tee, and the course loops back around to the entrance on hole 18.

Some of the holes were a bit confusing, as the course wraps around some holes run parallel and I had trouble finding baskets; however it was my first time out and I just threw blind based off the tee maps. Tee maps were the small basic type, but were new, clean and for the most part pointed you in the right direction. Play this once and you'll have it all down in your head.

In summary, if you are anywhere near this course it's a must-play course. Top-notch, and once/if they get permanent pads in place it will be even better. Kudos to the guys on this site that built this, you can tell it was created with care, and by disc golfers.

Oh, and the photos currently on DCGR as of this review really don't do the course justice. Most/all were taken from the Gold tees, where you really don't get to see what the hole looks like/plays like. Much more personality to the course than the photos imply, having now been there in person.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 BEAUTIFUL

1    10/16/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: calcuttajoe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: I am a new player over 50. This course was absolutely great. A very good walking course. Very challenging drives and approach shots. All the holes seem to have openings for the good shot and trees, steams, rocks etc. to make you pay for the bad. A definite must and I'LL BE BACK.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

1    5/10/2008   9/10/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Truly unique, long and tough holes playing through diverse beautiful terrain. It makes a top Pro wonder if they can pull the shot off when they step onto the tee. Very punishing for bad shots sometimes, but often fair and doesn't reject the great shots or allow the bad ones through. A 900' downhill shot towards a lake. A 900' tunnel hole with woods on both sides, literally packed with pines in the middle most of the way, requiring several smooth tricky drives just to get to the upshot stage. Well marked.
Cons: It was semi-tough to find the correct park entrance and course. It needs cement tees so you can really get that perfect shot every time and not slip, yet it's probably the only course that can get a 5.0 rating even without them! (And I heard they are supposed to go in soon)

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

7/19/2008   7/19/2008
Review By: disconsolator
Played: 61  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Three sets of tees make the course different every time if you want. Huge variation in shots and fairways which is really excellent. Great views and almost every hole seems like a signature hole.
Cons: Some of the risks in the course are far too great. If you don't hit the first small hole on a couple of holes, you're at an instant 5. They are defined, but it really isn't "fair". If you're off the fairway on half the holes, you're in a ton of trouble - not exactly fair. No tee pads make a rainy day a difficult experience.
Other Thoughts: Good course. Take out a few trees and it's still challenging, but still awesome.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A great challenge

4/20/2008   4/20/2008
Review By: ebonaz
Played: 79  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course is in fantastic shape. Very challenging, requiring all your shots. I threw many forehands, backhands, thumbers, and tomahawks while making my way through the course. Beautiful setting. Great use of elevation and obstructions.
Cons: I can't think of any right now.
Other Thoughts: I just played in the Ironwood Open at Moraine. I've now played multiple rounds there on three separate occasions and can definitely say that this course is top notch. A good round can go south quickly if you lose your focus or take too many reckless chances.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 What a beautiful day

3/27/2008   3/27/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 182  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 19.6 Years
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I find myself saying "What a beautiful place" just about every round I play at Moraine State Park.

--- A good mixture of holes to test every level of player.

--- 3 sets of tees

--- 3 sets of pins

--- A true Par 66 course

--- Every hole requires focus and execution

---Out of the way location from major areas keeps the crowds small, though it is starting to get pretty popular these days.

--- www.northcountrybrewing.com is 15 minutes down the road and makes some of the best beer in Pennsylvania. And about 60% of the employees play disc golf. Even the Brewer!!

--- I think it is the most beautiful place in the world to play disc golf. Great people, great course.
Cons: --- Need more benches (I'm working on it!)

--- Probably slightly hard to navigate without a map your first time there

Other Thoughts: Moraine State Park was built be myself along with the help of Leo Liller, Bryan Wright, Tim Wright, J Gary Dropcho and KB Clark. The course took about 2 years to complete, with the first year devoted to changing holes, making better holes, tweaking/modifying and checking our par to make sure that it was accurate. After about a year, we began the long process of clearing the course to get it in usable shape. Thousands of hours were spent cutting trees, moving debris, walking through huge patches of briars and braving what was some of the roughest land you could imagine. All the while, trying to throw discs at stakes in the ground while walking through this crap. It was amazing in every way, I'll never forget standing up on Hole 15 and throwing discs off of that hill knowing full well that you would probably never be able to find it in all the rough down below. The hole used to actually play from the other side of the flat top part to where hole 16's tee is. After a few weeks, J Gary and myself were standing on what is now 15 gold tee, and I said " I think the hole needs to go way down there". He responded by saying "no, even longer, all the way to the lake if we can". But there is a bike path there and we could not send the hole all the way to the lake as we would have liked. Nonetheless, 15 turned out to be a beautiful hole.

I have so many memories building and helping in the design of that course, it will always remain my favorite place to play. It is challenging (was designed from golds) round after round, and makes golfers really have to dig down deep to play a round of par. Every hole requires well executed shots to earn a par or birdie. If you fail to stay in the fairway for any hole, you will most likely end up with a bogey or worse. The fairways are fair, and the golf is great.

The article in the first issue of Flying Disc Magazine on Moraine has to be the biggest compliment ever to those of us who designed this course. It was many years in the making, I believe 7 or 8 since the first time we contacted the park till the time it was completed.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.