Portersville, PA 
Moraine State Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #13 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 192ft.   3 / 231ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 White Tee



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great weekend trips

5+    11/12/2012   11/12/2012
Review By: Harbodin
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Open and long shots all in the same course.
long holes are really long but its a great course to play from all three tees in a morning!
Cons: Hills add distance to some of the "shorter" holes.
Other Thoughts: Go for it, never know when you will have a good lie.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite

1    10/19/2011   9/3/2012
Review By: chariotherr
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Beautiful terrain; both to look at and to play. Playing across creeks, up/down hills, etc.
-Very few "stock" holes. By that I mean that almost every hole has a unique feel and challenge.
-Not obnoxiously long. A good many holes required distance ability, but there were very few that felt like you were just throwing, walking and chucking it again. The long holes require stragety, not just distance.
-Few "dumb" holes. You know the ones. They have impossibly narrow fairways, or an obstacle that goes way beyond just adding challenge. You won't go into many holes here thinking, "I am REALLY gonna have to get lucky."
-Lots of fun. It's really just a joy playing this course. So much fun, great layout.
Cons: Not many I can think of. The road the nearby parking lots was closed when I went, but that may have been seasonal.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/25/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: wolfsblood
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.6 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Fantastic layout...perfect mix of wooded and open terrain. Great location with easy access.Very well mantained with good drainage(which seems to be an issue on western Pa courses). Good variety of hole lengths.
Cons: Only beef is rubber tee pads

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course

2-4    6/30/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tons of variety in the holes with some shorter and longer ones. The course winds its way through the woods which is enjoyable. Has rubber tee pads and great baskets. The course also has great signs about the holese and to direct you to the next hole. There is also a big board before hole 1 explaining the course. The course is very well maintained. The out of bounds areas are very clearly marked off with string.
Cons: The tee pads seem alittle short at times when doing your run up. Some of the holes it is easy to lose a disc because the "rough" is very thick.
Other Thoughts: If you are from around Pittsburgh it is an easy 50 minute drive that is worth it. This course will challenge all types of players.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

More Reign! Wave those terrible towels!

1    7/6/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2014
13 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 18 championship calilber holes with mach III baskets and multiple pin positions. Three sets of rubber tees with tee signs and each are designed for specific levels of players. Excellent use of the rolling elevation and terrain. Great mix of shot type requirements as well as multiple fairways through some of the woods. Phenomenal risk vs reward on many holes. Nice mix of hole lengths, and pars. Navigation was decent. Benches.
Cons: Not much. No basket position indication. The drainage pipe that runs across the course. A few holes seemed to reward a player with a big gun throwing over the obstacles too much. From basket #10 you cross the fairway of hole #4 to get to hole #11.
Other Thoughts: Moraine was my favorite course on my trip to Pittsburgh. I was about as close as you can titer between a 4.5 and 5. I really don't think you can go wrong visiting any of the top courses in the Pittsburgh area like Deer Lakes, Knob Hill, Linbrook, and 2 Mile Run, and they all are up there on my list of favorites. IMO Moraine has more memorable holes especially hole 15 and all it's beauty. I also really liked holes 2, 7, 8, 12, and 18 which stand out among my trip. Moraine is a better tournament course to test overall skill with some phenomenal risk vs reward shots, also has better separation/seclusion between holes and an aesthetically pleasing surrounding.


13 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Moraine is Grade A

1    6/23/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: Hfactor
Played: 38  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The layout of the course is just wonderful, ups and downs, left and rights, some chances for rollers and tomahawks. Some people complain about the rough but from other courses I have played the rough does not seem that bad. There is also a place to camp literally 5 minute from here, take West park road west/south to 19th south, get on 19 south for 5 seconds and then take cheese man road to Break Neck Camping grounds!
Cons: There are 3 possible spots that the pin could be at. Sometimes this makes you do a blind shot to one of the three locations which can cause a bad shot. Id prefer if all three pins are in but obviously this is expensive and it really is not that big of a con.
Other Thoughts: There is a camp / camping ground about 5 minutes from Moraine that is not listed on any camp search site. The place is called Break Neck Camp grounds. It costs $8 / person a night (CHEAP!) and only requires two turns to get there from the disc golf course. If you type in Break neck to Moraine state park in google maps it gives you bad directions. Break Neck Camp ground is on Cheeseman road. If you're at the camp ground take cheeseman to 19 north, get on 19 north for about 5 seconds and turn right onto West Park Road. West Park Road takes you directly to Moraine Disc Golf Course! If you plan on staying a couple nights then camp here and Play Moraine, Knob Hill, and Deer Lakes Park. Those are the best in the area for camping and discing!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty that can kill

1    5/27/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 164  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2012
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course that plays through a well wooded section of a large state park.
• Challenge: truly championship caliber. Rewards good execution and punishes bad shots equally well.
• Shot variety: OUTSTANDING. Significantly more wooded and tight than open, but when you do get the opportunity let rip, what an opportunity it is! Nice mix of fairway shapes, types, and distances. Sure it's cliche, but Moraine really is an "every shot in your bag... and then some" type of course. Some holes start out fairly open, and tighten up at some point on the fairway (like 16). Others have open fairways leading to well-guarded baskets (12), or start out tight to make you hit a window off the tee, but open up nicely further down the fairway (11).
• Elevation: masterfully used to enhance challenge and aesthetics. Features several elevated tees and/or pins.
• Multiple Tees: White, Blue, and Gold fly pads aren't just longer versions of the same shot. They present different windows to hit, and may require different shots. On a few holes, blue and gold are on opposite sides of the fairway.
• Multiple Pin locations: adds variety and keeps things from feeling like "the same'ol course." Wish my local courses employed more optional pin placements.
• Quiet and secluded: if you want to get away from it all, this is the course for you.
• Natural Beauty: one of the more scenic courses I've played
• Feels organic: Fairways seem relatively natural, as if they were already there. I could be wrong, but it doesn't seem like many trees were removed to put this course in... that's a nice plus in my book.
• Equipment: well done. Baskets were in great shape. Fly pads were level and solid, footing was a non-issue. Tee signs show layout, pin locations, distance. Long fairways equipped with markers to let you know the distance remaining to the basket. Next tee signs to help move you in the right direction.
• Memorable/Unique holes: many; 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 12, 15, 16
• Navigation/flow: pretty intuitive for the most part - the only place I had trouble was after 10 (almost played 4 again, but had I checked the map, I'd have figured that out).
• Amenities: Large park offers plenty of other activities.
Cons: Admittedly nitpicking here:

1st hole wasn't bad, but doesn't seem up to snuff on this course, and 13 seemed a bit "Poke and Pray"ish. A few benches and trash cans every 6 holes or so would be nice, but the truth is, there really isn't much to rag on.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely loved this course (even if that love wasn't returned).
Hole 15 is truly spectacular: Looks nice from the elevated Gold Tee, but if you don't stop at the landing area to appreciate the view, check for a pulse.

Absolutely loved the uphill upshot on 2 (I think pin was in position B), throwing through the tree tops on 7 (couldn't resist the urge to throw a few to see how close I could get), and the corkscrew on 8. Hole 6 will teach you all about placement over distance.

On certain holes, straying from Moraine's fairway's holes can be downright brutal (6 being a prime example). Not really suitable for beginners or those who don't have a fair amount of control - certain frustration.

Really enjoyed playing other courses in the area, and nothing off Deer Lakes or Knob Hill (both wonderful courses), but I have to say Moraine's definitely my favorite in the area. I hemmed and hawed about the rating, and would have given it a 4.75 if I could. Can't put my finger on it, but there's just something about the 5's I've played that I just didn't feel here… maybe it's just getting harder to move my needle that far. Nonetheless, this is a fantastic course, a must play for intermediate or better players visiting the area.

For good eats after your round: North Country Brewing.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  For The Road Trippers

5+    3/11/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: GuruMorgor
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained State Park. I know by reading reviews that many of you like the State Park courses as they tend to offer a better overall experience. One of the biggest pro's is that are 2 other highly rated courses near it; Deer Lakes and Knob Hill. Nicely wooded course that has a good flow to it, starting with some easier holes on the first nine and ending with progressively harder shots on the back nine. It's a pretty big course so bring some drinks, takes about 2hrs to play a round in a relaxed, unhurried group. The locals are friendly and very proud of this course. Great for year round play.
Cons: Poison Ivy, Oak and other fun crap like thorns and jaggedy bushes abound in the woods of Western PA, so sometimes you get a prize for throwing poorly. Come prepared, while not completely in the middle of nowhere, stores and restaurants aren't exactly handy. The course is very clean, but could use a few more receptacles.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and where I learned to play 3 years ago and this is my first review for any course. If you're thinking about road trippin here, my advice would be to stay in Cranberry Twp as it offers many hotels and restaurants. Moraine is about 20 minutes north, Deer Lakes is about 20 minutes southeast and Knob Hill is in Cranberry. I've played Lincoln Ridge and Idlewild in Kentucky and Buckhorn and Mazerek Park in North Carolina and if you like these courses you'll be happy here.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Punishing but fun

1    8/10/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice wooded corner of the park with no interference from other activities. There are great hills throughout that are used to create challenging and memorable shots, along with some nice views out over the lake. The majority of the holes play down tree lined fairways with nice punishing rough waiting to make you pay in strokes for errant shots. There are three sets of tees that change up the length and difficulty of the course quite a bit and offer appropriate challenges to a wide range of players. Decent signs at the middle and long tees along with next tee signs make the course easy to figure out and follow.

There is a great mix of different challenges here, with a nice balance of hole lengths and shapes that require players to have a mastery of just about eve type of shot to be successful. Many of the holes are long, but the length is used to create well designed multi-shot holes that make you concentrate on your fairway drives to have a chance at par. The rubber tees were well laid, and the baskets were in fine shape.
Cons: On long wooded holes, especially blind ones, it's frustrating to not know which pin placement is in use. This is especially annoying when the pins offer such different lengths and hole shapes. The rough is good and thick at times, not a big con to me but it does take away some level of creativity when a shanked shot means you'll just be pitching back onto the fairway. A couple spots on the course felt just a little too lucky and pinbally to me.
Other Thoughts: This course calls for accuracy, shot placement, and consistent long drives in tight quarters. You'll need a full arsenal of shots to tackle this course and even so every player will find themself stuck in tricky spots throughout the course. The three sets of tees provide great challenges for intermediate, advanced and pro players respectively, beginners without patience and a sense of humor about being stuck in the rou won't have any fun here.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 One of the funnest courses out there

2-4    9/1/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: Ripper
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Played this course literally right after playing Deer Lake's casually and just after the PFDO tourney. I was tired, aching, etc. and very little energy left to play this course but ran into the course pro at Deer Lakes and decided what the heck. Made the trip north as I really wanted to see hole 15 in Moraine which most people say is one of the best looking holes in Disc Golf. Really just decided to walk it more or less. First two shots I parked from the blue tees so after that it was like a shot of adrenaline. Then went all out.
Hole 1 - was a nice straight teebird shot.
Hole 2 - was an elevated shot that wasn't as hard as it looked and actually got a teebird within 15 feet.
Hole 3 had a little bit of ob in the middle but was well protected but I threw a few midranges and came close to them. Really don't remember some of the holes but just remembered thinking that wow i'm playing this course great! Then came hole 6 on.
Hole 6 was an amazing hole and one of my favorite holes I've ever played. There are so many different way to play it. It's just a 675 foot hole that has a row of trees like straight down the middle, but tight enough to take a hyzer flip risky, and makes just a straight shot risky as the center trees can kick it out into the rough on either side. Did a long turnover, and then a forehand roller and have to say this hole was awesome! The rest of the holes are great, but loved 15 of course, 16, 18 and 6. Really don't remember the rest of the holes to really tell you what ones I really loved but going through this course, it's almost like the designer knew what ppl were thinking when they step up to the teebox. See something that you can turnover, and it makes it through but puts you into jail were you have to forehand roll, pancake, etc. Some hate this type of course but the whole time all I could think of was Idlewild. When you really think of Idlewild every hole has almost it's own signature. Your not just throwing discs through trees, you are planning your shot ahead. Think it makes a tactical side of disc golf, vs just big hyzer and putt. Loved some of the shots like 9 I believe it is when I through a predator vs hyzering a midrange and almost like they dare you to do that as I found myself right in a clump of trees with no shots to the basket. Hole 12 I believe it was is a hyzer shot that is in the open but always puts you in a situation where you have to forehand or hyzer through a line to the basket. Great hole. Hole 15 you walk out and you just see a tiny dog leg, and the wind makes for a fun time also. It's a beautiful shot and another one where you have to really trust how far you can throw a disc, as 350 out is a small grove of trees. Probably my proudest moment was flexing a shot that sailed past the grove of trees and gave me a shot at the basket. But where most ppl would drive there is OB if you turn it over to much or dense woods if you use too mean of a disc. Hole 16 was my favorite hole on the course. Another one where you have to plan your shot. Also, like that it is a hyzer so you can get a skip off the packed earth and will make for a harder approach shot. Hole 18 what is there to say about what Jerry said was one of the hardest shots in Disc Golf. The landing zones are perfect with two creeks that play as OB and then there is a tree right in the middle so you have to use a pretty fast disc and flex it past it if you want to get to the far landing zone. Loved it. This course has everything that I love about Disc Golf and I shot almost what my rating is which is unfortunate for me, lol but great for the people who designed the course.
Cons: None I loved this friggin course. Of course no concrete teepads, some older looking signs etc, but that's like a mole on Jessica Alba. Really doesn't hurt the beauty of it at all.
Other Thoughts: Takes a special course when you are getting ready to drive 6 hrs back to Cincinati, your tired from the long weekend and you decide to stick around and play it. Then play it again. Kid you not at hole 12 I didn't even know if I could walk anymore lol I was that tired! Yet I still played 15 again and 18! Needless to say that it was a loooong, painful, and very smelly trip home but between Deer Lakes and Morraine really loved them both. Morraine is idlewild. Every hole at original Idlewild is one of my favorite holes just because you can play them so many differant ways. Morraine is the same. The holes leave a lasting impression on you, just like Idlewild. Have never found holes that top holes 1,2,3,5,6,10,11,13 long, 14 long,15, 16, 18 at idlewild lol but Morraine has a few that I would put up there and already itching to play again. Be honest Deer Lakes, and many other courses with all there beauty do not leave you with that same I want to play that hole again to see if this will work, etc. Morraine is the only other course that I have ever played other than Idlewild that has done that to me so it is up there as one of my favorite courses of all time!

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.