Disc Golf Store
Portersville, PA 
Moraine State Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #15 (Taken 7/2011)
4 / 559ft.   4 / 692ft.   4 / 852ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Blue Tee Sign



Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 African Savannah and Appalachian Woodland

1    5/15/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2012
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Unique and quite a challenge. This course will make you think and use your brain as much as your brawn. There is a lot of thinking to do out there. I'm sure this, along with it's 8264 ft length and par 66, makes for the legendary long rounds played here. There are 3 tees per hole and despite being natural the drainage here seems to ensure that the tees are always solid and level. Course plays in it's own section of park so outsider interference is non-existant. There is a uniqueness of what appears to be an almost African Savanah landscape with open fields interspersed often with low trees that are spaced apart from one another. This puts a premium on shot selection as there is often the choice to go low ceiling, weave around or attemmpt to fly over these trees. It may not be as beautiful as thick forrests or wide open vistas, but it makes for beautiful disc golf shots. I would love to go back and try different routes to landing areas etc.....seems the options are endless here. There are also quite a bit of appalachian forrest with elevation drops and gains to keep it interesting as well. There are well defined avenues and many to be discovered lanes to be had in these old growth forrest sections of course. Some of the holes combine the savanah with the hardwoods making for epic and exciting transitions in and out of different landscapes. I particularly enjoyed the following holes:
#2-441 ft drive through huge trees and uphill at the end with a ravine OOB to test your approach.
#4 385 ft Starts in open then climbs into a forrest with fair lanes to wooded basket
#6 Never played a hole like this and I hated/loved it. Basically a 934 straight shot on dead flat terrain but having 2 lanes one right and one left. Can you throw straight, can you roll straight, can you throw straight and low consistently 3 times in a row.
#7 Another unique throw I never encountered anywhere else. It plays downhill to the left after tee off but you can attempt to throw over the trees to basket below or go low ceiling and hug the terrain down to the basket. Choices!
#8 long 564 foot throw with several turns in fairway requires long shot placement and line shaping to score well.
#10 fun dogleg left that rises uphill at bend to a protected basket above at 465 ft.
#12 Amazing long transition hole that blends the best of the savanah with a dive into the hardwoods for the last 200 feet. Not many holes anywhere have such dramatic changes as this one.
#13 a solid 300 ft Eastern tight woods hole.
#15 The most famous hole on course and only chance to truly rip into open space. Downhill 852 dogleg right to lake below. Beware the wind and the elevation drop can mess with your mind.
#16 this hole is just hard hard hard. Precise drive uphill to very wooded fairway to a basket with a sloping fast green behind. 624 feet of frustrating fun.
#18 a wooded fairway that if your able to clear the fairway and the high banked creek your sitting pretty looking at the open basket with some steep green around her. Much trouble if you shank your initial drive or end up in the creek.
Plenty of friendly players who enjoyed showing off the course as well giving me anecdotes about the course. Like how Schultz eagled this hole etc. Always makes a round more fun to know some history!
Cons: Holes 1,3,5,9,11,14,and 17 though solid did not offer much in the way of memorable disc golf like the prior holes did. I found hole14 to be just long and brutally hard. Maybe I just could not find the lanes or ended up on the wrong side of the fairway?(part of reason I'd like to play it a few times to learn the nuances) Not a fan of the ground rule regarding the tiny drainage halfpipes as being OOB. Seems a bit punitive and random as these are throughout course and unpredictable to a newcomer. Seems they would play better as casual water. I am not against short holes but a few of them really offered nothing special. I like my short holes to have some kind of charisma.
Other Thoughts: This course is really an amazing course and despite my cons remarks I would rank it easily in my top 10. Western PA has some amazing disc golf options and should be on any disc golfers radar to be explored one day.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play in western PA

1    5/29/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: thebuckeyeguy
Played: 102  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 8/6/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic variety; well kept; friendly locals; hole 15 is a top-ten hole; rewards placement (just because you CAN throw 350 doesn't mean you should); restrooms; mostly easy to follow as there are "next tee" arrows on the signs and in ground by basket (or just print a map); pets allowed
Cons: I played two rounds from the longest tees, and there was no concrete (although I wouldn't want walk around that course setting pads!); I don't recall seeing any trash cans; signs were detailed, although some distances just felt slightly off
Other Thoughts: All around a fantastic course; I played Moraine, Deer Lakes, and Knob Hill in 24 hours, and this was my favorite of the three; some blind holes, so bring a friend and spot each other; concrete and trash cans just might make this a 5-disc rated course, although to be fair a lot of the tee boxes were in good shape for natural tees; some rough is thick, but it was my fault for being there; cheap camping nearby; somewhat difficult to find the start as this park is pretty big; go to the South Shore and follow the signs; pack a full bag; first time there from back tees took us 2 full hours

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    5/14/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Pigme
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Absolutely a great and beautiful course. Plenty of challenging holes, including several long holes that give you a good chance to really lob a disc out there more than your average 250 ft par 3 you'll find most other places. Try to time your game so you play hole 15 around sunset.
Cons: Natural tees can be a little sloppy depending on the weather.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait until they build the second 18!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Disc Golfers Dream

5+    4/9/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: jonmiller101
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 9/14/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Variety of holes from narrow tree lined shots to semi open fairways, makes you use every disc in your bag, beautiful park, challenging and rewarding to play. There is almost always someone else on the course to tag along with or watch. Make sure you have a good sidearm, backhand, and over head before heading out, it will make your round a lot better.
Cons: natural tee pads, some holes can get very soggy after a rain, lots of spiked foliage (keep it on the fairway and it shouldn't be a problem)
Other Thoughts: Some rubber tee pads are slowly being installed. Bring water, as this course can be brutal in the summer. There are tournaments every month so check the Pittsburgh flying disc society for info.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

1    7/29/2008   2/4/2009
Review By: Virtual PBandJ
Played: 70  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 26.3 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Amazing fairways, awesome greens, fun and challenging. One of my favorite courses. Great use of elevation.
Cons: Could use a little better markings, got lost crossing the street the second time(of course it could just be my fault). Pads
Other Thoughts: Played the course on my way to worlds in 08. Now I want to talk some people into going back for a tourney. Simply an amazing course in an amazing park.

: ) :

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 In My Top 5

1    6/2/2007   2/4/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2010
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Championship Course! This is an excellent and well-designed course that will challenge you. There is an excellent mix of open and wooded holes, good use of elevation, and wide variety of distances. You may have to use every variety of shot and every disc in your bag. There are multiple sets of tees for varying levels of difficulty. The generous portion of land used is very nice and designated purely for disc golf.

Every hole was unique and there were several memorable holes. There were many holes that were unlike any I have played. There was one, #7, where the tee is above the trees and the basket is way down in the middle of them and one shot choice is to throw out over the treetops. Your 2nd shot on the signature #15 will truly be memorable with the lake in background. The whole course is filled with cool disc golf moments like this.

What is neat about this course is that not all the holes are par 3. You really have to think about each shot so you can set yourself up for the next one. I really liked the mental side of this aspect along with having to execute the shot you have envisioned. Some holes play a lot like ball golf, you are not getting to the basket off the tee and possibly not on your second shot either.
Cons: The natural tees are the only minor thing I can think of that could be improved on.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses I have ever played. It is challenging, but not impossible. I enjoyed every shot of every hole. It takes a little longer to play than your average course, but it is totally worth it. This is one that is worth a longer drive to come and play.

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great all-around course

1    11/1/2008   11/1/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.3 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful, secluded park. Course for the most part is away from other park activity areas, trails, etc.

Easy to navigate for the most part. Three sets of tees for all skill levels. Clever and challenging holes without being "tough for tough's sake".

Basic tee signs with maps, new tee signs and baskets, and most holes had arrows directing you to the next tee.
Cons: Dirt tees, and they were exceptionally muddy when I played there. Major letdown. Had to play to the side for most of the holes.

Some holes can be difficult to navigate to from the previous basket, and there is quite a bit of travel from baskets to the following tees.

While I listed the seclusion of the park as a plus, for some the extra drive into the park may be a bit long off the freeway exit to the park.
Other Thoughts: Overall this was an excellent course to play, and worth the 1.5+ hour trip I made to play it. Each hole is unique, none feel arbitrary, and the overall course really challenges all your throws and will have you pulling out every disc you have in the bag. Lots of doglegs, S/Z curves, up hill and downhill holes.

Probably two holes compete for the course "signature hole" -- either hole 15 where you Z-curve down as you approach the spectacular lake in the background, or hole 18 where you are throwing down a slight downhill gauntlet of trees and elevation changes.

Quite a bit of elevation changes throughout the course, and you'll throw both uphill and downhill at times -- but nothing too ridiculous.

As I mentioned above the course is deep in an expansive park, and the seclusion on the course is a very nice factor. The course plays naturally through the woods, so you really feel as if you are out on a hike with a disc golf course as a bonus. Or vice versa :) Some holes however are very near or cross the park road system, breaking up the solitude.

Holes are primarily technical, with small tree obstacles. The longest-distances holes for the most part all include a downhill factor as well, so you get some added distance at no extra cost.

I did not have time to check out the other activities available at the park, but there seemed to be lots of other things to do like fishing, boat ramps, swimming, camping, etc. The park was huge and the disc golf course was just in one area on one side of the enormous inland lake.

The hole one entrance kiosk didn't have a course map, but did have free scorecards which seemed to be leftover from a tournament or event so not sure how long those will last.

Large parking lot right by the hole one tee, and the course loops back around to the entrance on hole 18.

Some of the holes were a bit confusing, as the course wraps around some holes run parallel and I had trouble finding baskets; however it was my first time out and I just threw blind based off the tee maps. Tee maps were the small basic type, but were new, clean and for the most part pointed you in the right direction. Play this once and you'll have it all down in your head.

In summary, if you are anywhere near this course it's a must-play course. Top-notch, and once/if they get permanent pads in place it will be even better. Kudos to the guys on this site that built this, you can tell it was created with care, and by disc golfers.

Oh, and the photos currently on DCGR as of this review really don't do the course justice. Most/all were taken from the Gold tees, where you really don't get to see what the hole looks like/plays like. Much more personality to the course than the photos imply, having now been there in person.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 BEAUTIFUL

1    10/16/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: calcuttajoe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: I am a new player over 50. This course was absolutely great. A very good walking course. Very challenging drives and approach shots. All the holes seem to have openings for the good shot and trees, steams, rocks etc. to make you pay for the bad. A definite must and I'LL BE BACK.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

1    5/10/2008   9/10/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Truly unique, long and tough holes playing through diverse beautiful terrain. It makes a top Pro wonder if they can pull the shot off when they step onto the tee. Very punishing for bad shots sometimes, but often fair and doesn't reject the great shots or allow the bad ones through. A 900' downhill shot towards a lake. A 900' tunnel hole with woods on both sides, literally packed with pines in the middle most of the way, requiring several smooth tricky drives just to get to the upshot stage. Well marked.
Cons: It was semi-tough to find the correct park entrance and course. It needs cement tees so you can really get that perfect shot every time and not slip, yet it's probably the only course that can get a 5.0 rating even without them! (And I heard they are supposed to go in soon)

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

7/19/2008   7/19/2008
Review By: disconsolator
Played: 61  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Three sets of tees make the course different every time if you want. Huge variation in shots and fairways which is really excellent. Great views and almost every hole seems like a signature hole.
Cons: Some of the risks in the course are far too great. If you don't hit the first small hole on a couple of holes, you're at an instant 5. They are defined, but it really isn't "fair". If you're off the fairway on half the holes, you're in a ton of trouble - not exactly fair. No tee pads make a rainy day a difficult experience.
Other Thoughts: Good course. Take out a few trees and it's still challenging, but still awesome.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.