Highland Park, IL
Fink Park Share
Uploaded By: loobychild Hole #6 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 298ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Average 9 hole

5+    6/17/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: Zaklipsey
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Allows all type of players to have fun.
Can challenge an experienced player every once in a while.
Usually well maintained
Signs are available on every hole
Concrete pads
Usually not too crowded
One of the better 9 holes courses in the northshore
Aceable holes
Usually able to smoke freely
Not windy even on windy days the trees surrounding park block wind well
Cons: Course is short
Challenging holes are few but every hole is capable of being birdied.
Course holds lots of water so if it rains heavy may take several days to dry out and makes the course miserable
Sometimes course doesn't maintained because the park in general is so big.
Concrete pads are shorts and need to be remodeled.
Course needs a main sign and rules posted.
Also no practice basket to putt although 9th hole usually becomes the practice basket.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Home course

5+    6/19/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: chrismilano
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: +Good signage
+Good baskets in decent condition
+Some technical holes. Trees add a degree of difficulty
+Course is easy tot navigate.
Cons: -No elevation change. The course is almost entirely flat.
-WIth the exception of a few holes, almost every tee off is wide open.
-The course does not challenge an experienced golfer.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and to be honest it is a pretty average course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice course, good for beginners

1    7/27/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signage- the lines and map was accurate, however the distance was not.

Nice variety of matured trees- tall trees made for a nice asset to an otherwise open course. An made shot shaping a little bit more difficult then it would be on yur typical open course

Nowhere to lose disc- you would have to have major griplock or just have no accuracy to lose a disc

Distance variety- I was surprised that a nine holer had a variety in distances(150-450)

Concrete teepads- these teepads were decent and provided good grip
Cons: Small tee pads- not much room to take a run-up

Open on most holes - with the acception of a few strategically place trees the course was completely open.

Almost all holes dead straight- no variety in shots, you could play th whole course with a mid range nd a putter.
Other Thoughts: Short course most people will just throw midrange or putter. If your in the are in the area just go to danny cunniff

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    9/9/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fink Park is a fun little 9 hole course set in the back of a nice park. The course is flat with some mature trees and there's only rough on one hole. The tee signs are in good condition and navigation is a breeze. It has long, narrow concrete pads. They've been painted green, it was dry out when I played here and they didn't give me any problem at all. There's a decent variety of distance and an ok shot variety.
Cons: While there are mature trees on some holes, others were nearly wide open. Even the ones with trees don't present much of a challenge.

A couple of the holes throw over a sidewalk. It's easy to see if anyone's coming so there shouldn't be any danger there, but it is worth mentioning.

The tee pads were extremely narrow, possibly the narrowest I've ever encountered. It didn't really bother me but it does force you to throw in one direction and limits options.
Other Thoughts: I stopped to play here on my way to Wisconsin. The course was right off 41, it was a fast round which allowed us to get out of the car and stretch our legs; exactly what we wanted. It's a great course for locals or new players to learn the game, but it was not challenging or memorable so I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to play here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner course in very nice neighborhood.

2-4    1/16/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fink is located in a very nice neighborhood. The park is flat as a pancake and has tree scattered throughout. It's a very nice park that is taken care of.

Tee #1 is located just west of the parking lot. There is a large sign identifying where the disc golf course is located.

Concrete tee pads.

The baskets are in pretty good shape and have the # located on the bin. I'm not sure what kind of baskets these are. I've never seen them at another course.

The tee signs are pretty good. They have hole description and distance.

Navigation is very simple. This is a great beginner course that does not take long to play.
Cons: Although the tees are concrete they are painted green. They seemed slick.

5 of the 9 holes are in the 295 to 325 foot range. This course is very repetitive.

Fore more skilled players this course will not offer challenge.
Other Thoughts: If you live on the north side of Chicgao or Burbs this is not a bad option. There is another course in Highland Park and nearby Glencoe.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Beginner Course

1    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: lordofchance
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tees
- Course tries to vary the distances between holes
- Makes good use of trees and bushes as obsticales
- Good site to Practice Ace Drives
- Course is well maintained
- Baskets in good condition
- Tee signs provide recommend routes to basket
Cons: - Most holes are fairly short and do not really provide the ability for a more experienced player to open up with their arm.
- Most baskets are fairly straight shots from the tee
- There are not many challenging shots on the course
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a nice looking course and allows for beginners and amateurs the ability to practices their shots. I have not been able to break the 250 mark on my drives so this course allowed me to practice my drivers, but for others I could see this course providing to little variation in shots or distances.

The course allows you to practice your drives with out having to worry about losing your disc in think brush. The course is worth a visit for a quick game or practice, but do not expect the course to provide much of a challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    6/6/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice little section of the park strictly for disc golf. A few pedestrians every once in a while, but nothing too crazy
- Concrete tee pads are a little small, but better than nothing. Decent baskets and signage.
- Good use of trees to make holes somewhat challenging. On some holes, you have to go straight in between two trees to get to the pin, on others you can't go straight at all.
- While all of the holes can easily be done in 2 shots, you have to make a good shot to do so. A few exceptions on the easier holes.
- I use a mix of RHBH and RHFH on this course, plenty of spots to choose your shot selection carefully.
Cons: - Some of these holes are as easy as they get, at least for a RHBH throw. No trees in the way, and no elevation change.
- Overall, no elevation change at all throughout the course.
- Can get a little wet at times, especially around #7's basket. Don't forget to bring a towel after a rain.
Other Thoughts: - I like playing at this course, as it really tests accuracy with some medium length holes. Getting it through the two trees on #3, with enough length to get it to the pin, can be a challenge. Mostly a mental one.
- I don't have a huge arm, so these 300+ holes are great for me to practice my distance and accuracy at the same time.
- I gave this one an extra 1/2 disc because there are some holes that really demand a specific shot. I know people who stick with the RHBH throughout, but they use some crazy lines to get it there.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short with a few good holes

5+    1/17/2010   1/25/2010
Review By: steven2361
Played: 155  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Teepads have good grip when dry (they're green)

Nice signage

Mature trees all around. They force routes sometimes.

(for me) : Holes 7-9 are rewarding birdies.

The last basket easilly functions as a practice basket

Good for beginners to learn shots

No super long walks between holes and the course leads you right back to your car and the beginning of the course.

Good catching baskets

Right of the highway when you're driving south to Chicago, good for a quick round.

Forces straight shots
Cons: Paths with unaware people throughout the park.

Can get very flooded

Tee pads are not very wide

Many holes are around 300', very short course

Not a lot of shot variety, mostly straight mid shots.

Flat

Mostly Open

Not secluded, on holes 8-9 a building on the left comes into play on really shaked shots
Other Thoughts: If you're playing in Highland Park, play here, NOT Danny Cunniff. Keller in deerfield is another close fun 9.

Go to the back of the park to park.

Summary:

Hole 1 is a dumb wide open 280 easy bird

Hole 2 forces a good straight shot about 300', rewarding bird

Hole 3 forces another straight 280ish

Hole 4 gives you two routes. So short though it is an easy bird

Hole 5 is yet another straight 280 ish

Hole 6 is wide open 280ish

Hole 7 is a little more tricky, but not much. You can throw straight at it, Trees block a big left to right and a big hyzer so a straight shot is the way to go

Hole 8 is a fun one. Over 300 left to right, tough birdie

Hole 9 has two solid routes, straight slight turnover to left of the big tree, or just throw the big hyzer to the right.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 No Lost Discs

5+    9/12/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained park. Wide opne spaces. Little chance to lose a disc. Good for practicing accuracy on mid length holes. Larger trees and some tree density on a few holes makes for accuracy pracitce. Nice concrete tee pads with good texture in surface. Nice no-slip. Good signage. Plenty of parking. benches at tee 1 if there is a wait. Baskets are all in good shape. Tree gateway shot on 3 is fun. obsticles on 9 are a nice touch. Tree choices on 7 and I think it was 4 were fun.
Cons: Too short for big driving. Hole 7 plays too close to soccer field if games are on. Pad size is a bit small for big run-ups, but no big run ups needed here as holes are shorter... a big run up and you will over throw anyway. We had a debate as to which was the proper basket on 7... we were split as to what was to be the proper one and the basket from 3 that is in line with the tee pad... but if the sign is correct the #3 basket was too far to be correct.
Other Thoughts: Good example of park dist courses in the area. I would rather play Cuniff just up the road at rte.22... and funny as 1 review of Cuniff said they would rather play Fink... go figure... to each his own. Discs for sale at Ace at 41 and 22 and at Uncle Dan's in Downtown HP if you need discs. Have played here a number of times more than when I first reviewed it... still all points hold up. I like 3, 4 and 9 best here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Average course with average challenge

1    8/16/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice concrete tee pads are an upgrade from most of the other courses in the area. (although sligtly too narrow)

2) Baskets are in good condition.

3) Courses uses large mature trees as obstacles and it forces you to pick your line.

4) Course is beginner friendly because it is relatively open despite the large mature trees. It offers a challenge to the beginners by forcing them to picture a shot rather than just throwing as hard as they can.

5) Course offers a good variety in distance ranging from 182' to 325' with a couple other in the mid 250' range. This is a true positive because it alters the disc you will be throwing into many baskets. It is nice to not have the same shot on every hole.

6) Nice tee signs with diagrams.

7) Nice park with good amenities. It is fairly isolated from other activities which is always a positive.

8) Turf is in good condition across the course including around the baskets. It doesn't seem to be too wore down and there is no need for mulch or gravel around the baskets because the turf is healthy.
Cons: 1) Concrete tees are slightly too narrow. Someone else complained about them being slippery but I didn't notice that . . . but it was dry.

2) A little bit too wide open. I like the mature trees but anyone but a beginner can really execute most shots fairly easily.

3) Mature trees are good for this course, but I do think that the baskets or tees could have been better situated. I felt like Glencoe (Watts Park) really incorporated the trees effectively to force certain shots. This course allows you to pick your own shot rather than forcing you to think up your shot.

4) The only thing that interrupts play would be the sidewalk path that runs across hole #6 and #7.

5) No elevation change at all . . . I know it isn't the designers fault it is just the property they have but I do like to see some elevation even if it is just placing a basket on a sidehill or something.
Other Thoughts: This is an average course. It is one of the better courses in the immediate area but is not a destination course. I think it would be mostly very locals that play because it just doesn't have anything that stands out as not ordinary. I still give it a typical/decent rating because the course itself is designed well, seems to be well maintained, and the amenities make it a good place to go play. It was the 8th course on my 9 course day and am glad I got to play it. I especially liked making a 2 on #9 with a 65' putt across the wind going in.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.