Highland Park, IL 
Fink Park Share
Uploaded By: loobychild Hole #7 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 296ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Nice Niner!!

1    8/12/2016   8/13/2016
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 131  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: Course was in a park that housed a racquetball club. Course wound from the parking lot through the back open area of the club.
Looks like they are remodeling?? First couple pads were large concrete, while the rest were older smaller pads- fine for the course but wondering why the difference?
Course was a good length- most just past my tee reach.
Enough trees and shrubbery to provide basket protection and provide thought to most shots.
Cons: None really. No elevation to use.
Perhaps on a busy day one might have to be alert for walkers on the paths.
No one out there on the day I went.
Other Thoughts: In Chicago for work taking in as many courses as possible. Like the rest, this one did not disappoint. Not worth driving lots of miles for, but certainly playable regularly if you live in the area.

Groovey Chicago 9'er!

1    6/29/2016   7/3/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.3 Years
Pros: The Fink DGC is set out in the corner of the park behind the tennis club. The park is well maintained, very clean, flat and has enough mature trees to define some fairways and provide you with some obstacles. There is a large course sign at the beginning.

The course has some length with a few holes stretching over 300'. There are concrete pads that most players think are too narrow. I was fine with them. The baskets are old and have the number on the side on a little square plaque.
One cool feature here is a soft, rubberized material under the basket to prevent compacting. This is the same material that you sometimes find under swings or climbing area. I'm not sure if it's really needed but it's cool anyway.
There is some challenge here. # 8 is 325' and there are plenty of obstacles on your route in the form of, mature trees, smaller trees and bushes. Pick your route.

# 9 has a large tree in the center of your fairway and a small nature area that you would like to avoid (just to keep it looking nice).
# 2 at 304' is a pretty hole playing down a natural fairway.
Fink Park is great for beginners but I think it's a very comfortable course for recreational players, seniors and better players just working on their game.
Cons: The course is packed in this smaller park. I guess there could be an issue on busy days, both with other park users and other players.

I could see some drainage issues.

Might have to wait for walkers on # 6 and # 7.

Other Thoughts: Another Chicago 9'er that is what it is. It's not going to host any big tournies and better players may scoff at it's shorter distances, flatness and wide open holes. But for the majority of the disc throwing population, this course gives us a stress free, relaxing place to come out and get a quick round in. I'd play here all the time, weather permitting. You crazy Chicago land folks can play in ice, snow and freezing temperatures all you want. I'm good when the thermometer hits 50.

 Standard Suburban 9-Holer

5+    5/22/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Parsaver
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a well maintained suburban park in a nice neighborhood
-Has enough space, trees and brush to make for some interesting holes but nothing truly special
-Holes are located in an area pretty well secluded from other park activities. There is a walking path that comes into play but it is usually not too busy
-Great course for beginners, no real chance of losing discs, enough trees to require one to learn how to throw different shots, but nothing frustratingly hard
-While an advanced player feels they should deuce every hole, #1 and #4 are the only "gimme" holes.
-Nearly every hole offers a variety of lines to take to the basket, which is good for practicing every shot in the bag. This is particularly evident on 4, 7, 8 and 9. For example on 9 you can play a big spike hyzer around the tree, a low hyzer under the tree branches to the right of the trunk, a low straight shot under the tree branches to the left of the trunk, an anhyzer or flick around the tree on the left or even a flick roller!
-2, 3, and 5 require well controlled straight shots, if you catch an early tree you'll need a solid upshot to save par
-8 is probably the toughest hole on the course, 325 late dogleg left, requiring a big forehand or anyhzyer, those who can't get it there with those shots will need to get crafty with the late turning turn-over, roller, or sneaky hzyer.
-Good baskets, tee pads are pretty good as well but can get slippy when even a little wet
-Good signage and flow, you'll have no problem with navigation. First hole right next to the sign as you pull into the parking lot and you can warm-up putting at basket 9.
-Course is located right of the Edens express way, is probably one of the most convenient courses for those who live on the north side of the city.
-There is a tennis center on site with public restrooms, water fountains, and vending machines. Also, you can turn in lost discs to the front desk's lost and found.
-Never crowded on weekdays
Cons: -Not to much variety in the way of distance, park doesn't allow for any bomber holes. 5 shots in the 300ish range, 2 holes 270ish, and 2 shorty's.
-No technical holes. There are enough trees to punish shots far off line, but 2 and 3 are the only holes where you need to "pure" gaps and even they can allow off lines shots to get through.
-Nothing too challenging for experienced players, taking a four will feel like an unforgivable sin
-This course holds water. Most courses in this area are pretty soggy after rain but Fink is the worst. Holes 3, 4, 7, and 8 are seemingly always wet even after days of sun. If you have a pair of boots with waterproofing you'll usually be fine but wearing gym shoes out there if it has rained recently is just asking for a pair of wet socks.
-Tee pads are not always lined up in the direction of the basket, this is not a big deal but is evident on 1, 3, 5, and 7. It can get confusing for first time players on 7 because the pad points more toward 3's basket than 7's.
-Creek can come into play if you crush a drive past #6, but you can usually fish out the disc. Roof of the tennis center can come into play on 8 and 9, but there are ventilation cubes on the side of the building that you can climb to retrieve them.
-Can sometimes get crowded on weekdends in the summer, but never too bad.
Other Thoughts: -This is the best all around course in the north shore area, but that's not saying much.
-Of course you have to be very grateful for every course put-in in this area, and this one does a pretty good job.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Average 9 hole

5+    6/17/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: Zaklipsey
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Allows all type of players to have fun.
Can challenge an experienced player every once in a while.
Usually well maintained
Signs are available on every hole
Concrete pads
Usually not too crowded
One of the better 9 holes courses in the northshore
Aceable holes
Usually able to smoke freely
Not windy even on windy days the trees surrounding park block wind well
Cons: Course is short
Challenging holes are few but every hole is capable of being birdied.
Course holds lots of water so if it rains heavy may take several days to dry out and makes the course miserable
Sometimes course doesn't maintained because the park in general is so big.
Concrete pads are shorts and need to be remodeled.
Course needs a main sign and rules posted.
Also no practice basket to putt although 9th hole usually becomes the practice basket.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home course

5+    6/19/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: chrismilano
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: +Good signage
+Good baskets in decent condition
+Some technical holes. Trees add a degree of difficulty
+Course is easy tot navigate.
Cons: -No elevation change. The course is almost entirely flat.
-WIth the exception of a few holes, almost every tee off is wide open.
-The course does not challenge an experienced golfer.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, and to be honest it is a pretty average course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, good for beginners

1    7/27/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signage- the lines and map was accurate, however the distance was not.

Nice variety of matured trees- tall trees made for a nice asset to an otherwise open course. An made shot shaping a little bit more difficult then it would be on yur typical open course

Nowhere to lose disc- you would have to have major griplock or just have no accuracy to lose a disc

Distance variety- I was surprised that a nine holer had a variety in distances(150-450)

Concrete teepads- these teepads were decent and provided good grip
Cons: Small tee pads- not much room to take a run-up

Open on most holes - with the acception of a few strategically place trees the course was completely open.

Almost all holes dead straight- no variety in shots, you could play th whole course with a mid range nd a putter.
Other Thoughts: Short course most people will just throw midrange or putter. If your in the are in the area just go to danny cunniff

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/9/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 252  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fink Park is a fun little 9 hole course set in the back of a nice park. The course is flat with some mature trees and there's only rough on one hole. The tee signs are in good condition and navigation is a breeze. It has long, narrow concrete pads. They've been painted green, it was dry out when I played here and they didn't give me any problem at all. There's a decent variety of distance and an ok shot variety.
Cons: While there are mature trees on some holes, others were nearly wide open. Even the ones with trees don't present much of a challenge.

A couple of the holes throw over a sidewalk. It's easy to see if anyone's coming so there shouldn't be any danger there, but it is worth mentioning.

The tee pads were extremely narrow, possibly the narrowest I've ever encountered. It didn't really bother me but it does force you to throw in one direction and limits options.
Other Thoughts: I stopped to play here on my way to Wisconsin. The course was right off 41, it was a fast round which allowed us to get out of the car and stretch our legs; exactly what we wanted. It's a great course for locals or new players to learn the game, but it was not challenging or memorable so I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to play here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner course in very nice neighborhood.

2-4    1/16/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 343  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 15.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fink is located in a very nice neighborhood. The park is flat as a pancake and has tree scattered throughout. It's a very nice park that is taken care of.

Tee #1 is located just west of the parking lot. There is a large sign identifying where the disc golf course is located.

Concrete tee pads.

The baskets are in pretty good shape and have the # located on the bin. I'm not sure what kind of baskets these are. I've never seen them at another course.

The tee signs are pretty good. They have hole description and distance.

Navigation is very simple. This is a great beginner course that does not take long to play.
Cons: Although the tees are concrete they are painted green. They seemed slick.

5 of the 9 holes are in the 295 to 325 foot range. This course is very repetitive.

Fore more skilled players this course will not offer challenge.
Other Thoughts: If you live on the north side of Chicgao or Burbs this is not a bad option. There is another course in Highland Park and nearby Glencoe.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Beginner Course

1    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: lordofchance
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tees
- Course tries to vary the distances between holes
- Makes good use of trees and bushes as obsticales
- Good site to Practice Ace Drives
- Course is well maintained
- Baskets in good condition
- Tee signs provide recommend routes to basket
Cons: - Most holes are fairly short and do not really provide the ability for a more experienced player to open up with their arm.
- Most baskets are fairly straight shots from the tee
- There are not many challenging shots on the course
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a nice looking course and allows for beginners and amateurs the ability to practices their shots. I have not been able to break the 250 mark on my drives so this course allowed me to practice my drivers, but for others I could see this course providing to little variation in shots or distances.

The course allows you to practice your drives with out having to worry about losing your disc in think brush. The course is worth a visit for a quick game or practice, but do not expect the course to provide much of a challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    6/6/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice little section of the park strictly for disc golf. A few pedestrians every once in a while, but nothing too crazy
- Concrete tee pads are a little small, but better than nothing. Decent baskets and signage.
- Good use of trees to make holes somewhat challenging. On some holes, you have to go straight in between two trees to get to the pin, on others you can't go straight at all.
- While all of the holes can easily be done in 2 shots, you have to make a good shot to do so. A few exceptions on the easier holes.
- I use a mix of RHBH and RHFH on this course, plenty of spots to choose your shot selection carefully.
Cons: - Some of these holes are as easy as they get, at least for a RHBH throw. No trees in the way, and no elevation change.
- Overall, no elevation change at all throughout the course.
- Can get a little wet at times, especially around #7's basket. Don't forget to bring a towel after a rain.
Other Thoughts: - I like playing at this course, as it really tests accuracy with some medium length holes. Getting it through the two trees on #3, with enough length to get it to the pin, can be a challenge. Mostly a mental one.
- I don't have a huge arm, so these 300+ holes are great for me to practice my distance and accuracy at the same time.
- I gave this one an extra 1/2 disc because there are some holes that really demand a specific shot. I know people who stick with the RHBH throughout, but they use some crazy lines to get it there.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.