Highland Park, IL 
Fink Park Share
Uploaded By: loobychild Hole #4 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 182ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    9/9/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/14/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fink Park is a fun little 9 hole course set in the back of a nice park. The course is flat with some mature trees and there's only rough on one hole. The tee signs are in good condition and navigation is a breeze. It has long, narrow concrete pads. They've been painted green, it was dry out when I played here and they didn't give me any problem at all. There's a decent variety of distance and an ok shot variety.
Cons: While there are mature trees on some holes, others were nearly wide open. Even the ones with trees don't present much of a challenge.

A couple of the holes throw over a sidewalk. It's easy to see if anyone's coming so there shouldn't be any danger there, but it is worth mentioning.

The tee pads were extremely narrow, possibly the narrowest I've ever encountered. It didn't really bother me but it does force you to throw in one direction and limits options.
Other Thoughts: I stopped to play here on my way to Wisconsin. The course was right off 41, it was a fast round which allowed us to get out of the car and stretch our legs; exactly what we wanted. It's a great course for locals or new players to learn the game, but it was not challenging or memorable so I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to play here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Beginner Course

1    8/11/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: lordofchance
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tees
- Course tries to vary the distances between holes
- Makes good use of trees and bushes as obsticales
- Good site to Practice Ace Drives
- Course is well maintained
- Baskets in good condition
- Tee signs provide recommend routes to basket
Cons: - Most holes are fairly short and do not really provide the ability for a more experienced player to open up with their arm.
- Most baskets are fairly straight shots from the tee
- There are not many challenging shots on the course
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a nice looking course and allows for beginners and amateurs the ability to practices their shots. I have not been able to break the 250 mark on my drives so this course allowed me to practice my drivers, but for others I could see this course providing to little variation in shots or distances.

The course allows you to practice your drives with out having to worry about losing your disc in think brush. The course is worth a visit for a quick game or practice, but do not expect the course to provide much of a challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun

5+    6/8/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in the back corner of a park, on flat ground with a good amount of large mature trees. The trees are well used to define fairways on a few of the holes, and the course is laid out well to take advantage of them. There is a good mix of lengths, from under 200' to a little over 300'. There are a couple holes that are good accuracy challenges, and some where there are only a few trees to avoid.

The course has plenty of parking by the first tee, and because it is usually not crowded, the 9th basket makes a nice practice/warmup spot. All holes have decent signs with hole layout and distance. The course is very easy to follow, and it's always pretty clear which basket to shoot at next, and where the next tee is.

The park is very nicely maintained, with well-mowed grass, and all downed limbs and brush cleared on a regular basis. It's pretty clear that the park works to keep the course in good shape, and to fix any problems as they happen.
Cons: The biggest issue with this course is the tee pads. They used to be mud pits, so I was excited when I saw they were being upgraded to concrete. I was very disappointed to play after they were put in, and find that they are not only very narrow, they have some sort of coating on them that makes them extremely slippery to throw from.

The course makes good use of the space available, but it is crammed in a fairly small area. There are a few places where holes throw on top of one another, or in the direction of another tee. It is usually not crowded, but when there are other players it can be an issue. The course also plays over a walking path and next to a soccer field on two holes, so watch for other park users.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great place to bring beginners, as there is only one hole where there i any chance of losing a disc, and all the holes are very beginner accessible. For more experienced players, this course is definitely more of a place to work on your midrange game, though there are a couple fun holes with some accuracy required.

Of the many mediocre 9 hole courses in the area, this is one of the better ones, and is worth playing if you are in the area. I wouldn't drive too far out of your way to play this one though, unless you're just looking to play something new.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.