Highland Park, IL 
Fink Park Share
Uploaded By: loobychild Hole #3 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 260ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Standard Suburban 9-Holer

5+    5/22/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Parsaver
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a well maintained suburban park in a nice neighborhood
-Has enough space, trees and brush to make for some interesting holes but nothing truly special
-Holes are located in an area pretty well secluded from other park activities. There is a walking path that comes into play but it is usually not too busy
-Great course for beginners, no real chance of losing discs, enough trees to require one to learn how to throw different shots, but nothing frustratingly hard
-While an advanced player feels they should deuce every hole, #1 and #4 are the only "gimme" holes.
-Nearly every hole offers a variety of lines to take to the basket, which is good for practicing every shot in the bag. This is particularly evident on 4, 7, 8 and 9. For example on 9 you can play a big spike hyzer around the tree, a low hyzer under the tree branches to the right of the trunk, a low straight shot under the tree branches to the left of the trunk, an anhyzer or flick around the tree on the left or even a flick roller!
-2, 3, and 5 require well controlled straight shots, if you catch an early tree you'll need a solid upshot to save par
-8 is probably the toughest hole on the course, 325 late dogleg left, requiring a big forehand or anyhzyer, those who can't get it there with those shots will need to get crafty with the late turning turn-over, roller, or sneaky hzyer.
-Good baskets, tee pads are pretty good as well but can get slippy when even a little wet
-Good signage and flow, you'll have no problem with navigation. First hole right next to the sign as you pull into the parking lot and you can warm-up putting at basket 9.
-Course is located right of the Edens express way, is probably one of the most convenient courses for those who live on the north side of the city.
-There is a tennis center on site with public restrooms, water fountains, and vending machines. Also, you can turn in lost discs to the front desk's lost and found.
-Never crowded on weekdays
Cons: -Not to much variety in the way of distance, park doesn't allow for any bomber holes. 5 shots in the 300ish range, 2 holes 270ish, and 2 shorty's.
-No technical holes. There are enough trees to punish shots far off line, but 2 and 3 are the only holes where you need to "pure" gaps and even they can allow off lines shots to get through.
-Nothing too challenging for experienced players, taking a four will feel like an unforgivable sin
-This course holds water. Most courses in this area are pretty soggy after rain but Fink is the worst. Holes 3, 4, 7, and 8 are seemingly always wet even after days of sun. If you have a pair of boots with waterproofing you'll usually be fine but wearing gym shoes out there if it has rained recently is just asking for a pair of wet socks.
-Tee pads are not always lined up in the direction of the basket, this is not a big deal but is evident on 1, 3, 5, and 7. It can get confusing for first time players on 7 because the pad points more toward 3's basket than 7's.
-Creek can come into play if you crush a drive past #6, but you can usually fish out the disc. Roof of the tennis center can come into play on 8 and 9, but there are ventilation cubes on the side of the building that you can climb to retrieve them.
-Can sometimes get crowded on weekdends in the summer, but never too bad.
Other Thoughts: -This is the best all around course in the north shore area, but that's not saying much.
-Of course you have to be very grateful for every course put-in in this area, and this one does a pretty good job.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Average 9 hole

5+    6/17/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: Zaklipsey
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Allows all type of players to have fun.
Can challenge an experienced player every once in a while.
Usually well maintained
Signs are available on every hole
Concrete pads
Usually not too crowded
One of the better 9 holes courses in the northshore
Aceable holes
Usually able to smoke freely
Not windy even on windy days the trees surrounding park block wind well
Cons: Course is short
Challenging holes are few but every hole is capable of being birdied.
Course holds lots of water so if it rains heavy may take several days to dry out and makes the course miserable
Sometimes course doesn't maintained because the park in general is so big.
Concrete pads are shorts and need to be remodeled.
Course needs a main sign and rules posted.
Also no practice basket to putt although 9th hole usually becomes the practice basket.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice course, good for beginners

1    7/27/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signage- the lines and map was accurate, however the distance was not.

Nice variety of matured trees- tall trees made for a nice asset to an otherwise open course. An made shot shaping a little bit more difficult then it would be on yur typical open course

Nowhere to lose disc- you would have to have major griplock or just have no accuracy to lose a disc

Distance variety- I was surprised that a nine holer had a variety in distances(150-450)

Concrete teepads- these teepads were decent and provided good grip
Cons: Small tee pads- not much room to take a run-up

Open on most holes - with the acception of a few strategically place trees the course was completely open.

Almost all holes dead straight- no variety in shots, you could play th whole course with a mid range nd a putter.
Other Thoughts: Short course most people will just throw midrange or putter. If your in the are in the area just go to danny cunniff

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    6/6/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice little section of the park strictly for disc golf. A few pedestrians every once in a while, but nothing too crazy
- Concrete tee pads are a little small, but better than nothing. Decent baskets and signage.
- Good use of trees to make holes somewhat challenging. On some holes, you have to go straight in between two trees to get to the pin, on others you can't go straight at all.
- While all of the holes can easily be done in 2 shots, you have to make a good shot to do so. A few exceptions on the easier holes.
- I use a mix of RHBH and RHFH on this course, plenty of spots to choose your shot selection carefully.
Cons: - Some of these holes are as easy as they get, at least for a RHBH throw. No trees in the way, and no elevation change.
- Overall, no elevation change at all throughout the course.
- Can get a little wet at times, especially around #7's basket. Don't forget to bring a towel after a rain.
Other Thoughts: - I like playing at this course, as it really tests accuracy with some medium length holes. Getting it through the two trees on #3, with enough length to get it to the pin, can be a challenge. Mostly a mental one.
- I don't have a huge arm, so these 300+ holes are great for me to practice my distance and accuracy at the same time.
- I gave this one an extra 1/2 disc because there are some holes that really demand a specific shot. I know people who stick with the RHBH throughout, but they use some crazy lines to get it there.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 No Lost Discs

5+    9/12/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained park. Wide opne spaces. Little chance to lose a disc. Good for practicing accuracy on mid length holes. Larger trees and some tree density on a few holes makes for accuracy pracitce. Nice concrete tee pads with good texture in surface. Nice no-slip. Good signage. Plenty of parking. benches at tee 1 if there is a wait. Baskets are all in good shape. Tree gateway shot on 3 is fun. obsticles on 9 are a nice touch. Tree choices on 7 and I think it was 4 were fun.
Cons: Too short for big driving. Hole 7 plays too close to soccer field if games are on. Pad size is a bit small for big run-ups, but no big run ups needed here as holes are shorter... a big run up and you will over throw anyway. We had a debate as to which was the proper basket on 7... we were split as to what was to be the proper one and the basket from 3 that is in line with the tee pad... but if the sign is correct the #3 basket was too far to be correct.
Other Thoughts: Good example of park dist courses in the area. I would rather play Cuniff just up the road at rte.22... and funny as 1 review of Cuniff said they would rather play Fink... go figure... to each his own. Discs for sale at Ace at 41 and 22 and at Uncle Dan's in Downtown HP if you need discs. Have played here a number of times more than when I first reviewed it... still all points hold up. I like 3, 4 and 9 best here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Average course with average challenge

1    8/16/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice concrete tee pads are an upgrade from most of the other courses in the area. (although sligtly too narrow)

2) Baskets are in good condition.

3) Courses uses large mature trees as obstacles and it forces you to pick your line.

4) Course is beginner friendly because it is relatively open despite the large mature trees. It offers a challenge to the beginners by forcing them to picture a shot rather than just throwing as hard as they can.

5) Course offers a good variety in distance ranging from 182' to 325' with a couple other in the mid 250' range. This is a true positive because it alters the disc you will be throwing into many baskets. It is nice to not have the same shot on every hole.

6) Nice tee signs with diagrams.

7) Nice park with good amenities. It is fairly isolated from other activities which is always a positive.

8) Turf is in good condition across the course including around the baskets. It doesn't seem to be too wore down and there is no need for mulch or gravel around the baskets because the turf is healthy.
Cons: 1) Concrete tees are slightly too narrow. Someone else complained about them being slippery but I didn't notice that . . . but it was dry.

2) A little bit too wide open. I like the mature trees but anyone but a beginner can really execute most shots fairly easily.

3) Mature trees are good for this course, but I do think that the baskets or tees could have been better situated. I felt like Glencoe (Watts Park) really incorporated the trees effectively to force certain shots. This course allows you to pick your own shot rather than forcing you to think up your shot.

4) The only thing that interrupts play would be the sidewalk path that runs across hole #6 and #7.

5) No elevation change at all . . . I know it isn't the designers fault it is just the property they have but I do like to see some elevation even if it is just placing a basket on a sidehill or something.
Other Thoughts: This is an average course. It is one of the better courses in the immediate area but is not a destination course. I think it would be mostly very locals that play because it just doesn't have anything that stands out as not ordinary. I still give it a typical/decent rating because the course itself is designed well, seems to be well maintained, and the amenities make it a good place to go play. It was the 8th course on my 9 course day and am glad I got to play it. I especially liked making a 2 on #9 with a 65' putt across the wind going in.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.