Layout Extinct

Sugar Land, TX
First Colony Aquatic Center - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: austinirish Hole #1/11
3 / 288ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The home course

2-4    7/11/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: omega7000000
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Nice view of the pond. Fine course near houses if you live there. Has pools near if you want to swim after playing. Mostly abandoned, so you can be the only one playing in the course.
Cons: Under construction as of Jul 15, 2012. More than half of the holes are missing. The people don't keep care of it. The starting points are missing, so I kind of have to imagine the square according to the signs. Also, not good for starters, for there is a lake that can make you lose discs. I use putter discs if I am by the lake.
Other Thoughts: I hope the construction is done soon. I go there almost every day, so you might see me if you play there. The view is nice though. Keep it clean if you go by, for it is a nice park.

  first and last time i play here

1    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: yang_jackson
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nicely manicured and clean
baskets were in good shape
safe area
close for a lot of people cause it is in the middle of a neighborhood
Cons: i had to wait at many tee's for peds and people just standing around to get out of the way.... at one point, a woman and her 2 kids came to pet my dog and held me up for 30 mins! when i excused myself and let her know she was staning directly on the t box, she had no clue as to what i was talking about. she had been there for years and didnt know about it!
the water holes are terrible! planned so you have no other way of aproaching it. if you cant drive 250ft consistant or it is a windy day, you are gonna lose some diske, unless they can swim. i lost 2 disks on this course to water..... the first discs ive lost since i started playing.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 go to River Pointe church instead

2-4    4/11/2009   1/4/2009
Review By: Omega SuperSloth
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2009
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: close to play it again sports, its a pro this course is and hour from my house
Cons: confusing layout no numbers on pins not fun enough to be worth losing a disc or waiting an hour for your floater to blow to shore, your pretty much forced to throw over water to shot a good score . many pedestrians make play almost immpossible at peak park usage time.
Other Thoughts: in ten years when the trees grow up i think this will be a really nice course but until then its feels very clostrophobic but might be fun for little people or kids .

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Wet, and Harder than it looks

1    4/9/2008   4/9/2008
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely kept up park, with lots of water and even a small hill you have to get up and over in hole 10. Pins placed strategically to make effective use of existing trees dotting what would otherwise be a narrow band of open grass with a jogging path cutting through it. Variety in holes is subtle: how you have to curve it around the different trees, and proximity to water, decides what kind of shot you must use.
Cons: Many pins ON the water. Putter went in twice in one round, fortunately its an Aerobie Arrow (aka flying trash can lid), so it floats. Just bring a 3 disc set of floaters like dragon, hydra, and Arrow, and you will be free of fear of losing discs to the giant lake the whole course is on. Fairly open (trees are scattered), but a finesse course, since max D=center of lake in almost all cases, which makes life difficult.

Very flat, with the exception of sloping lake bank, and lone hill that 10th pin is on the backside of
Other Thoughts: Lack of terrain variety brings down the replay value of this course somewhat, but its a matter of lemonade from lemons: given the small space and fairly straightforward terrain, the pin placement and layout is amazingly clever, and is what makes it fun. No amazing signature holes that stay with you, but none that are just a straight shot at the pin without something tricky thrown in.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Keep your discs low and to the left

5+    12/1/2007   3/26/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2011
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
After several years now everything on this course is still mostly new looking and in good shape. Great tee signs. Easy to navigate; piece of cake with a map. Lots of trees really force you to keep your discs low. Well designed, technical 10-hole course on not a lot of land.
Cons:
Water bordering four holes can get a lot of discs wet. At peak times the course is almost unplayable because of all the pedestrians. Hole #1 is the most subject to non-players interfering with shots. #3 and #9 are a couple short, weak holes with little to no challenge. Single chain baskets with very heavy chains have been known to reject a few putts.

The distance posted on the tee sign for #7 (216') is significantly different from the measured distance of 245'. Usually that wouldn't be a huge deal, except that #7 is an "Island Hole" that requires you to land your tee shot inside a sidewalk circle around the basket, or move to the drop zone +1 penalty stroke.

#10 tee sign goes missing occasionally, usually the post is still there as a marker.
Other Thoughts:
Has a walking path weaving in and out between or along most holes. Tight OB regions between the lake on one side and sidewalk/street on the other.

Course lacks some "big drive" holes to balance out all the trees & OB. See the Links/Files section for a map with eight additional (longer) tee locations to play this course as 18-holes.

Update:
This course gets a bad rap sometimes for the trees and the water... I guess if you don't like challenging holes you can go play any of the other 30+ Houston courses that are mostly wide open. The FCAC course is one of the few in town that will actually punish bad throws without letting you "get away" with playing loose.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

3/22/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: austinirish
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun 10 hole course. Tough first hole with little room for error, managable distances, frequently mowed grass, new tee signs and baskets.
Cons: Baskets and tees seem to be permanently placed. I've put half a dozen disks in the water, including the dragon 10+ times, low trees make for necessary low throws on 5-8. Wind can sometimes be a pain.
Other Thoughts: Bring your floaters and waders. Water on 1, 2, 4,5, sometimes 7. Tough 7 hole requires you to land in the circle or drop and add a stroke. Average rating on this course due to its being one of two I've played. As a resident to the hood, please pack out your trash. Gracias.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.