Floral City, FL 
Floral Park Share
Uploaded By: denny ritner Hole #8 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 219ft.   3 / 458ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Short Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Floral park

5+    1/18/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 65  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.2 Years
Pros: Very large clean & safe park. Great variety including more hills than usual for Florida. Makes good use of the large hill with some up hill & down hill shots. long & short tees for all. Restrooms for the ladies by parking & all the way in the back along course route.
Cons: some may find a little short on challenge as some of the long tees are close in length to the shorts & no water hazards.
Other Thoughts: Most of the challenge here is the form of distance or the mature oak trees with old mans beard. Great grip & rip course & one of my favorites on the route to my "cabin in the woods"

On the Low

1    2/1/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you haven't played Floral Park, you have probably played one like it. There's a lot of them. A big public park with lots of activities. A lot of open space. Enough so that the holes don't intrude on one another. A scattering of large trees across a mowed playing area.

It's an easy place to pick up the game. It's not going to challenge veteran players but it's not really meant to. New players should find it fun and free of frustration. It's a nice, clean park and the relatively few obstacles and complete lack of rough means that even first-timers aren't going to be spending time looking for discs after shanks. And while there are a few long holes, most of them are under 300 feet from the short pads. It's really perfect for new to slightly experienced players.

There is also enough distance from the blue pads to make it fun for experienced discers. There is some serious length gaps between the two sets of tees. But merely being able to the long drives doesn't attract most players. What should keep the course interesting for veteran players is the canopy of live oaks and Spanish moss that hang over most of the course. Keeping it low will be the biggest priority for those who want to score well at Floral Park. The lines themselves are rarely difficult. There are typically a few thick trunks between the tee and the basket but the space to move the disc is more than generous. Having to keep it under those sprawling limbs and branches is what will keep discers interested here.
Cons: Beyond the limitations inherent to this type of course, there really aren't many cons here. It's good at what it does, but most traveling players are likely looking for courses that attempt to do more. More challenge. More obstacles. More elevation. Interesting, or signature holes. Hazards. Rough. Water. There is an absence of all of these.

Also weird: the tee signs are often placed somewhere in between the red and blue tees. This makes them inconvenient for pretty much everyone. On the other hand, they don't offer any information besides distance, so it's easy to pass on reading them.
Other Thoughts: In summation: It's worth playing. It's especially nice as a counterpoint to Whispering Pines. I believe they are about eight miles apart and represent vastly different visions of course design. They make a nicely contrasting combined experience.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good and Bad

1    12/23/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: Horsman
Played: 83  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Easy to get to with a decently big parking lot.

- Very very very easy to navigate this course if you play blind. There are arrows on the bottom of every basket that point you to wherer the 2 teepads are.

- 2 sets of teepads on every Hole

- A nice mix of every type of shot, straight, hyzer, anhyzer, thumber, forhand, backhand. It has it all.

- A good mix of short and long holes
Cons: - CEILINGS. Almost every single hole has a very low cieling and the only really option is to throw the one shot that has the cieling. This might just be me being me though because Im 6'6"

- There were a few holes that had a tree or 2 very close to the tee right in front of you, which is really bad but it takes away from what the hole could be.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course from the shorts but struggled through the longs. I think it is a beautful park with every thing in place for it to be a great course it would need a little work to make it really great.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Open Park

5+    12/20/2013   12/20/2013
Review By: WholeLottaWampum
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: This was the first course that I played when I started about a year ago. There are several aspects to this course that make it the great course that it is!
-The park is very well maintained
-There are two tee pads for each hole
-The next hole is pointed out on the previous basket.
-A variety of shots can be used
-YOU WILL NOT LOSE A DISC

This course is perfect for both beginning and skilled disc golf players. There are several ways that a player can approach the basket which make for a fun play!

This course does not take long to play through.
Cons: This course is in an open field that offers limited to NO shade. If you are sensitive to the sun please remember to bring sun block, or else you may not have as much fun as planned!
Other Thoughts: This course is surrounded by several other park amenities such as: Basketball court, tennis court, racket ball court, baseball field, a sheltered park bench, and a playground for children! This can offer everyone in the family something to enjoy! Pack a lunch and make a day of it!

Another Great Florida Course.

5+    10/14/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: - Located in the middle of nowhere in comparison to other courses in a small town.
- Nice big parking lot; I'm real big on accessibility.
- All Tee-Pads are in great shape; double sidewalk panel style. Each pad is also painted with the color of the pad (Blue for the Pro, Red for the Am) and the number of the hole.
- Tons of shot variety; multiple ways to get to the pin on each hole.
- Tons of course diversity; no two holes play the same on this course.
- Not overwhelmingly difficult or long. The majority of the distance on this course is on 3 holes and this isn't a course that will kill you with difficulty.
- Nice baskets with next hole indicators underneath.
- Signature hole in my opinion is hole #16, longer par 4 that throws downhill at first, then under low ceiling to basket in corner of park.
- Great elevation, especially for Florida. Some definite up and downs without having to bring your hiking boots.
- Course plays completely different from the Blue pads than the Red pads.
Cons: - Tee-Signs; I have no idea why, but the tee sign for each hole is located in between the Blue pad and Red pad which is annoying if you want to know distance and have to walk halfway down the fairway to see the sign. Also, these are probably some of the most boring tee-signs I've ever seen; just plain ole metal with stick-em numbers.
- No real signature finishing hole; hole 18 is a pretty lame 300 footish shoot down a little hill moving left to right in between two trees.
- The potential for the signature hole, hole #16 in my opinion, is not fully met. I feel like the distance and elevation makes it awesome, but when you get to the basket and see its barley perched up on some clay surface surrounded by old wood. A hole like that could use some nice plant life around the basket and possibly even a more elevated pin.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, this is one of my top 5 favorite courses and top 10 in difficulty. This is such a beautiful area and the course does not disappoint. Some small improvements could be made to take this course to the next level, but I'm not complaining.

- I would most certainty take a day trip to play this course, play the blues in the morning and the reds in the afternoon.


1    8/21/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course reminds me of an 18 hole version of Limona. This is a very unusual course for Florida. There is lots of elevation (particularly on 5, 6, 7, 8, 12 & 12a which is uncommon down here and is a welcome challenge and great learning opportunity. The course has plenty of length without getting ridiculous. I really liked the pin placements with guardian trees that aren't crazy plentiful but are enough to make you shape your shot. Anhyzers that you really have to put some juice on it to get it to the pin. You also have two almost completely different courses playing from the reds and the blues that make this a course that is friendly to both beginners and more advanced, even pro, players. Course loops back to the parking lot, pavilion/water fountain and bathrooms at hole 9, a huge plus. Super hard to lose a disc and also super hard to score real far below par unless you are advanced am or better. The course is very well maintained, would be a great place to work on rollers. This is a must play course in Florida!
Cons: Lack of water. Many holes are pretty wide open which is fun to air it out but often lacks having to be very accurate to get par.

Need updated tee signs (would help in understanding what is OB, where the next tee is, etc).
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to get back out to this course and will play it any chance I can get. There is enough room in this park to add 1-2 more holes, especially between 6 & 7.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Shady Treat

1    7/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Course has a good variety of hole lengths including two very worthy par 4's.
* Each hole has two sets of tee pads with a very different challenge, and varied lines off each pad.
* Course contains sporadic, but consistent live oaks. These trees are well used by the park designer so as to make quality obstacles for the shotmaker.
* Most holes contain multiple lines that are possible. Although not a "hard" course, poor shots will be swallowed by the oaks.
* Course makes good use of some hills and elevation changes. There are some lovely downhill and uphill holes.
* The trees provide ample shade and there seems to be a consistent breeze. I played in Florida's July weather and found it to be quite comfortable.
* Teepads were solid concrete, had mostly good signage, and baskets typically contained arrows to next holes.
* Navigation was easy and usually logical with the course starting and ending at the pavilion.
* Fun factor was high. I would love to play here again!
Cons: * the red tee pad for 13 does not seem to exist, There was a marker for red 13 on the ground but no pad.
* The red pad for 9 is on the edge of the basketball court bleachers. Its easy to find once you know what you're looking for.
* Pretty much a con free course. There were a few missing arrows around 7 and 8 but the pads were easy to find. I didn't have navigation issues and the architect clearly maximized the resources of the park.
Other Thoughts: I have eyed this course for a few months as one to play, and I was not disappointed. As I walked and threw, I found myself in a nice peaceful zone. This park brought me back to my childhood before things were fast and crowded. It has beautiful shade trees with rolling hills, and the fact that the disc golf is quality makes it just right. The park has a nice walking path, basketball courts, playgrounds, bathrooms, and grills. It would be a nice place to bring the family, and the people I ran into were nice and courteous. Floral City may be a relaxed town known for its fishing, but in this case give Floral Park disc golf course a try. You wont be sorry!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in Floral City

1    4/21/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: lordbag
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tees
- Arrows to Next Pad
- Distances were marked for red and blue
- Good practice course
- Won't lose any discs
- Great course on a quite day
Cons: - Tees and Baskets are some times too close to other tees and baskets, which can be interesting if there are players out.
- Walkers can interrupt play.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to get some practice in when no one else is there because there is little walking between baskets and tees. The conditions were pretty good for a local park. I will be going back to sharpen my game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tour Del Sol Finals

2-4    9/22/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: scottgopre
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads for pros and ams
-Arrows on baskets to designate next pad location
-Well maintained course
-Long holes are a mix of open and technical
-Two bathroom buildings in case you gotta go
-Great for testing mid-range ability
Cons: -Out of bound areas not clearly marked
-Walkways may have slow pedstrians crossing in front of flight path
-Few am holes that require higher than a mid-range
-No desginated practice basket (used hole 10's basket to warm up)
Other Thoughts: This course is great for a beginner wanting to learn the sport. Combine holes 12 & 12A for a more challenging. Watch where you step. I stepped in dog poop because some people don't know how to pick up after their dog.

I would love to come back and play this course again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/2/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: MaxUFC
Played: 74  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Neat course
- Direct sign under the basket for next tee.
- Restrooms and water fountains
- Plenty for a parking
- Grills and tables
Cons: - Some tees closer too closer each other.
- Not many trash cans.
- Walking people cross the paths around nearby tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: I like to come back there any day.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.