Floral City, FL 
Floral Park Share
Uploaded By: denny ritner Hole #17 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 232ft.   3 / 302ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Didn't Disappoint

2-4    9/28/2011   3/22/2012
Review By: Oruatyrim
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads. Holes are marked well, for the most part. Not crowded. good use of the sparse amount of trees in the park. Short course from either set of pads which made it easy to get multiple rounds in from both pads. Good facilities at the park; restroom, picnic area, play areas, walking trail. Good place to take the family and turn them loose if you wanna get a few rounds in.
Cons: Confusing to navigate the holes between 9-16. Better placed directional signs would help, or the print out of the course made available at the Pavillion near hole 1. Not much variety when it comes to scenery, or varied shot selection. Found myself throughing the same disc on a majority of holes even after playing multiple times from the different pads
Other Thoughts: It's a typical course set up in a local park. Very slight change in elevation for the most part. Most holes are ace-runable with the exception of the 2 bombers.

Was worth the 1hr drive I had to make while visiting parents in The Villiages.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 open yet technical

1    3/8/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great grip'm and rip'm course seeing as its a wide open municipal park with mature trees with plenty on spanish moss. The low hanging spanish moss comes into play on many holes which will make you keep it low and fast to accomplish the distance you need.
Cons: nothing really showing where the next hole starts but not much of a con if u know how to open your eyes and look around
Other Thoughts: this is a really nice course to play at to get in a fun round if your on vacation in the area. i liked this course for its beautiful landscape, technical nature and freindly locals. met up on the back nine with one of the locals who had given me and my brother the low-down on each hole.... thanks for the fun round Bill!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Florida Fun at Floral Park

1    12/19/2011   1/9/2012
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Upkeep, appearance, hills
Other Thoughts: Floral Park is a well maintained, well laid out city park style course, but oddly, in a mostly rural region of Florida's Gulf Coast. This mostly open course features concrete teepads, good signage, some excellent trees, a couple of longer than average holes, and unlike most Central Florida courses, a legitimate bit of elevation to enhance your round.

Country roads lead to Floral Park no matter which way you come, yet when you arrive you'll see it's a classic municipal park, with bathrooms, a ball field, walking trail, and other typical amenities, so a bit of a disconnect, but in a good way. The course starts off right next to the parking lot with a good sign and a nice concrete teepad. It has two tees, and typical of the other Florida courses I've played, regular and beginner might be a better way to think of the choices than pro and am. The course maintains the personality it sets on hole #1 throughout in terms of tees and signage, and straightforward and mostly open holes but with enough live oaks (some of which are truly impressive) and other trees to make you think. Most holes are in the usual 250 to 400 foot range, but there are a couple legitimate par 4s out here, from the long tees at least. Disc loss is not a concern on this course; there's no water, and none of the palmetto stands that sometimes make Florida disc golf a special challenge. Unlike any of the other courses I've played in Florida, there are some little hills on this course, and this is one place in Central Florida where you can get at least a taste of a bona fide downhill chuck, and an uphill grind. Wayfinding is also not too tough, but painting the basket rungs to indicate which way to the next tee would make wayfinding much easier.

Overall, Floral Park is one of those courses that is just a nice experience throughout, and leaves you with a spring in your step. A bit lacking in terms of length and varied challenges, but above average in terms of tees, signage, upkeep, overall appearance, and that intangible relaxed Florida sunshine vibe. Overall, a Good course, and worthy of a roadtrip if you're anywhere nearby.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An Interesting Florida Course

1    3/27/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: rhelt100
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
Pros: Very well maintained. Short course is good for beginners or more experienced players looking to practice their short game.
Cons: The course could use some directional signs to the next tee although we didn't have any major issues. The setup of 12 and 12b was a little confusing and the lack of a red tee on hole #9 confused us for a bit. Might be a good idea to paint a red stripe on the tee pad as well so it's obvious where it is.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course to play. Although most of the holes were short, they were well designed to present a challenge even for those who are used to longer courses.

 Fun Day Trip

1    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: sasquach
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7
Pros: Course was in great shape today. Well mowed and clear of downed limbs ect. Nice to play in a wide open space. Our home course has a lot of brush.
Good for your ego. Not a long course from the pro tees. Every once in awhile it's good for you.
Great place for beginners to try some shots.
As usual we met some nice locals.
Cons: There were pick-nickers under a tree in the 10th fairway. It's a multi-use park and you have to share.
Not really a con so much as something to watch out for.
Did not need my mid range discs all day. Drivers and short discs were it.

Other Thoughts: A fun day trip from Ocala for us. We got in 3 rounds and were home by 5:00. A nice short course.

 Open

2-4    9/1/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ease of finding course : 4
Fun factor : 4 All in all a fun couse. I really liked the Pro and AM tee pads for most of the holes.
Beginner friendly : 4
Lost disc recovery : 5
Cons: Layout : 2 From many of the tee pads it was difficult to determine which pin to shoot at.
Ease of finding next hole : 2 This course was difficult to navigate
Terrain management : 2 They really should cut the grass more and several areas were just flood ponds
Other Thoughts: Pin and tee box quality : 3 This course would greatly inprove if the pins had the hole number clearly marked on the top of them.
Variety : 3
Hole info : 3

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    9/1/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: treehuggr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course - awesome fairways for beginners. I love the hills and the straight paths - made it easy to teach a newbie.

Good practice for me!
Cons: As noted before - a couple red pads were missing.

Hard to follow the course a bit without a course map.
Other Thoughts: I just moved to the area from Ohio. After playing Ohio courses, this was a breath of fresh air. Had a newbie with me so it was a very good course to start out on. Really could use a better course map though. It was difficult following the course not know where the next one began. Maybe also put some hole markers on the basket to better know which basket goes to which hole - or on the tee signs, do a map to the basket.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad place to play

1    8/22/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: Daddy_Dragon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 23.6 Years
Pros: Concrete tees for most. Found that there were three without two tees. I play off the pros, so that didn't bother me any. Great landscape, was well maintained when I played. This place had elevation (not mountains mind you) which was a surprise for me in Florida. No palms thus no chance of me losing a disk.
Cons: This place had no water or true hazards. There were various holes in which I had to back track or walk a distance in order to reach next tee. There were no marker indicating the location of the next tee. Lucky for me, I went with my brother who had played the course before.
Other Thoughts: A lot of walking for 18 holes due to back tracking, but was enjoyable. It was a nice park setting. Not fact there was a cute playground to entertain the little ones while I played.

 Great Course needs a few

1    7/23/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: poolsk8r
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 26 Years
Pros: Great course really well maintained. Tee pads are nice and wide and uniform in size
Cons: Needs hole maps at tee markers and alternate pin placements would put this course over the top and next tee markers would be helpful
Other Thoughts: The course is dry... no water hazards to be a well rounded course it would need one or two holes to play with a water hazard. But still one of the better courses I have played in Fl and will def be playing this again and again and again....

  Addenda to earlier reviews

1    7/19/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Justin Woodall
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/22/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees with colored stripe and hole number on the back portion of the tee.
-As previously noted, no water to deal with.
-Park is beautiful and well maintained, no palmettos or other predatory plant life.
-Some elevation change
Cons: -Layout of the front 9 is not entirely intuitive, and there are no facility maps. The back 9 is pretty straight forward.
-Other than the low canopy, there are not many more obstacles. There are a few manmade obstacles that may be in play on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to do this as an addendum to the other reviews rather than a standalone. A few things I found to be aware of:
(1) The first tee is through the pavillion from the parking area. The second tee is on the fence corner on the opposite side of the shuffleboard court from the first tee, so you do have to backtrack.
(2) Hole number six doubles back across the open field, so the restrooms and pavillion will be on your left.
(3) Holes #9, #13, and #16 are missing the concrete tee pads for the red tees. There are square dirt areas instead.
(4) This course is an ego-booster. Distances from red are VERY short, for the most part. Even the par 4s are reachable in three.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.