Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Fort Myers, FL 
Florida Gulf Coast University Share
Uploaded By: Roller Coasters Hole #4 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 needs alot of foot traffic

2-4    4/21/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: poolsk8r
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 25.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Another course in the area.....
Cons: this course needs alot of traffic and the course is WET way too often to keep people on it or to keep regular time to play.
Other Thoughts: The university needs to re plan this course lay out.... The first couple of holes are fun becuase of the girl watching but these are also first holes are also the easiest on the course... Whoever designed the course should have laid the course around the entire lake and stayed ouit of the wetlands and enviromentaly sensitive areas that the course presently resides. POOR LAYOUT with no teepads and no chance of this course being developed into a good one with out some serious redesign

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better

1    5/5/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a great start to this course with four holes along the beach and a beautiful lake. It is a very picturesque beginning to a round. There are also great baskets in like new condition. There is a good variety of shots throughout the course.
Cons: The tees range from sand to grass to sidewalk, to fly pad, to carpet. There is a long walk from hole 5 to hole 6. If you haven't played the course, you definitely need to print out the course map. With it, the flow is easy, without it, you would be hopelessly lost on several occasions. As previous reviews have mentioned, the back nine gets very tight. There are many very narrow fairways and blind shots.
Other Thoughts: Quite frankly, I have been afraid to visit this course based on the other reviews. Until today, it is the only course in town that I had not played. We finally decided to conquer the course and the snakes. I know the designer of the course, he is a member of Team Ching, our local club. He had told me about the course and that I needed to check it out. It was purposely designed to be short for the college students that it mostly serves. No holes are longer than 300 feet. This actually serves two purposes - 1. It helps the college students who are mostly less experienced players and 2. The fairways are very tight and seemingly unfair at times, but an above average player can out drive most of the trouble because of the short length. Almost all of the holes open up as you get nearer to the basket and have fair landing areas. If you have never played the course, you need to take the time and walk each hole as you get into the woods. My friend and I played spotter for each other on most of the holes that are in the woods. It took us a lot longer to play the course, but it made a big difference and saved us a lot of frustration looking for discs in the heavy palmettos. Unless you have total command of your discs, I highly recommend that you use the spotter method on most of the back nine. According to the designer, much work has been done to clean and clear the course. There is much more to do, however, Florida Gulf Coast University is built on environmentally sensitive land and part of their guiding principle is to keep that land as natural as possible. This probably means that the course is always going to have a certain raw and natural feel to it.

We did have fun playing this course. It required some more work to have fun, but we enjoyed it and are planning to add it to our regular rotation. I do not recommend playing this course alone. Even one errant shot could take a long time to find on your own. The good thing, however, is that good shots are rewarded and you can get it close on every hole with a good tee shot. It is only the bad tee shots that are punishing.

For those of you looking for a challenge or just want to add another course to your resume, don't be scared by the other reviews found here. If you don't have a playing partner, I would be happy to come and throw some plastic with you. Just send me an e-mail and I'll be happy to join you. And for those of you deathly afraid of snakes, we didn't see (or hear) one today.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Rough

1    4/4/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: acousticcarnival
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The college girls on holes 1-4 were a great view.
Cons: Fairways are too tight. Need to tommahawk or throw a thumber to ensure any chance at landing clean.
Palmetto bushes are a horrible plant.
Rattlesnake on 15 could have been deadly
Other Thoughts: The best part of this course was seening a Diamondback rattler on the 15th hole. Everything else was rough.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/2/2009   2/17/2009
Review By: HB553
Played: 291  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 44.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice view along beach / lake, some holes in wooded area are good, but need spotter on most.
Cons: Hard to find some holes, and many blind. Have to look hard to find way around.
Other Thoughts: The course being on campus is getting alot ofplay, so just follow the trails that are being walked on

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough and tight.

1    1/5/2009   1/5/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Challenging to say the least.
2) Not a single soul on the course. Even three university workers did not know they even had a disc golf course.
3) Variety of holes, including the fairway width, tree placement, and along the beach.
Cons: I have a feeling it was a good idea back in the day and they may have maintained it more, but 9 of the fairways are no wider than 10-12 feet with deep palmettos and scrub on both sides. I ran across one long black snake, but it scurried away, but after I saw that I was a little afraid to go into those areas to find my discs.

Only one co-ed on the beach when I played!

Too many blind shots to targets that are not easily found. A lot of access roads make you think the hole goes one way when it goes the other.
Other Thoughts: Bring a map from their webpage, you will need it!

Be sure to have a cell phone in case the snakes get you.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 worst college course ever?

1    10/31/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It has Chainstar baskets.
-Maps provided and online.
-Chance of spotting co-eds sunning on the beach.
Cons: Everything else.

-Design: Punishing and too tight, with no real fairway or route on most holes-even some of the open beachside holes don't really have a distinct line. Forces you to go high and turn blind in nasty rough several times.
-The land: While pretty, there were 2 snakes I encountered in one round, one was venomous and I almost stepped on it. Not really suitable for disc golf. Marshy and wet.
-Without the map, you'd never figure it out, dislocated sets of holes.
-Not good for the type of people it's there for, mostly beginners and college students. Not well carved out or maintained.
-Dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: The worst course in Florida of the more than 30 I've played, and not by a small amount either.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.