Disc Golf Center
Fontana Dam, NC 
Fontana Village Resort DGC Share
Uploaded By: FrolfHead Hole #5 (Taken 7/2009)
-- / --   -- / 316ft.   -- / 396ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not bad overall

1    8/24/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Fleet
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Quite a few long holes, with just enough obstacles in the way to balance making it fun and giving you fits.

No heavy crowds, depending on vacation season, I guess.
Cons: There may have been *one* hole where I saw the alternate short tee pad (#4, I think). Aside from that, I couldn't tell if they were all supposed to have alternates, or if the distance was dependent on the pin placement.

The signage on the tee pads doesn't have a hole layout, just the distance. Especially on holes like #11 you'll be walking around trying to figure out where the pin is.

The walk from #1 to #2 is ridiculous. Not a good way to start the flow of the course. Afterwards, some holes aren't clearly marked, though if you walk in the direction you think the teepad *should* be you're likely to find it.

Some holes play really close to each other, such as #3 and #4, #9 and #11.

Holes #16 and #17 play down and back up the main driveway, so depending on the time of year, you may have to deal with a lot of cars coming and going.
Other Thoughts: So apparently the way to get to the course is called "the Dragon" and is one of the more famous roads for motorcycle and sports car enthusiasts. News to me. The last 10 miles of my trip took about 45 minutes, between going 15-20 mph around the mountain and pulling off to the side constantly to let groups of bikers go through. Be prepared.

Also, you don't have to pay the $5 if you bring your own discs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, but.....

1    6/29/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: Bub2010
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Nice terrain, well maintained, and baskets in good shape.
Cons: NO short tee pad markers that I could find except on hole 2 and that was really hard t see where the placement was next to a bush. I think I found another short tee marker somewhere.

There are no basket position indicators and no visible wear on the short tee areas where ever they are..... So the course is really long playing from the marked long pads.
Other Thoughts: The problem I see here is a nice course that rarely gets played and Those factors make the course harder than necessary to navigate and play. You would think an innova sponsored course would do a nicer job on the signs and install short tee pads. It truly is in the middle of nowhere with very limited routes to get there. I'll never go back mainly because from gat
I burg it takes about TWO hours to get to despite only being 30 miles by air.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Let 'er Fly!

1    4/3/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Length and elevation changes.
Cons:
Some baskets near other baskets, tees, roads; some fairways close to roads.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays up, down, and across sections of open space defined by various roads that compose the Fontana Village complex. Elevation changes are in abundance as nearly half the holes play downhill, some quite significantly, and nearly half also play upslope - flat holes are quite rare here. Because of all the elevation changes, your legs and lungs, in addition to your arm, will receive a workout.

The holes are definitely on the open side - about 2/3rds could be described as wide open, or with only a large tree or two to avoid, typically near the basket. Other groups of large trees provide obstacles for the remaining holes, although no hole could be described as tight.

Long, continuous right-turning, downslope number-16 offers the toughest challenge, with scattered trees to avoid the entire ~500', the road a constant companion on the left, and a small stream near the basket. The easiest hole has to be toss-across ~140' number-1.

Tees: 6x12 rubber mats on plywood for the long tees, could only find short tee-4. The sign for tee-11 was missing the day I played, but was easy enough to identify. Signs list distances to basket, but does not identify in which pin position the basket is.

The map is quite good, showing the tee/basket locations relative to the roads winding about the village, and various buildings - navigation was fairly simple.

A bit off the beaten track - a pro, or con, depending upon your tolerance for driving on windy roads.

If playing a course which is offers plenty of length, openness, and elevation changes is your preference, you should enjoy this course.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 well worth the trip

3/1/2008   3/7/2008
Review By: neck
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1st of all it's worth going to because it's at fontana village which is very beautiful and a wonderful place to stay. It's got plenty of holes over 500 ft for the folks who throw the long bombs. You don't have to wander around looking for the next tee either. It's well marked. There's a good mix of open and wooded fairways and was very fun to play.
Cons: Not as wooded and tight as i had hoped for and the golf carts were unavailable due to winterizing. Other than that it's great.
Other Thoughts: Still young so I can see this becoming a 5 star course with more tees/pin placements. Plus Fontana village has enough room and woods to make it 36 holes or more if they wanted. It would be nice if they put at least 9 in the woods for some tight line shots.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.