Fontana Dam, NC 
Fontana Village Resort DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
-- / 316ft.   -- / 396ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Fontana Dam beautiful!!

2-4    7/18/2015   7/19/2015
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 65  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fontana is secluded! Far from civilization! But it's a gem. Both the course and the place. My family and I stayed there for a couple of nights. This is definitely a family place, particularly for vacation! About the course, it's awesome! It's very scenic! It's maintained well. It mostly has concrete pads, some are rubber but I'm fine with that too. There is a general store, a good dam restaurant, an outdoor store, and there is also a mini golf course that has scorecards and discs for the dg course.
-Benches on many holes, some trash cans which is good enough for me.
-Dual sets of tees. They are either marked by rocks or tee signs.
-The restaurant down the road past #1 is really good! The spicy dam burger is especially good. There is also a convenient store down the road past #16's fairway and to the left.
-Good variety and elevation. Course kicks off with a short #1. The hole is only 162' long and is a pretty simple putter toss, but the basket on the hill adds a bit of challenge but is still an easy birdie. A par can be frustrating but if you roll down the hill, you probably will settle for that. Things get awesome with #2! A big downhill drive onto a wooded green. It's 538' from the long, I have a big arm and I stayed in the hotel room literally beside the long pad so l had a blast bombing understable drivers and trying to make it to the green. Things get even more interesting throughout your round with the steep downhill on #4 and the dangerous green with the OB road 15' past the basket, the elevated rock green on #6, the major downhill flick on #8 and so on but then, the back nine comes and really gets tough....
-#10 is a huge uphill drive. It's barely over 400' from the long but it feels like a par 4! The short is like 230' and I could barely make it up with a mid. #11 is back downhill and turns left at the last 100' feet.
-#16 is a legit par 4! By distance, it seems like a doable 3 but there is OB on both sides. The hole is pretty wooded from both sets of tees but it isn't too difficult if you play safe.
-Tim. Guy who works here. Very cool guy, very friendly, also hosts disc golf lessons here. He works very hard around the course, keeping it well maintained. He is also planning on having a tournament here around fall.
Cons: -Can't really do anything about this but this course attracts snakes in the summer! There was a snake on the mini golf course! I saw a few on the course, luckily they were all black snake but they all snuck up on me which was frightening.
-Construction could be somewhat better. Course is really steep in some places, #7 and #8 play on a very steep hill. I'm 18 and I'm really slim! Skinny by many standards so I didn't have trouble but if you are out of shape, you may slip!
-"Ravine of blood" The ravine on #2 and #11 is steep, thorny and dangerous! Don't take my advice on bombing a stalker down #2's fairway unless you can throw 400+ on flat ground! It's very deep and it comes to play on #15. #15 isn't a problem because of the ravine being close to the tee pads. But #2 and #11 take a bit of thinking. I don't think pain is part of the fun and I don't think it should be the consequence for being a bad throw.
-Some holes are too close to each other. #10 and #11 basically face each other! #3's long pad is also in front of #12's pad.
Other Thoughts: -My cons are really just nit picks. This place rocks! The whole course rocks. It's just the ravine that should really bother you. Everything else isn't a big deal because it's secluded. I would recommend this course to anyone, at anytime. I would especially recommend staying here, sure it's a little pricey but it's totally worth it due to the scenery, food, arcade and how nice the lodges are. There are even guitar hero tournaments up here sometimes. I never could find it in the arcade but they did insist on having them. Which is always fun for me.
-I went here on a birthday vacation. There is a girl I'm very close with and that I hang out with all the time that is on a mission trip in Cherokee so my family and I stayed there on Thursday night. The Smoky Mountain area is awesome and if you were to have time, I would recommend you hang out around the whole area! Not to mention, I'm thinking about going to Western which is maybe an hour and fifteen minutes from Fontana.
-You can also camp out here for $15 and you don't really have to pay to play here. That is just if you want to rent a few discs.

Favorite hole: #2. Narrowly beating many others like #4, #8, #10, #11, and #16! I don't have a least favorite either. If the ravine was less rough, I'd give this course a 4.5! I wish there was a 4.25 rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    6/1/2014   6/1/2015
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 66  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of my all time favorite courses! Long, tight, open and short...bring a full complement of plastic. Oh, and you'll want to bring a spotter. There are several holes (the approach on 2, the drive on 8 and 17) that can save you from pulling your hair out searching for lost plastic

And you can't beat the drive in or views around the course. Just absolutely beautiful at times. You will also want to bring snacks. This course is serious up/down and across hills. Fatigue factor is a biggie on this one.

Course is fairly easy to Navigate and flows well. No real issues with finding yourself around. Though the transition from 1 to 2 is odd. 1 is by the Fontana Disc Golf sign, but 2 is way up the hill from it.

Hole 3 took us a few minutes to find, but after that it was easy.
Cons: No real cons. Course can get really shaggy off the fairways with lots of gnats and other bugs. But if it's windy, that helps.

There is a major, major disc eating ravine between holes 2 & 11 (I think) that had devoured much of my plastic. The drop off is near straight down off of 11 with think foliage. Off hole 2 it was briars, briars, briars (as of June 2014). Use extreme care when searching in this ravine (and same off 16/17. Lots of slippy rocks that move and have gaps between them covered with leaves. I still have heavy scars from my last foray through the rocks - seriously.
Other Thoughts: No easy way to Fontana dam (unless you stay in the village!) but worth the drive no matter how long/far you are away.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Rounding into shape

2-4    11/6/2014   11/6/2014
Review By: nightwing
Played: 118  Reviewed: 23
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Setting. Wow factor. Hard to beat really.
-Facilities. Meals-Lodging-Bar-Pool etc.
-Gorgeous course in The Smokies...nice. .
-Improvements keep coming
-No 2 holes alike w/ Up-Down-Left-Right etc
-Many Risk vs Reward Birdie/Bogie holes.
-Brand new concrete pads- both Pro and Am.
-Lots of elevation without TOO much hiking.
-Quality Baskets, decent signs, benchs etc.
Cons: -LOCATION. Really isolated. See below.
-Some pads too short for full run-up.
-Confusing Resort Map. Get the new map.
-Steep/tangled ravine in middle of course.
-Hard to play when wet. Bring real shoes.
-Not currently Beginner friendly...but soon?
Other Thoughts: Fontana is a huge, full service 3-4 season resort. Disc Golfers will seldom be in the majority here at this Christian Family Retreat, but with the pool, the lake, the hiking, the Smokies, and so much more, it is hard to believe that players won't find something to fill the rest of the day here after a round.

Fontana resides near the imfamous 'Dragon', simply one of the most thrilling stretches of road in the world. Pictures 100s of turns on quality pavement in the woods and you'll understand why Harleys and Corvettes often frequent the area. But get real directions and figure on an hour longer than it looks and it looks like a long way from anywhere.

I really loved this course. LOTS of changes have been made, including especially the concrete pads on both Pro and Am. They're not as long as you'd like for a 5 step run-up. However, having just played a round with 'The Course Bros' JP and Rob, they assure me they will have a run-up area behind the pads that need one soon. They had lots of ideas for other changes and this sort of hands on 'Love' means a lot to me. They are looking at BOTH some longer pins up in the woods AND some beginner friendly third teepads. This will be a 4.5 star course pretty soon if they get that done.

GETTING AROUND: Don't bother with the old map found on the resort site. It is obsolete. Hole 1 has been moved to a better location. While JP and Rob just park at a central point near #12, 15, and 3, guests need to know that you can just walk out the Lodge Room's Hallway directly to the #2 Pro tee. This alone would make me think about the lodge rooms instead of the dozens of cabins. Remember...this place is huge. Can't describe how cool it was to play a round.... grab a shower... have a gourmet lunch.... crash.... and play round 2 totally rested.

Seasons: I here there are skeeters of course, and summer days must get pretty hot with all the climbing around here. But for me, early November was a little too late. Lots of slick leaves and the Lodge was kept pretty chilly considering how few people were around. I'll aim for October next year.

I believe in the Wow Factor. There are at least 6 great holes here and only 3 or 4 'whatevers'. Throw in a unique and beautiful setting and this place is worth the considerable 'Destination Drive'.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Fun in the mountains

1    8/31/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: AUfantastic
Played: 111  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course. Laid out well with lots of variety....Long and short holes, up and down. Enjoyed the challenge of it a lot and would love to go back.
Cons: IF by some chance you think you want to play there because they rent golf carts, forget it. The entire resort only has 4 and they rent them to people for their kids to drive around so good luck ever getting one. Anyway, this course would not lent itself to driving one on several of the holes. The rubber mats on the tee boxes are covered with mossy slime from being under trees and can be very slippery. They could use some cleaning.
Other Thoughts: It had rained a lot the night before we played there. That made footing on the slopes of the fairways very tough. Also, the grass had not been mowed for quite a was about 4-5 inches high. I will go back though. I would love to play this course after freshly mowed and dry. It would be wonderful. I did not realize until signed on today that we were supposed to pay to play but that would not stop us from going back. Lastly, the map is critical to help you navigate because signage lacks some.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the drive

1    8/2/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: Tuckerman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Reading about this, I found it hard to believe that a resort dedicated in large part to motorcyclists and driving enthusiasts has such a wonderful disc golf course. Yet, there it is. It is a challenging course with beautiful scenery and relatively well-kept grounds.

The course is long. With the exception of hole #1, which is the disc golf equivalent of mini golf, the are many long holes with mostly open fairways. However, there are also medium to long holes with decorative trees or tree clusters in the middle of things. Holes 2 and 16 are good examples. You are driving over a landscaped area with dogwoods dotting an otherwise open lawn.

The course designers took advantage of the elevation changes. Hole #4 was a love/hate sort thing. You are throwing off the edge of a very steep hill, through the trees, and down to level ground at the basket. Hole #8 has a wonderful long drive down a hill with a right turn out of the trees into the open. I birdied that one and was thrilled to have done so.

No two holes are alike. Most all of them represent a challenge, yet nothing that should scare away new players.
Cons: Whatever you do, stay on the fairway. Maybe it's because I'm a yankee and not familiar with the vegetation in the south, but I lost one driver and we were lucky to find a few others. The "fairway" under hole #8 is a narrow bike path cut from a slope covered in waist-high briers, vines, and ferns. Any disc that fades too hard and lands in the woods may also fall down into a 40 ft deep ravine.

Footing can be treacherous. If it has rained within the last 24 hours, slopes will be muddy and your feet will slip out from under you.

Signs on the course itself are weak. Take a course map with you and you will have no problem. My group forgot the map and walked a few extra miles going in the wrong direction.
Other Thoughts: The tees are reasonably well maintained. Most have a rubber mat covering either a crushed stone base or a plywood platform. The only exception that I can recall is #8, which is bare earth and in the middle of a bike path.

The road leading to the course (US129) is nicknamed The Tail of the Dragon. It is famous for tight curves and switchbacks. If you have a choice between taking the Camry or the WRX, drive the WRX. Just stay between the painted lines, please.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful mountain course

2-4    8/18/2013   4/23/2014
Review By: hondaguy85
Played: 76  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Scenic course in a mountain setting with great course design! Friendly staff and golf carts fof rent! This course truly will leave you telling stories over the years!
Cons: Weather is unpredictable and is very difficult to get to and locate. Tucked away in the mountains away from Everything!
Other Thoughts: Truly remarkable course from start to finish.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic with Variety

1    7/9/2012   3/20/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 246  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 19.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall hole design is Fontana's greatest strength- I would use words like variety, scenic, challenging, and fun to summarize it. Look at the pics, they will make you want to play here, and you won't be disappointed!

It offers a great mix in the following: hole length, required shot shape, and degrees of elevation. There are no two holes the same. It is challenging without being frustratingly impossible to non-pros, which is how it should be since this course is part of a family style resort. Some of the challenges include length, elevation, strategically placed baskets, single trees, dense trees, thick rough, ravines, creeks, roads, and even a storage building. The grounds were well-kept, no trash, and the grassy fairways appeared to be regularly mowed. And who doesn't love a course with several elevated tee-shots!

It is located in a beautiful setting in the Appalachian mountains (but not completely out in nature as many of the buildings are nearby and rarely out of sight.) Despite this, the course still has several peaceful scenic holes. I would also theorize that this course rarely gets crowded, being so far away from any dense populated area. The course itself is nicely spread out, each hole gets its own space, so even a lot of people were playing you won't feel crowded.

Along with the course is the really nice Fontana Village facility- offering cabins, an inn, mini golf, game room, restaurant, etc. Large and beautiful Fontana Lake is just across the street for boating, skiing, and fishing. And of course nearby in the App. Mtns you are close to hiking, camping, rafting, etc. Fontana Village is a great place to take the whole family or have a group retreat as there is plenty to do, the disc golf is only 1 activity. And I would encourage anyone coming to this area to definitely do more than disc golf.
Cons: Rubber pads are ok, but I prefer concrete- for footing and a more professional and permanent look. Website and scorecard said there were 2 tees, but they were not there- there were a couple of Innova ground markers on a couple holes, but most of the time they were at the concrete tee. So it would seem that the "2nd tees" are temp natural tees, probably only set-up for tournaments.

The 1st hole is weak- a super short shot straight into a hill/cliff covered in overgrowth, this hole is out of place, and does not fit the style of the rest of the course. (Good news is you get the worst hole out the way first.) But then the best hole is #2- great hole, but it stinks to get it over with this early- would love to see this hole much later in the round.

#8 is a unique challenge- sharp downhill C-shape moving from woods to open and blind- takes a specific well played shot to hit the required line, but it was so overgrown in mid-summer that the tee was practically blocked by super tall (over my head) plants taking away from the desired shot shape- I was forced to throw it really high making it impossible to play the hole as intended. Would like to see a little bit of regular fairway maintenance here.

Roads are in play on several holes, always a danger there with cars, walkers, and golf carts.
Other Thoughts: The best course in a very wide radius.

Pretty exhausting. I am in decent shape and the elevation is not insanely steep, just a lot of it.

Offer golf carts- not for the course, but for the whole complex, but they can be, and are often, used for disc golf. I was pretty tired after 1 round, could be worth to split the cost of one if planning on playing the whole day.

Supposedly pay the play. The workers that day said that since I had my own discs and did not need to rent, then just go play.

Allow for more time than usual both driving here and playing. Curvy mountain roads always take way more time than it looks on a map. The course is spread out and hilly and takes longer to play than most standard 18 hole courses.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fontana Village People! D-G-C-R!

1    2/28/2013   3/3/2013
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 259  Reviewed: 155  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun course at Fontana Village Resort. I stopped at the desk to sign in, they were very nice offering frisbees without charging or signing in. The disc golf shots are magnificent on several holes. Elevation is significant on every hole. Started with an easy birdie on one, and got another longer birdie on nine. Had chances for a few others, could not convert. Hole two is a doozy, three and four are nice also. Distance is longer on the majority of holes. Six is a shorter hole, and seven was longer but reachable, both uphill. Not a lot of gimme deuces. Woods are prevalent on a few holes, but way more open than I was expecting. Eight is a fun RHBH anhyzer steep downhill out of the trees. Nice baskets, and signage. Solid rubber mats mounted on plywood. Made a good par save on ten, and eleven is another real toughie. Maps are printed on the scorecards available at the desk. Fifteen is a short one that got me for a lost disc, mountain style. Sixteen is epic, long and downhill with trees in the middle, road left and water right. Benches on most holes. Seventeen and eighteen are both solid back up the other side of the road.
Cons: Footing was extremely slick on slopes, grass was consistently boggy, and tee boxes were covered with slippery condensation in freezing cold conditions of the season. Concrete might have been preferable. Wind was there but not terrible. I went out of bounds in the water 3 times. I also lost a double ace TeeBird with a low drive that bounced into the boulders on the 15th fairway. Water was sadly very low in the lake, but high on the course. I think it may have snowed the previous day there. I think hole two would have made a better opening hole, and finish up on number one instead. Maybe better still, start at three, finish two The lay out crosses itself and roads many times, and is not to hard to follow, but maps are available.
Other Thoughts: I loved it. In nicer conditions, and with upgraded tees, I could argue for a 4.5 rating. Lengthy but not super technical. Shot a 61, and was pretty happy with it. The drive there is slow and curvy mountain roads, and worth making the trip to me. The resort personnel was friendly, and disc golf was terrific. Reminiscent of Mars Hill, or Meeks Park but less wooded. Good birthday road trip, and Sunshine noted the small, pretty flowers on the scorecard.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad overall

1    8/24/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Fleet
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quite a few long holes, with just enough obstacles in the way to balance making it fun and giving you fits.

No heavy crowds, depending on vacation season, I guess.
Cons: There may have been *one* hole where I saw the alternate short tee pad (#4, I think). Aside from that, I couldn't tell if they were all supposed to have alternates, or if the distance was dependent on the pin placement.

The signage on the tee pads doesn't have a hole layout, just the distance. Especially on holes like #11 you'll be walking around trying to figure out where the pin is.

The walk from #1 to #2 is ridiculous. Not a good way to start the flow of the course. Afterwards, some holes aren't clearly marked, though if you walk in the direction you think the teepad *should* be you're likely to find it.

Some holes play really close to each other, such as #3 and #4, #9 and #11.

Holes #16 and #17 play down and back up the main driveway, so depending on the time of year, you may have to deal with a lot of cars coming and going.
Other Thoughts: So apparently the way to get to the course is called "the Dragon" and is one of the more famous roads for motorcycle and sports car enthusiasts. News to me. The last 10 miles of my trip took about 45 minutes, between going 15-20 mph around the mountain and pulling off to the side constantly to let groups of bikers go through. Be prepared.

Also, you don't have to pay the $5 if you bring your own discs.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, but.....

1    6/29/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: Bub2010
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Nice terrain, well maintained, and baskets in good shape.
Cons: NO short tee pad markers that I could find except on hole 2 and that was really hard t see where the placement was next to a bush. I think I found another short tee marker somewhere.

There are no basket position indicators and no visible wear on the short tee areas where ever they are..... So the course is really long playing from the marked long pads.
Other Thoughts: The problem I see here is a nice course that rarely gets played and Those factors make the course harder than necessary to navigate and play. You would think an innova sponsored course would do a nicer job on the signs and install short tee pads. It truly is in the middle of nowhere with very limited routes to get there. I'll never go back mainly because from gat
I burg it takes about TWO hours to get to despite only being 30 miles by air.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.