Disc Golf Store
Shreveport, LA 
Ford Park Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #4 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 715ft.   4 / 725ft.   4 / 525ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Worth the trip.

5+    2/23/2013   2/23/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2014
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The more that I play Ford Park, the more it grows on me. I also remember that I enjoyed the first time playing it.

This course is set in a municipal park with gentle elevation changes and mature trees, mostly tall pines. The first 6-7 holes wind through the pines and then the course opens up a little, with a few exceptions, and then ends up back in the large pines for the last three holes.

The standout holes in my mind are 2, 4 and 10. Although many of the holes are laid out very well.

Other park activities don't seem to interfere with the course. There is a good mix of very short, middle distance, and long holes.

The average level of difficulty is not all that high due to the lack of any underbrush to speak of. The large trees will punish errant shots and add strokes on longer holes.

Navigation is fairly straightforward. I didn't have a map, but never got lost after locating the first tee box (which didn't take long). The tee boxes on most holes are large and are wider at the rear which is very nice.

This course uses a lot of real estate and there are no cross play issues. Some of the holes have some added features to make them more interesting (one basket on a tower so that it can be see from the tee (but the tower cannot), one behind a hedge line, one shot between two rows of trees, etc.
Cons: Some of the baskets can be a bit difficult to locate from the tee and the signs are not the best. All of the signs are marked with a par of "3" which is clearly incorrect on a number of holes. Though there are multiple tees, only one set is concrete. The rest are dirt.

These are minor and certainly don't detract from this being a fun course.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the Shreveport area, this course is close to I-20 on the western part of Shreveport and is a convenient stop.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 All Around Great Course

1    8/11/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: CTRobuck
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for all levels of players. Course is well maintained and provides 3 different levels of teeboxes that will make the course very playable for anyone. The course has short holes for Ace runs and birdie opps after you play the 500+ft holes. Very good use of the abundant park space. The course also flows pretty well from basket to to teebox. It wasn't a very busy day when we played but the course seems to stay outta the way of the park patrons so that the course and the park can be enjoyed by both.
Cons: Some of the hole signs seemed to be old or just wrong. It was my first time to play so maybe I looked over something I should have seen, but it was a little confusing on a few of the holes. I believe it was hole 4, that said that the hole was 300 or so ft, but there was no possible way that is possible. Mhy guess is that the locals may have changed the course up recentley but luckily DGCR had up to date distances to look at.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, and would love to have a course like this to play on a day to day basis. Good mixture of long and short holes and great use of trees, bushes and roads(OB) to create a good challenge. I am definitlely going to make the trip back to this park in the near future!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Love Ford Park!

5+    7/2/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: DavidRials
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you wanna bomb some drives this is a great park for it. Not overly technical but you still need accuracy and distance to score well here. This is the best park in SHV in my opinion.
Cons: Because of the length you need at least 2 hrs to play the course. Make sure and take a drink with you too, a convenience store is close by though.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really good mix of holes, and has a great atmosphere & scenery with it being right off the lake.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Park! Will play again for sure!

1    9/28/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: Johnny_Crunch
Played: 62  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice large trees everywhere with lots of shade. Nice spread out park with no real interference from the non golfers. Close to the lake with beautiful scenary. Long and short holes to challenge all skill levels.
Cons: From what I could tell some of the signage wasn't accurate but it was easy to figure out either way.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play. It is nice to look at and is very relaxing. I will play it again for sure when I return to town.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stretch Ye Arm Out

1    6/20/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has many open holes, some sparce trees, OB, mandos, protected baskets and uses the entire park. With 7 holes under 300 feet and 4 holes over 600 feet, you can't go wrong with the hole length variety here. The OB areas are fair and can be considered tough. The road through the park has some parking sections that can sneak into play some. It made it interesting. The sparce tree holes had greatly placed trees allowing alternate routes and yet still made fun holes. The long open holes really let you open up your drives. The shorter holes are excellent with some great pin placements. The long tees have nice concrete tee pads. The baskets are older but were still in decent shape. The tee signs do have the length and hole map on them. Navigation here was not a problem. This place has picnic tables and a restroom.
Cons: The shorter, grass tees are marked by stakes with the tee numbers on them. The negative about the good tee signs is that they are put in the front of the tees and could get in the way for some people.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor for Ford Park is better than ok. Most of the holes are in the shade and the variety of hole lengths makes this place a real treat. The desire to tee off multiple times on these holes was not really there, but it was enjoyable just the same. The park is nice and clean and the golf was fantastic. I would certainly play this course again. I sure wish I had been staying closer to Shreveport, so I could have played the other courses.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Cource in Tall Pines

1    4/8/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked the playing in the tall Pines. The Course has a good flow to it. Holes 1-8, 11 and 15-18 are played in the shade of the pines. 12-14 are long open holes.
I like how this course has cool things about it, #5 Basket is right behind a row of tall bushes/trees, and #6 elevated of the ground. Multi -Tee Boxes
Cons: Signage not so good, though the course has good flow to it, I found on a couple of hole looking for the basket after throwing the path show on the T-Box sign.(never found #3 Basket)
Other Thoughts: Beautiful Ford Park with the old Steam Train and Fire Engine right at the front of the park, there used to be an old Sherman Tank there but I guess they moved it. Very nice park will definatly play again when I'm in Shreveport. I like playing under those tall pines.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ford

1    3/26/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty good variety of shots. Fairly well manicured fairways. Short and long boxes, eating area, convenient store with decent food across the street.
Cons: Near the lake so there's a lot of cops around on the weekends. Not too many real hard shots, and the shots that have distance on them are really open.
Other Thoughts: Pretty good park, relatively well set up, good amount of shade. All in all a fun course

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/22/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: cullen50
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: amazing course by the lake. beautiful sights and holes. it has 5 6 and 7 hundred ft holes. definitely worth a drive. close to everything the city has to offer.
Other Thoughts: this is one of my favorite courses. professional grade.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

1    11/14/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This park is absolutely beautiful. Long open spaces, short grass with tall pines, little to no trash. This course reminds me some of Pecan Acres Park in Nacogdoches TX. Just when I started thinking this course had too many short holes, it throw a 725 at me, then a 735 and a 710. There are a couple mandos late in the game that make those holes much more challenging. Someone else said this and I agree, many holes seem to favor Leftys/Forehanded throwers because the right side is nice and open, the left is blocked. See my picture of hole 9, perfect example. I loved hole 5 (also see pic), solid wall of trees in front of the hole, requiring a tricky loft shot or going around. Hole 6 is elevated on a brick pedistal about 8 feet, kinda hard to putt at. I was there saturday morning on a beautiful day and this park wasn't crowded in the least, maybe 12 DGolfers in the park total and a few walkers. The walking trails are mostly removed from the course, so they're not a problem. Bathroom was clean and there wasn't a lot of graffiti and carvings on the picnic tables, benches etc.
Cons: This course is a lot of walking, some long holes and a few good walks between the holes, so be prepared for exercise. I agree, could use a couple more benches, but there were several so I'm not really complaining. There is a fenced area around hole 10 and 11 that like to eat your discs, but don't worry, you can slip through the gate to get them back.
Other Thoughts: Gorgeous park, well maintained. Benches, picnic tables and a restroom on site. Good signage, though sometimes wrong because something has been moved. I really enjoyed this park, and I will play it every time I get over to Shreveport.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 ford park

1    8/1/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: championlog22
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice park. No walkers getting in the way. I like the pin built up about 8 feet off the ground on hole 6. Nice tee boxes for the pro.
Cons: Terrible am. tees. The pars marked on the signs were crap. Half the holes had masking tape over the par with another number written...bad. Do not play for a few days after a big rain, the place floods easy. Wished i could have known the correct pars for the hole. Hole 15's mando was completely not needed. I messed up and played hole 16's basket for hole 15 because it was rediculously far out there. The sign did not help (And marked an impossible par 3)
Other Thoughts: Very nice. Definitely should play because it is one of the few courses in North LA.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.