Disc Golf Store
Shreveport, LA 
Ford Park Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #14 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 370ft.   3 / 371ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Approach



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 mostly open, partly wooded and all fun

5+    5/24/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of distances. 3 different tees per hole. holes 1-6 and 8 are more wooded and overall shorter except for 4(716) and wooded. the back 9 opens up for some open bomb shots(except for 16 & 17) which for the most part have large differences in their alternate tees if you can find them. Hole 6 is now sitting on top of a neat looking platform made out of some type of bricks(same color as reg bricks). It was the first time I had shot at an elevated or novelty positioned pin. I swear it wasn't there last week. Very well manicured and super long concrete tee pads. It is always freshly mowed but I have never actually seen anyone mow it. Poor BJ, just bad timing. No walkers in the way. This course offers you a disc golf only round and even though you can see other people in the park they are normally not in your way and you soon forget that they are even there. Usually not more than 2 or 3 groups except for rare weekends and the shreveport clubs tourneys or leagues. Usually not windy. Great baskets that don't spit out too many of mine. starts and finishes in the same area and is easy to navigate with good signage.. great place to try out new drivers. practice field is next to hole or 11 or 12. It is right after the 250 ft kind of tunnel shot.
Cons: flat terrain makes it an easy course to burn out on if you play it too much. being next to a lake just teases the golfers that like over the water shots. The pars are not marked correctly. par 3s don' t range between 200 and 700 ft. Even I know that. only about 40% of the course is shaded, the rest you are getting pounded usually with heat and humidity so you people that sweat a lot had better bring something to dry your eye area right before you launch. There is more room to the left of hole 7's basket across the park road is a large area that starts in the open and then becomes very wooded with a good amount of width also so you wouldn't have to get very close the playground . maybe they will add 9 more.
Other Thoughts: It is a fun course to play but if you only have 1 day in the shreveport area then you must play lake Bistineau and ford. Play Bistineau 1st it is more of a workout but has almost everything you could think of including water.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great stop along I-20!

1    4/3/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: FWgrant
Played: 81  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: LONG Teepads-I don't know why we can't get these in Texas. Feel free to run on these things!

I love the mature pine trees on this course. They create obstacles in the flight path without low hanging branches to grab discs. Accuracy and a big arm are needed on many holes but there are at least 5 holes where birdie (if not ace) is a real possibility. Then again, a 3 foot wide pine might stop your disc in its tracks.

The course is easy to navigate. My brother and I found every hole quickly the first time out with no map.

The park was not crowded at all and was well maintained.

I will probably stop here everytime I go through Shreveport as it is only 10 minutes north of I-20 and a GREAT course.
Cons: Some of the fairways (4-8) play too close to each other. An errant shot could easily head through an adjacent fairway.

Also, I felt like this course favored sidearm shots more than RHBH. You could play it if you've got a good backhand annie (I don't) or you can choose to forehand it. I felt like more than half of the course either finished right or the easier flight path was right-finishing.

There could be some more trash cans and a few more benches scattered along the course but that is picky. I almost never have anything to throw away or a need to sit down.
Other Thoughts: The posted pars were inconsistent. The first two holes were 400 footers with a posted par 4. Hole 18 is over 700 ft through moderate woods and had a posted par 3. PDGA guidelines even for gold rating would rate that at least a 4.

But that's just for the over/under par, the number of strokes is more important anyways. I just don't feeling like I shot 3 over par for Hole 18!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/16/2007   2/10/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a nice park. Pretty flat. Grassy with large trees spaced just perfectly for disc golf. Good mix of shorter holes and longer holes. Alternate tees. Some well protected baskets as well.
Cons: They were mowing the day I played with the giant speedy industrial tractor-like mowers. I really thought those guys were going to run over our discs every now and then. Sometimes they would stop mowing to let your throw, but they would leave it loudly running in the middle of the fairway and stare at you until you threw!
Other Thoughts: I really liked playing this course. Scenic views of the nearby lake on the drive in. We had a little trouble finding the park, but some very nice workers at a seafood restaurant on the lake helped us find our way.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shreveports 2nd best

5+    8/23/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice, well-maintained park with lots of giant pines and gently rolling hills covered in grass (and pine needles)...almost ball-golf-like in parts.

2 sets of tees on every hole (original/concrete, alternate/dirt)...find the right local, and he'll show you even more "unofficial" alternate tees and layouts ;)

Although the park has pretty much the same terrain throughout, there's plenty of variety throughout the 18 holes, both in terms of length and type of shot/line you'll have to play. The course has everything from short <150' ace runs to 450'+ long/open bombers...but no tight wooded or tunnel shots, as there aren't any dense wooded areas in the park. The closest thing to a tunnel shot comes about halfway through the course on the hole that plays next to the fenced-in Parks & Rec building (2 rows of trees form a semi-tunnel). The "signature" hole is probably the new #4...LONG (has to be close to 800') hole that requires a tight shot off the tee followed by another well-placed and long drive to even have a chance at a 3. Hole 18 is another pretty unique one...around 600' long through one of the more dense areas of trees, ending with a basket nestled underneath the branches of a few small trees next to an old railroad car.

My favorite thing about Ford Park is the ratio of trees to open areas...there's enough space to "grip-n-rip", but just enough trees to keep you on your toes. Also, the landscape is very conducive to rollers (which I always enjoy).
Cons: If you're like me in that you enjoy a lot of "visual variety", Ford might get old after a few rounds....still a very fun course, just looks about the same from hole to hole.

The only other Con I can think of is that the amount of pine needles on the ground during certain time of the year can make it hard to get solid footing, especially when playing the alternate dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a very fun course...aside from Lake Bistineau, this is the only park in Shreveport I like to travel to for casual rounds.

There's a gas station right across the street with awesome chicken strips (seriously) and a place called "Bayou Daquiri" in the same shopping center...so you can "refuel" between rounds :)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

2-4    6/30/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice multi-use park with bathrooms, playground equipment, picnic tables etc. Course has 2 tees for every hole giving you options on length. Easy to navigate in general except for 1 basket which had been moved and was hard to find because the yardage was way off. Lots of shade on a hot summer day.
Cons: Not a lot of variation in terrain as the park is similar throughout. No signature standout holes. On each hole only one of the tees is concrete (the other is dirt)
Other Thoughts: The course is well designed but the sameness of the terrain hampered the effort in my mind. I like the option of 2 tees (every course should have it). Ther is a lake on park property across the street. Too bad water could not have been included in the design.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long course

6/5/2008   6/5/2008
Review By: ChrisULM
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of long, open holes to really bomb drives. Very pretty park and its well kept. Concrete teepads and signage make it easy to navigate.
Cons: Probably not a good course for new players. There are some really long holes at this course that new players will struggle with. Would like to see a few more wooded holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.