Redlands, CA
Ford Park Share
Uploaded By: mikethrice Hole #2
3 / 360ft.   3 / 345ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
9 baskets randomly strewn through small park

5+    2/14/2013   2/14/2013
Review By: adamtheviking5
Played: 71  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There a 9 very nice baskets that you can assign tee pads for making for an essentially endless combination of holes. And thats all for the pros section.
Cons: There is no layout at all. The course map is a decent suggestion of one possible safari layout though it shows several tees where it would be impossible to play from due to buildings and such. No tee pads or signs of any sort. Lots of non disc golf traffic. Weirdos live in the park. I saw 2 different campsites along the fence. Would be scary around dark.
Other Thoughts: I found concrete markers for several holes today that i had not seen before. There was one for #3, #7 but it was marked as #5, and interestingly there were markers for #10, #16, #17 and #18. So maybe with some more investigation this turns into an 18 hole ciurse. Also the maintenance guy said theyre moving the basket for 7 cause discs go into the maintence yard and an alarm goes off when you jumo the fence. On an unrelated side note, i did see a couple little bass(very very little) in one of the ponds. This is a positive for me cause my 7 year old hasnt developed a taste for disc golf yet but if the word "bass" is muttered, hes in the truck with his rod before i get my shoes on.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Pretty Little Throw!

1    4/7/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ford Park is a lovely little hilly/wooded park located in a what seems to me to be a pretty nice little neighorhood. The park was very clean and inviting. Nice terrain for a course with slightly rolling hills and the pond. The holes presented a nice challenge for the average disc golfer. Nice Discatcher baskets with numbers helped the navigation somewhat. It provides a couple of ACE runs. One tee plays across the little lake/duckpond. The park was relatively quiet the day I played. # 9 allows a chance to finally throw a little air. The park is close to the freeway.
Cons: Navigation was not easy. There are no marked tees that I could find. I'd love to see if something could be done about this whether it's painting some marks on the sidewalks or putting some simple little marker stones. I think a couple of holes play right over picnic tables. This would be problematic on heavy use days.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course a lot for being your typical little 9 hole course in the small city park. The elevation was fun. # 9 was a fun throw. I would like living closeby and dropping over for a quick round or two. I'd probably be frustrated with the "crowds" factor. I'll come back if ever in the area again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful With a Guide

2-4    2/1/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 16.9 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Design. While there are no marked tees, the way the locals play it (which is pretty much what the map on DGCR delineates) is a great mix of short, mid and long, wooded and open, uphill and downhill. Most shots are technical and force some tricky lines. Side note: Mikethrice's pics aren't the tee positions used by the guys I was playing with. Those pics don't do the course justice.
-Baskets. Nine tip-top discatchers, clearly numbered.
-Extremely clean course. One of the locals I played with (thanks, Greg and Gil, for being such gracious hosts) told me course custom is to pick up any trash we see. It shows. I didn't see a single piece of trash on the course.
-Quiet, scenic park setting surrounded by orange orchards
-Not much golfer foot traffic
-Plenty of parking
Cons: -Not enough baskets (though I hear playing the course backwards is a fun way to do it).
-Pedestrian/picnicker/other sport-playing folk to share the park with. Most people we warned were quick to move out of the way and inquisitive about the sport, asking to check out our plastic as we walked by. A group of kids walking by a bad drive decided to pick it up and throw it to the basket (grrr).
-A bit tricky to find
-No designated tees. Bring a map and play with the locals!
-Some of the designated concrete tees are narrow and right against picnic benches. They feel a bit cramped.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent newer course that deserves to be developed and at least tried out if you are in the area. The piece of property that houses the course is great for a technical, shortish course. Significant elevation changes, baskets in precarious positions on the backside of sloping hills and past the lake, and plenty of trees to shake things up make Ford Park a challenge for allcomers.
Most nine-hole courses feel short to me. Not this one. Holes three and eight (which locals play as a par four) are long and technical and let golfers stretch their guns. I could easily have stayed and played this course all day and leave feeling satisfied.
In between the tight, technical holes the course opens up and offers some fun downhill shots. Holes six and nine are fun, deceptively short holes.
I can't wait to go back and play this course again when I'm in the area.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little safari course

1    11/27/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 4.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Discatcher baskets
-Endless variety in shots, because you make them up as you go!
-Friendly locals were more than happy to let us know 'what the deal is' at the park.
-Freeway friendly for a quick round
-Lake can come into play if you want it to.
-Pins are numbered, keeping a general sense of order.
-Nice views and actually a really nice quiet vibe for what it is.
Cons: -No tee pads. And when I say no tee pads, I mean NO designated place to throw from. Keeping that in mind, it's fun to play once you accept the fact that its all basically safari golf.
-Lots of advice from people who clearly never play the sport.
-There is what appears to be a #1 tee right out of the parking lot, but it totally is NOT a tee, and it definitely is not for basket #1.
-I can see this course being pretty lame if the park is at ALL busy. It was not the day we went.
Other Thoughts: This course would really benefit from some kind of marked tee areas. Even a pole in the ground with a number. I like to know how I'm doing compared to others. If you ace something here, does it even count?
The lake has a good amount of people around it, and depending on how aggressively you want to play, they can be in pretty dangerous locations.
Hole number 7 presents a wonderful opportunity for a long drive. Unfortunately the family and their dog were absolutely oblivious to us and we had to wait about 10 minutes to throw.
We used nearby paved picnic areas to tee off from, but they are really narrow and you run the risk of slamming your fingers on a bench if you are careless.
Visited this park on a 'mini golf road trip' and probably will skip it next time I'm in the area. That said, if it were near me, it is a course that I would probably visit on a regular basis. They did a great job laying out the course the best they could in that park. Great use of hills.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.