Redlands, CA 
Ford Park Share
Uploaded By: mikethrice Hole #8
3 / 252ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Fun little safari course

1    11/27/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 7.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Discatcher baskets
-Endless variety in shots, because you make them up as you go!
-Friendly locals were more than happy to let us know 'what the deal is' at the park.
-Freeway friendly for a quick round
-Lake can come into play if you want it to.
-Pins are numbered, keeping a general sense of order.
-Nice views and actually a really nice quiet vibe for what it is.
Cons: -No tee pads. And when I say no tee pads, I mean NO designated place to throw from. Keeping that in mind, it's fun to play once you accept the fact that its all basically safari golf.
-Lots of advice from people who clearly never play the sport.
-There is what appears to be a #1 tee right out of the parking lot, but it totally is NOT a tee, and it definitely is not for basket #1.
-I can see this course being pretty lame if the park is at ALL busy. It was not the day we went.
Other Thoughts: This course would really benefit from some kind of marked tee areas. Even a pole in the ground with a number. I like to know how I'm doing compared to others. If you ace something here, does it even count?
The lake has a good amount of people around it, and depending on how aggressively you want to play, they can be in pretty dangerous locations.
Hole number 7 presents a wonderful opportunity for a long drive. Unfortunately the family and their dog were absolutely oblivious to us and we had to wait about 10 minutes to throw.
We used nearby paved picnic areas to tee off from, but they are really narrow and you run the risk of slamming your fingers on a bench if you are careless.
Visited this park on a 'mini golf road trip' and probably will skip it next time I'm in the area. That said, if it were near me, it is a course that I would probably visit on a regular basis. They did a great job laying out the course the best they could in that park. Great use of hills.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Ford Park

5+    7/2/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: Adevalk
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Free, lots of trees and open areas. Nice water shots and can be made challenging depending on where you decide to tee off from.
Cons: Lots of people willing to pick up your discs and throw them back to you.
Other Thoughts: Needs tees.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well, it's a start...

1    8/15/2008   5/14/2009
Review By: victorvillesports
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 5/18/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a nice park, it's close to the freeway, but you wouldn't know. There are a couple of holes that are wide open, and you really can make your own tee boxes... Tennis courts near by and a nice park for a picnic. And there is a small lake.
Cons: No tee boxes. No signage. Some holes are very close to picnic tables, so you might have to skip or make it a 20ft hole.
Other Thoughts: You cannot play all the holes if park is moderately crowded (like most weekends). While it doesn't appear to be well thought out with some of the hole placements, it's still a great visit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    8/16/2008   8/16/2008
Review By: mikethrice
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free, you can choose where to start each the course is always different. good looking park, old huge treees offer plenty of shade, go early. sunrise. no crowds equal no worries of hitting people. good balance of short to mid range game but without tees you can make each hole longer.
Cons: the grass was just watered 730am on a saturday. i would bring those waterpark shoes. my socks were soaked. it was hard to get a grip on the disc. IF the park was crowded i could see people getting in the way. go early or late. no tees or signs so you know what the course should be but then again its all goood. only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: fun and creative park...each time you can make it more challeneging by starting in a different position.i will go back for sure

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quaint Course

6/3/2008   6/3/2008
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 27.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Park
Beautiful Scenery
Creative use of available space
Cons: No signs at all
No discernable tee pads
Would be very dangerous if people were in the park
Other Thoughts: I played this in the middle of the day on a weekday and there were only about 10 people in the park and I was worried about someone walking in the path of a released disc.
I had to make up my own course since I couldn't find tees.
Nice little park and unique layout for the course (at least the way I played it)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.