Brazil, IN 
Forest Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: mrdilligaf Hole #14
5 / 291ft.   3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Worth stopping if you are in the area

1    4/13/2011   4/13/2011
Review By: uigrad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 24.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a pretty typical city park course. There are a few trees as obstacles, but not enough to frustrate a new player.

There is ample parking, bathrooms, and garbage cans. There are nice concrete tees, although they are a bit short. Signs at each tee give the layout for the hole, the distance, and a picture of where the next tee is.

There aren't a lot of elevation changes, but hole 13 throws over a large gap. The long bridges over gaps are really well built and add a lot to the park.

The grass is mowed well, and there are no thick woods, so there is no chance to lose a disk, other than on hole 2 (see below).
Cons: The two biggest complaints I have with this course are the bad baskets for #9-17, and the walk required to and from hole 13 and 14 are rather annoying.

I haven't ever seen baskets like the ones they used for #9-17. The chains are much lighter than normal, and often fail to persuade the disc to stop. The basket portion is smoother than others, so it is possible for a disc to slide around the whole basket and come back out in a much different direction, like a basketball around a rim.

Holes 13 and 14 are certainly the signature holes in this park, since there are interesting features and elevation changes, but they are far north of the rest of the course. Walking to and from them is a bit of a pain.

The baskets do not have next tee indicators on them, and in a couple of cases, I had to run back to the tee, just so I could figure out where to go next. There are no maps of the course, either on site or online, so navigation isn't perfect, but it's not too hard to figure out.

The number of walkers and kids around can be an issue. Be careful where you throw.

Hole 2 appears to be next to a military depot, and the fence border is rather low, so losing a disc over it is certainly a possibility. The fence is topped with barbed wire, and I assume that you won't get back any discs lost over the fence.

The course is rather flat, and water does not drain well. It rained a bit the day before I was there, and the puddles and soft ground were a bit annoying.

Lastly, there is just a lack of challenge at this course, and a lack of character. There are a few holes that are less than 200 feet, and have absolutely zero obstacles, and frankly they seem a bit pointless. Sure, it may be good for getting an ace, but in general, there is nothing memorable about such a hole.
Other Thoughts: I like the course in Terre Haute a lot, and having this course in Brazil makes it worth the drive. You can get two courses in one day. But, the Brazil course really doesn't stand on its own.

Another reviewer suggested stopping at Pappy's Bar-b-que, just north of the course on US-40, so we stopped afterwords. It was definitely worth it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ace run! No Duce,Damn Par!?

1    8/8/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 170  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed nice new layout. Park is Multi-use with a paved walking trail,Shelters with Grills,scattered Benches,Picnic Tables with roofs. New concrete tees & Signs. Added 9 baskets? Mostly flat and Mature trees that give plenty of,not only shade,nice obstacles. Hyzers & Anhyzers can be thrown on most holes. A few holes use the terrain to show newbies the possibilities of hole design. By far,for me,#14 was the signature hole. Atleast it was the toughest. Mach 3 baskets (the front 9). Scorecards,with map,available in mailbox by #1 tee Also has a DG info board on the back of the park sign.
Cons: The tees are a little short,this could be a problem for some. But, this is mostly a short course so a big run up won't be needed. The new layout has two flaws. The long walks between #12-#13 & #14 & #15. Other Park users?
Other Thoughts: Three years ago I tried to play this course on the way to Colts Camp. After 10-15 minutes I could not find any tees,just two baskets. So I headed out and played an extra round at Deming park in Terre Haute. Hearing local rumors,and checking DGCR the course was redesigned and I believe 9 baskets were added.? I played on a Sunday afternoon with alot of other park users. The new layout was very well thought out. I never felt like I was going to hit anyone. The northside of the park had more people and I decided to walk off on a hole because of a father and his sons were playing catch. I could have thrown with no problems, but I was writing notes and taking pictures. The long walk from #12-#13 can be fixed by flipping the basket & tee locations. The walk between #14-#15 can't really be fixed. Just walk from the northside,of the rather huge parking lot,to the southside. You'll see the tee sign. Pros can work on their mid-range or make up a safari course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Course Review

1    4/20/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: DaveKippen
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very short course can be played very quick; No underbrush or water to lose discs; Great for practicing midrange shots
Cons: Way too short for a competitive discgolfer. Only 3 holes over 300, if you like 200 - 300 foot shots with mature trees in your way with low ceilings you will enjoy this course.
Other Thoughts: Nice park, well kept, no issues with other park patrons when I was there like others mentioned. Nice to get a scorecard from the clubhouse!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Variety for those that play Demming

2-4    5/24/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: hilega
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to get to off of 40/59. Adds another nice course for the area (ISU, Rose, DPU, etc.). Some nice technical holes requiring super precise drives or just use the trees to beat in a new Roc.
Cons: Pretty flat, not too diverse. No tee boxes (but a local helping develop the course said that concrete tee pads will be going in and a course map will be added near the first hole; also distances and hole maps will be added at each tee).
Other Thoughts: Fun little course, worth while if you are in the Haute or passing through on 70 or 40, but I probably wouldn't go out of my way to get there. Park near the main baseball diamond adjacent to the swimming pool to tee off at near shelter #3. To get to 13 walk through the playground and across the wooden bridge. 14 is over there by that shelter as well (walk back across the bridge after finishing 13). Didn't see too many other players, but locals do use the park for BBQs, etc.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wood choppin' on the plains

2-4    2/26/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: chriseay76
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A couple pretty unique holes, 2 and 9 I think, (drive over a walkpath bridge. Lots of trees to challenge a full variety of shots. Lack of distance made up for by precision
Cons: Tee pads are a mystery Ive played there 3 times and i think Ive messed up at least a few times.. When park is busy some holes are impossible. Also I find dirt tees to be annoying..
Other Thoughts: OK course you need to try it once then decide if the pros are heavier than the cons..

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5/27/2008   6/1/2008
Review By: JogginJohn
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a very nice and well maintained park. It has an interesting variety of holes and clean fairways. There are virtually no underbrush problems and the park has good facilities.
Cons: The major problem with this course is it runs right through a fairly high use multi-purpose park. Many of the holes run right next to gazebos and other areas where people gather. Hole 18 actually runs directly across a horseshoe pit. If you come during a busy time, a one or two holes might have to be skipped to watch out for the safety of non disc golfers. Also, tees are only marked with labeled landscaping blocks placed in the ground. This makes it very hard to find the next tee for your first time playing the course. Finding someone to play with or following someone who already knows the course is more or less a must.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a nice course to visit but not worth going out of your way.
Most of the holes are fairly short and the course requires more control than distance. There are varying lines to take for each hole that support both backhand and forehand shots.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.