Pittsburgh, PA 
Phillips Park Share
Uploaded By: discteacher Hole #3 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 234ft.   3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Small Park - Fun Peaceful Course

2-4    5/12/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 78  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Phillips Park is located in a peaceful setting in a residential neighborhood away from the busyness of downtown. It is in a small park and the area that the course is in is primarily dedicated to the course. There is a small playground and basketball courts next to the course if your family wants to pass time while you're playing a round. There is a bathroom and water fountain inside the rec area, just tell them that you're playing the course and they will let you use the facilities.

The course has two sets of tees (concrete for the longs) that offer appropriately different looks and challenges and two pin positions that seem to be changed at a decent rate. The blue DISCatcher baskets are easy to spot and in great shape. The tee signs give a very nice depiction of the lines available and the pin positions.

The course designers did a great job of maximizing the park's full potential and created some fun shots using the elevation and trees. The aspect I enjoyed the most about playing here was how every hole offered multiple lines off the tee. This allows the player to be creative in how they approach the holes the different times they play this course, and it's a good quality to make a short course like this more interesting. It's hard to pick a favorite hole here since they are so similar, but I liked hole 2 a lot for its extreme downhill shot and hole 4 for its length and the many lines offered.

The course flows well and it is very easy to navigate the short walks to the next tee. Also, there is virtually no rough at all on the course which is unusual for the area. Couple these two things together and the course makes for a very quick play: took me 25-30 minutes to play a round.

I've never seen anyone else playing here so I'd say you would generally have the course to yourself, which is nice compared to Schenley.
Cons: -Not a whole lot of parking space available
-You have to drive on some very thin, windy roads to get here which can be tough to travel on when cars are going in opposite directions. Nothing alarming, but something to be aware of.
-School traffic could cause problems since it is right across the street from the park. Plan your round time accordingly.
-Not much variety - all 9 holes have a similar feel to them and their distances only range from 165-345 feet between both tees. This is not the course to go to if you like to air out every drive.
-Holes 2-5 play right next to a jogging path and dangerously close to people's backyards. I lost a Stag in someone's backyard on hole 5 - my fault for sure, but the course plays uncomfortably close to their properties.
-The course plays on a steep slope, which can make for some fun risk/reward putts. However, the constant chance at roll-aways makes for some frustrating upshots and drives. It gets old after awhile and holes 7 and 8 are especially steep. Again, fun for a little bit, but not something I want incorporated on every hole on a course.
-The red tees are natural and often positioned on sloping terrain.
Other Thoughts: It was enjoyable to play a course that was made by the faculty and students of Carrick HS; we need more of these kinds of courses throughout the country. According to the course's page, J. Gary Dropcho - one of the leading course designers in the area - designed this course. So, I am guessing it was a collaborative effort between him and the high school, which is cool to see.

I definitely recommend stopping to play this course if you are in the area. It's a quick round and surprisingly technical for being a short course in such a small park. Kudos to the designers for turning this small piece of property into a fun little course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A pleasant surprise.

2-4    10/26/2013   10/27/2013
Review By: shipleyrobinson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation and sloping greens were a challenge, but a fun one. I enjoyed that there were well-defined fairways, but not a lot of "rough," which is usually not the case in SW PA. Also, a huge plus for one without an automobile: this course is right on the 51 bus line, so is accessible by public transportation
Cons: Only nine holes. The short pins placements would be too short to be much fun, but they are in the longer configuration at the time of this review. There aren't any really hard holes on this course, though in extreme wind with the super steep greens, most of the holes could turn ugly.
Other Thoughts: If this course were 18 holes (presuming that these fictional extra holes were similar in style to the pre-existing 9), it would be better than Schenley Park, in my opinion.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It is what it is

2-4    9/29/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: nytrate
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Phillips is almost always empty -- very quiet for being in the middle of a crowded neighborhood. It is a quick 9-hole round with as much variety as is possible on the patch of land. Good place to drive with a mid-range and practice narrow 200-240 ft. shots through a heavily wooded area.
Cons: Nowhere to unwind a long distance driver. Many of the holes play laterally on the hill which is hard on the ankles and makes for frustrating skips/rolls. The course is heavily wooded so it is somewhat dark, even on a sunny day.

Other Thoughts: One or two open holes would make this course a lot better, but there is not much room for it.

There was an open area around the 1st or 2nd pin that is not used. You may be able to get creative here and create your own holes using existing baskets and random tee-off positions that are more open. No one ever seems to be playing here, so you can probably do stuff like that without being rude.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/3/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: Jabumbo
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The technical nature of the course has helped me shape my playing style and learn how to get out of a jam. The new baskets and added pin placements give even myself (who has played the course thousands off times) a refreshing look and lots more playability
Cons: Rollers are frequent and very frustrating, a common round killer. The course is also very short and so most tee shots are the same with slight changes.
Other Thoughts: While I admit to being sentimental here, this course really makes the most out of the space that is there. Not really worth going out of your way for but a fun way to get a workout while reading your accuracy!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Watch for rolling discs

5+    2/24/2013   3/31/2013
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 79  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Relatively short course is pretty good for beginners. Great use of the space available to them.
Cons: Entire course is played on the side of a hill. Easy to get punished for a decent shot because of the hill.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice Course

5+    10/26/2012   11/14/2012
Review By: el_duder
Played: 39  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+Nice baskets, concrete tees (whites), nice tee signs
+Multiple Pin Positions/Multiple Tee Pads
+Good Variety of shots even though it lacks distance
+Generally well maintained
+Football field nearby if you do want to air out your drivers. Although even that is limited to almost exactly 360 ft by a fence.
Cons:
-Holes 2-5 are affected by a trail and properties near the fairways. Can't do much about this, but there is some risk of hitting a bystander or tossing a disc into someones yard.
-Most holes are similar distance and somewhat short.
-Roll-a-ways can get pretty ugly.
Other Thoughts:
I consider Phillips Park my practice facility. The course itself requires just about every shot you could ask for and utilizes the trees to create just enough of a challenge that it won't get boring. Add to that that the baskets get moved around occasionally and there is more variety. The only thing the course lacks is more distance. While the holes aren't chip shots, I have only ever felt like pulling a driver on hole 4 and only when it is in the long position.

My favorite hole is probably 5 when it's in B position. I usually play it with a touch of anhyzer (to get around trees) and try to land where I can get a good view of the basket which is tucked neatly between two trees.

Overall, Phillips is a nice course to get in a couple quick rounds after work or to get a mid/putter workout. I wouldn't say it's completely passable, but it's definitely not a must play. It's just a solid 9-holer. If you live close by, like me, you'll probably play it regularly. If you have to travel a bit, play it once or twice before heading to Schenley sometime.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: Geepster
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Maximizes the space for the nine hole layout.
Excellent use of the trees and slope to increase shot difficulty.
Level concrete tee pads and good singage.
Holes #3-5 play against my RHFH delivery.
Cons: Othan than the 400'+ #4, all the holes are between 222-288' so the distance except for the downhill #2 felt too similar.
Rollers tend to keep going, even my floppiest putter rolled away a good 15' from an errant putt.
Other Thoughts: The course was in good shape considering the trees are dropping leaves and the oaks have all dropped their acorns. I never felt like I was going to lose my footing even in the rain.
This is a decent walking course for those with little ones and there's a playground onsite.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short course

2-4    7/28/2010   7/21/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great signs and an easy walk through. Good for beginners.
Cons: The baskets struggle a little bit. The holes are all very very short because there is not much land. The pars seem kind of weird for the distence of the holes
Other Thoughts: Since it is on the side of a hill some holes give you a great chance for your disc to roll allllll the way down the hil and add 3 strokes to your hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice shot. Oh, its rolling.......

5+    4/30/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: joshmo65
Played: 127  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets: Nine brand new DISCatcher baskets were installed this past winter with alternate pin positions. Gone are the old rusty homemade baskets that everyone complained about.

Elevation: If you are looking to work on your game throwing up and downhill, this 9 hole course has plenty of it. The holes run up and down of a very steep hill and require a good mix of up, down, and across hill shots. Really makes you think about running your putt if you land above the hole.

Tees: Although there are two sets of tees listed, the red tees are only slats of wood and are hard to find. However, the white tees are concrete and have brand new signs detailing the pin locations and distances.

Old Growth Trees: For the most part the course feels open, but the trees that are on the course are great looking and make for required line shaping. There is no undergrowth here, just grass that is mowed often so the chance that you lose a disc is slim to none.
Cons: Runners: A few of the holes play next to a running path. Errant throws may head toward the path and although the park is not jam-packed, runners are frequent on the path. In addition, throws over the path will end up in someone's back yard and will require fence jumping.

Rollaways: With the course being on such a steep elevation, many good shots can turn bad when discs catch an edge and start rolling. And when they start rolling, they go forever here. It adds a bit of unfairness to a round, but will put much more importance on hitting putts.
Other Thoughts: As a nine hole course, there really isn't much room to open up and let a throw rip except for one or two holes. There is quite a bit of variation in the nine holes however with left turning, right turning, and straight shots.

The park has been in really great shape every time I have played. Leaves have been raked, fallen tree branches picked up, and grass has been mowed. Some people have mentioned that it is not really in the best part of town. I usually play around the time that the nearby school gets out and never felt threatened while at the course.

I have not seen any amenities around the course, so be sure to bring your water (you will need it climbing up and down the hill). It is also very public, so don't expect that you can just hide behind a tree if you need to take a break. In addition, there are no benches around, so be ready for a hike up and down with little breaks.

Overall, a very nice nine hole course that allows for some good work with your midrange discs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New baskets make a diffrence

5+    11/11/2011   11/30/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Phillips Park is one of two courses located within the city of Pittsburgh.

The course plays almost entirely on a grassy slope and each hole is defined by the many mature hardwoods through the park. The slope will make you worry about rollaways and the trees force you to hit your lines.

Almost all of the holes incorporate elevation changes which make this short course very interesting.

There is no RH or LH bias on this course. Most holes have multiple lines available and allow for some creativity.

Brand new baskets have been installed. As the reviews below have mentioned the baskets used to be homemade and in pretty rough shape. Now they are brand new Discatchers and second pin positions have been installed on every hole to add some variety.

There are two tees on each hole but only one is concrete. There are also tee signs for each hole but with the new pin positions the distances are probably off by a bit.
Cons: Playing on the slope constantly gets a little repetitive and with the walking trail and houses nearby errant throws can be potentially dangerous.

The course is a little short and a little easy. Will not challenge an experience player.

Not in the best location. The neighborhood that the park is located in is a little rough. There is also not enough parking for the course. If you play on a weekend sometimes you will need to park on the street near the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course. The course fits the property perfectly using pretty much all of the available space.

Even though Phillips Park does not compare to the area's 18 hole courses (Knob, Moraine, Deer Lakes, Schenley) it is still a fun fast play that is worth your time and is pretty easily accessible from most of the Pittsburgh area.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.