Pittsburgh, PA 
Phillips Park Share
Uploaded By: jblough   (Taken 11/2010)
Course sign greets you upon entering; tee is about 60 feet past the sign.



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
It is what it is

2-4    9/29/2013   9/29/2013
Review By: nytrate
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Phillips is almost always empty -- very quiet for being in the middle of a crowded neighborhood. It is a quick 9-hole round with as much variety as is possible on the patch of land. Good place to drive with a mid-range and practice narrow 200-240 ft. shots through a heavily wooded area.
Cons: Nowhere to unwind a long distance driver. Many of the holes play laterally on the hill which is hard on the ankles and makes for frustrating skips/rolls. The course is heavily wooded so it is somewhat dark, even on a sunny day.

Other Thoughts: One or two open holes would make this course a lot better, but there is not much room for it.

There was an open area around the 1st or 2nd pin that is not used. You may be able to get creative here and create your own holes using existing baskets and random tee-off positions that are more open. No one ever seems to be playing here, so you can probably do stuff like that without being rude.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Phillips Park

3/7/2006   1/22/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 74  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Phillips is a fun course to play with just a putter, I hit metal on at least 3 drives the day I played. The baskets are well constructed for being made by a high school shop class. There are also nice concrete pads at each hole.
Other Thoughts: The day I played, it was a monthly for the local club's series. We played additional (unmarked) tees that added some length to the short layout. For the piece of land that was used, I think the designer(s) did okay, although footing on the side of the hill, which is the course, can be a bit tricky.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A lesser version of Schenley

12/29/2007   1/2/2008
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads. Course is easy to navigate despite some baskets not being numbered. The mature trees and hillside keep things interesting. The custom built baskets won't win any beauty contests, but they get the job done.
Cons: Most litter I've ever seen on a course...a shoe, jeans in a tree, a shopping cart, and old tire...you get the picture. The chains on the custom baskets have rusted out, and while they still work they don't give that "ching" sound we all enjoy hearing when we make a putt. Except for the downhill 2nd, all holes are pretty similar - just back and forth on the hillside.
Other Thoughts: It's an adequate recreational course, rather similar in caliber to Schenley. But in terms of quantity and quality of holes, the nearby course at Schenley has it beat.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Recreational Course good for midrange practice

7/31/2007   7/31/2007
Review By: JoshC
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: concrete tee pads.
Cons: all holes run back and forth along a hillside. can get very muddy after rainfall.
Other Thoughts: this course is good for midrange and long putt practice, however, travel to this course would not be recommended as it is purely recreational in design on a small patch of land.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center