Pittsburgh, PA 
Phillips Park Share
Uploaded By: jblough Hole #4 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 303ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 White Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A pleasant surprise.

2-4    10/26/2013   10/27/2013
Review By: shipleyrobinson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation and sloping greens were a challenge, but a fun one. I enjoyed that there were well-defined fairways, but not a lot of "rough," which is usually not the case in SW PA. Also, a huge plus for one without an automobile: this course is right on the 51 bus line, so is accessible by public transportation
Cons: Only nine holes. The short pins placements would be too short to be much fun, but they are in the longer configuration at the time of this review. There aren't any really hard holes on this course, though in extreme wind with the super steep greens, most of the holes could turn ugly.
Other Thoughts: If this course were 18 holes (presuming that these fictional extra holes were similar in style to the pre-existing 9), it would be better than Schenley Park, in my opinion.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Watch for rolling discs

5+    2/24/2013   3/31/2013
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 79  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Relatively short course is pretty good for beginners. Great use of the space available to them.
Cons: Entire course is played on the side of a hill. Easy to get punished for a decent shot because of the hill.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Practice Course

5+    10/26/2012   11/14/2012
Review By: el_duder
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+Nice baskets, concrete tees (whites), nice tee signs
+Multiple Pin Positions/Multiple Tee Pads
+Good Variety of shots even though it lacks distance
+Generally well maintained
+Football field nearby if you do want to air out your drivers. Although even that is limited to almost exactly 360 ft by a fence.
Cons:
-Holes 2-5 are affected by a trail and properties near the fairways. Can't do much about this, but there is some risk of hitting a bystander or tossing a disc into someones yard.
-Most holes are similar distance and somewhat short.
-Roll-a-ways can get pretty ugly.
Other Thoughts:
I consider Phillips Park my practice facility. The course itself requires just about every shot you could ask for and utilizes the trees to create just enough of a challenge that it won't get boring. Add to that that the baskets get moved around occasionally and there is more variety. The only thing the course lacks is more distance. While the holes aren't chip shots, I have only ever felt like pulling a driver on hole 4 and only when it is in the long position.

My favorite hole is probably 5 when it's in B position. I usually play it with a touch of anhyzer (to get around trees) and try to land where I can get a good view of the basket which is tucked neatly between two trees.

Overall, Phillips is a nice course to get in a couple quick rounds after work or to get a mid/putter workout. I wouldn't say it's completely passable, but it's definitely not a must play. It's just a solid 9-holer. If you live close by, like me, you'll probably play it regularly. If you have to travel a bit, play it once or twice before heading to Schenley sometime.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/10/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: Geepster
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Maximizes the space for the nine hole layout.
Excellent use of the trees and slope to increase shot difficulty.
Level concrete tee pads and good singage.
Holes #3-5 play against my RHFH delivery.
Cons: Othan than the 400'+ #4, all the holes are between 222-288' so the distance except for the downhill #2 felt too similar.
Rollers tend to keep going, even my floppiest putter rolled away a good 15' from an errant putt.
Other Thoughts: The course was in good shape considering the trees are dropping leaves and the oaks have all dropped their acorns. I never felt like I was going to lose my footing even in the rain.
This is a decent walking course for those with little ones and there's a playground onsite.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short course

2-4    7/28/2010   7/21/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great signs and an easy walk through. Good for beginners.
Cons: The baskets struggle a little bit. The holes are all very very short because there is not much land. The pars seem kind of weird for the distence of the holes
Other Thoughts: Since it is on the side of a hill some holes give you a great chance for your disc to roll allllll the way down the hil and add 3 strokes to your hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 much better than it used to be

2-4    5/10/2012   9/3/2011
Review By: JHoleczy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Small course, you can play it in about a half an hour. Not too many trees to contend with, there are definite lines to the baskets unlike some of the bigger courses. Brand new baskets and great new signs
Cons: The problem used to be the pars were too high (there were 2 5's and a number of 4's). Now it may be too low on the 420' par 3 hole #4.
Other Thoughts: I played this course last year and I hated it. They addressed all of the problems, and it's much better now. Fun course to play if you're in the area, or if you just want to check it off your list.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/25/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: ProFiction
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very solid layout for the size of the land. Seriously, find the course on Google maps and tell me how there are nine disc golf holes on this hillside.

Every hole was fun, something just a little different about each one. Lots of tree-dodging but you also have to worry about rollaways and factor in that all of your shots are landing on a slope.

Quiet patch of land, at least when I played.

Two tees for each hole but I played from the concrete. The other tees are like Knob's red tees from what I gather.

Good place to work with your mids and putters.

Would definitely be a fun place to come for ace runs.
Cons: I didn't really like how close some of the first few holes were right alongside fenced-in yards. It would be pretty easy to lose your disc over there and have to jump a fence or knock on someone's door, especially if you're a LHBH or RHFH thrower.

Not a great location, but I guess that's a preference thing. Why is a course in the middle of nowhere inherently better than one in the middle of a city? Part of the problem here though is the lack of parking. I played early on a Saturday morning and sort of had to fish around for a spot. I imagine it would be hard to park/play when school is in or the park or surrounding area is busy.

Some of the baskets are subpar.

Speaking of which, I remember a few pars being too high. I eagled a hole and didn't really do anything out of the ordinary.

The acorns here will kill you. It seemed like you couldn't take a step without slipping on a little acorn roller skate. Not great for a course which is made up entirely of a hillside. I imagine it can also get pretty sloppy after a rain.
Other Thoughts: They won't be holding the world championships here any time soon, but you can still have a plenty good time. It's a quick play but there weren't any amenities to speak of so bring your own water if you want it.

This the only 9 hole course I've played where 9 felt like the perfect amount. A nice, concise round. Any more of the same would probably get boring. As it is, it's a solid place to start your multi-round day. I played here, then went to Schenley, then finished off at Monroeville and had a nice little DG day.

Recommend checking this place out if you've already played Knob, Schenley, Deer Lakes, Moraine, Two Mile Run, etc. It won't change your life, but I bet you have a good time anyway.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.