Pittsburgh, PA 
Phillips Park Share
Uploaded By: jblough   (Taken 11/2010)
Course sign greets you upon entering; tee is about 60 feet past the sign.



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  Passable 9 holer

1    10/12/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: mjoyce
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of land to make a course.
Quick nine hole you can play in about 30 minutes.
The city is planning on replacing the baskets.
Cons: 6 of the 9 baskets were made by the high school metal shop when the course was created in the late 90's. They show their age. But they're not that bad
Course gets repetitve but if you live in the area it's better than not playing.
Other Thoughts: I live pretty close to this course so if you're ever in the area and you want to play it PM me I'm in.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 much better than it used to be

2-4    5/10/2012   9/3/2011
Review By: JHoleczy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/10/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Small course, you can play it in about a half an hour. Not too many trees to contend with, there are definite lines to the baskets unlike some of the bigger courses. Brand new baskets and great new signs
Cons: The problem used to be the pars were too high (there were 2 5's and a number of 4's). Now it may be too low on the 420' par 3 hole #4.
Other Thoughts: I played this course last year and I hated it. They addressed all of the problems, and it's much better now. Fun course to play if you're in the area, or if you just want to check it off your list.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/25/2010   11/18/2010
Review By: ProFiction
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very solid layout for the size of the land. Seriously, find the course on Google maps and tell me how there are nine disc golf holes on this hillside.

Every hole was fun, something just a little different about each one. Lots of tree-dodging but you also have to worry about rollaways and factor in that all of your shots are landing on a slope.

Quiet patch of land, at least when I played.

Two tees for each hole but I played from the concrete. The other tees are like Knob's red tees from what I gather.

Good place to work with your mids and putters.

Would definitely be a fun place to come for ace runs.
Cons: I didn't really like how close some of the first few holes were right alongside fenced-in yards. It would be pretty easy to lose your disc over there and have to jump a fence or knock on someone's door, especially if you're a LHBH or RHFH thrower.

Not a great location, but I guess that's a preference thing. Why is a course in the middle of nowhere inherently better than one in the middle of a city? Part of the problem here though is the lack of parking. I played early on a Saturday morning and sort of had to fish around for a spot. I imagine it would be hard to park/play when school is in or the park or surrounding area is busy.

Some of the baskets are subpar.

Speaking of which, I remember a few pars being too high. I eagled a hole and didn't really do anything out of the ordinary.

The acorns here will kill you. It seemed like you couldn't take a step without slipping on a little acorn roller skate. Not great for a course which is made up entirely of a hillside. I imagine it can also get pretty sloppy after a rain.
Other Thoughts: They won't be holding the world championships here any time soon, but you can still have a plenty good time. It's a quick play but there weren't any amenities to speak of so bring your own water if you want it.

This the only 9 hole course I've played where 9 felt like the perfect amount. A nice, concise round. Any more of the same would probably get boring. As it is, it's a solid place to start your multi-round day. I played here, then went to Schenley, then finished off at Monroeville and had a nice little DG day.

Recommend checking this place out if you've already played Knob, Schenley, Deer Lakes, Moraine, Two Mile Run, etc. It won't change your life, but I bet you have a good time anyway.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 No High School Should be Without One!

1    9/11/2010   11/15/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is easily accessible from the Southside and is a nice urban complement to Schenley.

- Elevation changes make for interesting shots, even if they are short in length.

- Two sets of tees (regular and rec) for people of different skill levels.

- Course has many trees and the fairways utilize these well, proving both guidance (safety mandos) as well as obstacles to the basket. Anhyzers and hyzers are evident, as well as semi-technical straight shots to the basket.

- Dropcho utilized the little land that was available and made a pretty decent glass of lemonade out of inner-city Pittsburgh lemons. As a fellow teacher, I am so jealous that he got to design a course right across the street from where he works!
Cons: - One of the hilliest courses I've ever played on. Not sure if this is really necessarily a con, seeing as how elevation changes make the game interesting. Nevertheless, there are two elevation considerations that must be noted for this course:
1.) Blind elevation drops + frequent parkgoers = hardcore spotting and attention when driving
2.) The course is lined with giant oaks, which means a slip on the million acorns will surely send you tumbling down the hill if you're not careful.

- Baskets are quite warped and seem a little larger than PDGA regulation ones. I wondered why I was sinking so many putts :D

- Majority of course (holes #3-6) play around a trail that circles the park, not to mention that a really errant throw will go into the residential neighborhood nearby. Again, watch out for stuff around you!

- Very short lengths on holes; only one hole exceeds 300 feet.

- Signage/tees show their 15-year age. Concrete is worn and the signs are heavily vandalized, although the wooden markers are still in-tact.
Other Thoughts: I've been meaning to play here sooner, but I usually opt to play Schenley, Knob Hill, or Deer Lakes when I'm in Pittsburgh instead. Strangely enough, I didn't even plan on playing here when I did and I only had a spare putter and midrange in my trunk. Needless to say, these were more than enough sufficient and I suggest playing a putter-only round if you want to make this a fun set of nine! Check this place out, but definitely go to the other Pittsburgh courses first.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dramatically Improved

5+    12/10/2011   5/14/2010
Review By: mprestop
Played: 46  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/10/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice course to go work on your game at and just to clear your head. There's never any disc golfers on the course so you can really focus. If you live in Pittsburgh and its the weekend during the summer, you may grow tired of going to Schenley and dealing with the crowds and park visitors. This course offers the perfect alternative The holes are all pretty fun and the slope of the hill provides some exciting and unpredictable rolls. I throw a driver on holes 3,4,5,7,8,9 so its not that short to the casual (candy arm) player.
Cons: With the installation of new Discatchers and a 2nd pin position on each hole, the course is dramatically improved. Sometimes there is a lack of parking spaces if there is a school event going on. I'm not a huge fan of 9 hole courses, so that's the only drawback at this time.
Other Thoughts: Although by some standards, its not in a good neighborhood, there are usually people walking their dogs on the path below the course and children playing in the playground, so there's nothing to worry about. Once, I was looking for a disc and got questioned by an undercover cop, so they do have it under patrol. Also, there's a KFC near the course - you can make a day out of it ;)!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course

5+    3/22/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: JDaley522
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is gerat for a quick round or two. Nice use of a small patch of land. I love it because it's 5 minutes from my house.
Cons: Women's tee on #9 practically unplayable. City parks should service the grounds more often. NO BATHROOMS

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nuclear Meltdown Baskets

5+    9/21/2006   9/26/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 19.9 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Phillips is probably my favorite 9-hole course in the Pittsburgh area. It has some of the best hole designs for the 9-hole courses in our area. If you can find the long tees, they are fun to play, but if not, the concrete is decent. The course makes good use of some horrible land. It's just 1 big hill. From the long tees, a decent player may find it kind of hard to shoot a 27 on the 9-holes. It may be short, but the hill makes for some bad rolls and tough landings.
Cons: It's kinda in the ghetto. Nuclear Meltdown baskets....well maybe they are a Pro since it's better than no baskets.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area and you have already played Schenley, Knob Hill and Deer Lakes, give Phillips a try. Other 9-hole courses in the area include Monroeville and Economy. Both Economy and Monroeville are in much nicer parks, but Phillips truly is unique.

And besides, it was designed by J Gary Dropcho.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Phillips Park

3/7/2006   1/22/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Phillips is a fun course to play with just a putter, I hit metal on at least 3 drives the day I played. The baskets are well constructed for being made by a high school shop class. There are also nice concrete pads at each hole.
Other Thoughts: The day I played, it was a monthly for the local club's series. We played additional (unmarked) tees that added some length to the short layout. For the piece of land that was used, I think the designer(s) did okay, although footing on the side of the hill, which is the course, can be a bit tricky.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A lesser version of Schenley

12/29/2007   1/2/2008
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads. Course is easy to navigate despite some baskets not being numbered. The mature trees and hillside keep things interesting. The custom built baskets won't win any beauty contests, but they get the job done.
Cons: Most litter I've ever seen on a course...a shoe, jeans in a tree, a shopping cart, and old tire...you get the picture. The chains on the custom baskets have rusted out, and while they still work they don't give that "ching" sound we all enjoy hearing when we make a putt. Except for the downhill 2nd, all holes are pretty similar - just back and forth on the hillside.
Other Thoughts: It's an adequate recreational course, rather similar in caliber to Schenley. But in terms of quantity and quality of holes, the nearby course at Schenley has it beat.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Recreational Course good for midrange practice

7/31/2007   7/31/2007
Review By: JoshC
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: concrete tee pads.
Cons: all holes run back and forth along a hillside. can get very muddy after rainfall.
Other Thoughts: this course is good for midrange and long putt practice, however, travel to this course would not be recommended as it is purely recreational in design on a small patch of land.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.