Centralia, IL 
Foundation Park DG Complex - Champ 18 Share
Uploaded By: Stevenunya Hole #3 (Taken 6/2014)
4 / 465ft.   4 / 490ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course!!!

1    9/2/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: Almighty_Ed
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Many different shot shapes to utilize more discs in the bag and change your game up a bit.

Nice tee pads, trash cans, signage, benches.

Love the creek play.

Great park all around.
Cons: Too many low disc swatting branches.

Hole length on a few seemed a bit excessive but the par rating was generous enough.

That's a bout it for cons.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course! It's about 1 1/2 hr drive but stories of the hole length always scared me away. Nah! It aint like that. You don't have to have a big arm to enjoy this course. But I do recommend just slowing down and concentrate on placement over distance.

Can't wait to go back!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Gem in the Woods

1    8/30/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: Jarrod
Played: 43  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - This is a beautiful park with real character and the course is laid out quite well. There is a great variety of holes that will test most aspects of your game. If you have difficulty throwing 300'+ shots accurately you will struggle here.

- Despite most of the holes being 400'+, I was consistently pulling out my mid-ranges in order to make a more accurate, dependable shot, even on the par 5 holes. This is not your typical par 54 course! I believe the score cards list the par at around 72 but I would probably peg it closer to a 65 or so.

- The concrete pads were some of the best I've played on.
Cons: - Course is in desperate need of tree trimming. There are several locations where overgrown trees or low-hanging branches eat an excellent shot. A local informed us that a curmudgeon on the park board won't allow the club to cut any trees. Its unfortunate because the course getting a bit "wild" is one of the biggest things holding it back. Courses should be like well tended gardens, not forests.

- Dangerous creek crossings. There are five holes with some wide, deep creeks to cross. A few are crossed by playing hop-scotch across concrete pylons spaced across the gap. One has a metal plank that is about 1.5' wide and a rope to stead yourself. Another hole has a wooden plank about 2' wide and no rope. The last is hole 18 and fortunately the creek bed was dry because we couldn't find any way to cross the creek without walking back out to the road and around. These aren't huge concerns but I was a bit worried when my wife was trying to cross them, and I would definitely be worried about young kids trying. They add character to the outing, true, but they aren't safe and they aren't family friendly.

- Hole 18 was a disappointment. The course is a thrill ride of exciting holes (especially through the back 9) but it seemed like the designer was unsure how to finish back at the parking lot. After the majesty of the preceding holes you're treated to a dinky poke-and-hope putter shot back to your car.

Other Thoughts: Wow, Centralia was a lot of fun to play. Fun and challenging are the two words I would use to describe this experience, and I can't wait to come back.

My rating was a tough decision - I would honestly love to give this course a 4.5. I believe its peak potential is 4.5, but the problems I mentioned above are what hold it back. Here is my feedback - implement these and I'll gladly up to 4.5.

1. Build honest-to-goodness bridges for my family to walk across. Someone is going to get hurt.
2. Find a different hole 18. Something with pizzazz.
3. Convince that park board to let you tend the course - any horticulturalist will tell you that pruning limbs is actually good for trees, and removing certain trees are beneficial for the land.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course Even In January

1    1/16/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: giddyup
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course even though I played it in January. The course is set in a city park and makes very good use of the landscape. David McCormack, the guy who designed the course, wasn't allowed to remove a single tree and he did an awesome job! You could never tell.

Even though it's in flat So. Illinois, the whole course makes very good use of the available hilly terrain. Holes 1, 5 and 16 are about the only open holes where you can see the basket at the end. I'd say about half of the holes are pretty significant dog legs, again illustrating out the good use of terrain to make an interesting course. And the woods are great! There are lots of trees that make for good scenery and obstacles, but no holes that are tunnel-like. It's got a good open feel.

It's easy to navigate. Well signed and there is an accurate map for each hole at every tee.

It's challenging without making you want to pull your hair out. A few duecable holes, but you have to work for them.

And even though I didn't utilize it, there is a practice putting area.

Cons: There is a pretty good sized creek that runs through the heart of the course. It's not a problem for gameplay. It's actually a cool element that comes into play on several holes. But the crossings are pretty sketchy. In most spots, there are tipped over (and icy in January) concrete columns that need to be re-done.

And there are no permanent tee pads. I think this was another regulation set by the park. There were a few rubber ones, but for some reason, it was only on 3 or 4 holes. Some consistency would have been nice.
Other Thoughts: Great course. I'll make a point to plat it again!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun tough course

1    9/4/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly forested park, with a large area dedicated solely to disc golf. It's great to play a round without ever having interference from other park uses. None of the elevation changes are drastic, but they are used quite well to add difficulty and variety, along with a few really fun downhill shots. There are two tees and two basket positions that seem to be moved reasonably often, so there is a ton of variety to be had. The red tees are tough, and the blue tees are brutal, even for skilled players.

There is awesome variety in hole shapes here. The lines through the woods and between the clumps of trees on the more open shots are used to force all kinds of different shots, and you'll need to be able to execute these lines to have any chance of scoring well. Most holes have plenty of punishment for errant shots that can easily add strokes to your score, even the more open holes often have baskets tucked in to risky spots. There are a few shorter holes mixed in, but the course plays long and challenging without ever feeling like the holes are just 'long for long's sake'.

There are course maps available for each set of tees at the beginning of the course, and basic signage at both sets of tees, making it fairly easy to navigate the course. The course flows well, you don't have to do too much extra walking between holes. Both sets of tees are pretty easy to find. The 9 across the park road is a great bonus, and makes a nice warm up for this tough course.
Cons: To me the tee pads are the biggest con here. both sets of tees are natural with occasional rubber pieces, and many are pretty rutted out. On long holes, having a good surface to tee from makes a huge difference, and there are a lot of those longer holes here. The signage could use a little work, with better ideas of hole layout and an indicator of which pin position is currently in use, it's a lot of extra walking on this course to walk up most of the fairways to see where to throw. Many of the creek crossings were recently upgraded it seemed, there are just a couple that could use a little more work.
Other Thoughts: This is a tough championship caliber course that will test any players' skills. Beginners will find it very long, difficult and punishing, it's not at all meant to be friendly to newer players. Intermediate level players will be tested and challenged from the red tees, and will need to have a great day to score well. Better players will find the reds interesting, and find the blues a great test of top players' skills, especially throwing for distance while hitting tight lines. This is definitely a must play if you're anywhere near here.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

  Centralia

1    10/11/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: stabe32
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -Very challenging course!!!!!! (major PRO)
-Scenic land
-Good workout (for a decent-medium skilled player)
Cons: -Maps not to scale
-Due to poor mapping on the score cards/tee boxes, we did not know where to aim a lot of the time
-More bridges would have been essential(even if they are half rate)
-Slipped on a few drives due to muddy tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: I would enjoy playing again even though I shot poorly.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course

1    9/8/2009   9/21/2009
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Multi-shot, par 4 & par 5 holes
*Great variety of terrain -- long open bomber holes, tight wooded holes, holes along & over a creek & grassy open wooded holes
*Variety of shots required & hole shapes
*Located in great, huge city park -- course in a DG dedicated area with a nice stone pavillion @ entrance to course
*Not crowded....I played mid-day on a Tuesday & didn't see anyone else playing the entire time
*Multiple teepads
*1st time playing on Titan baskets -- they definitely catch well
Cons: *Dirt teepads
*There are 2 sets - long & short - but the longs seemed hardly played to the point of being tough to find & semi-overgrown, so I played the shorts
*easy to lose a disc - i was playing alone & searching on ~ 1/3 of the holes
*lots of blind holes - tough to tell where to throw on more than 1/2 the holes ... seemed like every hole was blind even if it didn't need to be
*many holes overgrown in summer with low-hanging branches; probably a non-issue in other seasons
*a couple of holes ... # 18 in particular ... had no fairway, just throw n' hope you don't hit an early tree
Other Thoughts: Very good course with potential to be even better with cement teepads

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A must play!

7/18/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 74  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Foundation Park is a beautiful setting for just about any activity, made all the better with 27 holes of challenging and fair disc golf! Well maintained and manicured, and I ran across 3 deer while playing as well.
- There is a hole for all players out here. Long open bombers, short technical turnovers, sharp hyzers, downhill floaters, roller and over the top opportunities all exist here.
- Challenging 2 and 3 shot holes, which are a favorite of mine are common.
- Tee signs that show tee and pin placement make hole navigation easier.
- 27 holes! I played both courses, and while the pro course is definitely more challenging, I found the rec course enjoyable as well. It's a good place to work on your finesse game.
Other Thoughts: - The dirt tee pads were not a problem when I played due to recent lack of rain. Mid spring however, I imagine the experience would be different.
- There are maps at the first hole, but navigating to the next hole can be confusing if you don't know where you're going. There are directional arrows under most baskets, but not all.

Overall, if you're near Centralia, go play Foundation. You will not be disappointed.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.