Centralia, IL 
Foundation Park DG Complex - Champ 18 Share
Uploaded By: Stevenunya Hole #14 (Taken 6/2014)
4 / 655ft.   4 / 752ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Almost Perfect

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 50  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 13.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You start out with long bombs on hole #1. If you dare to try from the Blue tee you are throwing over 1000 feet. With the pin in -b- placement the fairway tightens down drastically. A sign of things to come. You have hit the woods and tight and technical are the key words here. You have uphill shots, downhill shots. Hyzer and Anhyzer.
I used all but two discs in my bag on this course. Variety is the spice of life and this place is hot as a jalapeno.
Well maintained and very clean, this park is sweet. Trash cans in convienent places as well as a water drinking fountain and closeby restrooms round out a fantastic experience of great disc golf.
Cons: Natural tee pads. Dangerous when wet so watch your step. Not enough benches and finding the blue tees are tough sometime.
Other Thoughts: Championship quality course. A must play in Southern Illinois. You will never get bored with the variety of holes and shots here. The REC course across the street is well worth the time to play. I really want to see a major tournament held here.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/21/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: smclean09
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2009
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: through a round you will have thrown all of the shots in your arsenal other than 3 pars most can not reach green from tee so shot placement is essential! It is challanging, in fact statistics from the 2007 gateway open with
'b placements" had this course the highest ssa (scratch scoring average) of any course (71.6-red and 72.1 from blue). some of the problems with difficulty finding tees have been addressed including wooden guides to next tees on certian holes.
Cons: natural teepads (very rough in certian conditions),and poisen ivy is often punishment for a bad throw though if you just throw it in the fairway you will have no problem.three holes go over a creek and only one has a actual crossing( a crooked ladder) but the club have tried to fix this issue.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 it's getting closer...update: it's there

5+    6/3/2012   2/21/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 419  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/15/2014
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -offers a good mix of holes (long/short, technical/open, hyzer/anhyzer/straight)
--good test of all shot types
-many holes require lay up shots, while you can 'go for it,' the smart play is to lay up.
-Also many placement/setup shots where from the tee, you have to put your shot in a 40-50 ft circle to have a chance at a 3 (number 5, 7, 11)
-you are punished by the rough for an errant shot
-many true par 4 holes
-new signs between holes ease navigation problems for first timers.
-Two tee positions and two pin placements.
-Facilities include grills, water fountains accessible at parking lot, after 9, after 10 (across creek), after 17 and 18, bathrooms, and 9 holer across the Rd.
--update for May 2012-nice 12x5 concrete tees on the red tees.
--concrete columns across most creek spots, except for 18, which is generally low and has a bridge toward the road for high water crossing.
Cons: -a lot of poison ivy grows off the fairways, but is taken care of annually by the club.
-not beginner friendly, but there is a recreational course onsite.
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in IL that I've played (98 played in IL), it is a little off the beaten path, so it doesn't get a lot of use. It has good tight fairways, and really makes you place your shots wisely for up shots. Also the rough has not been beaten down too much so it's pretty wild off the fairways.

If you need a guide or want a local to join you. go to www.centraliadiscgolf.com , go to the message board and post up under 'Tee Times'

Also, you can find a GPS course map on the site.

All pins are in 'A' position as of Aug 2010

UPDATE 1/10/10:
new steps down to creek on 11 with concrete stepping stones poured to cross. Similar crossings are planned for 2010.
UPDATE 8/2010: steps poured for the creek crossing at 8, new blue tee posts put in at most holes (2, 4, 6, 8, 17, 18 don't have posts, but are easy to find (generally directly behind reds, 10-70 ft back)
UPDATE: 12/2010: both driving range (50 ft increments) and practice basket with 5 ft incremental markers installed
UPDATE: 5/2012 concrete tee pads
Update 2013 nice bridge installed on 7

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Get to Centralia...Now!

5+    1/31/2009   2/10/2009
Review By: sstieg
Played: 86  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.4 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course brings a magnitude of difficulty to any player. For the professionals, the blue tees will adequately challenge any player. Also, the red tees will provide a sore arm for any advanced player throwing just a handful of poor shots because getting off the fairway can be treacherous. Many holes require "forced" shots that make the player throw anhyzers, hyzers, and straight shots. The front nine offers tight fairways with the exception of the first hole, while most of the back nine offers wider and longer bombs to be thrown. Various holes also offer elevation changes and creek crossings adding to the experience.

The park offers parking, maps, scorecards, wildlife(plenty of deer), bathrooms, benches, water fountains, and grilling to celebrate a well played game.

Who wouldn't want to play this course?
Cons: The tees are natural but only become a problem after rain. Playing from the side or further back will present no problems.
Other Thoughts: This course is not for players who are new to the game but that's what the rec 9 is for right across the street. The Rec 9 can also be played for a great warm-up.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of the Midwest

5+    8/16/2010   1/27/2009
Review By: #19325
Played: 343  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Foundations park is located in a nice quiet area. It's a great place to play disc golf.

VARIETY
9 Hole Recreational Course
18 Hole Championship Course
-Great design
-Long Tees
-Short Tees
-Multiple pinplacements
-True golf. Many Par 4's.
-Water
-Slight elevation
-Tight Woods
-Open
-Rough
-Creek crossings
-Navigational aids

This course has it all!
Cons: The tee pads are grass/dirt. If there were cement tees on both long/shorts i'd rate this coruse a 5.

*Update--course arrows and next tee signs have been added.* If you do not have a map or play with someone who knows where they are going you will have a difficult time navigating this course.

*Update--Many creek crossings have been constructed.*
When I played there was quite a bit of water in the creek. A few bridges would have made navigation much easier.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the best courses in the Midwest.

You can get a good idea of what the course is like from these videos.

Link to video of hole 7
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JvK_J2pqhSY

Genearl Highlights

#1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iC31OctXuUc

#2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytl2vq9dgVw

#3
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DO0pFoQTc54

Maybe Gateway Dave will donate another set of powder coated red baskets to keep both pin positions in at all times? That would be sweet!

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Really enjoyed playing this course

1    1/23/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 220  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8.9 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a good variety of shots, and with two tees and two pin placements, the opportunity for a new course each time you play. Some very interesting pin placements, good elevation variety, and the trees vary nicely from hole to hole: some have large low hanging trees, some have smaller denser growth, some are open with a narrow bottle neck at the far end. The creek that winds through the course comes into play on several (4 or 5) holes. IN the winter, it was mostly dry, but in the spring/summer, this thing might be a problem. All in all, a day well spent.
Cons: Not all of the blue tees were marked (at least I couldn't find them at first). The natural tee pads were pretty muddy today.
Other Thoughts: It's kind of a drive from Saint Louis, so I didn't have time to play the rec 9, but I will certainly bring a couple buddies with me and play this course again.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/22/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: SuperBean
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes in the park.
9 hole rec. course on one side of park(hoping to install 9 more soon)
championship 18 lives up to it's description.this is a course where champions are made. if you can't find shots here to improve your game,you should prbably take up another sport.the front 9 starts you off with a long 599' (red) 789' (blue) ripper with a few trees,one big holly tree protecting the pin.
then your off to the woods for the next 8 holes. from each tee to pin these are some of the toughest holes i have ever played. several teeshots have you trying to drive a nice anhyzer to get good placement for your next shot.#7 starts off this way,then crossing the creek to get up a 30' hill to putt out.
it's just a fun hike to play trhough this front 9.lot's o' trees to challenge your skills.
also nice layout,each hole has it's own look.
and i'm just talking about the red tees.level of play required for par gets pushed up a couple of notches when you play from the blues(adds distance and differant looks to each hole).
when pins are in "B" position, you basically have a whole new course to play.and "B" positions are longer than the "A"s.

back 9 starts you off throwing downhill 295' (red) / 380' (blue) back towards the creek.#11 also plays through woods/creek. #12-16 play long and fairly open,but once again shot placement/pin placement plays a role in how well you will score. #17 and 18 will take a good round of play and humble your score.they both have interesting right-handed doglegs(17 is really a big 412' horseshoe w/ a ton of trees between you and the pin.#18 plays across the creek,up a hill BEFORE it doglegs down the hill to the pin. oh....and don't forget all the trees in between.) excellent finishing holes.easy to complete the round with bogeys boys.
i guess what i'm trying to get across here is that this particular course does a damn fine job of bringing a sense of how good a player i know I AM.with how good of a player i know I COULD BE.
Cons: every course can use some kind of tweaking here and there.
but i have no "cons" about this course.
i love this course.
i would play it every day if i could make it out there.
Other Thoughts: don't just read my review and think i'm trying to be take this "over the top".
make the time,take a little road trip,go to our website (wwwcentraliadiscgolf.com),get in contact with some of the locals and we will show you around the course.
then you tell ME!!!
come here and rate this course yourself and let others in on what you took away with you after playing a fun course with some fun people!!

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  my new home course

1    1/21/2009   1/21/2009
Review By: DemonKing
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful park. front nine scenic with lots of tight wooded fairways.multitude of shot demands.(had to dig deep in my bag for some shots).
nice ,tough pin placements.each hole has its own personality.
back nine good mix of open fairways to rip on. #17 & 18 are tremendous finishing holes to this park.(tough doglegs with trees a major factor.)
good risk/reward for most of this course.
Cons: a little off the beaten track.1/2 from my house. 1 hour from st.louis.probably does'nt get played that much.
not really a con tho',cuz the course is in great shape.
Other Thoughts: i really enjoyed playing this course!!
it is a tough course if your game that day isn't on.(lucky for me mine was the second round).had to play the second round to get some redemption.
even tho' this park isn't that close,i will still make the drive to get there to play.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  go play this course!!!

1    1/20/2009   1/20/2009
Review By: drjimmy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: plenty of shot challenges. front 9 tight with ton o' woods to play thru. lots of anhyzer shots. shot/disc placement a must. back 9 llooonnngg, plenty of room to grip it and rip it. nice overall layout.
Cons: better signage from basket to tee.but it was not at all difficult to find your way around.
Other Thoughts: what a course!!!! risk/reward on several holes. fun,fun,fun!!!!
GO PLAY THIS COURSE!!!!!

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Centralia, IL Foundation Park Great Course

5+    1/10/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: velvethead
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes from 250' tunnel drives to "bring your 450' mad drives". Beautiful hike through natural scenery, not uncommon to come across deer, owls, eagles.
Cons: First time visitors will need to scout ahead to find basket locations, though not terribly problematic. Local disc golf club, Centralia Disc Golf Club (http://www.centraliadiscgolf.com ), is in process of working out tee location markings.
Other Thoughts: Course was designed by Gateway's own Dave McCormack ('nuff said) and is frequented by Dave and a number of top pros. This course is still young, only coming into existence in 2006, but will probably be on the PDGA pro tour before very long.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.