Centralia, IL
Foundation Park DG Complex - Champ 18 Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
4 / 455ft.   4 / 584ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Really enjoyed playing this course

1    1/23/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 140  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a good variety of shots, and with two tees and two pin placements, the opportunity for a new course each time you play. Some very interesting pin placements, good elevation variety, and the trees vary nicely from hole to hole: some have large low hanging trees, some have smaller denser growth, some are open with a narrow bottle neck at the far end. The creek that winds through the course comes into play on several (4 or 5) holes. IN the winter, it was mostly dry, but in the spring/summer, this thing might be a problem. All in all, a day well spent.
Cons: Not all of the blue tees were marked (at least I couldn't find them at first). The natural tee pads were pretty muddy today.
Other Thoughts: It's kind of a drive from Saint Louis, so I didn't have time to play the rec 9, but I will certainly bring a couple buddies with me and play this course again.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    1/22/2009   1/23/2009
Review By: SuperBean
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes in the park.
9 hole rec. course on one side of park(hoping to install 9 more soon)
championship 18 lives up to it's description.this is a course where champions are made. if you can't find shots here to improve your game,you should prbably take up another sport.the front 9 starts you off with a long 599' (red) 789' (blue) ripper with a few trees,one big holly tree protecting the pin.
then your off to the woods for the next 8 holes. from each tee to pin these are some of the toughest holes i have ever played. several teeshots have you trying to drive a nice anhyzer to get good placement for your next shot.#7 starts off this way,then crossing the creek to get up a 30' hill to putt out.
it's just a fun hike to play trhough this front 9.lot's o' trees to challenge your skills.
also nice layout,each hole has it's own look.
and i'm just talking about the red tees.level of play required for par gets pushed up a couple of notches when you play from the blues(adds distance and differant looks to each hole).
when pins are in "B" position, you basically have a whole new course to play.and "B" positions are longer than the "A"s.

back 9 starts you off throwing downhill 295' (red) / 380' (blue) back towards the creek.#11 also plays through woods/creek. #12-16 play long and fairly open,but once again shot placement/pin placement plays a role in how well you will score. #17 and 18 will take a good round of play and humble your score.they both have interesting right-handed doglegs(17 is really a big 412' horseshoe w/ a ton of trees between you and the pin.#18 plays across the creek,up a hill BEFORE it doglegs down the hill to the pin. oh....and don't forget all the trees in between.) excellent finishing holes.easy to complete the round with bogeys boys.
i guess what i'm trying to get across here is that this particular course does a damn fine job of bringing a sense of how good a player i know I AM.with how good of a player i know I COULD BE.
Cons: every course can use some kind of tweaking here and there.
but i have no "cons" about this course.
i love this course.
i would play it every day if i could make it out there.
Other Thoughts: don't just read my review and think i'm trying to be take this "over the top".
make the time,take a little road trip,go to our website (wwwcentraliadiscgolf.com),get in contact with some of the locals and we will show you around the course.
then you tell ME!!!
come here and rate this course yourself and let others in on what you took away with you after playing a fun course with some fun people!!

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  my new home course

1    1/21/2009   1/21/2009
Review By: DemonKing
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful park. front nine scenic with lots of tight wooded fairways.multitude of shot demands.(had to dig deep in my bag for some shots).
nice ,tough pin placements.each hole has its own personality.
back nine good mix of open fairways to rip on. #17 & 18 are tremendous finishing holes to this park.(tough doglegs with trees a major factor.)
good risk/reward for most of this course.
Cons: a little off the beaten track.1/2 from my house. 1 hour from st.louis.probably does'nt get played that much.
not really a con tho',cuz the course is in great shape.
Other Thoughts: i really enjoyed playing this course!!
it is a tough course if your game that day isn't on.(lucky for me mine was the second round).had to play the second round to get some redemption.
even tho' this park isn't that close,i will still make the drive to get there to play.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  go play this course!!!

1    1/20/2009   1/20/2009
Review By: drjimmy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: plenty of shot challenges. front 9 tight with ton o' woods to play thru. lots of anhyzer shots. shot/disc placement a must. back 9 llooonnngg, plenty of room to grip it and rip it. nice overall layout.
Cons: better signage from basket to tee.but it was not at all difficult to find your way around.
Other Thoughts: what a course!!!! risk/reward on several holes. fun,fun,fun!!!!
GO PLAY THIS COURSE!!!!!

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Centralia, IL Foundation Park Great Course

5+    1/10/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: velvethead
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes from 250' tunnel drives to "bring your 450' mad drives". Beautiful hike through natural scenery, not uncommon to come across deer, owls, eagles.
Cons: First time visitors will need to scout ahead to find basket locations, though not terribly problematic. Local disc golf club, Centralia Disc Golf Club (http://www.centraliadiscgolf.com ), is in process of working out tee location markings.
Other Thoughts: Course was designed by Gateway's own Dave McCormack ('nuff said) and is frequented by Dave and a number of top pros. This course is still young, only coming into existence in 2006, but will probably be on the PDGA pro tour before very long.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  bring your "A" game

5+    1/3/2009   1/12/2009
Review By: dahig
Played: 92  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 26 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenges abound! something for every level of player, front 9 tight,wooded,water(creek) to play across.back 9 mostly open to "letter rip". holes 17 and 18 are great finish holes.you could be having a great round until then,and walk away with a substantial change on the card.
Cons: the only real "con" here is that it is off the beaten path for most players.BUT it is well worth the drive from either st.louis or kentucky or indiana or chicago.the other con from other reviews about finding your way around the course will be addressed this spring.
Other Thoughts: i've played several courses in several states,and this is a course well worth any effort to get to.it's one of those courses that you can find reward on a personal level, and realize that you can't wait to get back out on. or regret that your next road trip doesn't include a stop there!

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  A must play!

5+    1/4/2009   1/5/2009
Review By: jjpilot
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging, but a fair test of golf. The Champ 18 is one of the best courses anywhere. Rec 9 is a good course for beginners as an introduction to the sport,
Will test all parts of your game, as you need distance, especially from the Blue tees. You will need to be able to throw left to right as well as right to left to really score well.
Front 9 is really tight, with a premium on accuracy, but on the back 9 you can let it rip. Though holes 17 and 18 can really wreck your round!!!!!!!
Cons: Creek crossings can be a little tough. In the summer the poison ivy is pretty thick, which just means you need to keep it in the fairway!!!!!

Tee boxes could be better, especially in the winter/spring.
Other Thoughts: A fabulous course. Teeboxes will be improved somewhat this winter. With some improved signage to make getting around the course easier.
If your going to go play this course for the first time, contact the local club. One of the local guys will be glad to show you around.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A must play!

7/18/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Foundation Park is a beautiful setting for just about any activity, made all the better with 27 holes of challenging and fair disc golf! Well maintained and manicured, and I ran across 3 deer while playing as well.
- There is a hole for all players out here. Long open bombers, short technical turnovers, sharp hyzers, downhill floaters, roller and over the top opportunities all exist here.
- Challenging 2 and 3 shot holes, which are a favorite of mine are common.
- Tee signs that show tee and pin placement make hole navigation easier.
- 27 holes! I played both courses, and while the pro course is definitely more challenging, I found the rec course enjoyable as well. It's a good place to work on your finesse game.
Other Thoughts: - The dirt tee pads were not a problem when I played due to recent lack of rain. Mid spring however, I imagine the experience would be different.
- There are maps at the first hole, but navigating to the next hole can be confusing if you don't know where you're going. There are directional arrows under most baskets, but not all.

Overall, if you're near Centralia, go play Foundation. You will not be disappointed.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Lonnnnnggg course

6/29/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
9 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Very challenging for all skill levels, yet mostly fair
-27 Holes in one park
-Tee signs/maps and scorecards
-Well designed
-Good variety
Cons: -Poison Ivy everywhere off fairway, several times in the fairway
-Large thorns on some bushes
-Grass tees
-Even with map and sign, can be hard to determine where to throw off tee
Other Thoughts: Wear long pants, bring lots of water, have a buddy spot on some holes and scout ahead your first time to have twice as much fun.

9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

What disc golf is all about

5+    3/15/2008   5/1/2008
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 135  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2014
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course. It has a lot a variety-some open holes, some wooded holes, water, elevation, tough pin placements...it is just a fantastic disc golf course. The design is tough but fair. In the long set-up, this is a LOOOONNNNGGGG (10,000+ ft) killer of a course. However, a smart player can overcome lack of distance through course management. Several seemingly long holes require a two or three shot progression that reward accuracy over pure distance.
Cons: The course layout is very nice, but it can be hard to find your way around. There are some long walks between holes, and the course could be marked better. The type of park that it is in can leave you with the feeling that you are wandering aimlessly in the wilderness. Given the quality of the shots, a little wandering around in the woods is a pretty minor gripe.

UPDATE Spring 2009: There was a scorecard holder with a course map by #1, and there were yellow arrows on the ground to help you find your way around. It looks like the local Club is taking steps to help the flow of this course.
Other Thoughts: The tees are dirt. They were in good shape when I was there and I don't mind dirt tees, but some people get upset over dirt tees. **NOTE: Concrete tees are supposed to be poured in 2012**
There is a recreational 9-hole course in the same park, so you can combine them for 27 holes.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.