Course Extinct
Silver Lake, WI 
Fox River Park - Red Fox - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Unsourced Hole #9 (Taken 8/2009)
5 / 280ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beginner Course

5+    6/18/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice yellow Innova Discatcher baskets. This is a great beginner course next to the more challenging grey fox course. There is a little elevation on holes 2,3, and 9. 2 and 9 are a little longer than the other holes.
Cons: Super short and wide open. There are no memorable holes here. You can jump putt several of the holes.
Other Thoughts: There's not much to say about this course as it lacks substance.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The OTHER Side

5+    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Red Fox is what it is. It's the OTHER 9 on a great property. The course is mostly open with scattered trees. Rolling terrain comes into play on several holes.

It has tee posts marking each tee.

The Innova Discatchers are in good shape.

It's very beginner friendly and a nice pitch putt course. Holes range from 180 to 280 feet.

Hole #9 is a pretty good hole if you tee where you are supposed to. It's an uphill hole that turns right.
Cons: The tee pads are pretty bad.They are wood chips.

This course is poorly designed.

The lower portion of the course floods occasionally since it's right nex to the river.

On 7 of the 9 holes you can throw a RHBH hyzer.
Other Thoughts: Rumor has it this course is going to be redesigned.

The Grey Fox is a great course across the street.

I gave this course a 1 because it does not use the potential that the land offers. This 9 could be just as good as the other side.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Grey Fox's Little Red-Headed Stepchild

1    5/11/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. Red Fox gets a few points for incorporating the elevation into the design. Although every hole is Red-iculously short, there is a slight amount of shot-shaping and controlled-approach-style variation to keep things from being a total snoozefest. Beginners will definitely notice the different hole shapes and may see this as more of a finesse course, but for anyone with any amount of skills it's just a practice range to work on accuracy. My favorite hole was #9, requiring just a slight RHBH anny (though, like with any hole on this course, ANY shot has a legitimate chance due to low punishment) punch out of the woods and uphill (the 280' length here also feels longer with the gradient as well, which is a nice chance to crank out a controlled drive).
2. Baskets. The DISCatchers are in pretty good shape, level, and aren't showing much wear/vandalism.
3. Tees. While the mulch/woodchip tees are sufficient, some better delineation of the teeing area would be nice. Wooden posts were easy to find and appropriately numbered.
4. Design. I especially like how this niner along with the front and back of Grey Fox, all loop back to the same parking area...very convenient, although amenities such as the restrooms are a bit of a drive through the park.
5. Amenities. There are plenty of other activities in this large multi-use park, though I'm not sure what exactly is free to access. Each 9 has signage with a scorecard/pencil dispenser, although only the Red Fox had anything available (would have been nice to have maps on Grey for first-timers, but that's for another review).
Cons: 1. Design. The biggest issue here appears to be the crammed design...while ideally you'd only see people working on their midrange and putting game, in reality you see the usual chucker mobs hucking the latest high-speed drivers on spike hyzers (especially the fun downhill #3...Wraiths, really?), crowding the tee areas, throwing on others, etc. Fortunately, it seems that "this" crowd prefers Red over Grey (probably due to the high ace factor), as Grey will punish errant shots significantly more than here. Several areas here feature tees that are awfully close to the previous basket, and the glaring offender here is tee #4, where the spray pattern of shots from #3 are well within reach.
2. Length. While two of the holes are "lengthy" by beginner standards at just under 300' (thus probably not easy deuces), this is just an extremely short and boring course. Compounding this is the fact that it's just wide open. While not blatantly repetitious, most holes are just a straight throw at the basket with a little elevation (gently rolling terrain) to contend with and minimal doglegs, no cool tunnel shots, etc.
3. Tees. Again, while the mulch material is fine for this style of course, the tee areas are just large worn patches without much indication of where exactly the tee begins or, more importantly, ends. It seems that erosion has also begun to expand the tees outward, so they are currently ambiguous ellipses at best. Fortunately, I doubt any sanctioned events will be held here anytime soon where noting foot faults would be important.
Other Thoughts: This course is a decent little warmup before tackling Grey Fox, and since it only takes 20 minutes or so to play, I'd recommend it only as a warmup. I can't see anyone coming out of their way to play this, although clearly it would serve well as a beginner course; it seems the chucker crowd might keep this from being an enjoyable family-friendly course, which is unfortunate, but as a non-local I can't really comment too much on the recurring presence of chuckers. The only other reason I'd recommend this course is if you're a DGCR reviewer or stat addict who just needs to check off another course played.

That said, I could see night golf on this course being a TON of fun!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I won't rate it higher "for what it is"

1    6/26/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Grey Fox course is right there.
The mature, manicured park setting is very beautiful.
Some elevation on that side of the park is incorporated.
No poison ivy or other things to impede your enjoyment.
Cons: 9 holes, all under 300' with an overall boring option of taking any one of the supposed routes (if you have shot selection). I dislike having an option on every hole. To me it doesn't create skill for noobs either, they just throw their comfortable shot.
One tee, and a muddy/dirt/woodchip tee without any real definition of sides or front (especially #9)
One pin placement. Holes 4 and 6 pins are VERY close to one another also. I saw newbie fligners interfering with each other quite a bit.
No tee signs - no distance or depiction of the hole (although you don't need it because despite some trees and elevation, the 'airway' is straight at the pin and 100-250' away).
So many pins so close to one another, and no tee signs, actually does create some naviagtion issues for anyone not used to playing short courses.
No risky greens, no water, no OB, no tight wooded tunnels, no par 4/5 holes.
Other Thoughts: Considering the 18 holer across the road, this is definitely passable at best, but continues to fall short in so many other areas of design, lack of amenities, etc.
It is a newby introductory course, that's all. I think it still falls short in design and use of more natural features and terrain.
Dual tees could make it a neat play for ADV players, especially since tees are just dirt and there aren't any tee signs anyway.
Very many of the holes are completely lackluster despite the beautiful park and opportunity to incorporate more of it in some way other than a wide open flat hole (e.g. #5).
As a traveler, I would not waste my time with this niner. I would be upset if I had played this first and for some reason had to cut short my round on the very excellent Grey Fox 18er.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short n sweet

2-4    6/14/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a small course in one part of a large park. There are rolling hills, and stands of mature trees. There is some tall grass in play on a few of the holes, and dense brush on a couple others, making for punishing rough on especially errant shots.

Though the course is very short, it at least had a little variety to the holes. Elevation was used well, with 4 of the 9 holes playing up or down hills. The mature trees in play made it so there were preferred routes to many of the holes, but left the possibility of getting to the hole with just about any type of shot.

The tees were large areas of wood chips, that seemed to offer fine footing even on the one tee pad that was wet when I played. There are tall posts with the hole number for each tee, and all the baskets but one are visible from the tees. The course is very easy to navigate, with no real possibility of getting lost or losing a disc. The fairways were well mowed, and there was no trash or loose brush on the course.
Cons: The course is very short, without any holes over 300'. Combine this with the fact that you can throw straight at every hole, and the course gets a little boring. No matter how you throw, you'll be able to get it to just about every hole on your drive, and errant shots are rarely harmful to your score (just to the time you spend looking for them).

I always like to see distance marked for holes, and unfortunately that wasn't done here. There was a box for scorecards, and those might satisfy this, but the box was empty both times I played here.

The park is huge, and had a lot of space that seemed unused and perfect for disc golf. It's really a shame that the course was crammed into such a tight little area where you're throwing on top of other holes and tees on holes 4 through 8.
Other Thoughts: This course is very beginner friendly, but won't provide any kind of challenge for more advanced players. If you're in the area, it's a place to play a quick round and get some putt/approach practice, or teach someone new how to play the sport, but don't drive out of your way to get here.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.