Disc Golf Store

Course Extinct
Silver Lake, WI 
Fox River Park - Red Fox - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Unsourced Hole #7 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 180ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Beginner Course

5+    6/18/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice yellow Innova Discatcher baskets. This is a great beginner course next to the more challenging grey fox course. There is a little elevation on holes 2,3, and 9. 2 and 9 are a little longer than the other holes.
Cons: Super short and wide open. There are no memorable holes here. You can jump putt several of the holes.
Other Thoughts: There's not much to say about this course as it lacks substance.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The OTHER Side

5+    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Red Fox is what it is. It's the OTHER 9 on a great property. The course is mostly open with scattered trees. Rolling terrain comes into play on several holes.

It has tee posts marking each tee.

The Innova Discatchers are in good shape.

It's very beginner friendly and a nice pitch putt course. Holes range from 180 to 280 feet.

Hole #9 is a pretty good hole if you tee where you are supposed to. It's an uphill hole that turns right.
Cons: The tee pads are pretty bad.They are wood chips.

This course is poorly designed.

The lower portion of the course floods occasionally since it's right nex to the river.

On 7 of the 9 holes you can throw a RHBH hyzer.
Other Thoughts: Rumor has it this course is going to be redesigned.

The Grey Fox is a great course across the street.

I gave this course a 1 because it does not use the potential that the land offers. This 9 could be just as good as the other side.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/29/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 92  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for beginners, families and others that are trying to learn the sport
Good for testing out new discs- fairway drivers, mid ranges and putters.
Cons: Extremely short, but that was the whole reason for adding these 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course to play friends for money- ace runs throughout all 9 holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Grey Fox's Little Red-Headed Stepchild

1    5/11/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. Red Fox gets a few points for incorporating the elevation into the design. Although every hole is Red-iculously short, there is a slight amount of shot-shaping and controlled-approach-style variation to keep things from being a total snoozefest. Beginners will definitely notice the different hole shapes and may see this as more of a finesse course, but for anyone with any amount of skills it's just a practice range to work on accuracy. My favorite hole was #9, requiring just a slight RHBH anny (though, like with any hole on this course, ANY shot has a legitimate chance due to low punishment) punch out of the woods and uphill (the 280' length here also feels longer with the gradient as well, which is a nice chance to crank out a controlled drive).
2. Baskets. The DISCatchers are in pretty good shape, level, and aren't showing much wear/vandalism.
3. Tees. While the mulch/woodchip tees are sufficient, some better delineation of the teeing area would be nice. Wooden posts were easy to find and appropriately numbered.
4. Design. I especially like how this niner along with the front and back of Grey Fox, all loop back to the same parking area...very convenient, although amenities such as the restrooms are a bit of a drive through the park.
5. Amenities. There are plenty of other activities in this large multi-use park, though I'm not sure what exactly is free to access. Each 9 has signage with a scorecard/pencil dispenser, although only the Red Fox had anything available (would have been nice to have maps on Grey for first-timers, but that's for another review).
Cons: 1. Design. The biggest issue here appears to be the crammed design...while ideally you'd only see people working on their midrange and putting game, in reality you see the usual chucker mobs hucking the latest high-speed drivers on spike hyzers (especially the fun downhill #3...Wraiths, really?), crowding the tee areas, throwing on others, etc. Fortunately, it seems that "this" crowd prefers Red over Grey (probably due to the high ace factor), as Grey will punish errant shots significantly more than here. Several areas here feature tees that are awfully close to the previous basket, and the glaring offender here is tee #4, where the spray pattern of shots from #3 are well within reach.
2. Length. While two of the holes are "lengthy" by beginner standards at just under 300' (thus probably not easy deuces), this is just an extremely short and boring course. Compounding this is the fact that it's just wide open. While not blatantly repetitious, most holes are just a straight throw at the basket with a little elevation (gently rolling terrain) to contend with and minimal doglegs, no cool tunnel shots, etc.
3. Tees. Again, while the mulch material is fine for this style of course, the tee areas are just large worn patches without much indication of where exactly the tee begins or, more importantly, ends. It seems that erosion has also begun to expand the tees outward, so they are currently ambiguous ellipses at best. Fortunately, I doubt any sanctioned events will be held here anytime soon where noting foot faults would be important.
Other Thoughts: This course is a decent little warmup before tackling Grey Fox, and since it only takes 20 minutes or so to play, I'd recommend it only as a warmup. I can't see anyone coming out of their way to play this, although clearly it would serve well as a beginner course; it seems the chucker crowd might keep this from being an enjoyable family-friendly course, which is unfortunate, but as a non-local I can't really comment too much on the recurring presence of chuckers. The only other reason I'd recommend this course is if you're a DGCR reviewer or stat addict who just needs to check off another course played.

That said, I could see night golf on this course being a TON of fun!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Red Fox

2-4    8/9/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: Big_Man
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very easy. With that said, it was a good little warm-up for the Grey Course, although you may not need to use your driver on this course at all. If I lived in the area I probably would use this course to work on my mid-range/putting game. Almost had a couple of aces which always makes a disc-golfer feel good.
Cons: Natural tee pads. Some of them were not level ground, and a couple of my throws were affected because I almost rolled my ankles. There is also no indication of yardage of any of the holes. If I wasn't with a friend who has played the course before,some of the blind holes may have been over thrown.
Other Thoughts: I feel this course is a good practice course, or a warm-up for your "real" round at the Grey Course. If you visit the Fox Lake Park and cannot play both, don't waste your time with the Red Course. If you finish your 18 on the Grey Course and have an extra 15 minutes cross the road and try to make a few aces over on the red course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 I won't rate it higher "for what it is"

1    6/26/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Grey Fox course is right there.
The mature, manicured park setting is very beautiful.
Some elevation on that side of the park is incorporated.
No poison ivy or other things to impede your enjoyment.
Cons: 9 holes, all under 300' with an overall boring option of taking any one of the supposed routes (if you have shot selection). I dislike having an option on every hole. To me it doesn't create skill for noobs either, they just throw their comfortable shot.
One tee, and a muddy/dirt/woodchip tee without any real definition of sides or front (especially #9)
One pin placement. Holes 4 and 6 pins are VERY close to one another also. I saw newbie fligners interfering with each other quite a bit.
No tee signs - no distance or depiction of the hole (although you don't need it because despite some trees and elevation, the 'airway' is straight at the pin and 100-250' away).
So many pins so close to one another, and no tee signs, actually does create some naviagtion issues for anyone not used to playing short courses.
No risky greens, no water, no OB, no tight wooded tunnels, no par 4/5 holes.
Other Thoughts: Considering the 18 holer across the road, this is definitely passable at best, but continues to fall short in so many other areas of design, lack of amenities, etc.
It is a newby introductory course, that's all. I think it still falls short in design and use of more natural features and terrain.
Dual tees could make it a neat play for ADV players, especially since tees are just dirt and there aren't any tee signs anyway.
Very many of the holes are completely lackluster despite the beautiful park and opportunity to incorporate more of it in some way other than a wide open flat hole (e.g. #5).
As a traveler, I would not waste my time with this niner. I would be upset if I had played this first and for some reason had to cut short my round on the very excellent Grey Fox 18er.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great for starters

5+    4/16/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: Dr.Hyzer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course.
This is a beginner course. I look at it like a warm up course for the Grey Fox. Or a course to bring a new player to.
2 people can easily play this 9 holer in a half hour at a lazy-pace.
-This course is hardly worth an in depth review.
-It's pretty self explainitory from the pictures.
-Bring a virgin discer here for encouragement, even a brand new player will hit a birdie or two.
-Basket's are high quality 2 layer chained- Innova- Disc-Catchers.
Cons: - Hole 6's pin placement floods. If you have an errant drive way left, keep an eye on it when the water is high.
- The course gets old fast, very repetative.
Other Thoughts: If your a serious discer, warm up here.
Then go play the 18 (Grey Fox) for the real challenge.
It's certainly worth a little road trip.
27 Holes worth of discing.
If you have a bad round on the Grey Fox, come to the Red Fox for some redemption.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad warm up

1    12/2/2010   12/2/2010
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This entire park is so pretty, and excellently maintained.

-This course was very easy to navigate.

-Several of the holes, while short, did force some good line shaping (1 and 9 in particular)

-Garbage cans were readily available.

-Even with mulch tees, they were even, and not strewn all over.

-The elevation changes here were sweeeet! And made many shorter holes that much more fun.
Cons: -This course is short. While I've said how its made fun, some of the holes are just boring. 150', wide open holes are not entertaining.

-The fox river stinks. Literally.

-The tee signs could use distances, even if just for laughs.
Other Thoughts: All in all, not a terrible course to play, but nothing phenomenal. It is an excellent beginner course, probably the best to teach someone on for their first time playing. And for those of us more serious players, pick a mid and a putter, and leave the rest of the bag in the car until Grey Fox.

Also, while I didn't try it, this course would be soo much fun to play some superclass on, just for laughs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

1    11/20/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a small portion of the park, with decent hills and a decent amount of trees. Pretty much on its own.
- Hilly terrain allows for some decent elevation changes, most notably on #9. Some gradual downhill slopes add some enjoyment as well.
- A few holes use large trees to force some line shaping and punish errant shots. There are some spots where a bad drive may require a recovery shot as opposed to a simple approach shot. Definitely some thought and accuracy needed in some spots.
- Decent mix of hole length. Multiple ace runs, and a few longer ones around 250'-280'. Definitely not a full length course; more of a putter/mid/utility round.
- Good baskets, tees in OK shape, posts to mark tee areas are easy to find and navigate.
Cons: - The really short lengths on a few holes is kind of silly and out of place. Even worse, they are pretty much wide open and have nothing to them.
- Some holes are completely brainless and amount to a practice basket in a field.
Other Thoughts: - This is a great course for beginners to learn on, with decent elevation changes and some line shaping needed. Otherwise, a perfect warm-up for the on-site Grey Fox.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A good quick warm up for Grey Fox

1    9/25/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Simple layout
- Good warm up for your midranges
- Ace runs are plenty
- Easy to follow
- Well manicured
Cons: - Pitch-n-putt
- Dirt pads
- Cruddy signs
- Holes are kind of tightly packed
- 7's & 4's green area encroach on each other
- Poor play is not punished at all
Other Thoughts: Like the title says, use this course to get yourself warmed up for Grey Fox. Donate if you play it would be awesome if they updated this course with the money. It could make for a great 27 hole course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.